DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment and argument filed 10/02/2026, in response to the non-final rejection, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claims 1-14,17,19-20 and 22-27 are pending of which claims 22-26 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 04/22/2026.
Claims 1-14,17,19-20 and 27 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 17, 19-20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karen Christman and Jessica Dequach (From IDS, WO2013036708A2). This rejection is maintained with slight modifications due to the amendments filed on 10/02/2026.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 15 and 19, Christman teaches of a method of injecting or implanting in a subject with peripheral artery disease an effective amount of a composition comprising decellularized extracellular matrix derived from skeletal muscle tissue (see claim 1) and teaches wherein said effective amount is an amount that increases muscle mass in the area of the injection or implantation of the treated subject (see claim 12). The ECM composition as described herein can help regenerate defective or absent skeletal muscle and restore muscle mass and function (see 0035).
Regarding claim 2, Christman teaches the composition to be delivered as a liquid (see claim 48).
Regarding claim 3, Christman teaches wherein the composition transforms into a gel form after delivery (see claim 49).
Regarding claim 4, Christman teaches wherein said composition is delivered as a powder (see claim 10).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 16, Christman teaches hydrogels derived from decellularized ECMs and combined with cells (see 0083).
Regarding claim 8, Christman teaches that the skeletal muscle ECM best mimics the natural skeletal muscle environment, it improves cell survival and retention upon injection at the site of the injured tissue, thus encouraging tissue regeneration (see 0039).
Regarding claim 9, Christman teaches wherein the composition degrades three months following injection (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, Christman teaches wherein the composition degrades one month following injection (see claim 2).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Christman teaches wherein the ECM concentration can be 1-20 mg/mL, or 2-8 mg/mL (see 0046).
Regarding claim 12, pertaining to wherein the head and/or neck muscle injury or muscle loss in weakness or asymmetry in at least one facial muscle being tongue muscle, applying the method for increasing muscle mass by using and treating muscle injury by administering the same composition would inherently have the same effects unless given some evidence that this indeed is not the case.
Regarding claims 13 and 21, Christman teaches wherein skeletal muscle loss can be due to injury or tumor (see 0010).
Regarding claim 14, Christman teaches wherein the composition is for tissue damage, as well as for restoring muscle mass and function (see 0035).
Regarding claim 17, Christman teaches injecting the composition as a liquid into a desired site in the patient (see 0054).
Christman does not specifically teach that the method is for treating head and/or neck muscle injury or muscle loss from radiation treatment however Christman teaches the method can be for repairing muscle damage to skeletal muscle tissue and so using it on the head and/or neck would have been obvious to any person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because skeletal muscle exists in both the head and neck. It would have also been obvious to administer the composition to a subject periodically at an interval of once per, day, week, month and year as this optimization is well within the purview of any skilled artisan. Christman also teaches the muscle injury can be due to tumors and so expecting the method to treat injuries from cancers of the upper aerodigestive tract would also have been prima facie obvious. It would have also been obvious to administer the composition to patients having asymmetry of muscle mass in their tongue because the composition is known to improve skeletal muscle mass and function and so expecting the treatment to fix asymmetrical muscle mass loss is also prima facie obvious. Expecting the administration of the ECM composition to regenerate tissues of muscles of the head/neck from radiation treatment or from scarring such as from fibrosis would have been expected with a reasonable expectation of success because although Christman does not directly teach that this damage to the muscle is from radiation or fibrosis, Christman teaches the composition is for tissue regeneration and does not limit the regeneration capacity to only one type of damage. Thus, using it for such treatment would have been an obvious choice. Christman also recognizes that muscle fibers which develop scar tissue after injury lead to loss of function and this appears to be what Christman indeed is motivated to improve (see 0009).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the relied upon art does not teach wherein the tissue damage is from radiation treatment. The applicant argues that tissues damaged by radiation have a diminished capacity to regenerate making the repair response associated with other types of muscle damage less predictive of a response in irradiated muscle. People having ordinary skill in the art can appreciate this fact and still rely on the prior art with a reasonable expectation of success in regenerating muscle tissue damaged from radiation treatment. There appears to be no difference between the instant invention and the prior art. The same administration of the same components to the same tissues would result in the same effects. Christman teaches the extracellular matrix consists of a complex tissue-specific network of proteins and polysaccharides, which help regulate cell growth, survival and differentiation and wherein the composition recruits proliferating muscle cells (see figure 8) through muscle progenitor infiltration (see figure 9). Furthermore, Christman teaches the administration of the composition results in skeletal muscle tissue regeneration and restoration of muscle mass and function. Given this information, even if irradiated muscle tissues are more difficult to treat than muscle tissue damaged in other ways, one would still expect treating muscle tissue damaged from radiation treatment would have a reasonable expectation of success.
The applicant has supplied three references to consider, however, needs to upload an IDS form with the references cited on the form for the references to be properly considered.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB A BOECKELMAN Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655