DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander James Faaborg et al “Position Localization for Non Ultra-Wideband Devices”, Technical Disclosure Commons, Defensive Publication Series, May 05, 2021, pages 1-7 in view of Russell et al (US 2023/0079580 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Silverman discloses a method by a first ultra-wide band (UWB) device (Fig. 1, UWB smart display 102 or UWB smart glasses 104), the method comprising:
registering a non-UWB device, based on UWB ranging between the first UWB device and a second UWB device (page 4 and Fig. 1, locate non-UWB device based on ranging between the two UWB enabled devices, smart display 102 and smart glasses 104);
identifying a location of the first UWB device relative to a location of the second UWB device, based on a result of the UWB ranging between the first UWB device and the second UWB device (Fig. 1); and
recognizing the registered non-UWB device, based on a direction to which the first UWB device points and the location of the first UWB device (Fig. 1 and page 5, coordinate non-UWB device with reference to the stationary UWB device can be determined to high precision).
Faaborg does not specifically disclose that wherein the result of the UWB ranging comprises time of flight (ToF) information and angle of arrival (AoA) information. Russell discloses that UWB ranging includes ToF and AoA (10th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ToF and AoA in Faaborg’s system, as suggested by Russell, to determine locations of the UWB enabled devices precisely.
Regarding claim 8, Faaborg discloses that wherein UWB ranging is performed based on a two-way ranging (TWR) scheme (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Silverman discloses a first ultra wide band (UWB) device (Fig. 1, UWB smart glasses 104 and/or UWB smart display 102) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 1, UWB smart glasses 104 must include transceiver to communicate UWB 106); and
a controller connected to the transceiver (Fig. 1, UWB smart glasses 104 must include a processor),
wherein the controller is configured to:
register a non-UWB device, based on UWB ranging between the first UWB device and a second UWB device (page 4 and Fig. 1, locate non-UWB device based on ranging between the two UWB enabled devices, smart display 102 and smart glasses 104);
identify a location of the first UWB device relative to a location of the second UWB device, based on a result of the UWB ranging between the first UWB device and the second UWB device (Fig. 1); and
recognize the registered non-UWB device, based on a direction to which the first UWB device points and the location of the first UWB device (Fig. 1 and page 5, coordinate non-UWB device with reference to the stationary UWB device can be determined to high precision).
Faaborg does not specifically disclose that wherein the result of the UWB ranging comprises time of flight (ToF) information and angle of arrival (AoA) information. Russell discloses that UWB ranging includes ToF and AoA (10th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ToF and AoA in Faaborg’s system, as suggested by Russell, to determine locations of the UWB enabled devices precisely.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-9, and 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472