DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0052055 (Ikeda).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda disclose the user-sensing circuit for a consumer electronics device (Fig. 12), comprising a passive infrared (PIR) sensor (104) and a microcontroller (103) arranged to amplify (via 202 and 203) and digitally convert the output of the sensor (via 205), and to provide a power input to the sensor (Fig. 2, [0052]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda disclose the user-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the microcontroller (103) includes an internal reference voltage source which is routed to an output of the microcontroller to provide the power input to the sensor (Fig. 2, [0052]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda disclose the user-sensing circuit of claim 2, wherein the internal reference voltage source is configured as an input to an integrated operational amplifier internal to the microcontroller, the output of the operational amplifier being configured to provide the power input to the sensor (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda disclose the user-sensing circuit of any preceding claim 1, including a printed circuit board (PCB) having a power supply, wherein the sensor and the microcontroller are mounted on the PCB such that the power supply supplies power to the microcontroller (Fig. 2, implicit).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda disclose the user-sensing circuit of claim 4, wherein the internal reference voltage source of the microcontroller is powered by the power supply (Fig. 2, [0052]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda disclose the user-sensing circuit of claim 1 wherein the PIR sensor comprises a pyroelectric sensor (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda disclose a consumer electronics device (101) including the user-sensing circuit of claim 1 (103 and 104) (see Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda disclose the device of claim 7, arranged to change an operational state thereof in response to the user-sensing circuit (Fig. 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda disclose the device of claim 8, arranged to wake from a low power mode to a normal power mode in response to the user-sensing circuit (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda disclose the device of claim 7, wherein the device comprises a media receiver (Fig. 1 and 2, display 101).
Conclusion
/DANI FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884