DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 7, 8, 26, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, in line 5, replace “the UE the RA procedure or the SDT procedure” with --the UE--.
Regarding claim 7, in line 3, replace “a first UL BWP” with --the first UL BWP--.
Regarding claim 8, in line 3, replace “a device type” with --a type of device--.
Regarding claim 26, in line 16, replace “a device type” with --a type of device--.
Regarding claim 30, in line 13, replace “a device type” with --a type of device--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2024/0224338 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 15), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 15, memory 1520); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 15, processor 1510 coupled to memory 1520) and configured to:
receive a configuration for a first downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) pair including information indicative of at least one of a control resource set (CORESET), a search space (SS) set, and a set of UL resource occasions for a random access (RA) procedure or a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, the first DL and UL BWP pair including a first DL BWP and a first UL BWP (5th paragraph, monitoring PDCCH by the UE to obtain SIB1, SIB1 containing information of an initial DL BWP, configuration of an initial UL BWP, configuration of random access, and other common configurations of the cell);
initiate at least one of the RA procedure or the SDT procedure in the first DL and UL BWP pair (6th paragraph, initiating a random access procedure by using configuration of random access in the configurations of the initial UL BWP and receiving RAR and MSG4 on CORESET #0 during the random access procedure); and
perform time or frequency synchronization during the RA procedure or the SDT procedure, using a synchronization signal block (SSB) of a serving cell configured in a second DL BWP or a DL reference signal of the serving cell configured in the second DL BWP (83rd - 84th paragraphs, RedCap UE may use the initial DL BWP separately configured for the RedCap UE during a random access procedure. RedCap UE may receive the signal in the initial DL BWP. The received signal being a downlink reference signal. Herein, downlink reference signal is used for synchronization. The initial DL BWP of RedCap UE is different from the initial DL BWP/UL BWP configured in SIB1 by cell to all UEs. The initial DL BWP of RedCap UE is the second DL BWP, as claimed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 26-38 and 30 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest that wherein a first DL BWP of the first DL and UL BWP pair does not include the SSB, and a quasi co-location (QCL) source, and a spatial relation configuration and receive an early indication from the UE for one or more of a type of a device, a first request for a first on-demand transmission of the SSB or the DL reference signal, or other assistance information for adaptive scheduling in at least one of a random access message or an SDT message from the UE in a first UL BWP in the first DL and UL BWP pair, as specified in independent claims 26 and 30.
Conclusion
Islam et al (US 2023/0144052 A1), same assignee, discloses bandwidth part switching for synchronization (Figs. 16-19).
Lei et al (US 2023/0269817 A1), same assignee, discloses bandwidth part switching for monitoring SSB (108th paragraph).
Lei et al (US 2023/0269639 A1), same assignee, discloses bandwidth part switching for monitoring SSB (110th paragraph).
Wu et al (US 2020/0412512 A1), generally related, discloses BWP switching after successful random access completion (Fig. 5).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472