DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-21 are pending and claim 21 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 5, 7 – 12 and 15 - 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanfouci et al. US 20210266764 A1, hereinafter Khanfouci in view of Wang et al. US 20200112502 A1, hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Khanfouci teaches a transmission system comprising:
(Khanfouci: Summary, Abstract, Fig. 1-6 and para. [0016 & 0031-0032 & 0059] wireless communication system 10)
a plurality of transmission apparatuses configured to constitute a communication network hierarchized into a plurality of layers and transfer a received signal to a layer next above;
(Khanfouci: Fig. 2 shows a network hierarchized with layers, and para. [0059] one or more LTE mobile terminals (MT) (14). The network may comprise a Core Network 11 (also referred to herein as a “backhaul” network) connected to an Access Network (also referred to herein as a “fronthaul” network). The fronthaul network comprises central units (CUs) 12 a-12 d, and distributed units (DUs) 13 a-13 g. para. [0060] CU and a DU may be interconnected via a fronthaul interface according to the CPRI and/or the OBSAI specifications, which may be implemented, and may be configured to communicate)
a transfer apparatus (switch/association matrix 16) configured to transfer a signal transmitted from a first transmission apparatus (DUs) serving as a transmission apparatus of a predetermined layer among the plurality of layers to a second transmission apparatus (CUs) serving as a connection destination (target CU) of the first transmission apparatus among the plurality of second transmission apparatuses serving as transmission apparatuses of a layer next above the predetermined layer; and
(Khanfouci: para. [0070] FIG. 2 switch/association matrix 16 set of connections among the central units (CUs) 12 a-12 d and the distributed units (DUs) 13 a-13 g of the fronthaul network, which can be dynamically configured through activation/deactivation of a set of logical fronthaul connections that respectively correspond to a set of communication links among the CUs 12 a-12 d and the DUs 13 a-13 g… a path in the switch/association matrix 16 may be implemented for the downlink (respectively uplink) direction by means of tunneling data packets from a source CU 12 a, 12 c to a target DU 13 c, 13 e (respectively from a source DU to a target CU) using any suitable tunneling protocol for Ethernet packetization of CPRI signals)
a switching control apparatus (switch controller 17) configured to switch the second transmission apparatus serving as the connection destination of the first transmission apparatus,
(Khanfouci: Fig. 2 and para. [007] controller 17 configured for controlling the configuration of the switch/association matrix 16. switch/association matrix 16 may comprise a routing matrix unit configured for defining paths from each CU to each DU in the fronthaul network. Para. [0116-0117] switch controller 17 may be configured to dynamically configure/reconfigure the switch/association matrix 16 in order to provide connectivity and improve the throughput offered to the active DUs, based on the position of the mobile terminal 14)
wherein the switching control apparatus (switch controller 17) comprises
a traffic amount calculator configured to calculate a traffic amount (load) of a signal received via a transmission apparatus (measurements performed by the mobile terminal) of a layer lower than the predetermined layer by the first transmission apparatus, (Khanfouci: para. [0111 & 0117 & 0119 & 0125] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. the CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
to a terminal wirelessly transmitting a signal to a lowermost transmission apparatus;
(Khanfouci: para. [0070-0071] a target DU j and configured for routing user plane packets for the mobile terminal MT 14 from the source CU 12 a, 12 c to the target DU 13 c, 13 e.)
a processor; and a memory connected to the processor, the processor being configured to
(Khanfouci: Fig. 9 and para. [0142-0145] control engine 102 may also comprise, or may be in communication with, computer storage media, such as, without limitation, the memory 105, capable of storing computer program instructions or software code that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the elements)
calculate, for each second transmission apparatus, a processing capability predicted to be required in the second transmission apparatus on the basis of the traffic amount in the first transmission apparatus with the second transmission apparatus as a connection destination;
(Khanfouci: para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
determine whether congestion occurs in the second transmission apparatus (Khanfouci: para. [0108-0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to provide connections between the CUs and the DUs that maximize the sum throughput offered to the active DU set. This optimization may take into account the throughput limit on the different fronthaul associations, which may occur for example when congestion is detected in the fronthaul) on the basis of the predicted processing capability; (Khanfouci: para. [0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to increase and/or adapt the fronthaul redundancy in order to protect the associations between the CUs and DUs from congestions that are detected or may occur during the mobility of the mobile terminal 14. para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
determine that connection destinations of at least some of the first transmission apparatuses with the second transmission apparatus as a connection destination
(Khanfouci: para. [0111 & 0108-0110] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. In some embodiments, the measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. In some embodiments, the CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
in which congestion is determined to occur
(Khanfouci: para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. Para. [0109] the switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to increase and/or adapt the fronthaul redundancy in order to protect the associations between the CUs and DUs from congestions that are detected or may occur during the mobility of the mobile terminal 14)
are switched to the second transmission apparatus in which congestion is determined not to occur; and
(Khanfouci: para. [0108] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to provide connections between the CUs and the DUs that maximize the sum throughput offered to the active DU set. This optimization may take into account the throughput limit on the different fronthaul associations, which may occur for example when congestion is detected in the fronthaul. Para. [0088 & 0087 & 0070 & 0020 & 0106 & 0141] configuration of the communication links between each of the active distributed units and their respective one or more central units may also entail, in some embodiments, the deactivating of some communication link as part of the reconfiguring of the fronthaul network.)
instruct the transfer apparatus (Khanfouci: para. [0070] controller 17 configured for controlling the configuration of the switch/association matrix 16) to transfer a signal transmitted from a switching target transmission apparatus serving as the first transmission apparatus whose connection destination is determined to be switched, to the second transmission apparatus serving as a connection destination after switching of the switching target transmission apparatus, (Khanfouci: para. [0070] FIG. 2 switch/association matrix 16 set of connections among the central units (CUs) 12 a-12 d and the distributed units (DUs) 13 a-13 g of the fronthaul network, which can be dynamically configured through activation/deactivation of a set of logical fronthaul connections that respectively correspond to a set of communication links among the CUs 12 a-12 d and the DUs 13 a-13 g… a path in the switch/association matrix 16 may be implemented for the downlink (respectively uplink) direction by means of tunneling data packets from a source CU 12 a, 12 c to a target DU 13 c, 13 e (respectively from a source DU to a target CU) using any suitable tunneling protocol for Ethernet packetization of CPRI signals)
on the basis of the determination that the connection destinations are switched to the second transmission apparatus.
(Khanfouci: para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. the CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration. [0088 & 0087 & 0070 & 0020 & 0106 & 0141] configuration of the communication links between each of the active distributed units and their respective one or more central units may also entail, in some embodiments, the deactivating of some communication link as part of the reconfiguring of the fronthaul network)
It is noted that Khanfouci does not explicitly disclose: calculate a traffic amount of a signal received via a transmission apparatus of a layer lower than the predetermined layer in a predetermined period by the first transmission apparatus, on the basis of allocation of radio resources to a terminal wirelessly transmitting a signal to a lowermost transmission apparatus.
However, Wang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: calculate a traffic amount of a signal received via a transmission apparatus of a layer lower than the predetermined layer in a predetermined period by the first transmission apparatus,
(Wang: para. [0022] IMF engine 202 can receive respective traffic data 230 from the computing devices 204. Para. [0023] first traffic data 230 a can include an average transition rate of the computing devices 204 traveling from the first sub-region of the neighboring sub-regions 122 to the second sub-region of the neighboring sub-regions 122 over a period time) on the basis of allocation of radio resources (allocation of resources) to a terminal wirelessly transmitting a signal to a lowermost transmission apparatus;
(Wang: para. [0051-0053] IMF engine 202 identifies the graph partition 450 a-2 as having the smallest net traffic flow (110). Specifically, by identifying the graph partition 450 a-2 as the smallest net traffic flow, the allocation of resources—the central units 104 and the distributed units 102—is able to handle a peak load of computing devices 204 communicating with the RAN 100, including providing computational resources to the computing devices 204. Para. [0019] RAN 100 can include a telecommunication network (e.g., 3G, 4G, LTE, 5G) that provides telecommunication services to computing devices located within the service region 120, such as mobile computing devices and/or connected automobiles (autonomous or semi-autonomous) that include processing and telecommunication resources)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wang in the system of Khanfouci. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for by assigning the central units 104 to the respective sub-regions 122 that corresponds to the sub-graphs of the graph partition 450 a-2, the RAN 100 is able to allocate the resources of the central units 104 more efficiently to handle peak loads of computational resources that are to be provided to the computing devices 204 by the RAN 100 (Wang: para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Khanfouci teaches a switching control apparatus comprising:
(Khanfouci: Summary, Abstract, Fig. 1-6 and para. [0110 & 0138] switch controller 17. Para. [0139] network node 101 includes a control engine 102, a network management engine 103, a data communication engine 104, and memory 105. Para. [0145] memory 105, capable of storing computer program instructions or software code that, when executed by the processor)
a processor; and a memory connected to the processor, the processor being configured to
(Khanfouci: Fig. 9 and para. [0142-0145] control engine 102 may also comprise, or may be in communication with, computer storage media, such as, without limitation, the memory 105, capable of storing computer program instructions or software code that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the elements)
calculate a traffic amount (load) of a signal received via a transmission apparatus (measurements performed by the mobile terminal) of a layer lower than a predetermined layer
(Khanfouci: para. [0111 & 0117 & 0119 & 0125] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. the CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
among a plurality of layers configured to constitute a communication network hierarchized into a plurality of layers and transfer a received signal to a layer next above,
(Khanfouci: Fig. 2 shows a network hierarchized with layers, and para. [0059] one or more LTE mobile terminals (MT) (14). The network may comprise a Core Network 11 (also referred to herein as a “backhaul” network) connected to an Access Network (also referred to herein as a “fronthaul” network). The fronthaul network comprises central units (CUs) 12 a-12 d, and distributed units (DUs) 13 a-13 g. para. [0060] CU and a DU may be interconnected via a fronthaul interface according to the CPRI and/or the OBSAI specifications, which may be implemented, and may be configured to communicate)
by a first transmission apparatus serving as a transmission apparatus of the predetermined layer, to a terminal wirelessly transmitting a signal to a lowermost transmission apparatus among the plurality of transmission apparatuses; (Khanfouci: para. [0070-0071] a target DU j and configured for routing user plane packets for the mobile terminal MT 14 from the source CU 12 a, 12 c to the target DU 13 c, 13 e.)
calculate, for each second transmission apparatus serving as a transmission apparatus of a layer next above the first transmission apparatus, a processing capability predicted to be required in the second transmission apparatus on the basis of the traffic amount in the first transmission apparatus with the second transmission apparatus as a connection destination;
(Khanfouci: para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
determine whether or not congestion occurs in the second transmission apparatus (Khanfouci: para. [0108-0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to provide connections between the CUs and the DUs that maximize the sum throughput offered to the active DU set. This optimization may take into account the throughput limit on the different fronthaul associations, which may occur for example when congestion is detected in the fronthaul) on the basis of the predicted processing capability; (Khanfouci: para. [0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to increase and/or adapt the fronthaul redundancy in order to protect the associations between the CUs and DUs from congestions that are detected or may occur during the mobility of the mobile terminal 14. para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
determine that connection destinations of at least some of the first transmission apparatuses with the second transmission apparatus
(Khanfouci: para. [0111 & 0108-0110] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. In some embodiments, the measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. In some embodiments, the CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
in which congestion is determined to occur
(Khanfouci: para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. Para. [0109] the switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to increase and/or adapt the fronthaul redundancy in order to protect the associations between the CUs and DUs from congestions that are detected or may occur during the mobility of the mobile terminal 14)
are switched to the second transmission apparatus in which congestion is determined not to occur;
(Khanfouci: para. [0108] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to provide connections between the CUs and the DUs that maximize the sum throughput offered to the active DU set. This optimization may take into account the throughput limit on the different fronthaul associations, which may occur for example when congestion is detected in the fronthaul. Para. [0088 & 0087 & 0070 & 0020 & 0106 & 0141] configuration of the communication links between each of the active distributed units and their respective one or more central units may also entail, in some embodiments, the deactivating of some communication link as part of the reconfiguring of the fronthaul network
and
instruct a transfer apparatus (Khanfouci: para. [0070] controller 17 configured for controlling the configuration of the switch/association matrix 16)
transferring a signal transmitted from the first transmission apparatus to the second transmission apparatus serving as the connection destination of the first transmission apparatus among the plurality of second transmission apparatuses to transfer a signal transmitted from a switching target transmission apparatus serving as the first transmission apparatus whose connection destination is determined to be switched, to the second transmission apparatus serving as a connection destination after switching of the switching target transmission apparatus,
(Khanfouci: para. [0070] FIG. 2 switch/association matrix 16 set of connections among the central units (CUs) 12 a-12 d and the distributed units (DUs) 13 a-13 g of the fronthaul network, which can be dynamically configured through activation/deactivation of a set of logical fronthaul connections that respectively correspond to a set of communication links among the CUs 12 a-12 d and the DUs 13 a-13 g… a path in the switch/association matrix 16 may be implemented for the downlink (respectively uplink) direction by means of tunneling data packets from a source CU 12 a, 12 c to a target DU 13 c, 13 e (respectively from a source DU to a target CU) using any suitable tunneling protocol for Ethernet packetization of CPRI signals)
on the basis of the determination of the that the connection destinations are switched to the second transmission apparatus.
(Khanfouci: para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. the CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration. [0088 & 0087 & 0070 & 0020 & 0106 & 0141] configuration of the communication links between each of the active distributed units and their respective one or more central units may also entail, in some embodiments, the deactivating of some communication link as part of the reconfiguring of the fronthaul network)
It is noted that Khanfouci does not explicitly disclose:
in a predetermined period by a first transmission apparatus serving as a transmission apparatus of the predetermined layer, on the basis of allocation of radio resources to a terminal.
However, Wang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: calculate a traffic amount of a signal received via a transmission apparatus of a layer lower than the predetermined layer in a predetermined period by the first transmission apparatus,
(Wang: para. [0022] IMF engine 202 can receive respective traffic data 230 from the computing devices 204. Para. [0023] first traffic data 230 a can include an average transition rate of the computing devices 204 traveling from the first sub-region of the neighboring sub-regions 122 to the second sub-region of the neighboring sub-regions 122 over a period time) on the basis of allocation of radio resources (allocation of resources) to a terminal wirelessly transmitting a signal to a lowermost transmission apparatus;
(Wang: para. [0051-0053] IMF engine 202 identifies the graph partition 450 a-2 as having the smallest net traffic flow (110). Specifically, by identifying the graph partition 450 a-2 as the smallest net traffic flow, the allocation of resources—the central units 104 and the distributed units 102—is able to handle a peak load of computing devices 204 communicating with the RAN 100, including providing computational resources to the computing devices 204. Para. [0019] RAN 100 can include a telecommunication network (e.g., 3G, 4G, LTE, 5G) that provides telecommunication services to computing devices located within the service region 120, such as mobile computing devices and/or connected automobiles (autonomous or semi-autonomous) that include processing and telecommunication resources)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wang in the system of Khanfouci. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for by assigning the central units 104 to the respective sub-regions 122 that corresponds to the sub-graphs of the graph partition 450 a-2, the RAN 100 is able to allocate the resources of the central units 104 more efficiently to handle peak loads of computational resources that are to be provided to the computing devices 204 by the RAN 100 (Wang: para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Khanfouci and Wang teach the switching control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of the transmission apparatuses compris an antenna station (Khanfouci: para. [0061] a plurality of DUs 13 c, 13 e and Fig. 2)
configured to convert a radio signal received from the terminal into a wired signal and transmit the converted signal; (Khanfouci: para. [0003 & 0062-0063 & 0068 & 0070 & 0087] packet transmission of CPRI signals using the Ethernet protocol, wherein data transmitted over a CPRI interface used in a fronthaul network is packetized and transmitted via Ethernet packets)
a distributed station configured to receive the signals from one or more antenna stations under control and aggregate and transfer the received signals; and an aggregation station configured to receive the signal from one or more distributed stations under control and transfer the received signal to an upper network, the first transmission apparatus is the distributed station (DUs), and the second transmission apparatus is the aggregation station (CUs). (Khanfouci: para. [0068-0070] DUs may be configured to transmit/receive packets to/from the central units, which may be configured to perform various L2/L3 packet processing tasks, including scheduling, routing, etc. The CU node of each base station may provide both control plane functions and user plane functions to a plurality of DUs that operate under its control in the base station. And Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 5, Khanfouci and Wang teach the switching control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of the transmission apparatuses compris
a plurality of antenna stations (Khanfouci: para. [0061] a plurality of DUs 13 c, 13 e and Fig. 2) configured to convert a radio signal received from the terminal into a wired signal and transmit the converted signal; (Khanfouci: para. [0003 & 0062-0063 & 0068 & 0070 & 0087] packet transmission of CPRI signals using the Ethernet protocol, wherein data transmitted over a CPRI interface used in a fronthaul network is packetized and transmitted via Ethernet packets)
a plurality of distributed stations configured to receive the signals from one or more antenna stations under control and aggregate and transfer the received signals; and
an aggregation station (CUs) configured to receive the signal from one or more distributed stations under control and transfer the received signal to an upper network, the first transmission apparatus is the station, and the second transmission apparatus is the distributed station (DUs). (Khanfouci: para. [0068-0070] DUs may be configured to transmit/receive packets to/from the central units, which may be configured to perform various L2/L3 packet processing tasks, including scheduling, routing, etc. The CU node of each base station may provide both control plane functions and user plane functions to a plurality of DUs that operate under its control in the base station. And Fig. 2)
It is noted that Khanfouci does not explicitly teach: the first transmission apparatus is the antenna station.
However, Wang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: the first transmission apparatus is the antenna station
(Wang: para. [0017] RAN 100 can further include additional computing components, such as a remote radio head (RRU – corresponds to claim limitation “antenna station”) coupled to the distributed units 102) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wang in the system of Khanfouci. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for by assigning the central units 104 to the respective sub-regions 122 that corresponds to the sub-graphs of the graph partition 450 a-2, the RAN 100 is able to allocate the resources of the central units 104 more efficiently to handle peak loads of computational resources that are to be provided to the computing devices 204 by the RAN 100 (Wang: para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Khanfouci and Wang teach the switching control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the switching control apparatus is notified (Khanfouci: para. [0132 & 0129] switch controller receiving all the above-described network state information from the nodes of the switch/association matrix/ces of the zone)
It is noted that Khanfouci does not explicitly disclose: the allocation of the radio resources to the terminal each time the radio resources are allocated to the terminal.
However, Wang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: the allocation of the radio resources to the terminal each time the radio resources are allocated to the terminal,
(Wang: para. [0051-0053] IMF engine 202 identifies the graph partition 450 a-2 as having the smallest net traffic flow (110). Specifically, by identifying the graph partition 450 a-2 as the smallest net traffic flow, the allocation of resources—the central units 104 and the distributed units 102—is able to handle a peak load of computing devices 204 communicating with the RAN 100, including providing computational resources to the computing devices 204) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wang in the system of Khanfouci. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for by assigning the central units 104 to the respective sub-regions 122 that corresponds to the sub-graphs of the graph partition 450 a-2, the RAN 100 is able to allocate the resources of the central units 104 more efficiently to handle peak loads of computational resources that are to be provided to the computing devices 204 by the RAN 100 (Wang: para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Khanfouci and Wang teach the switching control apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to further determine whether or not congestion occurs in the second transmission apparatus (Khanfouci: para. [0108-0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to provide connections between the CUs and the DUs that maximize the sum throughput offered to the active DU set. This optimization may take into account the throughput limit on the different fronthaul associations, which may occur for example when congestion is detected in the fronthaul) using a processing capability of the second transmission apparatus, a processing amount in the second transmission apparatus, and the processing capability predicted for the second transmission apparatus. (Khanfouci: para. [0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to increase and/or adapt the fronthaul redundancy in order to protect the associations between the CUs and DUs from congestions that are detected or may occur during the mobility of the mobile terminal 14. para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
Regarding claim 9, Khanfouci and Wang teach the switching control apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to further calculate the processing capability of the second transmission apparatus (Khanfouci: para. [0108-0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to provide connections between the CUs and the DUs that maximize the sum throughput offered to the active DU set. This optimization may take into account the throughput limit on the different fronthaul associations, which may occur for example when congestion is detected in the fronthaul) on the basis of an amount of resources allocated to the second transmission apparatus. (Khanfouci: para. [0109] switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to increase and/or adapt the fronthaul redundancy in order to protect the associations between the CUs and DUs from congestions that are detected or may occur during the mobility of the mobile terminal 14. para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
Regarding claim 10, Khanfouci and Wang teach the switching control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to further calculate a future traffic amount serving as a traffic amount of the first transmission apparatus in a period next to the predetermined period on the basis of the traffic amount in the predetermined period, and calculate, for each of the second transmission apparatuses, a processing capability predicted to be required in the second transmission apparatus, on the basis of the future traffic amount in the first transmission apparatus with the second transmission apparatus as a connection destination. (Khanfouci: para. [0111] switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. The measurement DU set 19 may be used to select the DUs that will be used for the future reconfiguration of the switch/association matrix 16. CU set may advantageously be determined for load balancing among the CUs, for example as the set of CUs that includes the less loaded CUs among the CUs that may contribute to the future fronthaul reconfiguration)
Regarding claim 11, Khanfouci teaches a switching control method comprising: (Khanfouci: Summary, Abstract, Fig. 1-6 and para. [0110 & 0138] switch controller 17. Para. [0139] network node 101 includes a control engine 102, a network management engine 103, a data communication engine 104, and memory 105. Para. [0145] memory 105, capable of storing computer program instructions or software code that, when executed by the processor) and Khanfouci and Wang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, and therefore method claim 11 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 12, Khanfouci teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, encoded with a program, when executed by a processor by a computer, causing the computer to: (Khanfouci: Summary, Abstract, Fig. 1-6 and para. [0110 & 0138] switch controller 17. Para. [0139] network node 101 includes a control engine 102, a network management engine 103, a data communication engine 104, and memory 105. Para. [0145] memory 105, capable of storing computer program instructions or software code that, when executed by the processor) and Khanfouci and Wang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, and therefore method claim 12 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 15 – 20, Khanfouci and Wang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 7 and 10, and therefore apparatus claims 15 – 20 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 21, Khanfouci and Wang teach the transmission system according to claim 1, wherein the switching target transmission apparatus transmits a bearer (target DU transmits data packets) response to the first transmission apparatus.
(Khanfouci: para. [0070] each path may comprise a tunnel that is defined by a source CU, i and a target DU j and configured for routing user plane packets for the mobile terminal MT 14 from the source CU 12 a, 12 c to the target DU 13 c, 13 e. In some embodiments, a path in the switch/association matrix 16 may be implemented for the downlink (respectively uplink) direction by means of tunneling data packets from a source CU 12 a, 12 c to a target DU 13 c, 13 e (respectively from a source DU to a target CU) using any suitable tunneling protocol for Ethernet packetization of CPRI signals. In other embodiments, a path in the switch/association matrix 16 may be defined for the downlink (respectively uplink) direction by address information for a source CU and a target DU (respectively a source DU and a target CU), for example by address information comprising aa source layer 2 address and target layer 2 address (e.g. a couple of addresses comprising a source layer 2 sub-layer MAC (medium access control) address and a target MAC address)), which address information may be provided in the Ethernet packet. The switch/association matrix 16 may in this latter exemplary case comprise a routing matrix that is using MAC addresses of a source CU and target DU (and/or MAC addresses of a source DU and target CU))
Claim(s) 6 and 13 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanfouci and Wang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Park et al. US 20200145873 A1, hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 6, Khanfouci and Wang teach the switching control apparatus according claim 3, wherein the first transmission apparatus transmits the signal (Khanfouci: para. [0070] FIG. 2 switch/association matrix 16 set of connections among the central units (CUs) 12 a-12 d and the distributed units (DUs) 13 a-13 g of the fronthaul network, which can be dynamically configured through activation/deactivation of a set of logical fronthaul connections that respectively correspond to a set of communication links among the CUs 12 a-12 d and the DUs 13 a-13 g… a path in the switch/association matrix 16 may be implemented for the downlink (respectively uplink) direction by means of tunneling data packets from a source CU 12 a, 12 c to a target DU 13 c, 13 e (respectively from a source DU to a target CU) using any suitable tunneling protocol for Ethernet packetization of CPRI signals) through an optical signal.
It is noted that Khanfouci and Wang do not explicitly disclose: transmits through an optical signal.
However, Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: transmits through an optical signal. (Park: para. [0051] FIG. 3 may be understood as the configuration of the CU 120. Para. [0052] CU may include a communication unit 310, a storage unit 320, and a controller 330. Para. [0053-0054] communication unit 310 may include a wired interface configured to control a device-to-device direct connection through a transmission medium (e.g., a copper wire or an optical fiber). For example, the communication unit 310 may deliver an electrical signal to another node through a line made of a material having conductivity (e.g., copper), or may perform conversion between an electrical signal and an optical signal) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Park in the system of Khanfouci and Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for providing end-to-end connection management therefor, and the like. As another example, the CN 110 may allow various wireless access technologies to interwork with each other. The CN 110 may support communication of the terminal 140 in such a manner as to separate data and control information (Park: para. [0031]), and to allow the CU 120 and the DU 130 to perform respective functions or required to perform signaling between the CU 120 and the DU 130 (Park: para. [0043]).
Regarding claims 13 – 14, Khanfouci, Wang and Park teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 6, and therefore apparatus claims 13 – 14 are rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1, 3, 11 and 12 (on pages 13-15), applicant submits:
“Compared to Khantouci, claim 1 recites "... determine that connection destinations of at least some of the first transmission apparatuses with the second transmission apparatus as a connection destination in which congestion is determined to occur are switched to the second transmission apparatus in which congestion is determined not to occur; ...".
In Khantouci, congestions may occur for a CU with a heavily load, making continued use difficult. On the other hand, applicant's claimed invention makes it possible to continue using both a second transmission apparatus that is determined to be experiencing congestion and a second transmission device that is determined not to be experiencing congestion. For example, instead of switching all DUs connected to a CU to a different CU set at once, only a portion of the DUs connected to the CU where congestion is determined to occur will be switched to a CU where congestion does not occur. Therefore, the load can be reduced without completely stopping the use of CUs where congestion is expected. Wang fails to cure these deficiencies. For at least these reasons, it is respectfully submitted that Claim 1, along with claims depending therefrom, defines patentable subject matter over this combination of references.” (page 15)
However, Khanfouci teaches in paragraph [0111] that switch controller 17 may be configured to determine the active DU set 18, the measurement DU set 19, and the CU set, based on received measurements performed by the mobile terminal 14. And in paragraph [0109], Khanfouci teaches the switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to increase and/or adapt the fronthaul redundancy in order to protect the associations between the CUs and DUs from congestions that are detected or may occur during the mobility of the mobile terminal 14. The cited portion(s) of Khan teaches switch controller 17 configured to measure CU set (corresponds to claim limitation “second transmission apparatus”) in which congestion are detected or may occur, and therefore Khanfouci teach the claim limitation “determine that connection destinations of at least some of the first transmission apparatuses with the second transmission apparatus as a connection destination in which congestion is determined to occur”.
Furthermore, Khanfouci in the paragraph [0108] teaches switch/association matrix 16 may be dynamically configured so as to provide connections between the CUs and the DUs that maximize the sum throughput offered to the active DU set. This optimization may take into account the throughput limit on the different fronthaul associations, which may occur for example when congestion is detected in the fronthaul. In particular, Khanfouci in paragraph [0088 & 0087] teaches configuration of the communication links between each of the active distributed units and their respective one or more central units may also entail, the deactivating/activating of some communication link as part of the reconfiguring of the fronthaul network. These cited portion(s) of Khan teaches that the CU(s) can be deactivated/activated and switched dynamically according to the detected/measured congestion, and therefore Khanfouci teach the claim limitation “second transmission apparatus as a connection destination in which congestion is determined to occur are switched to the second transmission apparatus in which congestion is determined not to occur”. Thus, the examiner maintains that the prior art explicitly discloses CU is switched based on congestion is determined to occur.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Liu et al. US 20230140463 A1 in para. [0103] teaches when the CU has selected a cell type and/or a frequency type for transmitting the MBS traffic in the PTM mode, the first signaling may include the cell type information and/or the frequency type information expected by the CU.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418