DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 10, 16-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano et al. (EP2874277, “Nakano”).
Re claim 1 Nakano discloses a stator for a three-phase electric motor, the stator comprising:
a plurality of coils 38 distributed circularly on a stator body 24 (figs 1-6, [0020] & [0023]), and
a set of connection frames 26U-W arranged on various layers superposed axially and electrically insulated from one another (figs 6 & 9a-f, [0029]),
wherein the connection frames 26U-W are configured to ensure the connections between the coils 38 of the various phases according to a predetermined electrical diagram (figs 9a-10b, [0027], a star or Y connected 3 phase connecting w/ each phase having 6 parallel coils is understood by the figures) and to ensure the power supply of the various phases via three power supply terminals 26Ua-Wa associated with the respective phases (figs 8-9e, [0021]),
wherein windings of coils 38 of a first phase U are opposite windings of coils in another two phases V, W (figs 6-8, 9 & below, interpreting windings of coils as turns of coils; limitation is not specific so interpreting opposite with respect to position; one u phase coil has turns positioned circumferentially or radially opposite turns of coils of v &w phases as indicated below).
Re claim 10 Nakano discloses a three phase electric motor comprising a stator, the stator comprising:
a plurality of coils 38 distributed circularly on a stator body 24 (figs 1-6, [0020] & [0023]), and
a set of connection frames 26U-W arranged on various layers superposed axially and electrically insulated from one another (figs 6 & 9a-f, [0029]),
wherein the connection frames 26U-W are configured to ensure the connections between the coils 38 of the various phases according to a predetermined electrical diagram (figs 9a-10b, [0027], a star or Y connected 3 phase connecting w/ each phase having 6 parallel coils is understood by the figures) and to ensure the power supply of the various phases via three power supply terminals 26Ua-Wa associated with the respective phases (figs 8-9e, [0021]),
wherein windings of coils 38 of a first phase U are opposite windings of coils in another two phases V, W (figs 6-8, 9 & above for claim 1, interpreting windings of coils as turns of coils; limitation is not specific so interpreting opposite with respect to position; one u phase coil has turns positioned circumferentially or radially opposite turns of coils of v &w phases as indicated above).
Re claims 4 and 16, Nakano discloses claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses at least one of the layers of connection frames 26U-W is used to achieve:
connections between the coils of various phases, or
connections between the coils of one phase and the power supply of one or more phases (figs 9a, 9c & 9e, each of 26U-W connects one phase coils & its power supply).
Re claims 5 and 17, Nakano discloses claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the predetermined electrical diagram is a star configuration ([0027]).
Re claims 13 and 22, Nakano discloses claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the power supply terminals 26Ua-Wa are distributed over a circular arc no greater than 120° (figs8-9e).
Claims 1, 2-3, 10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US20210021169, “Hong”).
Re claim 1 Hong discloses a stator for a three-phase electric motor, the stator comprising:
a plurality of coils 510 distributed circularly on a stator body 300 (figs 3-4, [0104] & [0110]), and
a set of connection frames 110a-c, 130 arranged on various layers superposed axially and electrically insulated from one another (figs 4 & 6a-8, [0108-0109] & [0156]),
wherein the connection frames 110a-c, 130 are configured to ensure the connections between the coils 510 of the various phases according to a predetermined electrical diagram (figs 4-5a & 10, [0110], a star or Y connected winding) and to ensure the power supply of the various phases via three power supply terminals 111a-c associated with the respective phases (figs 7 & 10, [0110] & [0137),
wherein windings of coils 510 of a first phase are opposite windings of coils in another two phases (figs 5a & below, interpreting windings of coils as turns of coils; limitation is not specific so interpreting opposite with respect to position; one phase coil has turns positioned opposite to turns of coils of other two phases as indicated below).
Re claim 10 Hong discloses a stator for a three-phase electric motor, the stator comprising:
a plurality of coils 510 distributed circularly on a stator body 300 (figs 3-4, [0104] & [0110]), and
a set of connection frames 110a-c, 130 arranged on various layers superposed axially and electrically insulated from one another (figs 4 & 6a-8, [0108-0109] & [0156]),
wherein the connection frames 110a-c, 130 are configured to ensure the connections between the coils 510 of the various phases according to a predetermined electrical diagram (figs 4-5a & 10, [0110], a star or Y connected winding) and to ensure the power supply of the various phases via three power supply terminals 111a-c associated with the respective phases (figs 7 & 10, [0110] & [0137),
wherein windings of coils 510 of a first phase are opposite windings of coils in another two phases (figs 5a & above for claim 1, interpreting windings of coils as turns of coils; limitation is not specific so interpreting opposite with respect to position; one phase coil has turns positioned opposite to turns of coils of other two phases as indicated above).
Re claims 2 and 14, Hong discloses claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the connection frames 110a-c associated with the power supply terminals 111a-c allowing the power supply of the various phases are arranged on one and the same layer of connection frames (figs 6a-7).
Re claims 3 and 15, Hong discloses claims 2 and 14, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the connection frames 110a, 110c associated with the power supply of the other two phases extend toward the connection frame 110b associated with the power supply of the phase having the power supply which is reversed to receive the associated power supply terminal in order to reduce the angular distance between the power supply terminals 111a-c associated with the power supply of the various phases (fig 7, 110a & 110c extend from 113a & 113c circumferentially towards 110b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 11-12, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Ariyoshi et al. (US20050029892, “Ariyoshi”).
Re claims 6 and 18, Nakano discloses claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses eighteen coils (fig 7, [0020]), each phase comprising six coils connected in parallel (figs 9a-10b, [0027], one end of each coil connected to phase power & other end connected to neutral or common 26c) and wherein the connection frames 26U-W are distributed over five layers (fig 9a-9e, layers include 26w, 42, 26v, 42 & 26u).
Nakano disclose claim 6 except for each phase comprising a first and a second branch of three coils connected in series.
Ariyoshi discloses each phase comprising a first and a second branch of three coils connected in series (figs 7 & 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure each phase of Nakano to comprise a first and a second branch of three coils connected in series, as disclosed by Ariyoshi, in order to provide for different winding configurations, as demonstrated by Ariyoshi (note fig 11 shows each phase comprising six coils connected in parallel, in as similar manner as Nakano.
Re claims 11 and 20, Nakano discloses claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the predetermined electrical diagram is a Y configuration (figs 9a-10b, [0027], a star or Y connected 3 phase connecting w/ each phase having 6 parallel coils is understood by the figures).
Nakano is silent with respect to the predetermined electrical diagram is a delta configuration.
Ariyoshi discloses the predetermined electrical diagram is a delta configuration (fig 12) and the same coils can be configured as a Y configuration (fig 11, [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of coils of Nakano in the predetermined electrical diagram of a delta configuration, as disclosed by Ariyoshi, in order to have a higher output power as compared to the Y connected configuration, as is known for delta and Y connected motors.
Re claims 12 and 21, Nakano in view of Ariyoshi discloses claims 11 and 18, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses windings of coils in a branch of a phase are opposite windings of corresponding coils in another branch of the phase (Ariyoshi, figs 7, 9, 10a-c & below, interpreting opposites with respect to position as discussed above for claims 1 & 10; note: it appears figs 10a-c don’t reflect fig 7 since each phase has six coils connected in series, but fig 9 does reflect fig 7 as shown below; from figs 9 & below coils of 1st branch located in position opposite to coils of 2nd branch), and
wherein the winding of a coil in a center of the branch is opposite windings of coils at each end of the branch (figs 9 & below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (see reasons for allowance 4/22/26 OA, pgs 11-12)..
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nakano does not disclose winding of coils of a first phase are opposite windings of coils in another two phases (pg 13, last 3 lns to pg 14, 1st para). Examiner disagrees.
The limitation does not restrict the interpretation of the windings or turns of the coil are at a position opposite to the windings or turns of the coils, as discussed above in claims 1 and 10. Therefore Nakano still discloses claims 1 and 10. Additional claim language with respect to the direction of winding of the coils around the teeth and how the coils is connected to the power supply terminal are needed.
Applicant argues that Hong does not disclose winding of coils of a first phase are opposite windings of coils in another two phases (pg 14, last three paragraphs). Examiner disagrees in a similar manner as discussed above for Nakano.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834