DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, in line 2, replace “wherein the controller is further configured to identify a location” with --wherein register non-UWB device, the controller is further configured to identify a location--. Same subject matter must be recited in claim 10 as recited in method claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, in line 2, replace “wherein the controller is further configured to” with --wherein register non-UWB device, the controller is further configured to--. Same subject matter must be recited in claim 12 as recited in method claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Silverman et al (US 2022/0137176 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Silverman discloses a method by a first ultra wide band (UWB) device (Fig. 1, AP and/or UWB anchor), the method comprising:
registering a non-UWB device (55th paragraph, Fig. 1, APs and/or UWB anchors make/collect non-UWB measurements for non-UWB location technologies based on non-UWB transmissions from mobile devices. Herein, non-UWB transmissions from mobile devices are non-UWB mobile devices), based on UWB ranging between the first UWB device (Fig. 1, AP 105 and/or UWB anchor 115 can be selected to serve mobile devices based on its location) and a second UWB device (Fig. 1, AP 105 and/or UWB anchor 120 can be selected to serve mobile devices based on its location); and
recognizing the registered non-UWB device, based on a direction to which the first UWB device points (Fig. 6, actual/direct AoA path are determined based on direction between AP and mobile device).
Regarding claim 8, Silverman discloses that wherein UWB ranging is performed based on a two-way ranging (TWR) scheme (22nd paragraph and Fig. 1, the location technologies include two-way ranging (TWR)).
Regarding claim 9, Silverman discloses a first ultra wide band (UWB) device (Fig. 2, AP and/or Fig. 4, UWB anchor device) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 2, UWB chipset 250 and/or Fig. 4, UWB chipset 450); and
a controller connected to the transceiver (Fig. 2, processor 205 and/or Fig. 4, processor 405),
wherein the controller is configured to:
register a non-UWB device (55th paragraph, Fig. 1, APs and/or UWB anchors make/collect non-UWB measurements for non-UWB location technologies based on non-UWB transmissions from mobile devices. Herein, non-UWB transmissions from mobile devices are non-UWB mobile devices), based on UWB ranging between the first UWB device (Fig. 1, AP 105 and/or UWB anchor 115 can be selected to serve mobile devices based on its location) and a second UWB device (Fig. 1, AP 105 and/or UWB anchor 120 can be selected to serve mobile devices based on its location); and
recogniz the registered non-UWB device, based on a direction to which the first UWB device points (Fig. 6, actual/direct AoA path are determined based on direction between AP and mobile device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Sun et al (US 2022/0381869 A1), same assignee, discloses determining UE pointing information based on spatial information (Figs. 6, 20, 21, and 29).
Zeng et al (US Patent No. 12,078,710 B2), generally related, discloses UWB sensing (Fig. 13).
Henry et al (US 2022/0066010 A1), generally related, discloses performing UWB ranging between mobile devices and UWB anchor devices (Figs. 5-9).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472