DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Towing Vehicle and Loading Platform
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 5, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimbo et al [US 2022/0118977] in view of Ovadia et al [US 2021/0042701] and Recker et al [US 2018/0222265]
Consider claim 1. (Original) A vehicle (the towing vehicle 2 and trailer 3, 3C, see Figs. 1,
5, abstract, para [0038-0040, 0047]), comprising:
a tow vehicle (the tow vehicle 2, see Fig. 1);
a loading platform including a plurality of first external sensors mounted on an exterior
of the loading platform (the trailer 3 includes a plurality of sensor groups 7 and 31
such as cameras, IR, LIDAR, radar and/or ultrasonic attached to the towing vehicle 2
and the side of trailer 3 for monitoring surrounding of the trailer/platform 3, 3C, see Figs.
1, 3, 5, 7, para [0004, 0040]); and
a coupling part that couples the tow vehicle and the loading platform (the articulated
vehicle 1 is configured by combining a towing vehicle 2 and a trailer 3 with each other
by an information combination unit 4. Note that, in general, the towing vehicle 2 and the
trailer 3 are physically connected by a mechanism called a coupler although not
illustrated, SO that the towing vehicle 2 and the trailer 3 can travel as the articulated
vehicle 1, see abstract, Fig. 2, para [0010, 0036]). But
Shimbo et al fails to disclose the information of the plurality of first external sensors including a coordinate of a mounting position of each of the plurality of first external sensors relative to the coupling part, wherein the tow vehicle further includes an angle detector configured to detect a relative angle between the tow vehicle and the loading platform,
wherein the controller is further configured to: convert detection data of each first external sensor from a sensor coordinate system based on the mounting position of each first external sensor to a loading platform coordinate system based on the coupling part, and
convert the detection data from the loading platform coordinate system to a tow vehicle
coordinate system based on the relative angle detected by the angle detector.
However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the trailer 3 comprises one or a plurality of sensors 31 and
trailer identifier 32. The tow vehicle 2 ECU 6 includes a storage unit 64 to store a trailer
identifier 32. Each of the plurality of trailer 3 identifiers 32 include trailer type
information 62a, 63a which is uniquely to each type of the trailer 3. Even in the case of
the trailers 3 of the same vehicle type, the configuration of the sensor group 31 to be
attached may differ depending on a traveling scene and the use of control (see Figs. 1, 2, para [0038-0040]).
Recker et al suggests that the trailer hitch in accordance with the invention, which is shown in an operating position A in FIGS. 1 and 2 and in a rest position R FIG. 3, comprises a ball neck, designated generally at 10, which at a first end 12 thereof is held to a pivot element 14 and at a second end 16 thereof carries a hitch ball, indicated generally at 18, to which can be fixed a tow ball coupler of a trailer, wherein between the end 16 of the ball neck 10 and the hitch ball 18 a ball attachment formation 17 is provided whose curved surfaces 19 which are cylindrical with respect to a central axis M running through the center point MP of the hitch ball 18 have a smaller radius with respect to the central axis M than do the ball neck 10 at the end 16 thereof and the hitch ball 18. (See Figs. 1, 2, para [00134]).
The system 330 comprising a first sensor 332 and a second sensor 334, wherein the first sensor 332 is arranged at the ball neck 10 and is thus movable about the pivot axis 22, while the second sensor 334 is stationary relative to the pivot bearing unit 20. The second sensor 334 in accordance with FIGS. 26 to 28 is oriented such that, with the usual mounting of the trailer hitch AK to a motor vehicle (See Figs. 26-28, para [0256, 0267])
It is likewise conceivable for the second sensor 334 to be arranged such that its X direction extends parallel to the vertical longitudinal center plane LM of the trailer hitch AK and that its Y direction extends transversely, preferably perpendicularly, to the vertical longitudinal center plane LM of the trailer hitch AK; this then requires conversion of the measuring values of the second sensor 334 in the coordinate system thereof to the orientation of the coordinate system of the first sensor 332, in order to determine an inclination difference. (See Figs. 26-28, para [0264]).
Preferably, the evaluation unit 338 is provided with a reference value storage device RWS in which are stored reference values for the relative orientations of the Z axis of the first sensor 332 relative to the orientation of the Z axis of the second sensor 334, which reference values are linked to angle information on the rotary angle about the pivot axis 22 so that the rotary angle relative to the pivot axis 22 and the angular distance from the respective final positions, i.e., from the operating position A and the rest position R, can be inferred from the inclination of the Z axis of the first sensor 332 in relation to the orientation of the Z axis of the second sensor 334. (See Figs. 26-28, para [0269]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement the trailer hitch having external sensors mounted to the portion of the hitch coupler and the pivot controller cooperated with the evaluation unit to automatically convert the measured sensing values to the orientation of the coordinate system and to evaluate the rotary angle relative to the pivot axis of Recker et al to the tow vehicle sensors and ECU for operator is able to track the movement and angle relative to the pivot axis between the tow vehicle and trailer with higher accuracy in order to prevent of collision.
Shimbo et al also fails to disclose wherein the loading platform includes a storage unit
disposed in the loading platform and is configured to store at least a loading platform
type indicating a type of the loading platform and loading information including size
information of the loading platform and information of the plurality of first external
sensor. However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the trailer 3 comprises one or a plurality of sensors 31 and
trailer identifier 32. The tow vehicle 2 ECU 6 includes a storage unit 64 to store a trailer
identifier 32. Each of the plurality of trailer 3 identifiers 32 include trailer type
information 62a, 63a which is uniquely to each type of the trailer 3. Even in the case of
the trailers 3 of the same vehicle type, the configuration of the sensor group 31 to be
attached may differ depending on a traveling scene and the use of control. Therefore,
even in the case of the trailers 3 of the same vehicle type, it is preferable to assign
mutually different trailer identifiers 32 if the configuration of the sensor group 31 is
different. That is, in the in-vehicle system of the present embodiment, a type of the
trailer 3 is set based on at least one of a type, the number, and an attachment position
of the installed sensor group 31, and the trailer identifier 32 corresponding to this type is
stored in the trailer 3. Sensor information 7a corresponding to a surrounding
environment of the towing vehicle 2 output from the sensor group 7 is input to the ECU 2. In addition, sensor information 31a corresponding to a surrounding environment
of the trailer 3 output from the sensor group 31 is transmitted to the towing vehicle 2 via
the information combination unit 4 and input to the ECU 6, see abstract, Figs. 1, 2, para
[0038-0040, 0044]).
Ovadia et al suggests that the freight system 100 includes multiple trailers 122,
corresponding trailer modules 120, and multiple mobile devices operated by freight
operators and/or shippers. Each trailer module 120 may correspond to specialized
equipment, mounted or otherwise provided within the trailer 122, to enable
the computer system 110 to remotely monitor the trailer 122. In some examples, the
trailer modules 120 are housed as a fixture within the trailer 122. Alternatively, the trailer
modules 120 may be individually attached to the interior of the trailer (see Fig. 1, para
[0121]). The trailer module 120 may utilize sensors 134 (e.g., optical or interior sensing,
accelerometer, gyroscope) or its satellite receiver 132 to detect when the freight vehicle
begins hauling the trailer 122 (see Fig. 1, para [0122]). The trailer module 120 may
distribute multiple types of sensors within the interior of the respective trailer 122, in
order to facilitate the determination of load information with respect to the packed load.
For example, the trailer module 120 may use sensors to determine information such as
(i) whether the load is properly packed, (ii) whether there is empty space within the
interior of the trailer 122, (iii) the weight of the load, and/or (iv) other information that
may be pertinent for selecting a type of freight vehicle to haul the packed trailer (see
Fig. 1, para [0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to use or implement the trailer module 120 located with the
trailer/platform including a plurality sensors and trailer/platform information of Ovadia et
al to the ECU with the information storage unit 64 and trailer identifiers 62 to store a
plurality of trailer identifiers and sensors information of Shimbo et al and the data from the exterior sensors mounted on a portion of the coupler or hitch of Recker et al for storing and expanding used on many different tow vehicle or tractor with a greater accuracy towing and precisely to minimize cost with a higher safety transportation depending on the size, type and weight of each cargo/trailer platform without depending on the tow vehicle or tractor.
Wherein the tow vehicle includes a controller configured to acquire the loading platform
type and the loading platform information of the loading platform and performs sored in
the storage unit via a communication link when the tow vehicle and loading platform are
coupled, and perform a driving assist of the vehicle based on the acquired loading
platform type and the loading platform information (as the combination of the cargo or trailer platform storing size and/or type between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al as above, wherein the tow vehicle 2 including a vehicle control unit 5 controls a driving assistance based on the acquired the cargo/platform and type of trailer identification information and the cargo/platform type information and type of trailer for driving assisting to the tow vehicle and trailer transportation, see Figs. 1, 2, abstract, para [0007, 0008, 0010, 0012, 0042-0044, 0050-0059]).
Consider claim 2. (Currently Amended) The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the loading platform information further includes at least a brake system of the loading platform (as the combination of the cargo/trailer platform information between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al in respect to claim 1 above, and including the brake of the trailer 3, see para [0036]),
wherein the controller acquires the loading platform information and performs the driving
assist of the vehicle based on the acquired loading platform information from the loading
platform when the tow vehicle and the loading platform are coupled (as the combination
of the cargo/trailer platform information between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al in respect to claim 1 above, as when the tow vehicle 2 is coupled to the trailer 3, see Figs. 1, 3, 5).
Consider claim 5. (Previously Presented) The vehicle according of claim 2, wherein the
loading platform further includes a harness for electrically connecting to the tow vehicle
(it is possible to control a tail lamp, a brake, and the like of the trailer 3 from the towing
vehicle 2 by connecting cables of an electrical system and a hydraulic system of the
trailer 3 to plugs of the towing vehicle 2, respectively. The information combination unit
4 in FIG. 1 corresponds to cables and connectors configured to transmit sensor
information output from one or a plurality of sensors 31 attached to the trailer 3 to an
ECU 6 installed on the towing vehicle 2, and may be some of the above described
cables of the electrical system or plugs (see Fig. 1, para [0036, 0050]),
wherein the tow vehicle further includes the communication port and a gateway
communicating via the communication link, the communication link including a plurality
of CAN buses, and wherein when the harness is electrically connected to the tow
vehicle, the gateway receives CAN data of a first identifier from the loading platform,
decodes the CAN data of the first identifier to acquire the loading platform type, stores
the acquired loading platform type, and transmits the acquired loading platform type to
the controller (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and further including the gateway 10
having communication function with external Internet 11 and server 12, see Figs. 1, 9,
10, para [0032, 0104-0107]).
Consider claim 12. (Previously Presented) The vehicle of claim 1, wherein a plurality of first external sensors that detect an object around the loading platform are mounted on the loading platform, wherein the controller acquires loading platform information including at least size information of the loading platform corresponding to the loading platform type, information of the first external sensors, and a brake system of the loading platform from an external server communicably connected to the vehicle, based on the acquired loading platform type, wherein the controller performs a driving assist of the vehicle based on the acquired loading platform information (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including size information and braking amount and server 12, see Figs. 1, 9, 10, para [0029, 0033, 0037, 0104-0113]).
Consider claim 14. (Previously Presented) The vehicle of claim 10, wherein the controller acquires data of the steering control table corresponding to the loading platform type from an external server communicably connected to the vehicle (the steering operation amount and server 12, see para [0033, 0037, 0104-0113]).
Claims 3, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Shimbo et al [US 2022/0118977] and Ovadia et al [US 2021/0042701] and Recker et al [US 2018/0222265] and further in view of Zhou et al [US 2023/0100827]
Consider claim 3. (Currently Amended) The vehicle of claim 2, wherein the tow vehicle further includes a plurality of second external sensors (the sensor group 7, see Fig. 1, para [0037]) that detect an object around the tow vehicle (see para [0040]),
wherein the controller (the ECU 2 and ECU 6, see Fig. 1, para [0040-0048]) acquires
detection data of each second external sensor, converts the acquired detection data of each second external sensor from the sensor coordinate system based on a mounting position of each second external sensor to the tow vehicle coordinate system based on the coupling part, integrates the detection data of the first external sensors and the detection data of the second external sensors into the tow vehicle coordinate system (as discussed between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al in respect to claim 1 above). But
Shimbo et al fails to disclose the controller calculates a relative position and a relative
speed of the detected object relative to the vehicle based on the integrated detection
data. However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the sensor group 7 and the sensor group 31 respectively
attached to the towing vehicle 2 and the trailer 3 include, for example, a camera, a
millimeter wave radar, laser imaging detection and ranging (LIDAR), an ultrasonic
sensor, and the like. In addition, GPS and the like may be included. In addition, the
sensor group 7 and the sensor group 31 can be configured using an arbitrary single
type or a plurality of types of sensors. Sensor information 7a to a surrounding
environment of the towing vehicle 2 output from the sensor group 7 is input to the ECU
2. In addition, sensor information 31a corresponding to a surrounding environment of
the trailer 3 output from the sensor group 31 is transmitted to the towing vehicle 2 via
the information combination unit 4 and input to the ECU 6 (see para [0040]).
Zhou et al suggests that the cargo vehicle 150, such as a tractor-trailer truck. The truck
may include, e.g., a single, double or triple trailer, or may be another medium or heavy
duty truck such as in commercial weight classes 4 through 8. As shown, the truck
includes a tractor unit 152 and a single cargo unit or trailer 154. The trailer 154 may be
fully enclosed, open such as a flat bed, or partially open depending on the type of cargo
to be transported (see Figs. 1C, 1D, para [0041]). The computing device 202 controls
the orientation of the wheels and direction of the vehicle, a navigation system 220 for
navigating the vehicle to a location or around objects and a positioning system 222 for
determining the position of the vehicle, e.g., including the vehicle's pose (see Figs. 2,
3A, 3B, para [0050]). The sensors of the perception system 224 may detect objects
outside of the vehicle and their characteristics such as location, orientation, size, shape,
type (for instance, vehicle, pedestrian, bicyclist, etc.), heading, speed of movement
relative to the vehicle, etc. (see Fig. 2, para [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to use or implement the computing device for determining position
of the truck cargo vehicle around the objects and relative speed of Zhou et al to the
ECU control devices of Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al for assisting a driver to minimize and preventing of accident to collide with the object surrounding the tow vehicle and trailer since the ECUs receives the detected information from each of the sensor groups 7 and 31 for detecting an object surrounding the two vehicle 2 and trailer 3.
Consider claim 10. (Previously Presented) Shimbo et al fails to disclose the controller further includes a lane-change collision mitigation controller, wherein the lane-change collision mitigation controller includes: a lane-change trajectory predictor that predicts a trajectory of a lane change based on blinker information, a vehicle speed, a steering angle, a yaw rate, and lane detection information of the vehicle; an adjacent-lane time to collision calculator that calculates a time to collision with a following vehicle on an adjacent lane based on the trajectory predicted by the lane-change trajectory predictor, the relative position and the relative speed of the detected object calculated by the controller, and the blinker information of the vehicle; an allowable distance calculator that calculates an allowable distance based on the trajectory predicted by the lane-change trajectory predictor, the time to collision calculated by the adjacent-lane time to collision calculator, the vehicle speed of the vehicle, a relative speed of the following vehicle on the adjacent lane relative to the vehicle, and a loading platform length included in the loading platform information; a lane-change determination unit that determines whether or not to allow a lane change based on the allowable distance calculated by the allowable distance calculator, a relative position of the following vehicle on the adjacent lane relative to the vehicle; a steering control table created for each of the loading platform types and for performing a steering instruction to deter the lane change when the lane-change determination unit has determined that the lane change is not allowed; and a second multiplexer that selects the steering control table based on the loading platform type. However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the optimum arithmetic processing program 64a
corresponds to a program that calculates object recognition information around the
trailer B from radar information on the trailer B side in addition to a camera image and
radar information on the towing vehicle 2 side and realizes automatic travel control on a
highway and driving assistance control to prevent entanglement at the time of turning
right or left in an urban area and collision with other vehicles in front, rear, left, and right
directions, and the like (see para [0047]).
The towing vehicle 2 includes a vehicle control unit 5, the ECU 6, and one or a plurality
of sensors 7. Hereinafter, the plurality of sensors 7 will be sometimes collectively
referred to as the sensor group 7. The vehicle control unit 5 performs travel control for
realizing autonomous driving and driving assistance of the articulated vehicle 1. For
example, a steering wheel operation amount, an accelerator amount, and a brake
amount of the towing vehicle 2 are controlled, and an obstacle is notified to a driver (see
para [0037]).
It is conceivable to attach various sensors for recognition of objects in an external
environment and distance recognition, such as cameras and radars, not only to a
towing vehicle but also to a trailer side. Sensor information acquired by the various
sensors installed on the towing vehicle or the trailer is collected and processed by an
electronic control unit (ECU) installed on the towing vehicle, and necessary autonomous
driving and driving assistance are controlled (see para [0004].
Zhou et al suggests that the processing system 702 includes the triggering of safety
precautions (e.g., pulling over for roads too wet to handle); causing a change in real-
time motion control (e.g., adjusting acceleration/deceleration braking distance, changing
lanes, etc.); making changes to the perception system (e.g., modifying thresholds for
filtering, sensor noise level, sensor field of view adaptation, sensor validation logic,
pedestrian detectors, etc.); changing models for predicting behavior of other road users
(e.g., other vehicles might drive slower, pedestrians or bicyclists might move erratically
to avoid rain/puddles, etc.,); and changing planner behavior (such as where to pick up
or drop off, selecting alternative routes or lanes of travel, etc.). Such information may be
provided to vehicles across a fleet of vehicles, such as part of a general system update
or based on current or projected weather conditions to assist scheduling and routing of
the fleet (see Fig. 7-10, para [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add and/or implement the processing system for changing lane
of Zhou et al to the vehicle control unit to control the distance to/from external object
of Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al for providing effectively and reliability to avoid potential collision and/or to prevent a collision as for improving safety of the tow vehicle and trailer.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimbo et
al [US 2022/0118977] and Ovadia et al [US 2021/0042701] and Recker et al [US 2018/0222265] and Zhou et al [US 2023/0100827] and further in view of Boerger et al [US 2021/0082220]
Consider claim 4. (Previously Presented) Shimbo et al fails to disclose wherein the controller includes a data conversion table created for each of the loading platform types, the data conversion table converting a data format of the detection data of the first external sensor into a data format of the tow vehicle coordinate system. However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the sensor group 7 and the sensor group 31 respectively
attached to the towing vehicle 2 and the trailer 3 include, for example, a camera, a
millimeter wave radar, laser imaging detection and ranging (LIDAR), an ultrasonic
sensor, and the like. In addition, a weight sensor that measures the weight of the
vehicle, a tilt sensor that measures a tilt of the vehicle, GPS, and the like may be
included. The sensor information 7a corresponding to a surrounding environment of the
towing vehicle 2 output from the sensor group 7 is input to the ECU 2. In addition,
sensor information 31a corresponding to a surrounding environment of the trailer 3
output from the sensor group 31 is transmitted to the towing vehicle 2 via the
information combination unit 4 and input to the ECU 6, see Fig. 1, para [0040]).
Boerger et al suggests that the trailer sensor(s) 202 may be implemented using any
suitable sensors such as, for example, photoelectric eyes, proximity sensors, motion
sensors 204, inductive loop sensors, a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system, etc.
In some examples, the presence/motion detector 112 may include a presence detector
system to detect the presence of personnel/equipment (e.g., people on foot and/or
driving material handling equipment, autonomous vehicles, etc.) within a trailer 300
parked at the loading dock 102 (e.g., loading and/or unloading cargo) or outside the
facility on the approach of the dock 102 (see Figs. 1-4, para [0027]).
The Input/Output (IO) parameter information 706 includes a name for the IO parameter,
an indication of the type of the IO parameter, and a unique address relative to other IO
parameters associated with the corresponding device. Accordingly, in some examples,
the conversion factors (e.g., based on the slope and intercept equation for linear
relationships) enable the conversion of the reported value to the actual temperature. If
the IO parameter corresponds to a non-linear measurement (e.g., an output signal of a
thermistor), the conversion factors may include a linearization table that is selected
based on the type of thermistor as identified by the parameter type stored with the IO
parameter information 706 (see Fig. 7, para [0064, 0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to use and/or implement the I/O data conversion factors of
Boerger et al to the controller ECUs of Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al and Zhou et al for providing accuracy and reliable I/O data information to a tow vehicle driver or operator, as well as to minimize of error or failure in operations.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Shimbo et al [US 2022/0118977] and Ovadia et al [US 2021/0042701] and Recker et al [US 2018/0222265] and further in view of Balton et al [US 2021/0229510]
Consider claim 6. (Previously Presented) The vehicle of claim 5, wherein when the harness is electrically connected to the tow vehicle, the gateway receives CAN data of a second identifier from the loading platform (the control unit 5 determines the identification of a plurality of trailer types, see Fig. 1, para [0040]). But
Shimbo et al fails to disclose decodes the CAN data of the second identifier to acquire
a diagnostics command for reading loading platform information for reading the loading
platform information, acquires the loading platform information based on the acquired
diagnostics command for reading loading platform information, stores the acquired
loading platform information, and transmits the acquired loading platform information to
the controller. However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the sensor information 7a corresponding to a surrounding
environment of the towing vehicle 2 output from the sensor group 7 is input to the ECU
2. In addition, sensor information 31a corresponding to a surrounding environment of
the trailer 3 output from the sensor group 31 is transmitted to the towing vehicle 2 via
the information combination unit 4 and input to the ECU see Fig. 1, para [0040]).
In Step S3, the ECU 6 causes the processing change unit 63 to select an arithmetic
processing program optimum for the current towing vehicle 2 from among the arithmetic
processing programs stored in the processing information storage unit 64. At this time,
the processing change unit 63 switches a method of selecting an arithmetic processing
program according to a determination result of Step S1. That is, when it is determined in
Step S1 that the trailer 3 is connected, the arithmetic processing program 64a
corresponding to the type of the trailer 3 indicated by the trailer identification
information 62a is selected in Step S3 based on the trailer identification information 62a
output from the trailer identification unit 62 in Step S2. On the other hand, when it is
determined in Step S1 that the trailer 3 is not connected, an arithmetic processing
program set in advance for independent travel is selected in Step S3 (see Fig. 2, para
[0052]).
Balton et al suggests that the connectors 308 and 314 may be configured according to
one or more industry or government standards, such as SAE standards or International
Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards. For example, the connectors 308 and
314 may be have a 7-pin connector established according to SAE standards J-560 or J-
1067, or ISO standard 1185, by way of non-limiting example. However, other standards
may be applicable based on the desired application and vehicle and/or trailer 102 type
(see Fig. 3, para [0037]). The second communication signal 714b introduced by the
powerline communication controller may include information regarding a target or
destination of the data, such as an identifier of the HMI 326 or an or identifier or an
address of a component to be controlled (e.g., camera motor, rear door motor 120). A
corresponding powerline communication controller 700 receiving the encoded data
may decode the data according to the one or more communication protocols for
example, to obtain the metadata associated (see Fig. 7, para [0065, 0070]). In some
embodiments, one or more processors of the trailer powerline communication
controller 804 may analyze the video or image data to determine whether objects are
present in the imaged regions around the trailer. The trailer powerline communication
controller 804 may send communication signals to the vehicle powerline communication
controller 802 as a result of identifying objects around the vehicle that present a risk of
collision, for example (see Fig. 8, para [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add and/or implement the controller analytically or diagnostically
the encode and decode data of another by the second communication signals of Balton
et al to the ECU and the processing change unit of Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al for assisting a driver to operate the tow vehicle and trailer with correctly and precisely based on that trailer type being town.
Consider claim 7. (Previously Presented) The vehicle of claim 6, wherein when the harnesses electrically disconnected from the tow vehicle, the gateway erases the stored loading platform information (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 6 above, wherein the electric cables or harness cables being unplugged, and then the control unit 5 and ECU 6 to canceled or erased the of that trailer type data information and identification, in order to be abled connecting or changing to another trailer type).
Consider claim 8. (Previously Presented) The vehicle of claim 6, wherein the controller transmits a diagnostics command of a loading platform connection to the gateway, wherein the gateway decodes the diagnostics command of the loading platform connection, transmits absence of the loading platform information to the controller as a response of the diagnostics command of the loading platform connection when the harness is not electrically connected to the tow vehicle, and transmits the loading platform information as a response of the diagnostics command of the loading platform connection to the controller when the harness is electrically connected to the tow vehicle (as the combination between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al and Balton et al in respect to claim 6 above, and including the gateway 10 having communication function with external Internet 11 and server 12, see Figs. 1, 9, 10, para [0032, 0104-0107]).
Claims 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimbo et al [US 2022/0118977] and Ovadia et al [US 2021/0042701] and Recker et al [US 2018/0222265] and Zhou et al [US 2023/0100827] and further in view of Nagata et al [US 2022/0180488]
Consider claim 9. (Previously Presented) Shimbo et al fails to disclose wherein the controller further includes an automatic emergency brake controller, wherein the automatic emergency brake controller includes: a trajectory predictor that predicts a trajectory of the vehicle based on a vehicle speed, a steering angle, and a yaw rate of the vehicle; a time to collision calculator that calculates a time to collision with the detected object based on a trajectory predicted by the trajectory predictor, and the relative position and the relative speed of the detected object calculated by the controller, an automatic emergency brake warning brake table created for each of the loading platform types and for performing an alarm instruction and a brake instruction; and a first multiplexer that selects the automatic emergency brake warning brake table based on the loading platform type. However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the optimum arithmetic processing program 64a corresponds
to a program that calculates object recognition information around the trailer B from
radar information on the trailer B side in addition to a camera image and radar
information on the towing vehicle 2 side and realizes automatic travel control on a
highway and driving assistance control to prevent entanglement at the time of turning
right or left in an urban area and collision with other vehicles in front, rear, left, and right
directions, and the like (see para [0047]). And furthermore the combination of the
relative position and relative speed between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al and Zhou et al in respect to claim 3 above, wherein the towing vehicle 2 includes a vehicle control unit 5, the ECU 6, and one or a plurality of sensors 7. Hereinafter, the plurality of sensors 7 will be sometimes collectively referred to as the sensor group 7. The vehicle control unit 5 performs travel control for realizing autonomous driving and driving assistance of the articulated vehicle 1. For example, a steering wheel operation amount, an accelerator amount, and a brake amount of the towing vehicle 2 are controlled, and an obstacle is notified to a driver. (See Shimbo et al, para [0037]).
Nagata et al suggests that the system allows the driver of the vehicle to view the
surroundings of the vehicles and/or the trailer efficiently, and results in improved safety
from the improved awareness. A top-down view of the vehicle 102 and trailer 104 may
be constructed based on the image data from the cameras 106 and provided to the
driver, to assist the driver in avoiding objects and other collisions. The vehicle 102
and/or the trailer 104 can automatically brake to avoid a potential collision or prevent a
collision once the system identifies an object 502 in the path of the vehicle 102 and/or
the trailer 104 (see Figs. 1, 4A, 5A, 5B, 8, para [0016, 0064, 0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add and/or implement the automatically braking of Nagata et al
to the vehicle control unit to control brake amount of Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al and Zhou et al for providing effectively and reliability to avoid potential collision and/or to prevent a collision as for improving safety of the tow vehicle and trailer.
Consider claim 13. (Previously Presented) The vehicle of claim 9, wherein the controller acquires data of the automatic emergency brake warning brake table corresponding to the loading platform type from an external server communicably connected to the vehicle (as the combination between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al and Zhou et al and Nagata et al in respect to claim 9 above, and including alert notification such as beeping or spoken words "BRAKE", see Nagata et al, Figs. 5A, 5B, para [0061]).
Claims 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Shimbo et al [US 2022/0118977] and Ovadia et al [US 2021/0042701] and Recker et al [US 2018/0222265] and further and in view of Chevalier et al [US 2023/0020142]
Consider claim 11. (Previously Presented) Shimbo et al fails to disclose wherein the controller further includes a curve warning deceleration controller, wherein the curve warning deceleration controller includes: an ideal speed calculator that calculates an ideal speed at a curve entrance based on a radius of a curve and a loading platform weight and a loading platform length included in the loading platform information, a deceleration calculator that calculates deceleration of the vehicle based on an ideal speed calculated by the ideal speed calculator and the vehicle speed of the vehicle; a curve warning brake table created for each of the loading platform types and for performing an alarm instruction and a brake instruction; and a third multiplexer that selects the curve warning brake table based on the loading platform type. However,
Shimbo et al teaches that the plurality of sensors 7 will be sometimes collectively
referred to as the sensor group 7. The vehicle control unit 5 performs travel control for
realizing autonomous driving and driving assistance of the articulated vehicle 1. For
example, a steering wheel operation amount, an accelerator amount, and a brake
amount of the towing vehicle 2 are controlled, and an obstacle is notified to a driver (see
Fig. 1, para [0037]).
Chevalier et al suggests that the accelerometer may provide information regarding the
direction of movement of the vehicle and/or the trailer. The rate of acceleration and/or
deceleration provides information as to the magnitude of the forces acting upon the
vehicle and/or the trailer (see para [0080]). The sensor (e.g., one or more gyroscopes)
may detect the sway of a trailer. The computer may analyze the sway information with
speed, torque, acceleration, and/or deceleration information to determine how and/or
whether the sway of the trailer is related to speed, torque, acceleration and/or
deceleration (see para [0099, 0100]). The sensors of a trailer may detect the load
distribution of a trailer. The distribution of the load on a trailer may be used to determine
whether the load is safely distributed on the trailer to reduce sway. An alert may be
provided when improper or unsafe low distribution is detected (see para [0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add and/or implement the alert of sway curve deceleration of
Chevalier et al to the vehicle control unit to control brake amount of Shimbo et al and
Ovadia et al and Recker et al for generating an alarm to avoid potential collision and/or to prevent a rollover or tilting of the trailer cause by shaped curve or sway as to improving safety of the tow vehicle and trailer.
Consider claim 15. (Previously Presented) The vehicle of claim 11, wherein the controller acquires data of the curve warning brake table corresponding to the loading platform type from an external server communicably connected to the vehicle (as the combination between Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al and Recker et al and Chevalier et al in respect to claim 11 above, and including the server 12, see para [0033, 0105-0113]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-15 under Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Recker et al to make the rejection smoother according to the new amended claim subject matters.
Applicant’s arguments:(A) Nowhere does Shimbo disclose, teach, or suggest a storage unit "configured to store size information of the loading platform and information of the plurality of first external sensors, the information of the plurality of first external sensors including a coordinate of a mounting position of each of the plurality of first external sensors relative to the coupling part," as recited in amended claim 1.
(B) Nowhere does Shimbo disclose, teach, or suggest "an angle detector configured to detect a relative angle between the tow vehicle and the loading platform," or a controller configured to "convert the detection data from the loading platform coordinate system to a tow vehicle coordinate system based on the relative angle detected by the angle detector," as recited in amended claim 1.
(C) Ovadia, Zhou, Boerger, Balton, Nagata, and Chevalier were cited for teaching certain other features. However, none of these references, taken separately or in any reasonable combination, cures the aforementioned deficiencies of Shimbo with respect to amended claim 1, as established above.
(D) Ovadia fails to remedy these deficiencies. Ovadia does not store "a coordinate of a mounting position of each of the plurality of first external sensors relative to the coupling part," or include an "angle detector configured to detect a relative angle between the tow vehicle and the loading platform," as recited in amended claim 1.
Response to the arguments:(A) It is obvious to modify or substitute the plurality of sensors of Shimbo et al with the external sensors coupled to the coupling portion or hitch portion of Recker et al as an alternating choice to provide greater accuracy to measure the rotation and relative angle of the tow vehicle and trailer or load platform, without changing and affecting the operation of the towing vehicle.
(B) As indicating in section (A) above, and it includes the controlling and evaluating of the relative angle between the tow vehicle and the trailer or loading platform.
(C) It is obvious to combine with other references of Ovadia, Zhou, Boerger, Balton, Nagata, and Chevalier based on the combination between Shimbo et al and Recker et al in the independent claim 1 as above.
(D) It is obvious to combine the data information of the exterior sensors mounted on a portion of the hitch or coupler of Ricker et al and sensors of Shimbo et al and Ovadia et al to be controlled by the vehicle controller or ECU 6 and recorded in a storage unit 64 of Shimbo et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
08/05/2026