DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 208752285, of which an English translation is attached).
In regard to claim 1, Li et al. discloses a lens assembly, comprising (see e.g. Figure 1):
a mounting base (see e.g. annotated Figure 1, below) provided with an accommodation cavity (see e.g. annotated Figure 1 below and note that the accommodation is the interior portion of the mounting base);
a lens G2 (denoted “second lens”, see e.g. page 2, 6th line under “Description” and Figure 1), penetrating through the mounting base (see e.g. annotated Figure 1) and movably provided therein (i.e. it at least moves in different temperature conditions, see e.g. page 1, last paragraph, continued to page 2 for temperature drift), an outer peripheral wall of the lens being provided with a boss (see e.g. annotated Figure 1, below), the boss being located in the accommodation cavity for dividing the accommodation cavity into a first chamber and a second chamber (see e.g. annotated Figure 1, below and note the boss splits the internal area of the mounting base in to a left a right portion in the figure); and
a thermal compensation structure comprising an expansion member 3 (denoted “adjusting ring” and an elastic member 4 (denoted “elastic adjusting device”, see e.g. page 2, 6th line under “Description” and Figure 1), the expansion member 3 and the elastic member 4 being respectively accommodated and confined in the first chamber and the second chamber (see e.g. Figure 1), the elastic member 4 being configured to coordinate with the expansion member 3 to drive the boss to actuate the lens to move axially when the lens G2 is heated (see e.g. page 2, ninth paragraph).
In regard to claim 2, Li et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the mounting base is provided with a mounting hole (see e.g. annotated Figure 1) in communication with the accommodation cavity (see e.g. annotated Figure 1), the lens G2penetrating through the mounting hole and being movably provided therein (i.e. it at least moves in different temperature conditions, see e.g. page 1, last paragraph, continued to page 2 for temperature drift);
one end of the expansion member 3 distal to the boss abuts against a circumference of the mounting hole (see e.g. annotated Figure 1), and one end of the elastic member distal 4 to the boss abuts against a bottom wall of the accommodation cavity (see e.g. annotated Figure 1); or
one end of the elastic member distal to the boss abuts against a circumference of the mounting hole, and one end of the expansion member distal to the boss abuts against a bottom wall of the accommodation cavity.
In regard to claim 3, Li et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the expansion member 3 and the elastic member 4 are of an annular structure (see e.g. page 2, line 7 under “Description” for ring shaped element 3 and note that elements 4 are at least distributed around a ring as shown in Figure 1), and the expansion member 3 and the elastic member 4 are sleeved on the outer peripheral wall of the lens G2 (see e.g. Figure 1).
In regard to claim 4, Li et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein an outer peripheral wall of the boss (see e.g. annotated Figure 1) slidably abuts against an inner peripheral wall of the accommodation cavity (see e.g. annotated Figure 1), and the expansion member 3 fills the first chamber or the second chamber (see e.g. page 2, ninth and tenth paragraphs).
In regard to claim 7, Li et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the elastic member 4 comprises two springs 40 accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber, and symmetrically arranged with an optical axis of the lens G2 as the axis of symmetry (see e.g. annotated Figure 1 below for arrangement of two springs 40 symmetrically around the optical axis); or
the elastic member comprises a plurality of springs accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber, and arranged evenly surrounding the lens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 208752285) in view of Li (CN 2896314, of which an English translation is attached), hereinafter Li ‘314.
In regard to claim 5, Li et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the expansion member comprises two expansion blocks accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber, and symmetrically arranged with an optical axis of the lens as an axis of symmetry; or
the expansion member comprises a plurality of expansion blocks accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber, and arranged evenly surrounding the lens.
However, Li ‘314 discloses (see e.g. Figure 2):
wherein the expansion member 24 comprises two expansion blocks, and symmetrically arranged with an optical axis of the lens as an axis of symmetry (see e.g. Figure 2 and page 2, last paragraph). Further, one of ordinary skill would recognize that when combined with Li et al., the result would be the expansion members are accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber. Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make wherein the expansion member comprises two expansion blocks accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber, and symmetrically arranged with an optical axis of the lens as an axis of symmetry, since such a modification would have involved a mere duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04).
Given the teachings of Li ‘314, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al. with wherein the expansion member comprises two expansion blocks accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber, and symmetrically arranged with an optical axis of the lens as an axis of symmetry; or the expansion member comprises a plurality of expansion blocks accommodated and confined in the first chamber or the second chamber, and arranged evenly surrounding the lens.
Providing additional expansion members would allow for more control of the positioning of the lens under various temperature conditions.
In regard to claim 6, Li et al., in view of Li ‘314, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 5 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the expansion blocks have the same linear expansion coefficients.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the expansion blocks have the same linear expansion coefficients, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al., in view of Li ‘314, with wherein the expansion blocks have the same linear expansion coefficients.
Providing expansion blocks with similar linear expansion coefficients would result in predictable behavior at a given temperature.
In regard to claim 8, Li discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the mounting base comprises a base body provided with an accommodation slot, and a cover body detachably covering a slot mouth of the accommodation slot, the cover body cooperating with a slot wall of the accommodation slot to enclose the accommodation cavity; the lens penetrates through the cover body and is movably provided therein.
However, Li ‘314 discloses (see e.g. Figure 2):
wherein the mounting base 21 comprises a base body provided with an accommodation slot (see e.g. Figure 2 and notice the slot of base body 21 is at the top of the figure), and a cover body 22 (denoted “lens barrel”, see e.g. last paragraph of page 2) detachably covering a slot mouth of the accommodation slot (see e.g. Figure 2), the cover body 22 cooperating with a slot wall of the accommodation slot to enclose the accommodation cavity;
the lens 23 penetrates through the cover body 22 and is movably provided therein (see e.g. Figure 2 and page 2, last paragraph, continued on page 3, and note it is movable at least via thermal expansion of elements 24).
Given the teachings of Li ‘314, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li with wherein the mounting base comprises a base body provided with an accommodation slot, and a cover body detachably covering a slot mouth of the accommodation slot, the cover body cooperating with a slot wall of the accommodation slot to enclose the accommodation cavity; the lens penetrates through the cover body and is movably provided therein.
Doing so would provide a means for supporting the lens and other internal structures.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 208752285) in view of Li ‘314 (CN 2896314, of which an English translation is attached) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 7,382,556 B2).
In regard to claim 9, Li et al., in view of Li ‘314, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 8 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the base body is further provided with an assembling hole penetrating through one side of the base body facing away from the cover body and penetrating through a bottom wall of the accommodation slot, the assembling hole being adapted for installing a sensor.
However, Lee et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 2):
wherein the base body 101 (denoted “outer wall”, see e.g. Column 1, line 66-Column 2, line 1 and Figure 2) is further provided with an assembling hole 100 (denoted “through hole” see e.g. Column 1, line 66-Column 2, line 1 and Figure 2) penetrating through one side of the base body 101 facing away from the cover body 20 and penetrating through a bottom wall of the accommodation slot (i.e. region of lens 302), the assembling hole being adapted for installing a sensor 105.
Given the teachings of Lee et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al., in view of Li ‘314, with wherein the base body is further provided with an assembling hole penetrating through one side of the base body facing away from the cover body and penetrating through a bottom wall of the accommodation slot, the assembling hole being adapted for installing a sensor.
Providing a sensor would allow for the capture of images, as is known in the art.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 208752285) in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2010/0097579 A1).
In regard to claim 10, Li et al. discloses a lens assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. rejection of claim 1).
Li et al. fails to disclose a projector comprising the lens assembly.
However, Hsieh et al. discloses using a lens assembly in a projector (see e.g. Figure 1 and paragraph [0012]).
Given the teachings of Hsieh et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al. with a projector comprising the lens assembly.
Using such a configuration for stabilizing the alignment for a lens in a projector would have the advantage of a device that does not have its lens become misaligned due to an environmental temperature.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871