Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 9 are currently amended; claim 2 is original, claims 4 and 10-11 are cancelled, claim 12 is previously presented, and claims 5, and 13-18 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waterloo (US20200390169 A1) in view of Mark et al (US 2022/0001600 A1) and NPL, Bayer Material Science.
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 9, Waterloo discloses a method for producing a padding by means of 3D printing by deposition [0125] of at least one first filament [0068], characterized in that said at least one first filament is deposited directly onto a portion of fabric to make at least the first layer of a plurality of layers that define a multi-plane structure [0125] (see figure 3, figure 28).
Waterloo does not explicitly disclose characterized in that said first filament is deposited at a speed comprised between 400mm/min and 4200mm/min (450-3,000 mm/min in claim 6), and in that the printing temperature TS is comprised between 170°C and 260°C (200 C-250 C for claim 9).
One ordinary skill in the art would look to conventional art to determine the speed and temperature of the filament deposited. Analogous 3d printing art, Mark et al, discloses stitching speeds obtained with a system operated in the manner described above, was capable of stitching speeds between about 2500 mm/min and 5000 mm/min. However, the stitching speed will vary based on nozzle heating, matrix material, and other appropriate design considerations [0026]. MPEP 2144.04 states overlapping ranges is a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a range 2500 mm/min and 5000 mm/min (450 mm/min and 3000 mm/min in claim 9) as taught by Mark et al into the method taught by Waterloo since the stitching speed will vary based on nozzle heating, matrix material, and other appropriate design considerations.
As for the printing temperature, both Waterloo and the applicant use polyurethane as the filament. The melting point of polyurethane is 210-220°C which overlaps with Applicant’s range of between 170°C and 260°C (200-250 C for claim 9). Further, MPEP 2144.05 discloses In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a print temperature range of between170°C and 260°C (200-250 C for claim 9) as taught by Mark and NPL into the method taught by Waterloo based the material used and design needs of the final product.
Regarding claim 2, Waterloo discloses characterized in that said at least one first filament is made of thermoplastic elastomer material (TPE) [0068].
Regarding claim 4, Waterloo discloses said portion of fabric (18) comprises polyurethane or its derivatives [0068].
Regarding claim 12, Waterloo discloses said structure comprises at least one layer made with a pattern of deposition that is different from the pattern of deposition of said first layer and characterized in that each layer of said plurality of layers is made with a pattern of deposition, and consequently a plan view conformation, that is different from the layer that immediately follows and/or precedes it ([0077-0078], figures 2, 4-5, discloses different cross sections and configurations).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Waterloo (US20200390169 A1) in view of Mark et al (US 2022/0001600 A1) and NPL, Bayer Material Science, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Chang et al (US 2022 0267556 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Waterloo doesn’t explicitly disclose at least one first filament has a hardness comprised between 40 Shore A and 95 Shore A. However, analogous foam art, Chang discloses the solid foamable material has a Shore A hardness of from about 35 A to about 95 A, optionally from about 55 A to about 90 A [0123]. This overlaps with applicant’s range of at least one first filament has a hardness comprised between 40 Shore A and 95 Shore A. MPEP 2144.04 states overlapping ranges is a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a range of between 40 Shore A and 95 Shore A at taught by Chang into the method taught by Waterloo since it is conventionally well known and in order to maintain comfort, performance and durability [0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Waterloo does not disclose the printing speed and temperature however is the combination of Waterloo with Mark and the NPL teaches this. Analogous 3d printing art, Mark et al, discloses stitching speeds obtained with a system operated in the manner described above, was capable of stitching speeds between about 2500 mm/min and 5000 mm/min. However, the stitching speed will vary based on nozzle heating, matrix material, and other appropriate design considerations [0026]. As for the printing temperature, both Waterloo and the applicant use polyurethane as the filament. The melting point of polyurethane is 210-220°C which overlaps with Applicant’s range of between 170°C and 260°C (200-250 C for claim 9). Hence the claim limitation is taught.
The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in light of amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754