DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/26/2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 2-4, 10, 13, 14, 20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 12, 15-19 are pending.
The amendment to claims1, 7-9, 12, 17-19 has overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection made in the non-final rejection filed 02/26/2026. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection in regards to claims 1, 5-9, 11, 12, 15-19 is withdrawn.
Specification
The amendment to the title has overcome the objection made in the non-final rejection filed 02/26/2026. The objection is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/11/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Note, NPL reference #1 fails to provide an English translation and is the reason why it is currently not considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment. KANG et al. (US 2015/0113455 A1) is now relied upon as teaching the art of displaying the content in a first region of the partial region and the OSD in a second region of the partial region. Kang teaches displaying a plurality of windows according to a multi-window mode [abstract]. With reference to Fig. 3, the control module (160) may first display, on the display module (140), a window corresponding to specific function execution in response to a user input (said outputting content) [0088]. Application of a multiple window mode may be selectively performed in response to the icon selection of a designated menu item or items [0088]. If the operation of the multiple window mode is applied, the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows fill the entire display module (140) [0088]. The control module (160) may perform a first function-related window display (said first region) for executing first function and a second function-related window display (said second region) for a second function. The control module (160) may display the first function-related window and the second function-related window so that they are displayed on certain areas of the display module [0091]. The control module (160) may collect preset window size information for the first and second function-related window display [0091]. Fig. 12 provides various examples. The display module (140) of the electronic device (100) may display a plurality of windows provided as a result of an environment supporting multiple windows (screen (1201)) [9156]. The display module (140) may display a first function-related window (1210) and a second function-related window (1220) [0156]. Furthermore, the size of the windows can be resized according to presets or user input [0157-0160]. Thus, in the combined invention, Jeong teaches an extendable display the display content and an OSD. Yabu improves the OSD of Jeong by not needing to extend the display to display the OSD as currently taught by Jeong (see Fig. 9b [0110-0113]). Kang further improves Jeong in view of Yabu so that a plurality of windows mutually and adaptively changes at least one of a display format or a display type, thereby enabling more convenient viewing of information displayed in each window [Kang: 0031], while not covering content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
RE claim 5, claim 5 recites, “A horizontal size of the OSD menu output in the second region is equal to the vertical size of the second region.” Applicant’s disclosure teaches when the display device (700) outputs the OSD menu in the second region (730), a vertical size of the OSD menu output from the second region (730) may be the same as a vertical size of the OSD menu when the OSD menu it output on the entire region of the display region, and a horizontal size of the OSD menu output from the second region (730) may be scaled or cropped to be the same as the horizontal size of the second region (730) (emphasis added) (see PG Pub US 2025/0046222 A1). Therefore, there is a discrepancy if the horizontal size of the OSD menu should be equal to the vertical or horizontal size of the second region.
RE claim 15, claim 15 recites similar issues as claim 5 but in system form. Therefore, the same 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claim 5 is applied herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JEONG et al. (KR10-2020-0000293) in view of YABU (2016/0073047 A1) and KANG et al. (US 2015/0113455 A1).
RE claim 1, Jeong teaches an adjustable size display device [0001]. Jeong teaches a method of controlling a display device in which a size of a display region that is exposed is changed, the method comprising:
Fig. 1, the display (110) comprising the display device (100) can be implemented as a rollable display [0039]. The actuator (130) (said controlling a display device … size … exposed is changed) is installed inside housings and it can be implemented in order to move the display (110) to top and bottom about the house (10) [0048]. Jeong teaches:
(a)
outputting content in a first region of a partial region of the display region when only the partial region of the display region is exposed;
As shown in Fig. 9 of Jeong, video content is displayed in a partial region of the display (110) [0111]. As will be explained further in the rationale of claim 1(c), in further view of Kang, Kang teaches a multiple window mode, where the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows (said first region) fill the entire display module (140) [0088]. In the combined invention, the entire display module is the exposed region.
(b)
receiving a first control signal when content is output in the first region, and
Jeong teaches the first part of the display (110) is located outside of the housing (10) and the second part of the display (120) is located inside the housing (10) [0064]. Jeong further teaches an event for displaying GUI comprises a user instruction for displaying the GUI (e.g., OSD menu) on the display device (100) is inputted through the external device (e.g., Set Top Box) via a remote control (said receiving a first control signal) [0064].
(c)
outputting an on screen display (OSD) menu in a second region of the partial region and
Jeong teaches displaying the GUI (e.g., OSD menu) on the display device (100) based on a user instruction [0064]. However, Jeong fails to disclose outputting the OSD menu in a second region of the partial region.
Yabu teaches displaying an OSD with video content. As shown in the flow of Fig. 3, Fig. 3A illustrates a video (50) is displayed on displaying unit (54) (said outputting content in a first region) [0074]. Fig. 3C illustrates the situation when STB (14) receives a user’s operation (said receiving a first control signal) [0076]. As can be seen, the video (50) of Fig. 3A is displayed during the user’s operation (said receiving a first control signal in a state in which content is output in the first region). As a result of the received user’s operation, OSD image (52) is superimposed on video (50) according to this operation (said outputting an OSD menu) [0076].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the display of Jeong to display the OSD on the video content as taught by Yabu, without the need to extend the display to display the OSD as currently taught by Jeong (see Fig. 9b [0110-0113]) because Jeong teaches the display is already “calibrated” based on the position of the user (see Fig. 4a, [0087-0089]). By altering the size of the display to accommodate the OSD as taught by Jeong, it requires the user to modify their line of sight, such as shown in Fig. 9b. By modifying the display of Jeong to overlay the OSD in the already exposed display of Jeong, the user does not have to adjust their line of sight to view both the OSD and the video content. This would provide a comfortable transition of displaying the OSD to the viewer as they are viewing video content.
Jeong in view of Yabu teaches displaying an OSD menu with displayed content, but fails to display the content in a first region of the partial region and the OSD in a second region of the partial region. Kang teaches displaying a plurality of windows according to a multi-window mode [abstract]. With reference to Fig. 3, the control module (160) may first display, on the display module (140), a window corresponding to specific function execution in response to a user input (said outputting content) [0088]. Application of a multiple window mode may be selectively performed in response to the icon selection of a designated menu item or items [0088]. If the operation of the multiple window mode is applied, the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows fill the entire display module (140) [0088]. The control module (160) may perform a first function-related window display (said first region) for executing first function and a second function-related window display (said second region) for a second function. The control module (160) may display the first function-related window and the second function-related window so that they are displayed on certain areas of the display module [0091]. The control module (160) may collect preset window size information for the first and second function-related window display [0091]. Fig. 12 provides various examples. The display module (140) of the electronic device (100) may display a plurality of windows provided as a result of an environment supporting multiple windows (screen (1201)) [9156]. The display module (140) may display a first function-related window (1210) and a second function-related window (1220) [0156]. Furthermore, the size of the windows can be resized according to presets or user input [0157-0160].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the display of Jeong in view of Yabu by modifying the overlay of the OSD with the multi-window display of Kang. The display of Kang provides support so that a plurality of windows mutually and adaptively changes at least one of a display format or a display type, thereby enabling more convenient viewing of information displayed in each window [Kang: 0031].
(d)
outputting the content in the first region of the partial region, when only the patrial region of the display region is exposed.
As shown in Fig. 9 of Jeong, video content is displayed in a partial region of the display (110) (said partial region of the display region is exposed) [0111]. As modified by Kang, Kang teaches a multiple window mode, where the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows fill the entire display module (140) (said first region) [0088]. In the combined invention, the entire display module is the exposed region.
RE claim 5, in further view of Kang, Kang teaches based on the OSD menu being output in the second region,
(a)
a vertical size of the OSD menu output in the second region is equal to a vertical size at a time of outputting the OSD menu in an entire region of the display region, and a horizontal size of the OSD menu output in the second region is equal to a vertical size of the second region.
In further view of Kang, Kang teaches adjusting the display format or display type of a previous window if a request to display a new window is made [0034]. The display module (140) may adjust at least one of the size and arrangement of an app window or a widget window according to the control of the control module (160) [0042]. As shown in the example of Fig. 6, as additional windows are added, the content within the windows are adjusted in size to accommodate the new window size [0114-0117]. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the OSD menu of Jeong in view of Yabu and Kang according to the size of the window as taught by Kang. Although Kang does not go into the specifics of determining the horizontal size and vertical size, the outcome of descaling and cropping the OSD menu results in fitting the OSD menu into the size of the second region, which is the result of Kang.
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 6, in further view of Kang, Kang teaches based on the OSD menu being output in the second region,
(a)
descaling a size of the OSD menu output in an entire region of the display region based on a horizontal size of the second region, cropping the size of the OSD menu based on a vertical size of the second region, and outputting the OSD menu in the second region.
In further view of Kang, Kang teaches adjusting the display format or display type of a previous window if a request to display a new window is made [0034]. The display module (140) may adjust at least one of the size and arrangement of an app window or a widget window according to the control of the control module (160) [0042]. As shown in the example of Fig. 6, as additional windows are added, the content within the windows are adjusted in size to accommodate the new window size [0114-0117]. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the OSD menu of Jeong in view of Yabu and Kang according to the size of the window as taught by Kang. Although Kang does not go into the specifics of determining the horizontal size and vertical size, the outcome of descaling and cropping the OSD menu results in fitting the OSD menu into the size of the second region, which is the result of Kang.
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 8, Jeong in view of Yabu and Kang teaches
(a)
based on receiving of an input signal of selecting a first menu of the OSD menu in a state in which the OSD menu is currently output,
Jeong teaches an event for displaying GUI comprises a user instruction for displaying the GUI (e.g., OSD menu) on the display device (100) is inputted through the external device (e.g., Set Top Box) via a remote control (said OSD menu) [0064]. Jeong further teaches displaying EPG information [0113] which is well known to allow a user to select a television program for display (said selecting a first menu).
Yabu teaches the STB (14) receives a channel selected from a plurality of channels broadcast by broadcast station (12) according to a user’s instruction, and outputs video signals of this channel to video reception device (40) (said based on receiving of an input signal of selecting a first menu of the OSD menu when the OSD menu is output) [0038].
(b)
outputting content corresponding to the first menu in the first region.
Jeong further teaches displaying EPG information [0113] which is well known to allow a user to select a television program for display (said selecting a first menu). Yabu teaches the STB (14) receives a channel selected from a plurality of channels broadcast by broadcast station (12) according to a user’s instruction, and outputs video signals of this channel to video reception device (40) (said outputting content corresponding to the first menu in the first region) [0038]. As modified by Kang, Kang is relied upon as teaching a multiple window mode, where the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows (said first region) fill the entire display module (140) [0088].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 11, Jeong teaches wherein
(a)
content displayed in the first region is content displayed immediately before the display device is turned off.
Jeong teaches the ability of the whole-area of the display (110) is accepted in the housing (10) and the user is sensed in the state where the display (110) is turned off [0076]. It is implied that turning off the display would turn off whatever was initially displayed on the display when the display was on. Therefore, when the video content was displayed and now the display is turned off, the video content was displayed immediately before the display device was turned off, and retracted into the housing. As modified by Kang, Kang is relied upon as teaching a multiple window mode, where the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows (said first region) fill the entire display module (140) [0088].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 12, Jeong teaches an adjustable size display device [0001]. Jeong teaches a display device comprising:
(i)
a display including a display region in which content is output;
Display (110) comprising the display device (100) can be implemented as a rollable display [0039].
(ii)
a memory configured to store at least one data;
The processor (140) executes at least one instruction stored in the memory [0049].
(iii)
a motor controlled to expose a partial region of the display region; and
The actuator (130) is installed inside the housing and it can be implemented in order to move the display (110) to top and bottom about the housing (10) [0048]. The processor (140) can determine the screen size exposed (110) [0053].
(iv)
a controller configured to control the display, the memory, and the motor,
Fig. 1, Jeong teaches the display (110) can be exposed to the outside at various heights according to an event [0042]. The processor (140) controls the overall operation of the display device (100) [0049].
wherein the controller is configured to:
(a)
output content in a first region of the partial region when only the partial region of the display region is exposed;
As shown in Fig. 9 of Jeong, video content is displayed in a partial region of the display (110) [0111]. As will be explained further in the rationale of claim 12(c), in further view of Kang, Kang teaches a multiple window mode, where the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows (said first region) fill the entire display module (140) [0088]. In the combined invention, the entire display module is the exposed region.
(b)
receive a first control signal is received when the content is output in the first region, and
Jeong teaches the first part of the display (110) is located outside of the housing (10) and the second part of the display (120) is located inside the housing (10) [0064]. Jeong further teaches an event for displaying GUI comprises a user instruction for displaying the GUI (e.g., OSD menu) on the display device (100) is inputted through the external device (e.g., Set Top Box) via a remote control (said receiving a first control signal) [0064].
(c)
output an on screen display (OSD) menu is output in a second region of the partial region, and
Jeong teaches displaying the GUI (e.g., OSD menu) on the display device (100) based on a user instruction [0064]. However, Jeong fails to disclose outputting the OSD menu in a second region of the partial region.
Yabu teaches displaying an OSD with video content. As shown in the flow of Fig. 3, Fig. 3A illustrates a video (50) is displayed on displaying unit (54) (said outputting content in a first region) [0074]. Fig. 3C illustrates the situation when STB (14) receives a user’s operation (said receiving a first control signal) [0076]. As can be seen, the video (50) of Fig. 3A is displayed during the user’s operation (said receiving a first control signal in a state in which content is output in the first region). As a result of the received user’s operation, OSD image (52) is superimposed on video (50) according to this operation (said outputting an OSD menu) [0076].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the display of Jeong to display the OSD on the video content as taught by Yabu, without the need to extend the display to display the OSD as currently taught by Jeong (see Fig. 9b [0110-0113]) because Jeong teaches the display is already “calibrated” based on the position of the user (see Fig. 4a, [0087-0089]). By altering the size of the display to accommodate the OSD as taught by Jeong, it requires the user to modify their line of sight, such as shown in Fig. 9b. By modifying the display of Jeong to overlay the OSD in the already exposed display of Jeong, the user does not have to adjust their line of sight to view both the OSD and the video content. This would provide a comfortable transition of displaying the OSD to the viewer as they are viewing video content.
Jeong in view of Yabu teaches displaying an OSD menu with displayed content, but fails to display the content in a first region of the partial region and the OSD in a second region of the partial region. Kang teaches displaying a plurality of windows according to a multi-window mode [abstract]. With reference to Fig. 3, the control module (160) may first display, on the display module (140), a window corresponding to specific function execution in response to a user input (said outputting content) [0088]. Application of a multiple window mode may be selectively performed in response to the icon selection of a designated menu item or items [0088]. If the operation of the multiple window mode is applied, the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows fill the entire display module (140) [0088]. The control module (160) may perform a first function-related window display (said first region) for executing first function and a second function-related window display (said second region) for a second function. The control module (160) may display the first function-related window and the second function-related window so that they are displayed on certain areas of the display module [0091]. The control module (160) may collect preset window size information for the first and second function-related window display [0091]. Fig. 12 provides various examples. The display module (140) of the electronic device (100) may display a plurality of windows provided as a result of an environment supporting multiple windows (screen (1201)) [9156]. The display module (140) may display a first function-related window (1210) and a second function-related window (1220) [0156]. Furthermore, the size of the windows can be resized according to presets or user input [0157-0160].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the display of Jeong in view of Yabu by modifying the overlay of the OSD with the multi-window display of Kang. The display of Kang provides support so that a plurality of windows mutually and adaptively changes at least one of a display format or a display type, thereby enabling more convenient viewing of information displayed in each window [Kang: 0031].
(d)
output the content in the first region of the partial region, when only the patrial region of the display region is exposed.
As shown in Fig. 9 of Jeong, video content is displayed in a partial region of the display (110) (said partial region of the display region is exposed) [0111]. As modified by Kang, Kang teaches a multiple window mode, where the windows may be arranged on certain areas of the screen of the display module (140) such that the windows fill the entire display module (140) (said first region) [0088]. In the combined invention, the entire display module is the exposed region.
RE claim 15, claim 15 recites similar limitations as claim 5 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 5 is applied.
RE claim 16, claim 16 recites similar limitations as claim 6 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 6 is applied.
RE claim 18, claim 18 recites similar limitations as claim 8 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 8 is applied.
Claims 7, 9, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JEONG et al. (KR10-2020-0000293) in view of YABU (US 2016/0073047 A1) and KANG et al. (US 2015/0113455 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively, and in further view of MILLER (US 2007/0136681 A1).
RE claim 7, in further view of Yabu, Yabu teaches receiving a user’s operation (said first control signal) to display an OSD image (52) superimposed on video (50) [0076]. Kang is relied upon as display plurality of windows (said first, second regions) [0088]. However, Jeong in view of Yabu and Kang fails to disclose scrolling of the OSD menu.
Miller is made of record as teaching an OSD that allows a scrollable menu in response to a user input. Miller provides an OSD method/system that displays configuration menus in a visually simple manner [0018]. The menu items are logically organized into a menu tree structure having different menu levels. At each level, only a few menu items are displayed at once. The display scrolls to other menu items at the same level in response to user input [0018]. Miller teaches:
(a)
based on receiving of a second control signal in a state in which the OSD menu is currently output,
Fig. 1 of Miller, television screen (1) displays a top-level menu (10) of the OSD [0020]. The top level menu icon (10) is displayed when the user presses an appropriate key on the control device (said first control signal) [0020]. The top-level menu icon (10) includes a number of arrows (15a-d), which indicate some of the user inputs allowed at this time, one being scrolling (said second control signal) [0020]. The OSD is intended to be displayed over images or programs being viewed [0027].
(b)
scrolling and outputting the OSD menu based on a moving path of the second control signal.
Miller teaches in response to the scrolling input (said second control signal), the OSD changes the menu item displayed on each face (12, 13, 14) of the wheel and brings new menu icons into view (said outputting the OSD menu based on a moving path of the second control signal) [0021].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ability to scroll the OSD of Jeong in view of Yabu and Kang as taught by Miller because the OSD of Miller provides only a few menu items at a time to avoid confusing and overwhelming the user. Displaying only a few menu items at a time also makes the menu icon relatively small in size to minimize the screen area obscured by the OSD [Miller: 0029].
RE claim 9, Jeong in view of Yabu and Kang teaches the limitation of claim 9 with the exception of disclosing a second menu of the OSD menu. However, Miller is made of record as teaching an OSD where the menu items are logically organized into a menu tree structure having different menu levels. At each level, only a few menu items are displayed at once. The display scrolls to other menu items at the same level in response to user input [0018]. Jeong in view of Yabu and in further view of Miller teaches:
(a)
based on receiving of an input signal of selecting a second menu of the OSD menu in a state in which the OSD menu is currently output,
In further view of Yabu, Yabu teaches displaying an OSD with video content (said OSD menu) (Fig. 3(c), [0074, 0076]). As modified by Miller, the top-level menu icon (10) (said OSD menu) includes a number of arrows (15a-d), which indicate some of the user inputs allowed at this time [0020]. When the user activates the currently selects menu item (position 13) of the top-level menu (10) with an activation input, the OSD changes to a different display based on the menu tree structure [0023]. If the activated menu item corresponds to several next level menu items, a next-level (second-level) menu icon (20) is displayed (said selecting a second menu) [Figs. 4A, 4B, 0023].
(b)
controlling a motor to expose an entire region of the display region; and
Jeong teaches the actuator (130) is installed inside the housing and it can be implemented in order to move the display (110) to top and bottom about the housing (10) [0048]. The processor (140) can determine the screen size exposed (110) [0053].
outputting content corresponding to the second menu in the entire region.
Jeong further teaches a user instruction for controlling the height of the display (110) [0112]. As can be seen in Fig. 9b of Jeong, content is displayed on the entire region of the newly sized display (said entire region). As further taught by Kang, Kang teaches the ability to further display a single window (said entire region) [Fig. 3 (305), 0089]. Thus, in the modified invention, the second menu of Miller could correspond to a user instruction for increasing the size of the display.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the additional menus of the OSD of Jeong in view of Yabu and Kang as taught by Miller because the OSD of Miller provides only a few menu items at a time to avoid confusing and overwhelming the user. Displaying only a few menu items at a time also makes the menu icon relatively small in size to minimize the screen area obscured by the OSD [Miller: 0029].
RE claim 17, claim 17 recites similar limitations as claim 7 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 7 is applied.
RE claim 19, claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 9 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 9 is applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
direct telephone number:
(571) 272-7661
email:
michelle.sams@uspto.gov
The examiner is currently part time and can be reached Mon.-Fri. 5:30am-9:30am.
/MICHELLE L SAMS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611
11 June 2026