DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and/or arguments filed on January 13, 2026. Claims 1-15, 17, and 19-24 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, filed January 13, 2016, with respect to 101 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9, filed January 13, 2016, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15, 17, and 19-23 under 102 and/or 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chakraborty et al. (US 20200262305; hereinafter Chakraborty; already of record from IDS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, 17, and 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bridges (US 20180364738; hereinafter Bridges; already of record from IDS) in view of Chakraborty et al. (US 20200262305; hereinafter Chakraborty; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 1, Bridges discloses of a method for controlling electrical energy transfer in a vehicle combination comprising at least a primary vehicle articulated coupled to a secondary vehicle so as to form a coupled vehicle combination, each one of the primary and the secondary vehicles having an electric machine and an energy storage system (ESS) (“A reversible, driverless, fully electric or plug-in hybrid tractor-trailer includes a trailer equipped with autonomous reversible self-propulsion and steering equipment and configured to dock with one or two tractors in a pulling and/or pushing configuration. The tractor(s) are equipped for autonomous navigation. Replacement tractors can autonomously navigate from a charging and/or refueling facility to the tractor-trailer and can further autonomously execute a swap-out procedure by which spent tractor(s) are replaced by the freshly charged tractor(s). The replaced tractor(s) then autonomously navigate back to the charging and/or refueling facility, while the tractor-trailer continues, nonstop, toward its destination. Where allowed by law, combination multi-trailer road-train vehicles can be formed by connecting trailers to trailers and also possibly inserting a tractor between trailers that are attached to both ends of the inserted tractor.” (Abstract), “A Trailer 100 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure comprises a freight container 104 supported by wheels 108 and 116. One or more motors 112 or other propulsion devices are operably connected to the wheels 108, and an energy source 120 provides stored energy to the one or more motors 112. Two docking ports 124, one at each end of the Trailer 100, are provided, with each docking port 124 comprising a communications link 128 and an electrical link 132. A plurality of sensors 136 are positioned around the Trailer 100, and a processing unit 140 is also provided.” (Para 0064), “A REDBPT 200 according to embodiments of the present disclosure is a tractor that comprises an autonomous driving system 204, a plurality of powered, steerable wheels 208, one or more motors 212 or other propulsion device(s), an energy source 220, a docking port 224 with a communication link 228 and an electrical link 232, and a plurality of sensors 136.” (Para 0078), see also Para 0072)), the method comprising:
receiving transportation mission data for the primary and the secondary vehicles, said the transportation mission data containing information of a vehicle coupled driving segment in which the primary and the secondary vehicles are in a coupled vehicle combination for performing a part of a transportation mission and information of a vehicle uncoupled driving segment in which one of the primary and the secondary vehicles is operated in an uncoupled state from the other one for performing another part of the transportation mission (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Para 0072), “In addition to storing instructions for execution by the processor, the memory of the autonomous driving system 204 may also store one or more navigation databases, which the processor of the autonomous driving system 204 may access to select one or more routes for reaching a particular destination. The destination may be, for example, a REDBPT Charging and Dispatch Facility, or a delivery point for the contents of the Trailer 100. Information about the delivery point for the contents of the Trailer 100 may be provided to the autonomous driving system 204 by the processing unit 140 of the Trailer 100 via the docking ports 124/224, or wirelessly via wireless communication transceivers, or from an owner or operator of the REDBPT 200 and/or of the Trailer 100 via a wireless connection with the Internet).” (Para 0080), and “A “Rig,” as that term is used herein, comprises at least one Trailer 100 and at least one REDBPT 200. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, a Trailer 100 may self-navigate on short trips (e.g., with no REDBPT 200 coupled thereto), but for other trips one or two REDBPTs 200 couple to the Trailer 100 to form a Rig that travels along roads, highways, streets, or other suitable pathways.” (Para 0089));
determining a state-of-charge (SOC),value of the ESS of the primary vehicle and a SOC value of the ESS of the secondary vehicle (“The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b.” (Para 0093), “Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange.” (Para 0072));
determining an energy consumption for each one of the primary and the secondary vehicles for completing the vehicle coupled driving segment (“Further, the autonomous driving system 204 may be configured to select, for example, the most energy efficient route (which may be the route with the least change in elevation, or the route with the shortest distance, or the route that has the fewest stop signs/stoplights), the shortest route, the fastest route, the cheapest route (considering, for example, energy usage and tolls), or the route that passes the most REDBPT Charging and Dispatch Facilities.” (Para 0081), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b” (Para 0093), and “when there is a wide range in the predicted travel time (whether due to traffic, weather, road conditions (including, for example, road construction), or other factors) and a single REDBPT 200 will not have enough stored energy to complete the course if the travel time is at the higher end of the predicted range. In some embodiments, the configuration of the Rig 300 may occur only briefly, such as after a fresh REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with replenished energy source 220) attaches to the Trailer 100 and before a depleted REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with a depleted energy source 220) detaches from the Trailer 100.” (Para 0091));
determining an energy consumption for each one of the primary and the secondary vehicles for completing any vehicle uncoupled driving segments (“As indicated above, the Trailer 100 is capable of independent (e.g. without connection to a REDBPT 200 or other tractor) locomotion and steering. However, in some embodiments, the energy source 120 of the Trailer 100 does not enable the Trailer 100 to operate independently of a REDBPT 200 for an extended period of time. As a result, the Trailer 100 is advantageously connected to one or two REDBPTs for long-haul operations. The ability of the Trailer 100 to operate independently of a REDBPT, though, facilitates the REDBPT exchange process, as described in greater detail below.” (Para 0077), “After Swap-Out, the near-empty REDBPT 200a may navigate itself (under control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200a) to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility, which may be the same facility from which the fresh REDBPT 200b used in the Swap-Out originated. The REDBPT 200a would then be recharged or refueled as appropriate, run through a thorough automated safety check, and made ready for its next “assignment.” Minor repairs and maintenance services might also be performed at the Charging and Dispatch Facility. In some embodiments, a REDBPT 200 is managed by dispatching software that ensures the REDBPT 200 always has a sufficient remaining charge to get to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility.” (Para 0094), see also Para 0096);
on the basis of … the determined SOC values and determined energy consumptions, providing an energy transfer schedule for the transportation mission comprising one or more energy transfer operations for transferring energy between the primary and the secondary vehicles… (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Para 0072), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b. In some embodiments, the replenished REDBPT 200b may approach the Trailer 100 from behind (FIG. 6A), under the control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200b or, in some embodiments, under the control of the REDBPT 200a. The REDBPT 200b then docks with the Trailer 100 while the exhausted REDBPT 200a is still docked to the front end of the Trailer 100 (FIG. 6B).” (Para 0093)) and
controlling the energy transfer between the primary and the secondary vehicles based on the provided energy transfer schedule (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Para 0072), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b. In some embodiments, the replenished REDBPT 200b may approach the Trailer 100 from behind (FIG. 6A), under the control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200b or, in some embodiments, under the control of the REDBPT 200a. The REDBPT 200b then docks with the Trailer 100 while the exhausted REDBPT 200a is still docked to the front end of the Trailer 100 (FIG. 6B).” (Para 0093); Bridges does fully teach of this in at least Para 0093, which recites “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b. In some embodiments, the replenished REDBPT 200b may approach the Trailer 100 from behind (FIG. 6A), under the control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200b or, in some embodiments, under the control of the REDBPT 200a. The REDBPT 200b then docks with the Trailer 100 while the exhausted REDBPT 200a is still docked to the front end of the Trailer 100 (FIG. 6B). Once the replenished REDBPT 200b is docked with the trailer 100, a corresponding signal may be sent (either wirelessly or via the Trailer 100) to the autonomous driving system 204 of the exhausted REDBPT 200a. Upon receipt of the corresponding signal indicating that the replenished REDBPT 200b has docked with the Trailer 100, the processor of the autonomous driving system 204 of the exhausted REDBPT 200a may execute instructions stored in a memory of the autonomous driving system 204 that cause the exhausted REDBPT 200a to detach, undock, or otherwise disconnect from the Trailer 100 (FIG. 6C).” It is noted that in response to a battery or energy source of the vehicle is approaching empty, that a predetermined swap-out maneuver occurs. The location of the swap-out is predetermined at a predetermined section of road, therefore the energy transfer between the primary and secondary devices is scheduled, as the swap out was predetermined. A scheduled energy transfer can be reasonably interpreted as an energy transfer that is planned or is predetermined, such as that recited in the prior art, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. It is also noted that Para 0072 discloses of “The docking port 124 comprises a communication link 128 and an electrical link 132. The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100.” This citation further discloses that data concerning the amount of fuel in the energy source and concerning an upcoming exchange. If an exchange is “upcoming”, then it can be reasonably interpreted that the exchange is scheduled, and therefore the claim limitation is fully disclosed).
However, Bridges does not specifically disclose of on the basis of the vehicle coupled driving segment, the vehicle uncoupled driving segment, the determined SOC values, and determined energy consumptions, providing an energy transfer schedule for the transportation mission comprising one or more energy transfer operations for transferring energy between the primary and the secondary vehicles to reach a minimum SOC value to perform the vehicle uncoupled driving segment.
Chakraborty, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of on the basis of the vehicle coupled driving segment, the vehicle uncoupled driving segment, the determined SOC values, and determined energy consumptions, providing an energy transfer schedule for the transportation mission comprising one or more energy transfer operations for transferring energy between the primary and the secondary vehicles to reach a minimum SOC value to perform the vehicle uncoupled driving segment (“In some embodiments, the first vehicle 2 can have a charge that is determined to be, either by the first vehicle 2 itself or by another entity in the system, insufficient based on the destination and/or route planned for the first vehicle 2. In an instance in which it is determined that the first vehicle 2 has insufficient charge for the first vehicle 2 to reach the planned destination according to the planned route, the first vehicle 2 or another entity of the system can identify a second vehicle 3 that has comparatively more charge than the first vehicle 2 or which has more charge than the second vehicle 3 desires to reach its planned destination via its planned route. Once the first vehicle 2 or the other entity of the system identifies the second vehicle 3 as having an excess battery charge, the first vehicle 2 and the second vehicle 3 can establish an electrical connection therebetween in order to transfer charge from the second vehicle 3 to the first vehicle 2.” (Para 0095), “As such, in some embodiments, the computing device 100 can be configured to make decisions, using one or more algorithms and/or one or more artificial intelligence programs, related to an optimal route of each entity in the charging network and opportunities for charge transactions (based on entity route information, battery charge level status, nearby entities and their route information and battery charge level status, past and present traffic conditions and environmental conditions, and the like) between said entities. As discussed above in further detail, in some embodiments, the computing device 100 can generate a charge-distribution map and update the charge-distribution map in real-time or nearly real-time based on information provided by the entities in the charging network. In some embodiments, the charge-distribution map may also map congestion, if applicable, for entities along a desired route, such that the computing device 100 can balance the desire for charge transaction opportunities (which may require nearby charge-supplying entities) with route congestion and a desire for a minimized route duration (which is dependent upon choosing a path that has a sufficiently low level of congestion so as to not increase the route duration due beyond a particular threshold or more than an undesirable amount).” (Para 0109), “As illustrated in FIG. 10, entity c, will likely require an additional 110 units of charge to complete the desired trip, however a surplus of charge is expected for each of entity c1, entity c2, entity c3, and entity c4 at the end of the corresponding desired trip, as currently planned. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the computing device, with the assistance of specialized computer programs such as the route planning algorithm, the charge transaction scheduling algorithm, and/or the artificial intelligence program, suggests re-routing entity c1 to align the new route of entity c1 with the existing route of entity c and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c and entity c1 for during the period of time when the trip routes of entity c1 and entity c align. By re-routing c1 and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c1 and entity c, entity c is able to complete the desired trip, without compromising the ability of entity c1 to complete its desired trip, and without disturbing or re-routing the other entities in the locality. In addition, the computing device is configured to optimize the overall charge usage and travel time for all involved entities, meaning that c1 was not chosen at random as the entity to re-route, but rather that all possible or many of the possible re-routing options were considered in real-time or near real-time by the computing device and the optimal re-routing scenario in terms of overall charge use and travel time was chosen. In this particular example, the computing device was able to re-route only one entity (entity c1) and there was no resulting waste of time or electrical charge based on the re-routing of entity c1.” (Para 0119)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy transfer schedule, as taught by Bridges, to include being based on a vehicle uncouple and a coupled driving segment and to reach a minimum SOC value to perform the uncoupled segment, as taught by Chakraborty, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow a vehicle to complete its desired trip without compromising the ability of the other vehicle to complete its desired trip (Chakraborty Para 0119)).
In regards to claim 2, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein when the transportation mission data contains information for the secondary vehicle to perform a vehicle uncoupled driving segment after the vehicle coupled driving segment (“The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b” (Para 0093), and “After Swap-Out, the near-empty REDBPT 200a may navigate itself (under control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200a) to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility, which may be the same facility from which the fresh REDBPT 200b used in the Swap-Out originated. The REDBPT 200a would then be recharged or refueled as appropriate, run through a thorough automated safety check, and made ready for its next “assignment.” Minor repairs and maintenance services might also be performed at the Charging and Dispatch Facility. In some embodiments, a REDBPT 200 is managed by dispatching software that ensures the REDBPT 200 always has a sufficient remaining charge to get to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility.” (Bridges Para 0094));
the one or more energy transfer operations comprises transferring energy from the primary vehicle to the secondary vehicle if the determined SOC value of the secondary vehicle is below a threshold indicating the minimum SOC level and if the determined SOC value of the primary vehicle is above a threshold indicating a surplus SOC level for the primary vehicle (“After Swap-Out, the near-empty REDBPT 200a may navigate itself (under control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200a) to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility, which may be the same facility from which the fresh REDBPT 200b used in the Swap-Out originated. The REDBPT 200a would then be recharged or refueled as appropriate, run through a thorough automated safety check, and made ready for its next “assignment.” Minor repairs and maintenance services might also be performed at the Charging and Dispatch Facility. In some embodiments, a REDBPT 200 is managed by dispatching software that ensures the REDBPT 200 always has a sufficient remaining charge to get to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility.” (Bridges Para 0094), “data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are LNG-powered motors, and the energy source 120 is an LNG tank, the electrical link 132 may provide electricity for operating one or more lights and/or other electrical devices on the Trailer 100. In some embodiments of the Trailer 100, the one or more docking ports 124 may comprise only a communication link 128, or only an electrical link 132, or only a load-bearing coupling. Also in some embodiments, the docking port 124 may comprise a single link that provides the functionality of both the communication link 128 and the electrical link 132.” (Bridges Para 0072), “As illustrated in FIG. 10, entity c, will likely require an additional 110 units of charge to complete the desired trip, however a surplus of charge is expected for each of entity c1, entity c2, entity c3, and entity c4 at the end of the corresponding desired trip, as currently planned. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the computing device, with the assistance of specialized computer programs such as the route planning algorithm, the charge transaction scheduling algorithm, and/or the artificial intelligence program, suggests re-routing entity c1 to align the new route of entity c1 with the existing route of entity c and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c and entity c1 for during the period of time when the trip routes of entity c1 and entity c align. By re-routing c1 and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c1 and entity c, entity c is able to complete the desired trip, without compromising the ability of entity c1 to complete its desired trip, and without disturbing or re-routing the other entities in the locality. In addition, the computing device is configured to optimize the overall charge usage and travel time for all involved entities, meaning that c1 was not chosen at random as the entity to re-route, but rather that all possible or many of the possible re-routing options were considered in real-time or near real-time by the computing device and the optimal re-routing scenario in terms of overall charge use and travel time was chosen. In this particular example, the computing device was able to re-route only one entity (entity c1) and there was no resulting waste of time or electrical charge based on the re-routing of entity c1.” (Chakraborty Para 0119)).
The motivation of combining Bridges and Chakraborty is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 3, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 2, wherein the energy transfer schedule comprises determining a duration for the transfer of energy from the primary vehicle to the secondary vehicle during the vehicle coupled driving segment (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Bridges Para 0072), see also Bridges Para 0091 and Chakraborty Para 0089 and 0121).
The motivation of combining Bridges and Chakraborty is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 4, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein:
when the transportation mission data contains information for the primary vehicle to perform a vehicle uncoupled driving segment after the vehicle coupled driving segment (“As indicated above, the Trailer 100 is capable of independent (e.g. without connection to a REDBPT 200 or other tractor) locomotion and steering. However, in some embodiments, the energy source 120 of the Trailer 100 does not enable the Trailer 100 to operate independently of a REDBPT 200 for an extended period of time. As a result, the Trailer 100 is advantageously connected to one or two REDBPTs for long-haul operations. The ability of the Trailer 100 to operate independently of a REDBPT, though, facilitates the REDBPT exchange process, as described in greater detail below.” (Bridges Para 0077);
the one or more energy transfer operations comprises transferring energy from the secondary vehicle to the primary vehicle if the determined SOC value of the primary vehicle is below a threshold indicating the minimum SOC level and if the determined SOC value of the secondary vehicle is above a threshold indicating a surplus SOC level for the secondary vehicle (“After Swap-Out, the near-empty REDBPT 200a may navigate itself (under control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200a) to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility, which may be the same facility from which the fresh REDBPT 200b used in the Swap-Out originated. The REDBPT 200a would then be recharged or refueled as appropriate, run through a thorough automated safety check, and made ready for its next “assignment.” Minor repairs and maintenance services might also be performed at the Charging and Dispatch Facility. In some embodiments, a REDBPT 200 is managed by dispatching software that ensures the REDBPT 200 always has a sufficient remaining charge to get to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility.” (Bridges Para 0094), “data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are LNG-powered motors, and the energy source 120 is an LNG tank, the electrical link 132 may provide electricity for operating one or more lights and/or other electrical devices on the Trailer 100. In some embodiments of the Trailer 100, the one or more docking ports 124 may comprise only a communication link 128, or only an electrical link 132, or only a load-bearing coupling. Also in some embodiments, the docking port 124 may comprise a single link that provides the functionality of both the communication link 128 and the electrical link 132.” (Bridges Para 0072), “As illustrated in FIG. 10, entity c, will likely require an additional 110 units of charge to complete the desired trip, however a surplus of charge is expected for each of entity c1, entity c2, entity c3, and entity c4 at the end of the corresponding desired trip, as currently planned. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the computing device, with the assistance of specialized computer programs such as the route planning algorithm, the charge transaction scheduling algorithm, and/or the artificial intelligence program, suggests re-routing entity c1 to align the new route of entity c1 with the existing route of entity c and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c and entity c1 for during the period of time when the trip routes of entity c1 and entity c align. By re-routing c1 and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c1 and entity c, entity c is able to complete the desired trip, without compromising the ability of entity c1 to complete its desired trip, and without disturbing or re-routing the other entities in the locality. In addition, the computing device is configured to optimize the overall charge usage and travel time for all involved entities, meaning that c1 was not chosen at random as the entity to re-route, but rather that all possible or many of the possible re-routing options were considered in real-time or near real-time by the computing device and the optimal re-routing scenario in terms of overall charge use and travel time was chosen. In this particular example, the computing device was able to re-route only one entity (entity c1) and there was no resulting waste of time or electrical charge based on the re-routing of entity c1.” (Chakraborty Para 0119)).
The motivation of combining Bridges and Chakraborty is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 5, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 4, wherein the energy transfer schedule comprises determining a duration for the transfer of energy from the secondary vehicle to the primary vehicle during the vehicle coupled driving segment (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Bridges Para 0072), see also Bridges Para 0091 and Chakraborty Para 0089 and 0121).
The motivation of combining Bridges and Chakraborty is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 6, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein when the transportation mission data contains information for any one of the primary and the secondary vehicles to perform a vehicle uncoupled driving segment prior to the vehicle coupled driving segment (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Bridges Para 0072), “In addition to storing instructions for execution by the processor, the memory of the autonomous driving system 204 may also store one or more navigation databases, which the processor of the autonomous driving system 204 may access to select one or more routes for reaching a particular destination. The destination may be, for example, a REDBPT Charging and Dispatch Facility, or a delivery point for the contents of the Trailer 100. Information about the delivery point for the contents of the Trailer 100 may be provided to the autonomous driving system 204 by the processing unit 140 of the Trailer 100 via the docking ports 124/224, or wirelessly via wireless communication transceivers, or from an owner or operator of the REDBPT 200 and/or of the Trailer 100 via a wireless connection with the Internet).” (Bridges Para 0080), and “A “Rig,” as that term is used herein, comprises at least one Trailer 100 and at least one REDBPT 200. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, a Trailer 100 may self-navigate on short trips (e.g., with no REDBPT 200 coupled thereto), but for other trips one or two REDBPTs 200 couple to the Trailer 100 to form a Rig that travels along roads, highways, streets, or other suitable pathways.” (Bridges Para 0089));
the method further comprises determining if the corresponding determined vehicle SOC values are sufficient for the vehicle uncoupled driving segments on the basis of the corresponding determined energy consumptions for the vehicle uncoupled driving segments (“As indicated above, the Trailer 100 is capable of independent (e.g. without connection to a REDBPT 200 or other tractor) locomotion and steering. However, in some embodiments, the energy source 120 of the Trailer 100 does not enable the Trailer 100 to operate independently of a REDBPT 200 for an extended period of time. As a result, the Trailer 100 is advantageously connected to one or two REDBPTs for long-haul operations. The ability of the Trailer 100 to operate independently of a REDBPT, though, facilitates the REDBPT exchange process, as described in greater detail below.” (Bridges Para 0077), “After Swap-Out, the near-empty REDBPT 200a may navigate itself (under control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200a) to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility, which may be the same facility from which the fresh REDBPT 200b used in the Swap-Out originated. The REDBPT 200a would then be recharged or refueled as appropriate, run through a thorough automated safety check, and made ready for its next “assignment.” Minor repairs and maintenance services might also be performed at the Charging and Dispatch Facility. In some embodiments, a REDBPT 200 is managed by dispatching software that ensures the REDBPT 200 always has a sufficient remaining charge to get to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility.” (Bridges Para 0094), “when there is a wide range in the predicted travel time (whether due to traffic, weather, road conditions (including, for example, road construction), or other factors) and a single REDBPT 200 will not have enough stored energy to complete the course if the travel time is at the higher end of the predicted range. In some embodiments, the configuration of the Rig 300 may occur only briefly, such as after a fresh REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with replenished energy source 220) attaches to the Trailer 100 and before a depleted REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with a depleted energy source 220) detaches from the Trailer 100.” (Bridges Para 0091) “As illustrated in FIG. 10, entity c, will likely require an additional 110 units of charge to complete the desired trip, however a surplus of charge is expected for each of entity c1, entity c2, entity c3, and entity c4 at the end of the corresponding desired trip, as currently planned. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the computing device, with the assistance of specialized computer programs such as the route planning algorithm, the charge transaction scheduling algorithm, and/or the artificial intelligence program, suggests re-routing entity c1 to align the new route of entity c1 with the existing route of entity c and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c and entity c1 for during the period of time when the trip routes of entity c1 and entity c align. By re-routing c1 and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c1 and entity c, entity c is able to complete the desired trip, without compromising the ability of entity c1 to complete its desired trip, and without disturbing or re-routing the other entities in the locality. In addition, the computing device is configured to optimize the overall charge usage and travel time for all involved entities, meaning that c1 was not chosen at random as the entity to re-route, but rather that all possible or many of the possible re-routing options were considered in real-time or near real-time by the computing device and the optimal re-routing scenario in terms of overall charge use and travel time was chosen. In this particular example, the computing device was able to re-route only one entity (entity c1) and there was no resulting waste of time or electrical charge based on the re-routing of entity c1.” (Chakraborty Para 0119), see also Bridges Para 0096).
The motivation of combining Bridges and Chakraborty is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 7, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein the energy consumption of an individual vehicle of any one of the primary and the secondary vehicles in any one of the vehicle uncoupled driving segments is calculated on the basis of the individual weight of the individual vehicle including any payload on the individual vehicle (“FIG. 3 shows a Rig 300 in which a single Trailer 100 is connected to two REDBPTs 200, one configured to pull the Trailer 100 and the other configured to push the Trailer 100. The use of two REDBPTs 200 with a single Trailer 100 may be desirable, for example, when the weight of the Trailer 100 is particularly high, and/or when the course to be traveled is longer than can be made by a single REDBPT 200 (based on the amount of energy storable in the energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200) and will not permit an exchange of REDBPTs 200 at a suitable point along the course (e.g., at the point where the energy source 220 of a single REDBPT 200 would be depleted), and/or when there is a wide range in the predicted travel time (whether due to traffic, weather, road conditions (including, for example, road construction), or other factors) and a single REDBPT 200 will not have enough stored energy to complete the course if the travel time is at the higher end of the predicted range.” (Bridges Para 0091), see also Bridges Para 0077 and 0094).
In regards to claim 9, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein the energy transfer schedule comprises initiating energy transfer between the primary vehicle and the secondary vehicle prior to commencing the transportation mission or during the transportation mission (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Bridges Para 0072), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b. In some embodiments, the replenished REDBPT 200b may approach the Trailer 100 from behind (FIG. 6A), under the control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200b or, in some embodiments, under the control of the REDBPT 200a. The REDBPT 200b then docks with the Trailer 100 while the exhausted REDBPT 200a is still docked to the front end of the Trailer 100 (FIG. 6B).” (Bridges Para 0093)).
In regards to claim 10, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving driving data or driver data from any one of the primary and the secondary vehicles during the vehicle coupled driving segment and any one of the vehicle uncoupled driving segments, and adjusting the one or more energy transfer operations of the energy transfer schedule on the basis of the received driving data or driver data (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Bridges Para 0072), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b. In some embodiments, the replenished REDBPT 200b may approach the Trailer 100 from behind (FIG. 6A), under the control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200b or, in some embodiments, under the control of the REDBPT 200a. The REDBPT 200b then docks with the Trailer 100 while the exhausted REDBPT 200a is still docked to the front end of the Trailer 100 (FIG. 6B).” (Bridges Para 0093)).
In regards to claim 11, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein determining an energy consumption for each one of the primary and the secondary vehicles for the vehicle uncoupled driving segments further comprises using vehicle and driving characteristics for a previous transportation along any one of the corresponding vehicle uncoupled driving segments (“Further, the autonomous driving system 204 may be configured to select, for example, the most energy efficient route (which may be the route with the least change in elevation, or the route with the shortest distance, or the route that has the fewest stop signs/stoplights), the shortest route, the fastest route, the cheapest route (considering, for example, energy usage and tolls), or the route that passes the most REDBPT Charging and Dispatch Facilities.” (Bridges Para 0081), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b” (Bridges Para 0093), and “when there is a wide range in the predicted travel time (whether due to traffic, weather, road conditions (including, for example, road construction), or other factors) and a single REDBPT 200 will not have enough stored energy to complete the course if the travel time is at the higher end of the predicted range. In some embodiments, the configuration of the Rig 300 may occur only briefly, such as after a fresh REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with replenished energy source 220) attaches to the Trailer 100 and before a depleted REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with a depleted energy source 220) detaches from the Trailer 100.” (Bridges Para 0091)).
In regards to claim 12, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein determining an energy consumption for each one of the primary and the secondary vehicles for the vehicle coupled driving segment further comprises using vehicle and driving characteristics for a previous transportation along the corresponding vehicle coupled driving segments (“Further, the autonomous driving system 204 may be configured to select, for example, the most energy efficient route (which may be the route with the least change in elevation, or the route with the shortest distance, or the route that has the fewest stop signs/stoplights), the shortest route, the fastest route, the cheapest route (considering, for example, energy usage and tolls), or the route that passes the most REDBPT Charging and Dispatch Facilities.” (Bridges Para 0081), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b” (Bridges Para 0093), and “when there is a wide range in the predicted travel time (whether due to traffic, weather, road conditions (including, for example, road construction), or other factors) and a single REDBPT 200 will not have enough stored energy to complete the course if the travel time is at the higher end of the predicted range. In some embodiments, the configuration of the Rig 300 may occur only briefly, such as after a fresh REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with replenished energy source 220) attaches to the Trailer 100 and before a depleted REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with a depleted energy source 220) detaches from the Trailer 100.” (Bridges Para 0091)).
In regards to claim 13, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein providing an energy transfer schedule for the transportation mission comprises adjusting the one or more energy transfer operations on the basis of at least one of the following additional data: data indicating type of vehicle of the vehicle combination, data indicating type of braking system of the vehicle combination, characteristics of the electric machine in any one of the vehicles, type of auxiliary vehicle power system in any one of the vehicles (“The communication link 128 enables the Trailer 100 to send data to and receive data from a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100. Such data may include, for example, commands for controlling the powered, steerable wheels 108; commands for operating brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116; data received from sensors 136 on the Trailer 100 or on a connected REDBPT 200 or Trailer 100; GPS data or other data regarding a location of the Trailer 100 and a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100; data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery.” (Bridges Para 0072), “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b. In some embodiments, the replenished REDBPT 200b may approach the Trailer 100 from behind (FIG. 6A), under the control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200b or, in some embodiments, under the control of the REDBPT 200a. The REDBPT 200b then docks with the Trailer 100 while the exhausted REDBPT 200a is still docked to the front end of the Trailer 100 (FIG. 6B).” (Bridges Para 0093)).
In regards to claim 14, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein providing an energy transfer schedule for the transportation mission comprises adjusting the one or more energy transfer operations on the basis of data relating to environmental conditions “The process of accomplishing such an exchange (a “Swap-Out”) is illustrated in FIGS. 6A-6C. When the battery or other energy source 220 of the REDBPT 200a of a Rig 600 approaches empty, or when the Rig 600 approaches a predetermined Swap-Out location (e.g., a predetermined section of road), the Rig 600 may be met (while underway on the road) by a replenished replacement REDBPT 200b” (Bridges Para 0093), and “when there is a wide range in the predicted travel time (whether due to traffic, weather, road conditions (including, for example, road construction), or other factors) and a single REDBPT 200 will not have enough stored energy to complete the course if the travel time is at the higher end of the predicted range. In some embodiments, the configuration of the Rig 300 may occur only briefly, such as after a fresh REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with replenished energy source 220) attaches to the Trailer 100 and before a depleted REDBPT 200 (e.g., a REDBPT 200 with a depleted energy source 220) detaches from the Trailer 100.” (Bridges Para 0091), see also Bridges Para 0072).
In regards to claim 15, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein the transportation mission data comprises route information describing a route from a starting point to a destination (“For example, in some embodiments the processor 140 may generate driving commands and then transmit the driving commands to the one or more motors 112 and/or to the powered, steerable wheels 108, so as to cause the Trailer 100 to travel in a desired path (e.g., along a route selected by the processing unit 140 to a destination). In other embodiments, the processor 140 may determine, based on data received from the sensors 136, that a collision with another vehicle or other object is imminent, and may therefore generate and send one or more signals to activate brakes on the wheels 108 and/or the wheels 116.” (Bridges Para 0075), “In addition to storing instructions for execution by the processor, the memory of the autonomous driving system 204 may also store one or more navigation databases, which the processor of the autonomous driving system 204 may access to select one or more routes for reaching a particular destination. The destination may be, for example, a REDBPT Charging and Dispatch Facility, or a delivery point for the contents of the Trailer 100.” (Bridges Para 0080), see also Bridges Para 0099).
In regards to claim 17, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of a control system comprising a processing circuitry configured to perform the method of claim 1 (“A rig according to one embodiment of the present disclosure comprises at least one tractor and at least one trailer. The at least one tractor comprises a first autonomous driving system comprising a first processor and a first plurality of sensors, the first autonomous driving system configured to steer the at least one tractor autonomously; a first energy source; at least one tractor motor powered by the first energy source; and a first docking port comprising a first communication link. The at least one trailer comprises a second autonomous driving system comprising a second processor and a second plurality of sensors, the second autonomous driving system configured to steer the at least one trailer autonomously; a freight container; a second energy source; at least one trailer motor; a plurality of powered, steerable wheels; and a second docking port detachably secured to the first docking port, the second docking port comprising a second communication link detachably secured to the first communication link.” (Bridges Para 0012), see also Bridges Para 0096).
In regards to claim 19, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program, which when executed by a computer, performs the method of claim 1 (“A rig according to one embodiment of the present disclosure comprises at least one tractor and at least one trailer. The at least one tractor comprises a first autonomous driving system comprising a first processor and a first plurality of sensors, the first autonomous driving system configured to steer the at least one tractor autonomously; a first energy source; at least one tractor motor powered by the first energy source; and a first docking port comprising a first communication link. The at least one trailer comprises a second autonomous driving system comprising a second processor and a second plurality of sensors, the second autonomous driving system configured to steer the at least one trailer autonomously; a freight container; a second energy source; at least one trailer motor; a plurality of powered, steerable wheels; and a second docking port detachably secured to the first docking port, the second docking port comprising a second communication link detachably secured to the first communication link.” (Bridges Para 0012), “Accordingly, the disclosure is considered to include a tangible storage medium or distribution medium and prior art-recognized equivalents and successor media, in which the software implementations of the present disclosure are stored.” (Bridges Para 0017), see also Bridges Para 0096).
In regards to claim 20, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of a vehicle combination formed by a primary vehicle and a secondary vehicle, comprising the control system of claim 17 (“A reversible, driverless, fully electric or plug-in hybrid tractor-trailer includes a trailer equipped with autonomous reversible self-propulsion and steering equipment and configured to dock with one or two tractors in a pulling and/or pushing configuration. The tractor(s) are equipped for autonomous navigation. Replacement tractors can autonomously navigate from a charging and/or refueling facility to the tractor-trailer and can further autonomously execute a swap-out procedure by which spent tractor(s) are replaced by the freshly charged tractor(s). The replaced tractor(s) then autonomously navigate back to the charging and/or refueling facility, while the tractor-trailer continues, nonstop, toward its destination. Where allowed by law, combination multi-trailer road-train vehicles can be formed by connecting trailers to trailers and also possibly inserting a tractor between trailers that are attached to both ends of the inserted tractor.” (Bridges Abstract).
In regards to claim 21, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the vehicle combination of claim 20, wherein the primary vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, such as an autonomous towing vehicle, autonomous tractor of a truck or an autonomous dolly vehicle (“The REDBPT 200 also comprises a plurality of sensors 136, which are described above in connection with the Trailer 100. The sensors 136 provide information to the autonomous driving system 204 necessary to enable the autonomous driving system 204 to safely (e.g., without damage, injury, or other harm to the REDBPT 200 or to persons, property, or objects external to the REDBPT 200) navigate a course.” (Bridges Para 0088)).
In regards to claim 22, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the vehicle combination of claim 20, wherein the secondary vehicle is any one of an autonomous dolly vehicle and a trailer (“The Swap-Out process of FIGS. 7A-7C is possible because the Trailer 100 comprises powered, steerable wheels 108, one or more motors 112, an energy source 120, and a processing unit 140—or, in short, because the Trailer 100 is capable of independent autonomous navigation (whether temporary or not). During the period when no REDBPT 200 is docked with the Trailer 100—which period may occur when the Trailer 100 is in motion—the Trailer 100 autonomously maintains its speed and course.” (Bridges Para 0096)).
In regards to claim 23, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of a vehicle for forming a vehicle combination with another vehicle, the vehicle comprising the control system of claim 17, when coupled to the another vehicle (“A reversible, driverless, fully electric or plug-in hybrid tractor-trailer includes a trailer equipped with autonomous reversible self-propulsion and steering equipment and configured to dock with one or two tractors in a pulling and/or pushing configuration. The tractor(s) are equipped for autonomous navigation. Replacement tractors can autonomously navigate from a charging and/or refueling facility to the tractor-trailer and can further autonomously execute a swap-out procedure by which spent tractor(s) are replaced by the freshly charged tractor(s). The replaced tractor(s) then autonomously navigate back to the charging and/or refueling facility, while the tractor-trailer continues, nonstop, toward its destination. Where allowed by law, combination multi-trailer road-train vehicles can be formed by connecting trailers to trailers and also possibly inserting a tractor between trailers that are attached to both ends of the inserted tractor.” (Bridges Abstract).
In regards to claim 24, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein the energy transfer schedule for the transportation mission comprises the one or more energy transfer operations for transferring energy between the primary and the secondary vehicles for each of the primary and the secondary vehicles to reach the minimum SOC value to perform the vehicle uncoupled driving segment (“After Swap-Out, the near-empty REDBPT 200a may navigate itself (under control of the autonomous driving system 204 of the REDBPT 200a) to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility, which may be the same facility from which the fresh REDBPT 200b used in the Swap-Out originated. The REDBPT 200a would then be recharged or refueled as appropriate, run through a thorough automated safety check, and made ready for its next “assignment.” Minor repairs and maintenance services might also be performed at the Charging and Dispatch Facility. In some embodiments, a REDBPT 200 is managed by dispatching software that ensures the REDBPT 200 always has a sufficient remaining charge to get to a nearby Charging and Dispatch Facility.” (Bridges Para 0094), “data regarding the amount of fuel or electricity remaining in the energy source 120 or in an energy source of a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor; and data regarding an upcoming REDBPT 200 exchange. The electrical link 132 enables the Trailer 100 to provide electricity to, or receive electricity from, a connected REDBPT 200 or other tractor, or Trailer 100. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are electric motors and the energy source 120 is a battery, the electrical link 132 may be utilized to recharge the battery. In embodiments where the one or more motors 112 are LNG-powered motors, and the energy source 120 is an LNG tank, the electrical link 132 may provide electricity for operating one or more lights and/or other electrical devices on the Trailer 100. In some embodiments of the Trailer 100, the one or more docking ports 124 may comprise only a communication link 128, or only an electrical link 132, or only a load-bearing coupling. Also in some embodiments, the docking port 124 may comprise a single link that provides the functionality of both the communication link 128 and the electrical link 132.” (Bridges Para 0072), “In some embodiments, the first vehicle 2 can have a charge that is determined to be, either by the first vehicle 2 itself or by another entity in the system, insufficient based on the destination and/or route planned for the first vehicle 2. In an instance in which it is determined that the first vehicle 2 has insufficient charge for the first vehicle 2 to reach the planned destination according to the planned route, the first vehicle 2 or another entity of the system can identify a second vehicle 3 that has comparatively more charge than the first vehicle 2 or which has more charge than the second vehicle 3 desires to reach its planned destination via its planned route. Once the first vehicle 2 or the other entity of the system identifies the second vehicle 3 as having an excess battery charge, the first vehicle 2 and the second vehicle 3 can establish an electrical connection therebetween in order to transfer charge from the second vehicle 3 to the first vehicle 2.” (Chakraborty Para 0095), “As illustrated in FIG. 10, entity c, will likely require an additional 110 units of charge to complete the desired trip, however a surplus of charge is expected for each of entity c1, entity c2, entity c3, and entity c4 at the end of the corresponding desired trip, as currently planned. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the computing device, with the assistance of specialized computer programs such as the route planning algorithm, the charge transaction scheduling algorithm, and/or the artificial intelligence program, suggests re-routing entity c1 to align the new route of entity c1 with the existing route of entity c and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c and entity c1 for during the period of time when the trip routes of entity c1 and entity c align. By re-routing c1 and scheduling a charge transaction between entity c1 and entity c, entity c is able to complete the desired trip, without compromising the ability of entity c1 to complete its desired trip, and without disturbing or re-routing the other entities in the locality. In addition, the computing device is configured to optimize the overall charge usage and travel time for all involved entities, meaning that c1 was not chosen at random as the entity to re-route, but rather that all possible or many of the possible re-routing options were considered in real-time or near real-time by the computing device and the optimal re-routing scenario in terms of overall charge use and travel time was chosen. In this particular example, the computing device was able to re-route only one entity (entity c1) and there was no resulting waste of time or electrical charge based on the re-routing of entity c1.” (Chakraborty Para 0119)).
The motivation of combining Bridges and Chakraborty is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bridges in view of Chakraborty, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Healy (US 20220305938; hereinafter Healy; already of record).
In regards to claim 8, Bridges in view of Chakraborty teaches of the method of claim 1.
However, Bridges in view of Chakraborty does not specifically teach of wherein the energy consumption for the primary vehicle in the vehicle coupled driving segment is calculated based on the total weight of the primary vehicle and the total weight of the secondary vehicle including any payload on the primary and the secondary vehicles.
Healy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the energy consumption for the primary vehicle in the vehicle coupled driving segment is calculated based on the total weight of the primary vehicle and the total weight of the secondary vehicle including any payload on the primary and the secondary vehicles (“Battery pallet racking system 600 may include truck tracking system 612 for tracking information about trucks 102 in relation to warehouse 400. Truck tracking system 612 may communicate with a plurality of trucks 102 to get information about each truck 102 and/or each battery pallet 110 carried by the truck 102. Communication may be over a cellular network, a satellite network or some other network that allows for real-time or near real-time communications. The information may include information about truck 102, such as a location, speed, truck weight and battery charge of any battery pallets 109 installed on truck 102.” (Para 0060), “Battery pallet racking system 600 may include trailer tracking system 614 for tracking information about trailers 104 in relation to warehouse 400. Trailer tracking system 614 may communicate with a plurality of trailers 104 to get information about each trailer 104. Communication may be over a cellular network, a satellite network or some other network that allows for real-time or near real-time communications. The information may include trailer weight, trailer information such as if refrigeration is needed to cool any cargo, and trailer information indicating a location of one or more battery pallets 110 installed in trailer 104.” (Para 0061), “At step 712, battery pallet racking system 600 may determine, based on information about the plurality of cargo pallets 105, the information about the plurality of battery pallets 110 and the truck information and select at least one battery pallet 110 for installing in truck 102 or trailer 104. In some embodiments, one or more specific battery pallets 110 may be selected based on the one or more specific battery pallets 110 state of charge (SoC) to provide the truck enough electrical power during travel over a predetermined route. In some embodiments, one or more specific battery pallets 110 may be selected based on the one or more battery pallets 110 state of charge (SoC) and determining that a generator operating on truck 102 will be unable to supply enough electric power along the predetermined route to charge the battery pallet 110 to a target SoC.” (Para 0072), “Steps 708-720 may be repeated as needed to ensure all truck-trailer combinations 110 are able to load cargo pallets 105 and battery pallets 110 in trailers 104 such that all trucks 102 have power to reach the next destination and battery pallets 110 are charged using a system that reduces stress on each battery pallet 110.” (Para 0077), see also Para 0062 and 0070).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy consumption of the primary vehicle, as taught by Bridges in view of Chakraborty, to include being based on the weight of the primary vehicle and the secondary vehicle, as taught by Healy, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure the truck-trailer combination has enough power to reach the next destination (Healy Para 0077).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salter et al. (US 20220258642) discloses of determining an amount of remaining SOC after towing that the trailing and towing vehicles will have.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663