DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 5 claim “explosion-proof means” however the “means” that applicant is referring to is not properly defined in the claims and in applicants specification in a clear and definite way for a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand the invention. Furthermore, “explosion-proof means” is not a commonly used term of the art, thus the claims are left unclear.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11 applicant uses the language “explosion-proof means”, however these terms are not a commonly used term of the art. It is unclear to what “means” applicant is referring to when using these terms “explosion-proof means”, thus the claims is left unclear and indefinite to the metes and bounds of the invention. Furthermore, applicant specification is silent to properly describe the limitation “explosion-proof means” in a clear and definite way for a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand the invention.
Further regarding claim 11, claim 11 calls back to “The acoustic camera equipped with explosion-proof of claim 5” however claim 5 is written as “The acoustic camera of claim 2”, thus the claim as written leaves the claim unclear and ambiguous as claim 5 is a acoustic camera and claim 11 is referring to an acoustic camera equipped with explosion-proof. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " the scene ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " the other acoustic signal common transmission line". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the separation distance between one fuse and the other fuse among the plurality of fuses ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the photographing means". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saksela (US 20190261108 A1) in view of Gao (CN 205021582 U, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1 Saksela teaches an acoustic camera (10) equipped with housing means, the acoustic camera (10) comprising: acoustic sensors (32, 41, 45) detecting sound wave or ultrasonic wave and a sensor board (Figs.6A-6C) on which the acoustic sensors (32, 41, 45) are mounted and a housing (15) locating at the rear of the sensor board and forming a built-in space. (Paragraphs 35-36, 59-61, Claim 1, Figs.1-2, 6A-6C)
Saksela also teaches a main control unit (31) receiving and processing acoustic signals generated from the acoustic sensors (computer 31 changes the acoustic signal intensity information), wherein the main control unit (31) is located in the built-in space (Fig.2), and wherein the sensor board is located outside the housing (Figs.6A-6C). (Paragraphs 42-41, 59-61, Figs.1-2, 6A-6C)
Saksela does not explicitly teaches a camera equipped with explosion-proof means.
Gao teaches a camera equipped with explosion-proof means (explosion-proof camera, ultrasonic measuring apparatus). (Page.3, Last two paragraphs, Claim 2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate a camera equipped with explosion-proof means in order to detect, inspect and clean with low equipment cost and convenient installation and operation.
Regarding Claim 2, Saksela teaches a barrier circuit unit installed between the acoustic sensors and the main control unit, and wherein the barrier circuit unit transmits the acoustic signal generated by the acoustic sensor to the main control unit, wherein the barrier circuit unit suppresses an increase in current or voltage on an acoustic signal transmission line transmitting the acoustic signal generated by the acoustic sensor, and wherein the barrier circuit unit and the main control unit are located in the built-in space of the housing. (Paragraphs 59-61, 74, Figs. 1-2, 6A-6C)
Regarding Claim 3, Saksela teaches a data collecting unit between the sensor board and the main control unit, and wherein the barrier circuit unit is provided between the sensor board and the data collecting unit. (Claim 1, Figs.1-4b, 6A-6C)
Regarding Claim 4, Saksela teaches a photographing means taking an image of the scene toward which the sensor board is facing. (Paragraph 41, Figs.1-4b, 6A-6C)
Regarding Claim 13, Saksela teaches a front body provided with sound wave inflow holes that guide the sound wave or the ultrasonic wave to reach the acoustic sensor. (Paragraphs 74, Figs.1-2, 6A-6C)
Claim(s) 5, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saksela in view of Gao and Huseynov (US 9482592 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein the barrier circuit unit comprises a resistance to suppress current rise, a Zener diode to suppress voltage rise, a fuse to block overcurrent on an acoustic signal transmission line that transmits the acoustic signal generated by the acoustic sensor or a clock signal transmission line that transmits a clock signal.
Huseynov teaches wherein the barrier circuit unit comprises a resistance to suppress current rise, a Zener diode to suppress voltage rise, a fuse to block overcurrent on an acoustic signal transmission line that transmits the acoustic signal generated by the acoustic sensor or a clock signal transmission line that transmits a clock signal. (Col.8, lines 47-64, Fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein the barrier circuit unit comprises a resistance to suppress current rise, a Zener diode to suppress voltage rise, a fuse to block overcurrent on an acoustic signal transmission line that transmits the acoustic signal generated by the acoustic sensor or a clock signal transmission line that transmits a clock signal as taught by Huseynov in order to avoid electrical damage to be transmitted to the microphone thus protecting the circuit from electrical failure.
Regarding Claim 9, Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein the acoustic sensors are disposed on the sensor board to have a separation distance of 1.5 mm or more from each other.
Huseynov teaches wherein the acoustic sensors are disposed on the sensor board to have a separation distance of 1.5 mm or more from each other. (Col.2, lines 63-65, Claim 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein the acoustic sensors are disposed on the sensor board to have a separation distance of 1.5 mm or more from each other as taught by Huseynov in order to improve the spatial resolution and prevent spatial aliasing.
Regarding Claim 12, Saksela teaches wherein the housing includes a rear wall, a side wall, and a front partition that form the built-in space blocked from the outside, and wherein the sensor board is located in front of the front partition, outside the housing. (Figs.1-2, 6A-6C)
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saksela in view of Gao, Huseynov, and Chen (CN 109696481 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 6, Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein the barrier circuit unit further comprises: a first acoustic sensor is connected to the acoustic signal common transmission line via the first acoustic signal transmission line, a second acoustic sensor is connected to the acoustic signal common transmission line via a second acoustic signal transmission line, a first acoustic sensor is connected to the clock signal common transmission line via a first clock signal transmission line, and a second acoustic sensor is connected to the clock signal common transmission line via a second clock signal transmission line.
Huseynov teaches wherein the barrier circuit unit further comprises: a first acoustic sensor is connected to the acoustic signal common transmission line via the first acoustic signal transmission line, a second acoustic sensor is connected to the acoustic signal common transmission line via a second acoustic signal transmission line. (Col.3, lines 35-43, Figs.1-2, 5)
Chen teaches a first acoustic sensor is connected to the clock signal common transmission line via a first clock signal transmission line, and a second acoustic sensor is connected to the clock signal common transmission line via a second clock signal transmission line. (Claims 1, 8, Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein the barrier circuit unit further comprises: a first acoustic sensor is connected to the acoustic signal common transmission line via the first acoustic signal transmission line, a second acoustic sensor is connected to the acoustic signal common transmission line via a second acoustic signal transmission line as taught by Huseynov improve the spatial resolution and prevent spatial aliasing and further modify Saksela to incorporate a first acoustic sensor is connected to the clock signal common transmission line via a first clock signal transmission line, and a second acoustic sensor is connected to the clock signal common transmission line via a second clock signal transmission line as taught by Chen in order to effectively ensure the acoustic sensor unit is synchronized.
Regarding Claim 7, Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein the acoustic signal common transmission is configured to further comprise, a resistance installation part in which the resistor is installed to suppress current rise; an electronic element installation part for suppressing voltage rise, where the Zener diode for suppressing voltage rise is installed, and a fuse installation part where the fuse is installed to block overcurrent.
Huseynov teaches wherein the acoustic signal common transmission is configured to further comprise, a resistance installation part in which the resistor is installed to suppress current rise; an electronic element installation part for suppressing voltage rise, where the Zener diode for suppressing voltage rise is installed, and a fuse installation part where the fuse is installed to block overcurrent. (Col.8, lines 47-64, Fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein the acoustic signal common transmission is configured to further comprise, a resistance installation part in which the resistor is installed to suppress current rise; an electronic element installation part for suppressing voltage rise, where the Zener diode for suppressing voltage rise is installed, and a fuse installation part where the fuse is installed to block overcurrent as taught by Huseynov in order to avoid electrical damage to be transmitted to the microphone thus protecting the circuit from electrical failure.
Regarding Claim 8, Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein the clock signal common transmission line is configured to comprise, a resistor installation part where the resistor is installed, an electronic element installation part for suppressing voltage rise, where the Zener diode for suppressing voltage rise is installed, and a fuse installation part where the above fuse is installed.
Huseynov teaches wherein the signal common transmission line is configured to comprise, a resistor installation part where the resistor is installed, an electronic element installation part for suppressing voltage rise, where the Zener diode for suppressing voltage rise is installed, and a fuse installation part where the above fuse is installed. (Col.8, lines 47-64, Fig.5)
Chen teaches the clock signal common transmission line. (Claims 1, 8, Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein the signal common transmission line is configured to comprise, a resistor installation part where the resistor is installed, an electronic element installation part for suppressing voltage rise, where the Zener diode for suppressing voltage rise is installed, and a fuse installation part where the above fuse is installed as taught by Huseynov in order to avoid electrical damage to be transmitted to the microphone thus protecting the circuit from electrical failure and further modify Saksela to incorporate the clock signal common transmission line as taught by Chen in order to effectively ensure the acoustic sensor unit is synchronized.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saksela in view of Gao, Huseynov and Shimizu (US 20080236365 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein a distance between the acoustic signal transmission line and the clock signal transmission line is 1.5 mm or more, and wherein a separation distance between one acoustic signal common transmission line and the other acoustic signal common transmission line is 1.5 mm or more.
Shimizu teaches wherein a distance between the acoustic signal transmission line and the clock signal transmission line is a distance, and wherein a separation distance between one acoustic signal common transmission line and the other acoustic signal common transmission line is a distance. (Paragraphs 54-55)
Saksela in view of Gao, Huseynov and Shimizu discloses the claimed invention except for a distance between signal lines is 1.5 mm or more and a separation distance is 1.5 mm or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate a distance between signal lines is 1.5 mm or more and a separation distance is 1.5 mm or more, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein a distance between the acoustic signal transmission line and the clock signal transmission line is a distance, and wherein a separation distance between one acoustic signal common transmission line and the other acoustic signal common transmission line is a distance as taught by Shimizu in order to prevent collision of data and ensure stable transmission of audio signals.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saksela in view of Gao, Huseynov and McCartan (US 6270460 B1).
Regarding Claim 11, Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein the separation distance between one fuse and the other fuse among the plurality of fuses is 10 mm or more.
McCartan teaches wherein a separation distance between one fuse and the other fuse among the plurality of fuses is a distance. (Claim 4, Fig.2)
Saksela in view of Gao, Huseynov and McCartan discloses the claimed invention except for a distance 10 mm or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate a distance 10 mm or more, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein the separation distance between one fuse and the other fuse among the plurality of fuses is a distance as taught by McCartan in order to avoid electrical damage to be transmitted thus protecting the circuit from electrical failure.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saksela in view of Gao, Huseynov and Lin (CN 205864606 U, all citations provided from machine translation attached)
Regarding Claim 14, Saksela teaches wherein the photographing means is located behind the tempered glass or in the built-in space of the housing. (Paragraphs 74, 43, Figs.1-2, 6A-6C)
Saksela does not explicitly teach wherein the front partition has an imaging hole and wherein the imaging hole is closed with transparent tempered glass.
Lin teaches wherein the front partition has an imaging hole and wherein the imaging hole is closed with transparent tempered glass. (Page.3, Paragraph 1, Figs.2-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Saksela to incorporate wherein the front partition has an imaging hole and wherein the imaging hole is closed with transparent tempered glass as taught by Lin in order to significantly increase strength of the camera and handle rapid temperature changes without damaging the apparatus.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645