DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 03/29/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/29/2024 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 03/29/2024 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SEO et al. (US 2020/0045569 A1).
Regarding claim 7; Seo teaches a terminal comprising:
a processor that determines physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to monitor for PDCCH monitoring occasions that overlap in time in multiple control resource sets (CORESETs) (See Fig. 12 and 16: if a UE is configured for single cell operation or for operation with carrier aggregation in the same frequency band, ii) if the UE monitors PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have same or different QCL properties (for example, QCL-TypeD properties) on active DL BWP(s) of one or more cells. ¶ [0187]), according to a quasi-colocation (QCL) type of a spatial reception parameter (See Figs. 12-16: for overlapped CORESETs, the same spatial QCL (i.e., parameter) is assumed, and by using the CORESET priority mentioned in the option 1, a representative QCL may be selected. ¶ [0241]) of a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of only one first CORESET, among the multiple CORESETs, selected based on a priority rule (See Figs. 12-16: Priority of a CORESET May be Determined Based on TCI State. In other words, priority may be determined by the TCI state set to each CORESET. As one example, among TCI states set by an RRC signal, the TCI state with a lower (or higher) index may be set to have higher priority. ¶ [0201-0202]); and
a receiver that monitors the PDCCH candidates determined (See Figs. 12-16: the UE to monitor PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have same or different QCL properties, ¶ [0187]);
wherein when the multiple CORESETs are CORESETs for a single frequency network (SFN) (See Figs. 12-16: a UE is configured for single cell operation or for operation with carrier aggregation in the same frequency band (i.e., SFN). ¶ [0187]), the processor monitors the PDCCH candidates in the first CORESET and a second CORESET that is different from the first CORESET among the multiple CORESETs (See Figs. 12-16: a UE that monitors a plurality of search spaces (also referred to herein as search sets) associated with different CORESETs may perform a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation within the same frequency band. ¶ [0189]), and the PDCCH candidates monitored in the second CORESET are determined according to a same QCL type as the QCL type (See Figs. 12-16: the UE may monitor a different CORESET with the same QCL-TypeD properties as the QCL-TypeD properties of the given CORESET. ¶ [0189]).
Regarding claim 8; Seo teaches the terminal wherein when the first CORESET and the second CORESET have two activated TCI states, a QCL type of at least one TCI state of the two TCI states of the second CORESET is the same as a QCL type of one of the two TCI states of the first CORESET (See Figs. 12-16: At this time, the UE may monitor a different CORESET with the same QCL-TypeD properties as the QCL-TypeD properties of the given CORESET. ¶ [0189]).
Regarding claim 9; Seo teaches the terminal wherein when the multiple CORESETs further include a CORESET used for PDCCH repetitive transmission, the processor applies a second priority rule that is different from the priority rule to select PDCCH candidates to monitor for PDCCH monitoring occasions of the CORESET used for the PDCCH repetitive transmission (See Figs. 12-16: Priority of a CORESET May be Determined Based on TCI State. In other words, priority may be determined by the TCI state set to each CORESET. As one example, among TCI states set by an RRC signal, the TCI state with a lower (or higher) index may be set to have higher priority. Or to apply the most recent information of a channel status, the TCI state that has most recently been configured in time order may be set to have the highest priority. ¶ [0201-0202]).
Regarding claim 10; Seo teaches the terminal wherein the priority rule and the second priority rule include monitoring of a CORESET corresponding to a common search space (CSS) set with a higher priority than a CORESET corresponding to a UE-specific search space (USS) set (Seo: The method wherein selecting the at least one CORESET, a first priority of a CORESET that includes a common search space (CSS) is higher than a second priority of a CORESET that includes a UE-specific search space (USS). ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 11; Seo teaches the terminal wherein activation of the two TCI states is notified by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (Seo: a CORESET for which the TCI state is chosen through MAC CE signaling from among a plurality of TCI states indicated by an RRC signal for a specific CORESET may have higher priority than a CORESET for which the TCI state is configured only through RRC signaling. ¶ [0203]).
Regarding claim 12; Seo teaches a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising:
determining physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to monitor for PDCCH monitoring occasions that overlap in time in multiple control resource sets (CORESETs) (See Fig. 12 and 16: if a UE is configured for single cell operation or for operation with carrier aggregation in the same frequency band, ii) if the UE monitors PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have same or different QCL properties (for example, QCL-TypeD properties) on active DL BWP(s) of one or more cells. ¶ [0187]), according to a quasi-colocation (QCL) type of a spatial reception parameter (See Figs. 12-16: for overlapped CORESETs, the same spatial QCL (i.e., parameter) is assumed, and by using the CORESET priority mentioned in the option 1, a representative QCL may be selected. ¶ [0241]) of a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of only one first CORESET, among the multiple CORESETs, selected based on a priority rule (See Figs. 12-16: Priority of a CORESET May be Determined Based on TCI State. In other words, priority may be determined by the TCI state set to each CORESET. As one example, among TCI states set by an RRC signal, the TCI state with a lower (or higher) index may be set to have higher priority. ¶ [0201-0202]); and
monitoring the PDCCH candidates determined (See Figs. 12-16: the UE to monitor PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have same or different QCL properties, ¶ [0187]) wherein when the multiple CORESETs are CORESETs for a single frequency network (SFN) (See Figs. 12-16: a UE is configured for single cell operation or for operation with carrier aggregation in the same frequency band (i.e., SFN). ¶ [0187]), the processor monitors the PDCCH candidates in the first CORESET and a second CORESET that is different from the first CORESET among the multiple CORESETs (See Figs. 12-16: a UE that monitors a plurality of search spaces (also referred to herein as search sets) associated with different CORESETs may perform a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation within the same frequency band. ¶ [0189]),
wherein the PDCCH candidates monitored in the second CORESET are determined according to a same QCL type as the QCL type (See Figs. 12-16: the UE may monitor a different CORESET with the same QCL-TypeD properties as the QCL-TypeD properties of the given CORESET. ¶ [0189]).
Regarding claim 13; Seo teaches a base station comprising:
a transmitter that transmits, to a terminal, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to monitor for PDCCH monitoring occasions that overlap in time in multiple control resource sets (CORESETs) (See Fig. 12 and 16: the UE to receive and monitor PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have same or different QCL properties (for example, QCL-TypeD properties) on active DL BWP(s) of one or more cells. ¶ [0187]); and
a processor that assumes that the terminal performs a control to select, based on a priority rule (See Figs. 12-16: Priority of a CORESET May be Determined Based on TCI State. In other words, priority may be determined by the TCI state set to each CORESET. As one example, among TCI states set by an RRC signal, the TCI state with a lower (or higher) index may be set to have higher priority. ¶ [0201-0202]), the PDCCH candidates to monitor, and to determine the PDCCH candidates according to a quasi-colocation (QCL) type of a spatial reception parameter (See Figs. 12-16: for overlapped CORESETs, the same spatial QCL (i.e., parameter) is assumed, and by using the CORESET priority mentioned in the option 1, a representative QCL may be selected. ¶ [0241]) of a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of only one first CORESET, among the multiple CORESETs (See Figs. 12-16: Priority of a CORESET May be Determined Based on TCI State. In other words, priority may be determined by the TCI state set to each CORESET. ¶ [0202]), and
when configuring a single frequency network (SFN) in the multiple CORESETs (See Figs. 12-16: a UE is configured for single cell operation or for operation with carrier aggregation in the same frequency band (i.e., SFN). ¶ [0187]), assumes that the terminal performs a control to monitor the PDCCH candidates in the first CORESET and a second CORESET that is different from the first CORESET among the multiple CORESETs (See Figs. 12-16: a UE that monitors a plurality of search spaces (also referred to herein as search sets) associated with different CORESETs may perform a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation within the same frequency band. ¶ [0189]) and to determine the PDCCH candidates monitored in the second CORESET according to a same QCL type as the QCL type (See Figs. 12-16: the UE may monitor a different CORESET with the same QCL-TypeD properties as the QCL-TypeD properties of the given CORESET. ¶ [0189]).
Regarding claim 14; Seo teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein: the terminal comprises:
a processor that determines physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to monitor for PDCCH monitoring occasions that overlap in time in multiple control resource sets (CORESETs) (See Fig. 12 and 16: if a UE is configured for single cell operation or for operation with carrier aggregation in the same frequency band, ii) if the UE monitors PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have same or different QCL properties (for example, QCL-TypeD properties) on active DL BWP(s) of one or more cells. ¶ [0187]), according to a quasi-colocation (QCL) type of a spatial reception parameter (See Figs. 12-16: for overlapped CORESETs, the same spatial QCL (i.e., parameter) is assumed, and by using the CORESET priority mentioned in the option 1, a representative QCL may be selected. ¶ [0241]) of a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of only one first CORESET, among the multiple CORESETs, selected based on a priority rule (See Figs. 12-16: Priority of a CORESET May be Determined Based on TCI State. In other words, priority may be determined by the TCI state set to each CORESET. As one example, among TCI states set by an RRC signal, the TCI state with a lower (or higher) index may be set to have higher priority. ¶ [0201-0202]); and
a receiver that monitors the PDCCH candidates determined (See Figs. 12-16: the UE to monitor PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have same or different QCL properties, ¶ [0187]);
wherein when the multiple CORESETs are CORESETs for a single frequency network (SFN) (See Figs. 12-16: a UE is configured for single cell operation or for operation with carrier aggregation in the same frequency band (i.e., SFN). ¶ [0187]), the processor monitors the PDCCH candidates in the first CORESET and a second CORESET that is different from the first CORESET among the multiple CORESETs (See Figs. 12-16: a UE that monitors a plurality of search spaces (also referred to herein as search sets) associated with different CORESETs may perform a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation within the same frequency band. ¶ [0189]), and the PDCCH candidates monitored in the second CORESET are determined according to a same QCL type as the QCL type (See Figs. 12-16: the UE may monitor a different CORESET with the same QCL-TypeD properties as the QCL-TypeD properties of the given CORESET. ¶ [0189]); and
the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits the PDCCH candidates to the terminal in the PDCCH monitoring occasions that overlap in time (See Figs. 8-12: CORESETs 801, 802, and 803 are radio resources for control information to be received by the terminal. Each of the CORESETs 801, 802, and 803 may use only a portion, rather than the entirety, of the system bandwidth. The BS may allocate a CORESET to each UE, and the BS may transmit control information through the allocated CORESET to the UE. ¶ [0076]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0224726 A1 to discuss Method and device for transmission and reception based on default spatial parameter in wireless communication system).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416