DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Siomina et al. US Patent No.9,204, 418 B2, hereinafter, ‘Siomina’.
Consider Claims 1 and 15, Siomina teaches a method for identifying position of a node in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, by at least one first node, information of number of antennas and antenna ports available at least one second node (e.g., this is met by Claim 1 discussion of the identifying a number of ports and antennas); determining, by the at least one first node, at least one antenna group of at least one of the at least one first node and the at least one second node based on the number of antennas and antenna ports configured at the at least one first node and the at least one second node and signaling, by the at least one first node to the at least one second node, at least one of configuration information of at least one reference signal and at least one assistance information(e.g., see at least col. 3 lines 15-25, col. 4 lines 60-65 and col. 5 lines 5-10); receiving, by the at least one second node, the at least one of configuration information of the at least one reference signal (e.g., see at least col. 5 lines 5-25 – see reference signal transmission), the at least one antenna group, and the at least one assistance information transmitted by the at least one first node (col. 2 lines 55-60 and col. 8 lines 10-20); transmitting, by the at least one first node, the at least one reference signal over the at least one antenna group; and receiving, by the at least one second node, the at least one reference signal transmitted by the at least one first node, using the configuration information, wherein the at least one second node estimates at least one positioning parameter for at least one of a first arrival path and additional paths based on the at least one reference signal (e.g., see at least col. 6 lines 20-50 -positioning related measurements).
Consider Claims 2 and 16, Siomina teaches wherein one of the at least one first node and the at least one second node is a user equipment, a base station, and a relay node, in a cellular network (e.g., see architecture illustrated in at least figures 1-3).
Consider Claim 5, Siomina teaches wherein the configuration information includes at least one of reference signal identifier and reference signal resources of at least one antenna group of the at least one first node(e.g., see architecture illustrated in at least figures 1-3).
Consider Claim 6, Siomina teaches wherein the assistance information includes at least one of information about antenna beam, antenna array configuration information, and multiplexing information of the at least one antenna port (e.g., see at least col. 17 lines 29-57 –antenna beam information).
Consider Claim 12, Siomina teaches wherein the at least one estimated positioning parameter is used to estimate position of the at least one second node(e.g., see at least col. 6 lines 20-50 -positioning related measurements).
Consider Claim 13, Siomina teaches the claimed invention further comprising reporting by the at least one second node, one of the at least one estimated positioning parameter and estimated position of the at least one second node based on the at least one positioning parameter, to at least one of a location server or the at least one first node(e.g., see at least col. 6 lines 20-50 -positioning node).
Consider Claim 14, Siomina teaches wherein the at least one positioning parameter comprises time positioning parameters, angle positioning parameters, mobility based parameters, and power based measurements and wherein the time positioning parameters include at least one of Time of Arrival (ToA), time difference of arrival (TDOA), and transmitter-receiver time difference of arrival, the angle positioning parameters include Angle of Arrival from receiver (s-AoA) from the at least second node and Angle of Departure from the at least one first node (f-AoD), the mobility based parameters include Doppler of at least one of the first arrival path and the additional paths and the power based measurements include total path power corresponding to line of sight or non-line of sight paths(e.g., see at least col. 6 lines 20-50 -positioning related measurements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. US Patent No.9,204, 418 B2, hereinafter, ‘Siomina’ in view of Harrison et al. US Patent No.: 10,205,499 B2, hereinafter, ‘Harrison’.
Consider Claim 7, Siomina teaches the claimed invention except wherein the antenna array configuration information includes at least one of the antenna placement geometry, antenna panel information, and antenna geometry parameters.
In analogous art, Harrison teaches wherein the antenna array configuration information includes at least one of the antenna placement geometry, antenna panel information, and antenna geometry parameters (e.g., see at least abstract, figure 1 and col. 6 lines 3-20- see rectangular and non-rectangular array.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the antenna array configuration information includes at least one of the antenna placement geometry, antenna panel information, and antenna geometry parameters for the purpose of improving data rates.
Consider Claim 8, Siomina teaches the claimed invention except wherein the antenna placement geometry is at least one of rectangular array, elliptical array, and cylindrical array.
In analogous art, Harrison teaches wherein the antenna placement geometry is at least one of rectangular array, elliptical array, and cylindrical array (e.g., see at least abstract, figure 1 and col. 6 lines 3-20- see rectangular and non-rectangular array.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the antenna placement geometry is at least one of rectangular array, elliptical array, and cylindrical array for the purpose of improving data rates.
Consider Claim 9, Siomina teaches the claimed invention except wherein the antenna geometry parameters for rectangular array are at least one of vertical and horizontal spacing, number of elements per panel, number of panels in horizontal directions, number of panels in vertical direction, and polarization.
In analogous art, Harrison teaches wherein the antenna geometry parameters for rectangular array are at least one of vertical and horizontal spacing, number of elements per panel, number of panels in horizontal directions, number of panels in vertical direction, and polarization (e.g., see at least col. 3 lines 60-65- “A common approach when designing precoder codebooks tailored for two-dimensional antenna arrays is to combine precoders tailored for a horizontal array and a vertical array respectively”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the antenna geometry parameters for rectangular array are at least one of vertical and horizontal spacing, number of elements per panel, number of panels in horizontal directions, number of panels in vertical direction, and polarization for the purpose of improving data rates.
Consider Claim 10, Siomina teaches the claimed invention except wherein the antenna geometry parameters for elliptical arrays are at least one of the radial distances and number of antenna elements across each radial direction.
In analogous art, Harrison teaches wherein the antenna geometry parameters for elliptical arrays are at least one of the radial distances and number of antenna elements across each radial direction (e.g., see at least figures 7 and 8, col. 11 lines 48-58 – non-rectangular/elliptical).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the antenna geometry parameters for elliptical arrays are at least one of the radial distances and number of antenna elements across each radial direction for the purpose of improving data rates.
Consider Claim 11, Siomina teaches the claimed invention except wherein the antenna geometry parameters for cylindrical arrays are at least one of the radial distances, number layers, and number antenna elements in each layer.
In analogous art, Harrison teaches wherein the antenna geometry parameters for cylindrical arrays are at least one of the radial distances, number layers, and number antenna elements in each layer (see at least figures 7 and 8, col. 11 lines 48-58 – this is met based on non-rectangular)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the antenna geometry parameters for cylindrical arrays are at least one of the radial distances, number layers, and number antenna elements in each layer for the purpose of improving data rates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record does not specify the formulation noted and claimed.
Conclusion
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646