DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim(s) 1-5 and Chemical Formula 2 for claim 4 as the elected species in the reply filed on April 08, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim(s) 1-5 are examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on March 29, 2024 and April 30, 2024 are being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS forms are attached with the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueda (JP 2010143862 A – English translation provided) with Bahraminejad et al (Journal of Phytopathology, (Year: 2008), vol. 156, pp. 1-7), providing inherent characteristics of Ueda.
Ueda teaches [that] the composition contain[s] an extract of one or more kinds of plants selected from green oat ([green oat is a synonym for Avena sativa, oat, oats, and common oat]) (abstract). Ueda teaches that the composition contains the extracts obtained by using a solvent selected from water, ethanol and water-ethanol mixture and is used as an external preparation for skin or an oral administration composition [and also teaches that the composition has] excellent hair-growing effect (abstract). Ueda teaches [that] the green oat extract used in the present invention is an extract of leaves, stems, seeds or aboveground parts of green oats, which is a gramineous plant native to the Eurasian continent, also called oats or oats (page 3).
The Ueda reference does not explicitly state that the composition contains Chemical Formula 2 ([e.g. 26-desglucoavenacoside B]) as specifically claimed by the applicant in claim 4 of the present invention. However, Bahraminejad et al demonstrates that 26-desglucoavenacoside B is known to occur within the extract of shoots of oat (e.g. oat grass or leaves) (abstract and figure at the bottom of page 1).
The Ueda reference does teach the benefit of consuming an extract of oat in terms of improving hair growth, in which, naturally, that would mean that the extract naturally contains the chemical formula 2 (e.g. 26-desglucoavenacoside B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP 2010143862 A – English translation provided) in view of Bahraminejad et al (Journal of Phytopathology, (Year: 2008), vol. 156, pp. 1-7) and Lange (CA 3092158 A1).
The teachings of Ueda and Bahraminejad et al are above.
Ueda does not teach the composition that further comprises any one or more selected from the group consisting of hyaluronic acid and collagen.
Lange teaches that the composition of the present invention can comprise collagen and hyaluronic acid (paragraph 0088). Lange teaches mixtures comprising a protein extract for the treatment of human skin and/or hair (under ‘Description’, page 1). Lange teaches [that] the present invention belongs to the area of hair care products (paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 5, the composition as taught by Ueda can be modified to further include hyaluronic acid and/or collagen as taught by Lange in order to create the optimal hair care composition to stimulate hair growth or hair loss improvement. It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to combine all of the aforementioned references in order to achieve the present invention’s hair care composition.
Conclusion
NASHARA L MOREAUExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655