DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the percentage of volatilization volume". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites the limitation "the percentage of volatilization volume". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaguchi (JP 2009-209166A).
Regarding claims 1 and 4: Sawaguchi teaches a composition comprising an alicyclic structure-containing polymer, a hindered amine compound and a fatty acid diester of pentaerythritol and/or a fatty acid triester of pentaerythritol [0073; Examples]. Sawaguchi teaches that the pentaerythritol fatty acid esters are purified to reduce the weight loss under a heating temperature [0021].
Sawaguchi fails to teach an example of using a combination of a diester and a triester.
Being a very clear, alternate embodiment in Sawaguchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mixture of fatty acid diester of pentaerythritol and a fatty acid triester of pentaerythritol in the composition of Sawaguchi as the mold release agent. The skilled artisan would immediately envisage a 50/50 mixture of diester and triester.
Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed volatilization volume. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 2: Sawaguchi teaches the claimed amount [0073; Examples].
Regarding claim 3: the structures of Sawaguchi, a diester and triester, are very structurally similar to the claimed structures of a triester and a tetraester. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaguchi (JP 2009-209166A).
Sawaguchi teaches an optical element [0080; Examples] comprising a composition comprising an alicyclic structure-containing polymer, a hindered amine compound and a fatty acid diester of pentaerythritol and/or a fatty acid triester of pentaerythritol [0073; Examples]. Sawaguchi teaches that the pentaerythritol fatty acid esters are purified to improve the weight loss under a heating temperature [0021].
Sawaguchi fails to teach an example of using a combination of a diester and a triester.
Being a very clear, alternate embodiment in Sawaguchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mixture of fatty acid diester of pentaerythritol and a fatty acid triester of pentaerythritol in the composition of Sawaguchi as the mold release agent. The skilled artisan would immediately envisage a 50/50 mixture of diester and triester.
Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed volatilization volume. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763