DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the non-final Office Action dated April 14, 2026 was submitted on July 14, 2026. Claims 1, 7, 10, 13, 18 and 21 were amended. Claims 16 and 17 were canceled. Claims 9, 12, 22 and 23 were previously canceled. Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 13-15, 18-21 and 24 are currently pending.
The amendments to claims 10, 13 and 21 have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of these claims (¶¶ 3-4 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1 and 18 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1-6 and 18-21 (¶¶ 7-17 and 22-34 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection of these claims have been made as detailed below.
Applicant's arguments filed regarding the prior art rejection of claims 7, 8, 10, 11, 13-15 and 24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as detailed below. .Because the limitations of claim 17 and intervening claim 16 have been incorporated into claim 7, claim 7 is being rejected for the grounds previously set forth with respect to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the second sealing surface” in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 does not previously recite “a second sealing surface”. For purposes of examination, “the second sealing surface” in line 14 is being construed as “a second sealing surface”.
Claims 19-21 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 18 and are therefore also indefinite for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 18.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 24 depends from claim 7 and contains limitations already incorporated into claim 17. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 18-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0261280 A1, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Halliday et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0173102 A1, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Kruger discloses a method of lidding a beverage capsule (Abstract of Kruger, method of producing a beverage portion capsule comprising fastening a capsule cover to a base element) comprising sealing a lid comprising a thermoplastic polymer ([0073] of Kruger, capsule cover formed from plastic such as polyethylene, polypropylene, PVC or PET which are thermoplastic materials) to a peripheral flange of a capsule body comprising or consisting of a thermoplastic polymer ([0071] of Kruger, base element #2 formed from a plastic such as polyethylene, polypropylene, PVC or PET which are thermoplastic materials) to form a beverage capsule having an internal volume containing beverage ingredients (Abstract of Kruger, capsule interior filled with beverage raw material); wherein sealing the lid to the peripheral flange comprises: - forming a first peripheral seal as a weld between the thermoplastic polymer of the peripheral flange and the thermoplastic polymer of the lid by using a sealing head to apply heat and pressure to the peripheral flange and the lid ([0074] of Kruger, seal between capsule cover and the cup-shaped basic element by introducing heat with a sealing stamp); and - simultaneously using the heat and pressure of the sealing head to form a recess in the peripheral flange ([0010] of Kruger, bead impressed directly as the capsule cover is being applied; [0048] of Kruger, sealing seam produced by introduction of heat by thermosealing; impressing the bead necessarily involves applying pressure) - optionally an annular recess that extends around the capsule body ([0012] of Kruger, bead impressed as a continuous channel which encircles the flange in circular form; limitation is optional and therefore not required) - such that the lid is sealed to the peripheral flange at least within the recess ([0030] of Kruger, sealing seam produced over at least parts of the bead); wherein the capsule body further comprises an annular wall located inwards of the peripheral flange that defines a manifold chamber of the beverage capsule (FIG. 5c of Kruger, region of flange #5 inside bead #6 that defines interior volume of cup-shaped basic element #2) and sealing to the annular wall to form a second peripheral seal (FIG. 5c, [0080] of Kruger, capsule cover #4 fastened to the flange #5 in the region of the bead).
Kruger does not specifically disclose that the capsule body further comprises a central tubular wall that defines or contains an outlet of the beverage capsule and the lid is sealed to the central tubular wall to form a third seal. Halliday, however, discloses a cartridge for the preparation of beverages wherein the cartridge includes an inner member comprising an inner tubular wall (FIGS. 7 and 11 of Halliday, inner member #3 including tubular wall #42) wherein the inner tubular member #42 is sealed or welded to the laminate #5 forming the lid of the container (FIG. 11, [0087] of Halliday, weld #125 formed between lower edge of outer tube #42 and laminate #5). According to Halliday, the inner member forms a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage ([0011] of Halliday). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the portion capsule of Kruger with an inner tubular wall that defines an outlet of the capsule to which the lid is sealed. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the capsule with a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage as taught by Halliday ([0011] of Halliday).
Regarding claim 2, Kruger discloses that the recess: is formed as a groove in the peripheral flange, the groove comprising an inner land, an outer land and a floor that is located between the inner land and the outer land and that is recessed relative to the inner land and the outer land (FIG. 1 of Kruger, bead #6 formed as groove comprising inner land, outer land and floor recessed relative to inner and outer lands); or the recess is formed as a rabbet in the peripheral flange, the rabbet comprising an inner land and a floor located outwards of the inner land and that is recessed relative to the inner land (FIG. 2c of Land, bead forms a tapered rabbet with an inner land and a recessed floor outwards of the inner land; claim only requires one of the recited recess configurations).
Regarding claim 3, Kruger discloses that the recess is formed to comprise a wall portion leading from the inner land to the floor (FIG. 1 of Kruger, bead #6 has wall between inner land and floor).
Regarding claim 4, Kruger discloses that the peripheral flange prior to sealing with the lid has a flat receiving surface and the recess in the peripheral flange is formed into the flat receiving surface of the peripheral flange (FIG. 1, [0010] of Kruger, bead impressed directly as the capsule cover is being applied; since bead is formed as capsule cover is being applied, and since flange is otherwise flat except for the bead as shown in FIG. 1, flange receiving surface would necessarily be flat prior to impressing bead).
Regarding claim 7, Kruger discloses a beverage capsule comprising a capsule body and a lid, the capsule body and the lid together defining an internal volume of the beverage capsule for containing beverage ingredients (Abstract, FIG. 1 of Kruger); the capsule body comprising a peripheral flange that comprises or consists of a thermoplastic polymer (FIG. 1 of Kruger, base element includes flange; [0071] of Kruger, base element #2 formed from a plastic such as polyethylene, polypropylene, PVC or PET which are thermoplastic materials); the lid comprising a thermoplastic polymer ([0073] of Kruger, capsule cover formed from plastic such as polyethylene, polypropylene, PVC or PET which are thermoplastic materials); the lid being sealed to the peripheral flange to form a first peripheral seal able to withstand pressurisation of the internal volume during use ([0005] of Kruger, seal between capsule cover and flange withstands pressure during use), and the first peripheral seal comprises a weld between the thermoplastic polymer of the capsule body and the thermoplastic polymer of the lid ([0043] of Kruger, capsule cover fastened by hot sealing; [0048] of Kruger, heat sealing forms seam or weld); wherein, after the peripheral flange is sealed to the lid, a face of the peripheral flange in contact with the lid comprises a recess formed into the peripheral flange (FIG. 1 of Kruger, bead #6), wherein optionally the recess is an annular recess that extends around the capsule body ([0012] of Kruger, bead impressed as a continuous channel which encircles the flange in circular form; limitation is optional and therefore not required), and wherein the lid is sealed to the peripheral flange within the recess ([0030] of Kruger, sealing seam produced over at least parts of the bead); wherein the capsule body further comprises an annular wall located inwards of the peripheral flange that defines a manifold chamber of the beverage capsule (FIG. 5c of Kruger, region of flange #5 inside bead #6 that defines interior volume of cup-shaped basic element #2) and sealing to the annular wall to form a second peripheral seal (FIG. 5c, [0080] of Kruger, capsule cover #4 fastened to the flange #5 in the region of the bead).
Kruger does not specifically disclose that the capsule body further comprises a central tubular wall that defines or contains an outlet of the beverage capsule and the lid is sealed to the central tubular wall to form a third seal. Halliday, however, discloses a cartridge for the preparation of beverages wherein the cartridge includes an inner member comprising an inner tubular wall (FIGS. 7 and 11 of Halliday, inner member #3 including tubular wall #42) wherein the inner tubular member #42 is sealed or welded to the laminate #5 forming the lid of the container (FIG. 11, [0087] of Halliday, weld #125 formed between lower edge of outer tube #42 and laminate #5). According to Halliday, the inner member forms a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage ([0011] of Halliday). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the portion capsule of Kruger with an inner tubular wall that defines an outlet of the capsule to which the lid is sealed. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the capsule with a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage as taught by Halliday ([0011] of Halliday)..
Regarding claim 8, Kruger discloses that: the recess comprises a groove comprising an inner land, an outer land and a floor that is located between the inner land and the outer land and that is recessed relative to the inner land and the outer land (FIG. 1 of Kruger, bead #6); or the recess comprises a rabbet comprising an inner land and a floor located outwards of the inner land and that is recessed relative to the inner land (FIG. 2c of Land, bead forms a tapered rabbet with an inner land and a recessed floor outwards of the inner land; claim only requires one of the recited recess configurations); and optionally wherein the recess comprises a wall portion leading from the inner land to the floor and the lid is sealed to at least the wall portion (FIG. 1 of Kruger, inner land of bead #6; [0016] of Kruger, capsule cover fastened to bead over the full surface area; limitation is optional and therefore not required).
Regarding claim 18, Kruger discloses a sealing head for lidding a beverage capsule (FIGS. 5a-5c of Kruger, sealing stamp #8), the sealing head comprising a peripheral sealing member for sealing a lid comprising a thermoplastic polymer to a peripheral flange of a capsule body comprising or consisting of a thermoplastic polymer to form a beverage capsule having an internal volume containing beverage ingredients (Abstract, FIGS. 5a-5c of Kruger, sealing stamp #8 used to form portion capsule for a beverage); the peripheral sealing member comprising a sealing surface for forming a first peripheral seal between the lid and the peripheral flange (FIGS. 5a-5c of Kruger, lower surface of sealing stamp #8); the sealing surface comprising a protrusion (FIGS. 5a-5c of Kruger, lower surface of sealing stamp #8 includes a bead protrusion #8’), optionally an annular protrusion that extends around the peripheral sealing member ([0012] of Kruger, bead impressed as a continuous channel which encircles the flange in circular or annular form; limitation is optional and therefore not required), for forming a recess in the peripheral flange when the sealing head is heated and pressed against the lid and capsule body ([0009]-[0010] of Kruger, bead #6 impressed in flange directly as the capsule cover is being applied; [0048] of Kruger, sealing seam produced by introduction of heat by thermosealing; impressing the bead necessarily involves applying pressure) in order to form the first peripheral seal by welding the lid to the peripheral flange at least within the recess ([0030] of Kruger, sealing seam produced over at least part of the bead); wherein the sealing head comprises an outer part; the outer part has a second sealing surface that in use seals the lid to an outer member of the capsule body (FIGS. 5a-5c of Kruger, outer portion of sealing stamp #8); the second sealing surface comprising an inner portion and an outer portion, the inner portion being configured to seal the lid to a distal free edge of an annular wall of the outer member that is inwardly offset from the peripheral flange to define a circumferential manifold of the capsule body (FIGS. 5a-5c of Kruger, outer portion of sealing stamp #8 that contacts annular region inside of bead); the outer portion being configured to seal the lid to the peripheral flange of the outer member to form the first peripheral seal (FIGS. 5a-5c of Kruger, outer portion of sealing stamp #8 that contacts annular region outside of bead).
Kruger does not disclose that the sealing head comprises an inner part that forms a central tower that has a first sealing surface that in use seals the lid to a distal end of an inner member of the capsule body. Halliday, however, discloses a cartridge for the preparation of beverages wherein the cartridge includes an inner member comprising an inner tubular wall (FIGS. 7 and 11 of Halliday, inner member #3 including tubular wall #42) wherein the inner tubular member #42 is sealed or welded to the laminate #5 forming the lid of the container (FIG. 11, [0087] of Halliday, weld #125 formed between lower edge of outer tube #42 and laminate #5). According to Halliday, the inner member forms a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage ([0011] of Halliday). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sealing head of Kruger with an inner part that forms a central tower that has a first sealing surface that in use seals the lid to a distal end of an inner member of the capsule body. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the capsules with a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage as taught by Halliday ([0011] of Halliday).
Regarding claim 19, Kruger discloses that the protrusion: is shaped to form the recess as a groove in the peripheral flange, the groove comprising an inner land, an outer land and a floor that is located between the inner land and the outer land and that is recessed relative to the inner land and the outer land (FIG. 1 of Kruger, bead comprises inner and outer lands and recessed floor; [0009]-[0010] of Kruger, bead is formed as capsule cover is being applied; sealing stamp of Kruger therefore has a shape corresponding to the shape of the bead); or is shaped to form the recess as a rabbet in the peripheral flange, the rabbet comprising an inner land and a floor located outwards of the inner land and that is recessed relative to the inner land (FIG. 2c of Land, bead forms a tapered rabbet with an inner land and a recessed floor outwards of the inner land; claim only requires one of the recited recess configurations).
Regarding claim 20, Kruger discloses that the protrusion is shaped to form a wall portion leading from the inner land to the floor (FIG. 1 of Kruger, bead #6 formed by sealing stamp has wall between inner land and floor).
Regarding claim 24, Kruger does not specifically disclose that the capsule body further comprises a central tubular wall that defines or contains an outlet of the beverage capsule and the lid is sealed to the central tubular wall to form a third seal. Halliday, however, discloses a cartridge for the preparation of beverages wherein the cartridge includes an inner member comprising an inner tubular wall (FIGS. 7 and 11 of Halliday, inner member #3 including tubular wall #42) wherein the inner tubular wall #42 is sealed or welded to the laminate #5 forming the lid of the container (FIG. 11, [0087] of Halliday, weld #125 formed between lower edge of outer tube #42 and laminate #5). According to Halliday, the inner member forms a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage ([0011] of Halliday). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the portion capsule of Kruger with an inner tubular wall to which the lid is sealed. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the portion capsule with a discharge spout which directs the beverage into a receptacle while avoiding excessive splashing or spraying of the beverage as taught by Halliday ([0011] of Halliday).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger in view of Halliday as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Thomas, Jr. (U.S. Patent No. 5,160,391, cited in IDS submitted March 29, 2024).
Regarding claim 5, Kruger does not specifically disclose that the sealing head is heated to a temperature of 200 to 250 degrees Celsius. Thomas, however, discloses a method of sealing a thermoplastic lid to a thermoplastic container using a heated seal head wherein the temperature of the heated seal head is 425-450 °F (218 to 232 °C) (Abstract, 8:40-47 of Thomas). According to Thomas, such temperatures achieve adequate burst pressure while not damaging the lid material (7:59-65 of Thomas). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat the sealing head in the method of Kruger to 218 to 232 °C during thermosealing. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve adequate burst pressure while not damaging the lid material as taught by Thomas (7:59-65 of Thomas).
Regarding claim 6, discloses that the sealing head is pressed against the lid and the peripheral flange for 0.3 to 1.5 seconds (7:66-63 of Thomas, lid seal pressure applied for 1 second).
Claims 10, 11, 13-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger in view of Halliday as applied to claims 7 and 18 above and further in view of Walter et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,141,594, cited in IDS submitted March 29, 2024).
Regarding claim 10, while Kruger discloses that the peripheral flange is generally circular and the lid is generally disc shaped ([0012] of Kruger, flange is circular; FIG. 1 of Kruger, lid extends over flange and would therefore also be circular or “disc shaped”), Kruger does not specifically disclose that the peripheral flange further comprises a flange tab that extends outwardly to form a graspable protrusion; the lid further comprises a lid tab that extends outwardly to form a graspable protrusion that overlies the flange tab; wherein the flange tab and the lid tab are not sealed to each other outwardly of the first peripheral seal. Walter, however, discloses a container with a lid wherein the lid and the flange of the container are provided with a tab that extends outwardly to form a graspable protrusion (Abstract, FIG. 3 of Walter, tearing open tab #13) wherein the flange tab and the lid tab are not sealed to each other outwardly of the first peripheral seal (FIGS. 1 and 6 of Walter, end of tab and flange not sealed). According to Walter, the tab allows for the lid to be pulled off easily (1:34-38 of Walter). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the portion capsule of Kruger with a tab structure as taught by Walter. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the lid to be pulled off easily as taught by Walter (1:34-38 of Walter).
Regarding claim 11, Walter discloses that a path of the first peripheral seal comprises a deviation to promote definition of a peel instigation point of the first peripheral seal (FIG. 3 of Walter, sealing points #11 form deviations in the seal or sealing fold-backs #8; 1:45-55 of Walter, deviations form tear initiation sites) and optionally wherein the deviation is in the region of the lid tab and the flange tab (FIG. 3 of Walter, sealing points located in region of lid and flange tabs; limitation is optional and therefore not required), and optionally is aligned with a centreline of the lid tab and the flange tab (FIGS. 1 and 6 of Walter, sealing fold-backs #8 aligned with centerline of lid and flange tabs; limitation is optional and therefore not required).
Regarding claim 13, Walter discloses that the deviation comprises an outward deviation of the first peripheral seal from an otherwise generally circular path.
Regarding claim 14, Walter discloses that the deviation comprises a stress focussing point (1:45-55 of Walter, sealing fold-backs #8 form tear initiation sites which reduces tearing open forces; since tearing open forces are reduced, sealing fold-backs #8 necessarily form stress focusing points).
Regarding claim 15, Walter does not specifically disclose that the peak peeling force for manually peeling the lid off of the capsule body after use of the beverage capsule is less than 50N, optionally less than 40N, optionally less than 30N, optionally less than 20N. Walter, however, discloses that the tearing open forces of the container (i.e., the peak peeling force) affect the ease with which the lid can be removed from the container (1:52-55 of Walter). Walter therefore establishes that the peak peeling force is a variable which achieves a recognized result (i.e., facilitating the ease of opening the container) (1:52-55 of Walter). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the peak peeling force for the portion capsule of Kruger, including providing a peak peeing force of less than 50 N as recited in claim 15. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, once a parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP §2144.05 II B).
Regarding claim 21, Kruger does not specifically disclose that a path of the protrusion comprises a deviation to promote definition of a peel instigation point of the first peripheral seal; and optionally wherein the deviation comprises an outward deviation of the protrusion from an otherwise generally circular path; and optionally wherein the deviation comprises a stress focussing point. Walter, however, discloses a sealing tool for heat-sealing a lid to a container comprising an upper sealing jaw equipped with recesses (i.e., deviations) which start from the edge of the pressure surface (Abstract of Walter). According to Walter, the recesses form sealing fold-backs #8 along the edge of the seam that allow for the lid to be pulled off easily (FIG. 1, 1:34-38 of Walter). Also according to Walter, the sealing fold-backs #8 form tear initiation sites or stress focusing points which reduce tearing open forces (1:45-55 of Walter). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bead protrusion of the sealing stamp of Kruger with recesses or deviations at the edge of the pressure surface as taught by Walter. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to form sealing fold-backs #8 along the edge of the seam thereby allowing for the lid to be pulled off easily as taught by Walter (1:34-38 of Walter).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered to the extent that they apply to the new grounds of rejection but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that since the bead in Kruger is impressed into the flange itself, Kruger fails to disclose an annular wall located inwards of the peripheral flange (pg. 9 of the amendment). Claims 1 and 7, however, recite that the capsule body comprises an annular wall located inwards of the peripheral flange a structure which is clearly disclosed in Kruger. In fact, even before the bead is formed in Kruger the portion capsule would include a peripheral flange (i.e., the portion of the flange extending from the top of the capsule body) and an annular wall located inward of the peripheral flange (i.e., the top of the capsule body adjacent the flange).
The applicant also assets that the proposed modification of Kruger with the inner tubular wall of Halliday would change the principal of operation of Kruger since Kruger emphasizes simple and cost-effective production (pg. 11 of the amendment). As set forth in the MPEP, however, [a]lthough “statements limiting the function or capability of a prior art device require fair consideration, simplicity of the prior art is rarely a characteristic that weighs against obviousness of a more complicated device with added function.” In re Dance, 160 F.3d 1339, 1344, 48 USPQ2d 1635, 1638 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (MPEP 2143.01 V).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746