2. This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/697,352 filed on 3/29/24. Claims 1 – 19 has been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1 – 6, 12, 1 6- 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Intel (EDGEAPP – ETSI MEC Alignment EAS Dual Registration” 3GPP DRAFT; DISCUSSION PAPER s6-21xxxx – EDGEAPP – ETSI MEC DUAL APP, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP) MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE: 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOES: F-06921 SOPHIA_ANTIPOLIS CEDEX: FRA, 29 September 2021 (2021 – 09 – 29), XP052062075, Intel hereafter) in further view of 5G (5G Standalone Access Registration Signaling Messages”, 13 February 2019 (2019 – 02 - 13), XP055924652, 5G hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Intel teaches An apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising (page 6, EAS):
at least one memory (memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (processor):
transmit, to a first node, a first request message comprising (Dual application registration request, Page 6):
an application profile (EAS profile, Page 8);
primary security information (security credentials, Page 8);
secondary security information (security credentials, Page 8); and
receive, from the first node, a first response message comprising (Dual application registration acknowledgement, page 6):
a coordinated expiration time (expiration time, page 8);
a dual registration identifier (registration ID O App Identifier of the dual registration to both EES and MEC platform, Page 6).
However, does not specifically disclose a requested dual registration area;
a combined allowed dual registration area; and
store information received in the first response message, wherein the stored information comprises:
the coordinated expiration time;
the dual registration identifier; and
the combined allowed dual registration area.
5G teaches a requested dual registration area (registration area, page 17);
a combined allowed dual registration area (registration area, page 17 - 18); and
store information received in the first response message (registration response, page 26), wherein the stored information comprises:
the coordinated expiration time (timer, page 29);
the dual registration identifier (SMSF identifier, page 17); and
the combined allowed dual registration area (registration area, page 17 - 18).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of 5G’s teachings of combined registration area and the specific information storage with the system of Intel. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because in doing so it will provide accurate registration information to successfully register the devices.
Regarding claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, Intel further teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a multi-access edge computing application instance or an edge application instance (EDGEAPP, page 4).
Regarding claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, Intel further teaches wherein the first node comprises an edge interworking service (MEC, page 4).
Regarding claim 4, The apparatus of claim 1, Intel further comprising wherein the first node comprises a primary dual registration system (registration ID O App Identifier of the dual registration to both EES and MEC platform, Page 6).
Regarding claim 5, the method substantially has same limitations as claim 1, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 5, 5G further comprising:
receiving, from the primary dual registration system (registration area, page 17 - 18), a second response message comprising:
a coordinated expiration time (timer, page 29);
a dual registration identifier (SMSF identifier, page 17); and
a first allowed dual registration area (registration area, page 17 - 18).
Regarding claim 12, An apparatus for performing a network function comprising, the apparatus comprising (page 6, EES):
at least one memory (memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (processor):
receive, from an edge interworking service, a second request message comprising (Dual Application registration request, page 6):
an application profile (EAS profile, page 8);
primary security information (security credentials, page 8); and
perform authorization for a primary registration based on: the primary security information, a local policy, the requested dual registration area, or a combination thereof (registering EAS (primary registration), page 6).
However, does not specifically teach a requested dual registration area.
5G teaches a requested dual registration area (registration area, page 17).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of 5G’s teachings of combined registration area and the specific information storage with the system of Intel. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because in doing so it will provide accurate registration information to successfully register the devices.
Regarding claim 16, the method substantially has same limitations as claim 1, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 17, the method substantially has same limitations as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 18, the method substantially has same limitations as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 19, the method substantially has same limitations as claim 4, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 7 – 11, 13 – 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
TANMAY K. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/TANMAY K SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632