Drawing
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, for claim 38, the limitation of:
in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row, arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent ones of the second sub-pixels are the same,
an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the second pixel row is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the fourth pixel row,
and arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent ones of the second sub-pixels in the second direction are opposite.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
None of the drawings describe this limitation.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 ,13 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 12, the limitation of “wherein each of the first sub-pixels is located within a range of a virtual quadrilateral formed by lines sequentially connecting centers of two adjacent second sub-pixels and centers of two adjacent third sub-pixels” is unclear language. It is not clear how the first sub-pixels that are apart and above the second and third sub-pixels can be within a range of that virtual connecting quadrilateral? Appropriate correction is needed.
In claim 13, the limitation of “wherein a first distance (see arrow below) and a second distance are provided between the first sub-pixel and the two second sub-pixels (see lower arrow below ) for forming the virtual quadrilateral respectively” is unclear language. As it is not clear how first and second distance forms a quadrilateral, as a quadrilateral has 4 distances, and not 2 as claimed. Same applies to the rest of claim 13.
For claim 38, the limitation of
in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row, arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent ones of the second sub-pixels are the same,
an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the second pixel row is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the fourth pixel row,
and arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent ones of the second sub-pixels in the second direction are opposite.
is unclear and confusing. It is not clear what is meant by this limitation.
Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2, 48 and 54 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20220208891 A1, cited by Applicant)
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a pixel arrangement structure ([0032], Fig.5),
comprising at least one array unit, wherein the at least one array unit comprises: a first pixel row, comprising a plurality of first sub-pixels arranged along a first direction (left to right rows from top to bottom are the first, second, third and fourth pixel rows);
a second pixel row, comprising a plurality of second sub-pixels and a plurality of third sub-pixels,
which are arranged along the first direction and alternately arranged;
a third pixel row, comprising a plurality of first sub-pixels arranged along the first direction;
and a fourth pixel row, comprising a plurality of second sub-pixels and a plurality of third sub-pixels,
which are arranged along the first direction and alternately arranged, wherein the first pixel row, the second pixel row, the third pixel row and the fourth pixel row are arranged along a second direction (top to bottom) intersecting the first direction, and a virtual isosceles trapezoid (connecting lines shown in Fig.5) is formed by lines sequentially connecting centers of two adjacent first sub-pixels in the first pixel row and centers of two adjacent first sub-pixels in the third pixel row.
Regarding claim 48, Liu teaches a pixel arrangement structure, comprising first sub-pixels, second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels, wherein a plurality of the first sub-pixels are arranged along a first direction to form a first type pixel row, a plurality of the second sub-pixels and a plurality of the third sub-pixels are arranged along the first direction and are alternately arranged, to form a second type pixel row; a plurality of first type pixel rows and a plurality of second type pixel rows are arranged along a second direction intersecting the first direction (see rejection of claim 1, wherein the same citations for the elements as claimed apply), lines sequentially connecting centers of four of the first sub-pixels surrounding one of the third sub-pixels form a virtual isosceles trapezoid (see drawing below),
and lines sequentially connecting centers of four of the second sub-pixels surrounding the one of the third sub-pixels form a virtual quadrilateral (see drawing below):
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches a pixel arrangement structure ([0032], Fig.5), wherein a base angle of the virtual isosceles trapezoid ranges from 75 degrees to 90 degrees (see trapezoids in drawing above).
Regarding claim 54, Liu teaches a display device, comprising the pixel arrangement structure (title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5,7,8, 12-13, 19 ,21,26,31,34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being alternatively anticipated by Hu (CN 114420722)
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
comprising at least one array unit, wherein the at least one array unit comprises: a first pixel row (top most horizontal line shown above), comprising a plurality of first sub-pixels arranged along a first direction; a second pixel row (second from top horizontal line shown above), comprising a plurality of second sub-pixels and a plurality of third sub-pixels, which are arranged along the first direction and alternately arranged; a third pixel row (third from top horizontal line shown above), comprising a plurality of first sub-pixels arranged along the first direction; and a fourth pixel row (fourth from top horizontal line shown above), comprising a plurality of second sub-pixels and a plurality of third sub-pixels, which are arranged along the first direction and alternately arranged, wherein the first pixel row, the second pixel row, the third pixel row and the fourth pixel row are arranged along a second direction intersecting the first direction, and a virtual isosceles trapezoid is formed by lines sequentially connecting centers of two adjacent first sub-pixels in the first pixel row and centers of two adjacent first sub-pixels in the third pixel row (As Hu teaches: In some embodiments, the shape of the green sub-pixel 02 may be an asymmetric pattern, such as a right-angled trapezoid).
Regarding claim 5, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein a virtual rectangle is formed by lines sequentially connecting centers of two adjacent third sub-pixels in the second pixel row and centers of two adjacent third sub-pixels in the fourth pixel row (see drawings below. Note: A square has four right angles and meets all the properties of a rectangle; Applicant’s Figures 1-8 are relied upon in the rejection).
Regarding claim 7, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein at least one of a virtual isosceles trapezoid, a virtual square, and a virtual quadrilateral is formed by lines sequentially connecting centers of two adjacent second sub-pixels in the second pixel row and centers of two adjacent second sub-pixels in the fourth pixel row (see
from rejection of claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner part and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row, arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of the two adjacent second sub-pixels are different (see arrows in the drawing below:
.
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein each of the first sub-pixels is located within a range of a virtual quadrilateral formed by lines sequentially connecting centers of two adjacent second sub-pixels and centers of two adjacent third sub-pixels (Fig.2 of Applicant’s drawings is relied upon in the rejection, that is analogous to Hu’s Drawings, also see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein a first distance (see top arrow below) and a second distance are provided between the first sub-pixel and the two second sub-pixels (see lower arrow below ) for forming the virtual quadrilateral respectively (see 112 rejection above) , a third distance and a fourth distance are provided between the first sub-pixel and the two third sub-pixels for forming the virtual quadrilateral respectively, at least two of the first distance, the second distance, the third distance and the fourth distance are equal (Fig.2 of Applicant’s drawings is relied upon in the rejection, that is analogous to Hu’s Drawings, also see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 19, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein the plurality of the second sub-pixels and the plurality of the third sub-pixels are alternately arranged along the second direction, to form a first pixel column, in the first pixel column, an angle between a line connecting centers of one of the second sub-pixels and one of the third sub-pixels adjacent to each other and the second direction ranges from 1 degree to 15 degrees (see Figures 7-10,12,14,16,18 and 20 and from the chamfered shape of the sub-pixels that have offset centers).
Regarding claim 21, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, in the first pixel column, the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixel are arranged oppositely in the second direction (see 03’s chamfered ends and also changing positions as we go down, Fig.4 of Applicant’s invention is relied upon in the rejection).
Regarding claim 26, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner part and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row, arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent second sub-pixels are the same (see chamfered shapes, and orientations in Fig.13 below and the arrows as shown).
Regarding claim 31, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner part and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row, arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two of the second sub-pixels adjacent to each other are the same, an arrangement direction of the first corner and the second corner of the second sub-pixels in the second pixel row is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the fourth pixel row (see chamfered shapes, and orientations in Fig.15 below and the arrows as shown).
Regarding claim 34, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24),
wherein an angle between a line connecting the centers of one of the second sub-pixels and the one of the third sub-pixels adjacent to each other and located in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row respectively and the first direction ranges from 6 degrees to 8 degrees (see angles 86,92 degrees in Fig.10 and other analogous angle difference in Fig. 12,14,16,18 and 20).
Regarding claim 35, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.1-24), wherein a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner part and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel,
in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row, arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent ones of the second sub-pixels are the same, and an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the second pixel row is opposite to an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the fourth pixel row (see rejection of claim 31 and the corresponding figure for elements 03 in third and fifth rows that correspond to the second and fourth rows from rejection of claim 1 on which claim 35 is dependent ).
Regarding claim 38, Hu teaches a pixel arrangement structure (Fig.4 and 5),
wherein a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner part and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel,
in the second pixel row and the fourth pixel row, arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent ones of the second sub-pixels are the same, (03 in the third row of Fig.4)
an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the second pixel row is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of the first corner part and the second corner part of the second sub-pixels in the fourth pixel row, (see 03 in fifth row of Fig.4, wherein the chamfered edge is perpendicular to the chamfered edges of the third row);
and arrangement orders of the first corner part and the second corner part of two adjacent ones of the second sub-pixels in the second direction are opposite (see Fig.5 and arrows as shown below)
(also see Objection to Drawing and 112 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN 114420722 A)
Regarding claim 41, Hu teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises at least one of a first shape, a second shape and a third shape, the first shape comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner part and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, the second shape comprises a third corner part and a flattened part arranged oppositely, and an edge of the flattened part away from the third corner part is a straight line, the third shape comprises a fourth corner part and a fifth corner part oppositely arranged in the first direction and a sixth corner part and a seventh corner part arranged oppositely in the second direction, a distance between a vertex of the fourth corner part and a geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the fifth corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, a distance between a vertex of the sixth corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the seventh corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, and the fifth corner part and the seventh corner part are arranged adjacently.
However, Hu teaches sub-pixel shapes as claimed, wherein truncated edges, and curved edges are already disclosed in Hu, as shown below:
(Applicant’s Fig.18 is relied upon in the rejection
)
Therefore, since the shapes as claimed are already disclosed in Hu, selecting a shape of each of the second sub-pixels comprises at least one of a first shape, a second shape and a third shape, the first shape comprises a first corner part and a second corner part arranged oppositely, a distance between a vertex of the first corner part and a geometric center of a corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the second corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, the second shape comprises a third corner part and a flattened part arranged oppositely, and an edge of the flattened part away from the third corner part is a straight line, the third shape comprises a fourth corner part and a fifth corner part oppositely arranged in the first direction and a sixth corner part and a seventh corner part arranged oppositely in the second direction, a distance between a vertex of the fourth corner part and a geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the fifth corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, a distance between a vertex of the sixth corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel is greater than a distance between a vertex of the seventh corner part and the geometric center of the corresponding second sub-pixel, and the fifth corner part and the seventh corner part are arranged adjacently is within the level of skill in the art as the particular shape claimed by Applicant is nothing more than one of numerous shapes already disclosed in Hu and that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation from the teachings of Hu, based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention, in order to optimize the display quality of the display device.
Claims 22, 24,48 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN 114420722 A) in view of Liu (US 20220208891 A1/CN 111341817 A, cited by Applicant)
Regarding claim 48, Hu discloses a pixel arrangement structure, comprising first sub-pixels, second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels,
wherein a plurality of the first sub-pixels are arranged along a first direction to form a first type pixel row (top horizontal line in drawing below);
a plurality of the second sub-pixels and a plurality of the third sub-pixels are arranged along the first direction and are alternately arranged, to form a second type pixel row (second lower from top horizontal line in drawing below);
a plurality of first type pixel rows and a plurality of second type pixel rows are arranged along a second direction intersecting the first direction (see drawing below),
Further regarding the limitation of: lines sequentially connecting centers of four of the first sub-pixels surrounding one of the third sub-pixels form a virtual isosceles trapezoid, and lines sequentially connecting centers of four of the second sub-pixels surrounding the one of the third sub-pixels form a virtual quadrilateral; Hu discloses: In some embodiments, the shape of the green sub-pixel 02 may be an asymmetric pattern, such as a right-angled trapezoid), but does not explicitly disclose the limitation.
Liu explicitly discloses lines sequentially connecting centers of four of the first sub-pixels surrounding one of the third sub-pixels form a virtual isosceles trapezoid (see drawing below),
and lines sequentially connecting centers of four of the second sub-pixels surrounding the one of the third sub-pixels form a virtual quadrilateral (see drawing below):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the arrangement as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Hu, in order to effectively increase the light transmittance of the display panel ([0043] in Liu).
Regarding claim 49, Hu in view of Liu discloses the pixel arrangement structure according to claim 48, wherein the center of the one of the third sub-pixels is located at an intersection of diagonals of the virtual isosceles trapezoid (see the diagonal line shown below),
and the lines sequentially connecting the centers of the four of the second sub-pixels surrounding the one of the third sub-pixels form a virtual isosceles trapezoid (from the teachings of Hu wherein elements 10 form a trapezoid:
In some embodiments, the first virtual quadrangle 10 including but not limited to virtual parallelogram or virtual trapezoid. For example, the first virtual quadrangle 10 may be a rhombus, isosceles trapezoid, right trapezoid in the any one kind of.
FIG. 14 is a distribution diagram of each sub-pixel in the first second virtual quadrangle on the left upper corner of the pixel array shown in FIG. 13; As shown in FIG. 14, the second virtual quadrangle 100 in the left upper corner of the first virtual quadrangle 10, the first virtual quadrangle 10 is an isosceles trapezoid, wherein two angles are 92 degrees, and the other two angles are 88 degrees.).
Regarding claim 22, Hu teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the plurality of the first sub-pixels are arranged along the second direction, to form a second pixel column, in the second pixel column, an angle between a line connecting centers of two adjacent first sub-pixels and the second direction ranges from 1 degree to 15 degrees.
Liu teaches a display device wherein the plurality of the first sub-pixels are arranged along the second direction, to form a second pixel column, in the second pixel column, an angle between a line connecting centers of two adjacent first sub-pixels and the second direction ranges from 1 degree to 15 degrees (see angle shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the arrangement as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Hu, in order to effectively increase the light transmittance of the display panel ([0043] in Liu).
Regarding claim 24, Hu teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding: in the first pixel row, the plurality of the first sub-pixels are arranged at first intervals and second intervals along the first direction, the first intervals are smaller than the second intervals, and the first intervals and the second intervals are alternately arranged, two opposite corner parts of two of the first sub-pixels on two sides of a corresponding first interval are chamfered to form first chamfered parts.
Liu teaches a display device wherein: in the first pixel row, the plurality of the first sub-pixels are arranged at first intervals and second intervals along the first direction, the first intervals are smaller than the second intervals, and the first intervals and the second intervals are alternately arranged, two opposite corner parts of two of the first sub-pixels on two sides of a corresponding first interval are chamfered to form first chamfered parts (see arrows showing the spacings in two examples of the first sub-pixels in drawing below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the arrangement as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Hu, in order to effectively increase the light transmittance of the display panel ([0043] in Liu).
.
Other art
US 20200402442 A1 (drawing below); US 20220208891 A1/CN 111341817 A (drawing below)
CN 113488521
CN 114420722: In some embodiments, the first virtual quadrangle 10 including but not limited to virtual parallelogram or virtual trapezoid. For example, the first virtual quadrangle 10 may be a rhombus, isosceles trapezoid, right trapezoid in the any one kind of AND
In some embodiments, the shape of the green sub-pixel 02 may be an asymmetric pattern, such as a right-angled trapezoid
AND FIG. 14 is a distribution diagram of each sub-pixel in the first second virtual quadrangle on the left upper corner of the pixel array shown in FIG. 13; As shown in FIG. 14, the second virtual quadrangle 100 in the left upper corner of the first virtual quadrangle 10, the first virtual quadrangle 10 is an isosceles trapezoid, wherein two angles are 92 degrees, and the other two angles are 88 degrees.
CN 111725288 A: In some embodiments, a second sub-pixel 112 adjacent two first sub-pixel 111 and two third sub-pixel 113 of the central line to form a third virtual quadrilateral 140, the third virtual quadrangle 140 is trapezoidal. the length of the first side 141 in the third virtual quadrangle 140 is greater than the length of the second side 142;
CN 112802884 A:
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875