2. This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/697,455 and the amendments filed on 12/22/2025.
3. Claims 11-23 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/30/2024 and 9/9/2025
have been fully considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 11-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding independent claim 11, the Examiner agrees that the combination of DE 102017001220 A1 to Zimmer, US 20210362336 A1 to Muneto, and DE 102004003677 A1 to Berndt fails to teach all of the amended limitations to the claim. However, in light of the amendments and the Applicant’s remarks, an updated search was conducted, and a new ground of rejection concerning claim 11 has been determined, in which will be described later.
Regarding dependent claims 12-20, as all of these claims depend from claim 11, are still rejected, in which will be described later.
Specifically, regarding dependent claim 16, the Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant argues against the combination of references above with the addition of US 20170320216 A1 to Strauss. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertation that Strauss fails to teach the limitations of claim 16. First, the Applicant argues that the housing (11) of the application is not the same as the housing of Strauss, the housing of Strauss being the robotic-arm or end-effector body shown in Figures 9A-B of Strauss. However, within these figures, the gearbox mechanism of Strauss appears encased within the robotic arm, presumably a housing. This housing of Strauss matches that of housing (11) of the application, being a housing of a gearbox that has end effector fingers attached to it.
Further, the Applicant argues that the positioning-measuring system disclosed in Strauss is solely associated with a worm-driven gripper mechanism. However, the Examiner submits that Strauss teaches the angle measuring system, as explained in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/22/2025, which has a different structure than the position measuring system. Further, as stated earlier, the actuator encoder 524 of Strauss is located within the identified robot housing of Strauss. As will also be referenced below, the Examiner submits that Strauss teaches all of elements 121, 152, and 153 referenced within claim 16.
Therefore, the Examiner still relies on Strauss to teach the limitations of claim 16 in combination with the references teaching claim 11, in which will also be described later.
Further, regarding dependent claim 18, the Applicant’s arguments against Berndt have been considered but are moot in view of the amendments to independent claim 11. In view of the newly applied prior art, which was initiated in view of the amendments to independent claim 11, the Examiner has determined that claim 18 is still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, in which will be further described below.
Further, regarding dependent claim 19, the Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant argues against the combination of references of Zimmer, Muneto, and Berndt with the addition of US 20080181757 A1 to Wheeler and EP 3260248 A1 to Becker. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertation that Wheeler and Becker fail to teach the limitations of claim 19.
First, the Applicant argues that claim 19 recites an ordered method for operating the gripping device of claim 11, wherein the four steps of the method cooperate in such a way to occur in a defined, interdependent sequence. However, nowhere in claim 19 is it made apparent that the method steps occur in sequence or in dependence from each other. Rather, the claim simply recites “a method for operating the gripping device (10) according to claim 11 … comprising” in the preamble, and with an “and” conjunction at the end, but these do not require the steps of claim 19 occurring in an ordered sequence.
Next, the Applicant argues that Zimmer does not recite a force-controlled gripping method, citing the lack of a holding brake, current/pressure monitoring system, and mention of engaging the brake to maintain a gripping load when the power is switched off. While the Examiner agrees to these assertations, Zimmer was never cited to teach these limitations, as pointed out in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/22/2025, and instead, is simply the base reference.
Next, the Applicant argues that neither Muneto nor Berndt teach the limitations of claim 19. While the Examiner agrees to these assertations, neither Muneto nor Berndt were cited to teach the limitations of claim 19, as pointed out in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/22/2025.
Next, the Applicant argues that US 20080181757 A1 to Wheeler fails to teach the steps of pressing the gripping elements until a monitored value is reached and then engaging a brake. As stated earlier, as claim 19 currently reads, is not required to occur in a specified order. As currently claimed, claim 19 does not require engaging the holding brake in sole response to the motor current/pressure threshold. Further, as provided in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/22/2025, Wheeler teaches the limitations of pressing the gripping elements against with the holding brake released until the current/pressure monitoring systems reaches a predetermined value, and engaging the holding brake, regardless of order. Therefore, the Examiner submits that Wheeler still teaches these respective steps of the method of claim 19.
Next, the Applicant argues that EP 3260248 A1 to Becker fails to teach the final step of the method of switching off the drive motor. However, as provided in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/22/2025, Becker teaches a step of switching the drive motor off. As said earlier, as claim 19 currently reads, is not required to occur in a specified order. Therefore, the Examiner submits that Becker still teaches these respective steps of the method of claim 19.
Finally, the Applicant argues a lack of motivation to combine at least the teachings of Zimmer, Wheeler, and Becker to teach the steps of claim 19, citing a lack of relation between the inventions of the references and instead, insisting that the Examiner relies on impermissible hindsight. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that Muneto and Berndt were not used to teach the limitations of claim 19. This leaves Zimmer, Wheeler, and Becker to teach the limitations of claim 19, to which all three inventions are for the mechanical structures of gearboxes located within housings that are used to move fingers of a robotic end effector. Therefore, as all three references are within the same scope of endeavor, and, as pointed out in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/22/2025 result in improvements to the base reference Zimmer, one of ordinary skill in the art would find reasons to incorporate the teachings of Wheeler and Becker into those of Zimmer to result in the claimed invention.
Therefore, the Examiner still relies on Zimmer, Wheeler, and Becker to teach the limitations of claim 19 in combination with the references teaching claim 11, in which will also be described later.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al. (DE 102017001220 A1 hereinafter Zimmer (provided by Applicant's IDS)) in view of Ortell et al. (US 20220253019 A1 hereinafter Ortell) and Kassow (US 20210138667 A1 hereinafter Kassow).
Regarding Claim 11, Zimmer teaches a gripping device ([0001] via “The invention relates to a gripping device ….”), comprising:
a housing (11) ([0011] via “The Fig. 1 shows … The lower part of the housing ( 10 ) ….”); and
arranged therein a drive motor (71) ([0011] via “The lower part of the housing (10) is a base body (51), in the recesses of which an electric motor (81), ….”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the electric motor (81) of Zimmer as the drive motor (71);
a gear unit (100) which can be driven by the drive motor (71), the gear unit (100) having a worm gear stage (151) driven by at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109) ([0022] via “The electric motor (81) is attached to the back of the main recess (61) in such a way that the drive wheel (83) sitting on its shaft projects into the space between the rear cover (88) and the base body (51), cf. Fig. 6. The drive wheel (83) drives the countershaft (121) via its large countershaft wheel (122). A small countershaft wheel (123) is formed on the large countershaft gear (122), which meshes with the intermediate wheel (108) arranged in the intermediate wheel recess (66), cf. Fig. 2 and Fig. 6. The intermediate gear (108) meshes with the worm shaft spur gear (104) of the worm shaft (103) of the angular gear (100), which is mounted at the top of the base body (51).”), ([0026] via “In Fig. 10 the worm shaft (103) of the angle gear (100), which here is a worm gear, is shown in longitudinal section in its installation position. The worm shaft (103) is a shaft with roller bearings on both sides, which is designed as a worm (102) in the middle area. At its left end it carries a worm shaft spur gear (104), which is attached to the worm shaft (103) in a torsionally rigid manner using a stop plate and a countersunk screw.”), ([0029] via “The worm ( 102 ) of the worm shaft ( 103 ) drives the synchronization shaft ( 91 ), cf. Fig. 4 and Fig. 5, which in turn moves the carriages ( 31 , 32 ) synchronously in opposite directions via a rack and pinion gear ( 90 ). For this purpose, the synchronization shaft ( 91 ) sits with its lower half in the stepped blind hole ( 71 ) of the base body ( 51 ). At its lower end, cf. Fig. 7, it carries a screw wheel ( 101 ) which is driven by the worm ( 102 ). The translation from the snail ( 102 ) to the screw wheel ( 101 ) is 1:12 slow.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the mechanism of the screw wheel (101) and worm (102) of Zimmer as the worm gear stage (151) and the worm shaft (103) of Zimmer as the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109),
the worm gear stage being coupled to at least one of at least two gripping element carriers (41; 42) which are movable relative to one another ([0029] via “The worm (102) of the worm shaft (103) drives the synchronization shaft (91), cf. Fig. 4 and Fig. 5, which in turn moves the carriages (31, 32) synchronously in opposite directions via a rack and pinion gear (90).”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the carriages (31, 32) of Zimmer as the at least two gripping element carriers (41; 42));
wherein the worm gear stage (151) has a screw (121) that is axially slidable towards a spring energy accumulator (131) ([0027] via “Between the snail (102) and the right end of the shaft, cf. Fig. 10, two sit axially z. B. preloaded deep groove ball bearings (112) by means of two disc springs (113). For this purpose, two support sleeves (114) are arranged at a distance from one another between the inner rings of both deep groove ball bearings (112). Each support sleeve (114) supports a disc spring (113) in the free space between the support sleeves (114). … The outer ring of the deep groove ball bearing (112) located next to the worm (102) is supported on a housing collar.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the deep groove ball bearings (112) of Zimmer as the screw (121) and the disc spring(s) (113) of Zimmer as the spring energy accumulator (131).), so that, upon an increase in a flank pressure on a respective gripping pressure flank (122; 123) of the screw (121), a loading on the at least one spring energy accumulator (131) increases ([0028] via “Since both inner rings of the deep groove ball bearings (112) on the worm shaft (103) are each mounted via a play fit and since there is also a distance of 0.4 mm between the two support sleeves (114) when the gear is at rest, this elastic axial bearing enables axial Displaceability of the worm shaft (103) within the base body (51). As the displacement stroke increases, the restoring force increases due to the effect of the disc springs (113).”).
Zimmer is silent on a motor-current-monitoring system (67) or pressure-monitoring system; and a holding brake (81) of the gripping device (10) for blocking the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109).
However, Ortell teaches a motor-current-monitoring system (67) or pressure-monitoring system ([0030] via “The controller 50 also receives feedback signals indicating the current operation of the motor drive 10. … The motor drive 10 may include a voltage sensor 51 and/or a current sensor 52 on the DC bus 25 generating a feedback signal corresponding to the magnitude of voltage and/or current present on the DC bus 25. The motor drive 10 may also include one or more voltage sensors 53 and/or current sensors 54 on the output phase(s) of the inverter section 30 generating a feedback signal corresponding to the magnitude of voltage and/or current present on the electrical conductors 33 between the inverter section 30 and the output 35 of the motor drive.”), (Note: See Figure 2 of Ortell wherein the current sensors 52/54 (interpreted to be the motor-current monitoring system (67)) is located within a motor drive.).
Further, Kassow teaches a holding brake (81) of the gripping device (10) for blocking the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109) ([0099] via “The second rotor end part 3B of the rotor shaft 3 comprises a rotor brake stud 50. The rotor brake stud 50 is configured to enter into locking engagement with a ferromagnetic brake ring 54. … When power is supplied to the electromagnet 57, the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 is kept in a non-engaged position, i.e. in a non-braked position. In the event that the power is lost, the electromagnet 57 loses its power to hold the ferromagnetic brake ring 54. Hence, the spring 55 will push the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 towards the first rotor end part 3A of the rotor shaft 3. … When the brake ring is fully engaged with the brake stud 50, the rotor shaft 3, the motor housing
14, and hence the flexspline 13, cannot move in relation to each other. In this way, the gear moving the output part 8 in relation to the housing 26 is blocked from moving, and hence, the joint assembly is fully braked.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 of Kassow as the holding brake (81) and the rotor shaft 3 of Kassow as the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109). Also, see Figure 3 of Kassow wherein this assembly is located within housing 26.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ortell wherein arranged within the housing (11) is a motor-current-monitoring system (67) or a pressure monitoring system. Doing so closely monitors the current output by the motor in such a way that the current is able to be appropriately controlled via feedback, as stated by Ortell ([0038] via “The current regulator receives a current feedback signal (Ifdbk) from the current sensors 54 at the output of the motor drive 10 and utilizes a current controller, which may include proportional, integral, and/or derivative components to regulate the current in the motor 40. The output of the current regulator 61 is provided to the gate driver 60 which, in turn, generates the switching signals 31 to the inverter section 30.”).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kassow wherein arranged within the housing (11) is a holding brake (81) of the gripping device (10) for blocking the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109). Doing so prevents any movement of the rotatable gear shaft relative to the housing when deemed appropriate, as stated above by Kassow.
Regarding Claim 12, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 11, wherein the gear unit (100) comprises at least one spur gear stage (103; 108) ([0022] via “The intermediate gear (108) meshes with the worm shaft spur gear (104) of the worm shaft (103) of the angular gear (100), which is mounted at the top in the base body (51).”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the worm shaft spur gear (104) of Zimmer as the at least one spur gear stage (103; 108)).
Regarding Claim 13, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 11, wherein a screw shaft (109) of the screw (121) carries a straight-toothed output gear (107) of the gear unit (100), which meshes with a further straight-toothed intermediate pinion (106) of the gear unit (100) ([0022] via “The drive wheel (83) drives the countershaft (121) via its large countershaft wheel (122). A small countershaft wheel (123) is formed on the large countershaft gear (122), which meshes with the intermediate wheel (108) arranged in the intermediate wheel recess (66), cf. Fig. 2 and Fig. 6. The intermediate gear (108) meshes with the worm shaft spur gear (104) of the worm shaft (103) of the angular gear (100), which is mounted at the top in the base body (51).”), (Note: The Examiner interprets at least intermediate wheel (108) of Zimmer as the straight-toothed output gear (107) and the worm shaft spur gear (104) of Zimmer as the further straight-toothed intermediate pinion (106).).
Regarding Claim 14, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 11, wherein a screw shaft (109) of the screw (121) carries a disk spring assembly (134) as the spring energy accumulator (131) ([0027] via “Between the snail (102) and the right end of the shaft, cf. Fig. 10, two sit axially z. B. preloaded deep groove ball bearings (112) by means of two disc springs (113). For this purpose, two support sleeves (114) are arranged at a distance from one another between the inner rings of both deep groove ball bearings (112). Each support sleeve (114) supports a disc spring (113) in the free space between the support sleeves (114). … The outer ring of the deep groove ball bearing (112) located next to the worm (102) is supported on a housing collar.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the disc spring (113) of Zimmer as the disk spring assembly (134)).
Regarding Claim 18, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device according to claim 11, but is silent on wherein the holding brake (81) has a first part fixed to the housing and a second part assigned to the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109) along with a spring element loading both parts, wherein one of the first part or the second part has a permanent magnet (84) and another one of the first part or the second part has a ring (137) made of a ferromagnetic material, and wherein a force of the spring element is directed in an opposite direction to an adhesion force of the permanent magnet (84).
However, Kassow teaches wherein the holding brake (81) has a first part fixed to the housing and a second part assigned to the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109) along with a spring element loading both parts, wherein one of the first part or the second part has a permanent magnet (84) and another one of the first part or the second part has a ring (137) made of a ferromagnetic material ([0099] via “The second rotor end part 3B of the rotor shaft 3 comprises a rotor brake stud 50. The rotor brake stud 50 is configured to enter into locking engagement with a ferromagnetic brake ring 54. The ferromagnetic brake ring 54 is arranged inside the anti-rotation ring 52. … The relative movement of the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 is carried out by a spring 55. The ferromagnetic brake ring 54 is kept in a non-engaged position by an electromagnet 57. When power is supplied to the electromagnet 57, the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 is kept in a non-engaged position, i.e. in a non-braked position. In the event that the power is lost, the electromagnet 57 loses its power to hold the ferromagnetic brake ring 54. Hence, the spring 55 will push the ferromagnetic brake ring 54
towards the first rotor end part 3A of the rotor shaft 3. … When the brake ring is fully engaged with the brake stud 50, the rotor shaft 3, the motor housing 14, and hence the flexspline 13, cannot move in relation to each other. In this way, the gear moving the output part 8 in relation to the housing 26 is blocked from moving, and hence, the joint assembly is fully braked.”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Kassow as well. The Examiner interprets the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 of Kassow as the ring (137), the electromagnet 57 of Kassow as the permanent magnet (84), and the spring 55 of Kassow as the spring element. The Examiner also interprets the rotor shaft 3 of Kassow as equivalent to the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109).), and
wherein a force of the spring element is directed in an opposite direction to an adhesion force of the permanent magnet (84) ([0099] via “In the event that the power is lost, the electromagnet 57 loses its power to hold the ferromagnetic brake ring 54. Hence, the spring 55 will push the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 towards the first rotor end part 3A of the rotor shaft 3.”), ([0105] via “The rotor brake 30 is activated and engaged when the power in the electromagnet 57 is cut or lost. When the power is lost, the spring 55 pushes the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 into engagement with the rotor brake stud 50. The friction coupling between the anti-rotation ring 52 and ferromagnetic brake ring 54 allows the brake, in a controlled manner, to reduce the speed of the rotor (eventually stop). Hence this friction coupling is arranged as a friction clutch or friction brake 200. The timing ring 51 ensures that the activation of the brake only takes place when the ferromagnetic brake ring 54 can engage fully with the rotor brake stud 50, i.e. that the spring 55 pushes the brake.”), (Note: See Figures 3 and 4A-H of Kassow as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kassow wherein the holding brake (81) has a first part fixed to the housing and a second part assigned to the at least one rotatable gear shaft (101; 105; 109) along with a spring element loading both parts, wherein one of the first part or the second part has a permanent magnet (84) and another one of the first part or the second part has a ring (137) made of a ferromagnetic material, and wherein a force of the spring element is directed in an opposite direction to an adhesion force of the permanent magnet (84). Doing so automatically fully brakes the rotor 3 in emergencies, such as when the power is lost, as stated above by Kassow in both citations.
Regarding Claim 22, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 11, wherein the housing (11) comprises a housing base body (12) and housing covers (13, 14) ([0011] via “The lower part of the housing ( 10 ) is a base body ( 51 ), …. The two front slides of the base body ( 51 ) are closed by large-area covers ( 87 , 88 ).”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the base body (51) of Zimmer as the housing base body (12) and the large-area covers (87, 88) of Zimmer as the housing covers (13, 14)) that delimit an electronics mounting space (31) for the drive motor (71) ([0036] via “The rotary switch (142) is arranged on the front board (141) attached to the back of the front cover (87).”), (Note: See Figure 4 of Zimmer as well. The Examiner interprets the front board (141) of Zimmer as the electronics mounting space (31).) and a gear unit mounting space (32) for the gear unit (100) and the holding brake (81) ([0015] via “The rear face of the base body (51) is closed by a cuboid-like, 5 mm thick rear cover (88) which also supports the spur gear (120). The secondary shaft (121) and the intermediate wheel (108) each have shaft journals on both sides, via which they engage with sliding bearings in corresponding bores in the base body (51) and the cover (88).”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Zimmer as well. The Examiner interprets the secondary shaft (121) and the intermediate wheel (108) each engaging with the cover (88) as the gear unit mounting space (32).).
9. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al. (DE 102017001220 A1 hereinafter Zimmer (provided by Applicant's IDS)) in view of Ortell et al. (US 20220253019 A1 hereinafter Ortell) and Kassow (US 20210138667 A1 hereinafter Kassow), and further in view of Ning et al. (US 20180313442 A1 hereinafter Ning).
Regarding Claim 15, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 11, but is silent on wherein the screw (121) consists of a thermoplastic material.
However, Ning teaches wherein the screw (121) consists of a thermoplastic material ([0022] via “Disclosed herein are apparatuses and methods relating to a hybrid composite gear. The hybrid composite gear of the present disclosure comprises a continuous fiber thermoplastic material co-molded or bonded onto the periphery of a neat thermoplastic or discontinuous fiber thermoplastic composite gear. The hybrid composite gear of the present disclosure is lightweight, low-cost, and can be used for a variety of high-performance applications, such as, for example, transmission, aerospace, robotic arms, hydraulic pumps, aviation, and marine.”), ([0032] via “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a hybrid composite gear 100 according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. The hybrid composite gear 100 comprises a continuous fiber thermoplastic material 102 co-molded onto the periphery of a thermoplastic gear 104. … The thermoplastic gear 104 may comprise a spur gear, a bevel gear, a worm and worm wheel gear, a hypoid gear, a helical gear, a pinion gear, and/or any other type of gear. The material of the thermoplastic gear 104 can comprise neat thermoplastic or discontinuous fiber reinforced thermoplastic composites.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ning wherein the screw (121) consists of a thermoplastic material. Doing so incorporates a screw material that is both lightweight and low cost, as stated above by Ning in paragraph [0022].
10. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al. (DE 102017001220 A1 hereinafter Zimmer (provided by Applicant's IDS)) in view of Ortell et al. (US 20220253019 A1 hereinafter Ortell) and Kassow (US 20210138667 A1 hereinafter Kassow), and further in view of Strauss (US 20170320216 A1 hereinafter Strauss).
Regarding Claim 16, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 11, but is silent on the gripping device (10) further comprising either a position measuring system (46) that is arranged, on one side, on the housing (11) and, on another side, on the screw (121) or on a gripping element carrier (41; 42), or an angle measuring system that is arranged on the housing (11) and on a synchronizing gear unit (153) having a screw gear (152) meshing with the screw (121).
However, Strauss teaches either a position measuring system (46) that is arranged, on one side, on the housing (11) and, on another side, on the screw (121) or on a gripping element carrier (41; 42), or an angle measuring system that is arranged on the housing (11) and on a synchronizing gear unit (153) having a screw gear (152) meshing with the screw (121) ([0076] via “For example, robotic gripping device 500 may include actuator encoder 524, which may be positioned on or coupled to the base of robotic gripping device 500. Actuator encoder 524
may be configured to detect the rotation of shaft 512, and may provide information about the extent or amount of rotation to a control system. Actuator encoder 524 may also be positioned on the shaft 512, or may be positioned on one or more other components of robotic gripping device 500. In some examples, actuator encoder 524 may detect the rotation of the actuator with respect to motor 514, the base of the robotic gripping device, and/or one or more other components. As such, both relative and absolute amounts of rotation of shaft 512 may be detected.”), (Note: See Figure 5 of Strauss as well. The Examiner interprets actuator encoder 524 of Strauss as the angle measuring system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Strauss wherein the gripping device (10) further comprises either a position measuring system (46) that is arranged, on one side, on the housing (11) and, on another side, on the screw (121) or on a gripping element carrier (41; 42), or an angle measuring system that is arranged on the housing (11) and on a synchronizing gear unit (153) having a screw gear (152) meshing with the screw (121). Doing so measures the rotation amount of the shaft attached to the motor, which further detects the rotation amount of the gripper as a whole, as stated above by Strauss.
11. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al. (DE 102017001220 A1 hereinafter Zimmer (provided by Applicant's IDS)) in view of Ortell et al. (US 20220253019 A1 hereinafter Ortell) and Kassow (US 20210138667 A1 hereinafter Kassow), further in view of Strauss (US 20170320216 A1 hereinafter Strauss), and further in view of Forster et al. (US 20210113241 A1 hereinafter Forster).
Regarding Claim 17, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 16, but is silent on wherein the position measuring system (46) has a magnetically coded tape arranged on the gripping element carrier (41; 42).
However, Forster teaches wherein the position measuring system (46) has a magnetically coded tape arranged on the gripping element carrier (41; 42) ([0027] via “Alternatively, the sensor of the sensory measuring unit on the trocar holder can also be a magnetic sensor or a capacitive sensor which is designed to interact with a magnetic measuring tape or capacitive measuring tape present on the surgical instrument that is attached to the trocar for signal transmission. From the relative change in position detected in the sensory measuring unit between the magnetic sensor and the magnetic measuring tape or between the capacitive sensor and the capacitive measuring tape when the surgical instrument is moved, conclusions are drawn as to its translation and rotation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Forster wherein the position measuring system (46) has a magnetically coded tape arranged on the gripping element carrier (41; 42). Doing so determines both the translation and rotation of the gripping element that the magnetically coded tape is arranged on, as stated above by Forster.
12. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al. (DE 102017001220 A1 hereinafter Zimmer (provided by Applicant's IDS)) in view of Ortell et al. (US 20220253019 A1 hereinafter Ortell) and Kassow (US 20210138667 A1 hereinafter Kassow), and further in view of Wheeler et al. (US 20080181757 A1 hereinafter Wheeler) and Becker et al. (EP 3260248 A1 hereinafter Becker (Provided by Applicant's IDS)).
Regarding Claim 19, modified reference Zimmer teaches a method for operating the gripping device (10) according to claim 11 with gripping elements (51; 52) arranged on the at least two gripping element carriers (41; 42) and with an item (1) to be gripped ([0032] via “The individual carriage (31, 32) is essentially a cuboid steel body, which is made, for example, from the material 16MnCr5. … Beyond these dimensions, each slide (31, 32) has a slide arm (33) that is, for example, 21.5 mm long and protrudes upwards. A gripping element (1,2) is attached to each carriage arm (33), cf. Fig. 2.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the gripping elements (1,2) of Zimmer as the gripping elements (51; 52), comprising:
increasing the flank pressure of a gripping pressure flank (122; 123) of the screw (121) and sliding the screw (121) in an axial direction (125) under load of the spring energy accumulator (131) ([0027] via “Between the snail (102) and the right end of the shaft, cf. Fig. 10, two sit axially z. B. preloaded deep groove ball bearings (112) by means of two disc springs (113). For this purpose, two support sleeves (114) are arranged at a distance from one another between the inner rings of both deep groove ball bearings (112). Each support sleeve (114) supports a disc spring (113) in the free space between the support sleeves (114). … The outer ring of the deep groove ball bearing (112) located next to the worm (102) is supported on a housing collar.”), ([0028] via “Since both inner rings of the deep groove ball bearings (112) on the worm shaft (103) are each mounted via a play fit and since there is also a distance of 0.4 mm between the two support sleeves (114) when the gear is at rest, this elastic axial bearing enables axial Displaceability of the worm shaft (103) within the base body (51). As the displacement stroke increases, the restoring force increases due to the effect of the disc springs (113).”).
Zimmer is silent on pressing the at least two gripping elements (51, 52) against the item (1) to be gripped by the gripping device (10) with the holding brake (81) released until the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaches a predetermined value; engaging the holding brake (81); and switching the drive motor (71) off.
However, Wheeler teaches pressing the at least two gripping elements (51, 52) against the item (1) to be gripped by the gripping device (10) with the holding brake (81) released until the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaches a predetermined value ([0026] via “Device 10 may also include a braking device 21 adapted to engage and disengage the drive train 22. Braking device 21 may also be controlled by controller 24, energizing braking device 21 to release braking device 21 to permit motion and de-energizing braking device 21 to engage drive train 22 and stop the movement of gripping arms 16 and 18, for example, in a desired position. When gripping arms 16 and 18 comprise flexible gripping arms, for example, arms that typically require the maintenance of a gripping force to ensure engagement with an article, braking device 21 may provide sufficient holding force to maintain the desired gripping force in flexible gripping 16 and 18 and prevent flexible gripping arms 16 and 18 from "unspringing" and releasing the article. The gripping force may be maintained by braking device 21 even when electrical power to device 10 is lost.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the braking device not engaging the drive train of Wheeler as being released, as this permits motion of the drive train.);
engaging the holding brake (81) ([0026] via “Device 10 may also include a braking device 21 adapted to engage and disengage the drive train 22. Braking device 21 may also be controlled by controller 24, energizing braking device 21 to release braking device 21 to permit motion and de-energizing braking device 21 to engage drive train 22 and stop the movement of gripping arms 16 and 18, for example, in a desired position.”).
Further, Becker teaches switching the drive motor (71) off ([0025] via “As shown in Figures 2 and 5, an adjusting device 66 is assigned to the brake unit 60, with which different gripping forces of the brake unit 60 can be provided to maintain the gripping force when the jaw drive 24 is switched off. … The braking unit 60 is designed in such a way that it provides the maximum braking force, i.e., gripping force, when the power is switched off.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wheeler wherein the method comprises: pressing the at least two gripping elements (51, 52) against the item (1) to be gripped by the gripping device (10) with the holding brake (81) released until the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaches a predetermined value; and engaging the holding brake (81). Doing so allows the gripping elements to adjust themselves to exert a desired gripping force, and uses the brakes to maintain this desired gripping force, as stated above by Wheeler.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Becker wherein the method comprises: switching the drive motor (71) off. With the braking device, doing so maintains the gripping force without the continuous drive of the motor, as stated above by Becker.
13. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al. (DE 102017001220 A1 hereinafter Zimmer (provided by Applicant's IDS)) in view of Ortell et al. (US 20220253019 A1 hereinafter Ortell) and Kassow (US 20210138667 A1 hereinafter Kassow), further in view of Wheeler et al. (US 20080181757 A1 hereinafter Wheeler) and Becker et al. (EP 3260248 A1 hereinafter Becker (Provided by Applicant's IDS)), and further in view of Nguyen et al. ("Gravity Compensation Design of Planar Articulated Robotic Arms Using the Gear-Spring Modules" hereinafter Nguyen).
Regarding Claim 20, modified reference Zimmer teaches the method according to claim 19, but is silent on the method further comprising: determining, upon the engaging of the holding brake (81), a position of the screw (121), a synchronizing gear unit (153) or at least one gripping element carrier (41, 42) relative to the housing (11) by a position measuring system (46) or an angle measuring system, wherein, upon a reduction of a contact resistance of the at least two gripping elements (51, 52) on the item (1) to be gripped, the spring energy accumulator (131) slides the screw (121) in the axial direction (125) while increasing an edge pressure of the gripping pressure flank (122; 123), and wherein, if a difference to the position as previously determined is detected by the position measuring system (46) or the angle measuring system, the drive motor (71) is switched on and the holding brake (81) is released until the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaches the predetermined value.
However, Wheeler teaches determining, upon the engaging of the holding brake (81), a position of the screw (121), a synchronizing gear unit (153) or at least one gripping element carrier (41, 42) relative to the housing (11) by a position measuring system (46) or an angle measuring system ([0026] via “Device 10 may also include a braking device 21 adapted to engage and disengage the drive train 22. Braking device 21 may also be controlled by controller 24, energizing braking device 21 to release braking device 21 to permit motion and de-energizing braking device 21 to engage drive train 22 and stop the movement of gripping arms 16 and 18, for example, in a desired position.”), ([0036] via “In other aspects of the invention, gripping device 10 may also include a feedback monitoring and control system to monitor the position/location of gripper arms 16 and 18. For example, an encoder or position sensor may provide feedback on the position of drive shaft of motor 20, the position of gripper arms 16 and 18, or the position of gripper arm mounting blocks 72 and 74, among other points of detection, to sense position, velocity, force, or torque, and allow appropriate adjustment to operation or performance.”);
wherein, if a difference to the position as previously determined is detected by the position measuring system (46) or the angle measuring system, the drive motor (71) is switched on and the holding brake (81) is released until the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaches the predetermined value ([0026] via “Device 10 may also include a braking device 21 adapted to engage and disengage the drive train 22. Braking device 21 may also be controlled by controller 24, energizing braking device 21 to release braking device 21 to permit motion and de-energizing braking device 21 to engage drive train 22 and stop the movement of gripping arms 16 and 18, for example, in a desired position. When gripping arms 16 and 18 comprise flexible gripping arms, for example, arms that typically require the maintenance of a gripping force to ensure engagement with an article, braking device 21 may provide sufficient holding force to maintain the desired gripping force in flexible gripping 16 and 18 and prevent flexible gripping arms 16 and 18 from "unspringing" and releasing the article.”), ([0038] via “According to one aspect, gripping device 10 may include a motor 20 adapted to translate arms 16 and 18 to engage an object (not shown) and a braking device 21 adapted to prevent rotation of drive pulley 52 when power is lost to braking device 21, that is, braking device 21 may comprise a "fail safe" braking device. For example, in one aspect, when braking device 21 is de-energized, that is, "off," braking device 21 engages or "locks" the motor shaft (not shown) of motor 20 wherein drive pulley 52 is also "locked" from rotation. When braking device 21 is energized, that is, "on," braking device 21 disengages or "unlocks" the motor shaft of motor 20, and drive pulley 52 is allowed to rotate.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets that since the motor is able to drive when the braking device is released, that now, the gripping device is able to move to its desired position, as taught above by Wheeler.).
Further, Nguyen teaches wherein, upon a reduction of a contact resistance of the at least two gripping elements (51, 52) on the item (1) to be gripped, the spring energy accumulator (131) slides the screw (121) in the axial direction (125) while increasing an edge pressure of the gripping pressure flank (122; 123) (Section 5.2 via “Similar to the derivation of Eq. (20), substituting Eqs. (1), (2), and (17) into Eq. (33) can give a new form of the spring stiffness as
k
f
=
4
m
g
s
(
1
-
μ
c
H
V
)
r
2
a
2
(34). The above equation suggests a correction to the spring stiffness when the gear friction is considered. It can be seen that the correction is dominated by the carried weight of the GSM and the angular speeds of the gear system. Besides, we should note that the corrected spring stiffness kf is always greater than the original stiffness k in Eq. (20) because of the existence of μcHV.”), (Section 6.1 via “Figure 13 illustrates the static torques obtained by the theoretical model and the measurement. It shows that, without attaching the spring, the static torques obtained by the theoretical equations, Tm (theo.), and by the measurement, Tm (meas.), are very similar when θ < 90 deg. But Tm (meas.) becomes slightly higher than Tm (theo.) when θ≥90 deg. The main reason for this slight difference could be due to the moving masses of the connecting rod, slider, and spring, which are all together assumed fixed to the rotating link in the theoretical model. On the other hand, when the spring is attached, the theoretical static torque, Tm/s (theo.), is smaller than the measured static torque, Tm/s (meas.), at any position within the workspace. This may be caused by the friction effect at the joints and gear contact. Besides, the peak-to-peak static torque reduction rate δt is computed by using Eq. (12), being up to 94.1% in the theoretical model and 84.3% in the measurement.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the force experienced on the gear flanks as the gripping pressure flanks (122; 123). Also, see equations 27-29 in section 5.1 of Nguyen. Also, the Examiner interprets that in combination with Zimmer, wherein when the distance between the gripping devices increases (i.e., a reduction in contact resistance), the spring may compress in a similar way as taught by Nguyen.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wheeler wherein the method further comprises: determining, upon the engaging of the holding brake (81), a position of the screw (121), a synchronizing gear unit (153) or at least one gripping element carrier (41, 42) relative to the housing (11) by a position measuring system (46) or an angle measuring system; wherein, if a difference to the position as previously determined is detected by the position measuring system (46) or the angle measuring system, the drive motor (71) is switched on and the holding brake (81) is released until the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaches the predetermined value. Doing so allows the gripping elements to adjust themselves to reach a desired position, and uses the brakes to maintain this desired position, as stated above by Wheeler in both citations.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nguyen wherein the method further comprises: wherein, upon a reduction of a contact resistance of the at least two gripping elements (51, 52) on the item (1) to be gripped, the spring energy accumulator (131) slides the screw (121) in the axial direction (125) while increasing an edge pressure of the gripping pressure flank (122; 123). Doing so more accurately measures the contact the gear flank experiences, leading to a correction of the gear-spring mechanism, as stated above by Nguyen in Section 5.2.
14. Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al. (DE 102017001220 A1 hereinafter Zimmer (provided by Applicant's IDS)) in view of Ortell et al. (US 20220253019 A1 hereinafter Ortell) and Kassow (US 20210138667 A1 hereinafter Kassow), and further in view of Baumgartner et al. (EP 0924583 A2 hereinafter Baumgartner).
Regarding Claim 21, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 11, but is silent on wherein the holding brake (81) is configured to engage upon the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaching a predetermined value.
However, Baumgartner teaches wherein the holding brake (81) is configured to engage upon the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaching a predetermined value (Page 3 paragraph 2 via “If the motor current I is too high, the control switches immediately the starting voltage Ua and activates the electro-magnetic EBR brake, so that only a slight rotation of the electric motor EM is possible.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Baumgartner wherein the holding brake (81) is configured to engage upon the motor-current-monitoring system (67) or the pressure-monitoring system reaching a predetermined value. Doing so identifies potential errors within the drive motor such that the motor can be appropriately controlled, as stated by Baumgartner (Page 3 paragraph 2 via “If the mechanical brake MBR is defective, the control recognizes this ST therefore by comparing a stored threshold value Is for the motor current when the MBR mechanical brake is working with the actual motor current I. If the motor current I is too high, the control switches immediately the starting voltage Ua and activates the electro-magnetic EBR brake, so that only a slight rotation of the electric motor EM is possible.”).
Regarding Claim 23, modified reference Zimmer teaches the gripping device (10) according to claim 21, further comprising at least two gripping elements (51, 52) respectively fastened to gripping element carriers (41, 42) ([0032] via “The individual carriage (31, 32) is essentially a cuboid steel body, which is made, for example, from the material 16MnCr5. … A gripping element (1, 2) is attached to each carriage arm (33), cf. Fig. 2.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the gripping elements (1, 2) of Zimmer as the at least two gripping elements (51, 52).),
wherein the gripping element carriers (41, 42) are guided in guide grooves (17, 18) formed on the housing (11) ([0018] via “On the top of the base body ( 51 ) sits z. B. the entire surface of the guide body (11). In the area of the upper half of the guide body ( 11 ) is a double guide groove ( 12 ), the length of which corresponds to the length of the guide body ( 11 ).”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the double guide groove (12) of Zimmer as the guide grooves (17, 18)) and
are movable relative to one another for gripping an item ([0009] via “The gripping devices can be used as both external and as an internal gripper. Furthermore, the carriages carrying the gripping elements move towards each other, even for gripping elements whose carriages are guided in adjacent carriage guide grooves.”), ([0011] via “The upper part of the housing is a guide body (11) in which two slides (31, 32) contacting each other and movable in opposite directions are slide-mounted.”).
Examiner’s Note
15. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references
in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP
2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole,
including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851
(1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to BYRON X KASPER whose telephone number is (571)272-3895.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BYRON XAVIER KASPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657