Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments: On page 6 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Goktepe in view of Bhattad does not teach the amended claim 1 as recited “A method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for power saving, the method comprising: receiving, from a Secondary Cell (SCell), Downlink Control Information (DCI) comprising an indication related to a procedure of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation for one or more first cells, the procedure of the PDCCH monitoring adaptation comprising at least one of: skipping monitoring a PDCCH on the one or more first cells for a particular time period, or switching to monitoring an empty Search Space Set Group (SSSG) that does not comprise any search space set; and performing a PDCCH monitoring on one or more second cells during a retransmission period, regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain, wherein the one or more second cells comprise a Special Cell (SpCell) and the SCell.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and other independent claims have been considered and are moot because a new ground of rejection is used that does not rely on any references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. An updated search was conducted and new reference was found as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goktepe et al. (US 20240031107 A1) (Hereafter, “Goktepe”) in view of Bhattad et al. (US 2022/0399964 A1) (hereafter “Bhattad”) in further view of Gao (WO 2020143655 A1).
Regarding claim 1, A method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for power saving, the method comprising: receiving Downlink Control Information (DCI) comprising an indication related to a procedure of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation for one or more first cells,
Goktepe, Fig. 3 [0028]; FIG. 3 illustrates the PDCCH skipping in accordance with the above-described examples. In FIG. 3(a), a subframe or time slot is illustrated having, for example, at the beginning, the PDCCH region, including, for example, in case of NR, one or more CORESETs with respective search spaces which define or are part of the PDCCH monitoring occasions in which the UE is to monitor for control messages directed to the UE. When receiving, for example, a DCI-based skipping signaling, the UE may simply stop monitoring the PDCCH region in the upcoming subframes or time slots.
Fig. 1(b) Another user UE.sub.3 is shown in cell 106.sub.4 (one or more first cell) which is served by base station gNB.sub.4. .
the procedure of the PDCCH monitoring adaptation comprising at least one of:
skipping monitoring a PDCCH on the one or more first cells for a particular time period,
or switching to monitoring an empty Search Space Set Group (SSSG) that does not comprise any search space set; and
Goktepe [0029] In accordance with other examples, the skipping may also be achieved by configuring an empty search space group, SSG, and signaling the UE, for example, by means of the skipping indication 200, to switch to the empty SSG. An empty SSG does not contain any search space, so the UE does not monitor any PDCCH when an empty SSG is active.
Goktepe does not teach performing a PDCCH monitoring on one or more second cells during a retransmission period, regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain, Wherein the one or more secondary cell comprises the SCell.
Bhattad teaches performing a PDCCH monitoring on one or more second cells during a retransmission period, regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain.
Bhattad, Fig. 4 [0156]; As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 404, the UE may determine a duration of a HARQ feedback window for receiving, from the BS, HARQ feedback associated with the uplink communication. In some aspects, the duration of the HARQ feedback window, the starting symbol of the HARQ feedback window, and/or the like may be determined such that the BS is given an opportunity to provide the HARQ feedback in a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the UE.
Bhattad [0162]; In some aspects, the UE may monitor for the HARQ feedback during the duration of the HARQ feedback window in a same cell of the BS in which the uplink communication was transmitted, in a difference cell of the BS and/or another BS (one or more second cells) than the cell in which the uplink communication was transmitted.
Bhattad [0159]; In some aspects, the indication of the HARQ feedback window may include an indication of a duration of a DRX retransmission timer of the UE. For example, the duration of the HARQ feedback window corresponds to a duration of a DRX retransmission timer associated with a reference uplink transmission of the uplink burst in which the uplink communication was transmitted (regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain).
Wherein the one or more secondary cell comprises the SCell.
Bhattad [0162]; In some aspects, the UE may monitor for the HARQ feedback during the duration of the HARQ feedback window in a same cell of the BS in which the uplink communication was transmitted, in a difference cell of the BS and/or another BS (one or more second cells) than the cell in which the uplink communication was transmitted.
In view of Bhattad, Goktepe is modified such that performing a PDCCH monitoring on one or more second cells during a retransmission period, regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner to monitor the PDCCH on one or more second cell to determine that the duration of the HARQ feedback window is based at least in part on a PUSCH processing time and a PDCCH monitoring occasion configuration (Bhattad [0031]).
Goktepe does not teach receiving from a Secondary Cel (SCell) Downlink Control information (DCI), wherein the one or more second cells comprise a Special Cell.
Gao teaches receiving from a Secondary Cel (SCell) Downlink Control information (DCI), wherein the one or more second cells comprise a Special Cell.
Gao [0051]; By default, SCell is inactive. When there is a service requirement, the base station can activate one or more of the SCells. After the configured SCell is activated, the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) sent by a specific cell (Special Cell, SpCell) to determine the SCell in the activated SCell that needs to monitor the PDCCH.
In view of Gao, Goktepe is modified such that the UE is receiving from a Secondary Cel (SCell) Downlink Control information (DCI), wherein the one or more second cells comprise a Special Cell.
Goktepe and and Gao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Goktepe in a manner described above to include the second cell with the special cell
that transmits the DCI to the user by to monitor the PDCCH to determine the channel quality
measurement for monitoring the PDCCH (Gao [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein performing the PDCCH monitoring the PDCCH monitoring adaptation.
Goktepe [0029]; The UE uses the empty search space group, for example, for a certain number of frames or time slots which may be indicated in the signaling 200 and then switches back to the default search space group (PDCCH monitoring adaptation). In accordance with other examples, responsive to the signaling 200 a timer may be started so that the UE switches back to the default search space group once the timer has lapsed. For example, an inactivity timer, similar to the one used when operating in a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode may be employed.
Regarding claim 11, A User Equipment (UE) (Goktepe, Fig. 7, Ref. 600) for power saving, the UE comprising: at least one processor (Goktepe, Fig. 7, Ref. 602) ; and at least non-transitory machine-readable medium ((Goktepe, Fig. 7, Ref. 606) coupled to the at least one processor, and storing a set of computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) comprising an indication related to a procedure of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation for one or more first cells,
Goktepe, Fig. 3 [0028]; FIG. 3 illustrates the PDCCH skipping in accordance with the above-described examples. In FIG. 3(a), a subframe or time slot is illustrated having, for example, at the beginning, the PDCCH region, including, for example, in case of NR, one or more CORESETs with respective search spaces which define or are part of the PDCCH monitoring occasions in which the UE is to monitor for control messages directed to the UE. When receiving, for example, a DCI-based skipping signaling, the UE may simply stop monitoring the PDCCH region in the upcoming subframes or time slots.
Fig. 1(b) Another user UE.sub.3 is shown in cell 106.sub.4 (one or more first cell) which is served by base station gNB.sub.4. .
the procedure of the PDCCH monitoring adaptation comprising at least one of: skipping monitoring a PDCCH on the one or more first cells for a particular time period, or switching to monitoring an empty Search Space Set Group (SSSG) that does not comprise any search space set; and
Goktepe [0029] In accordance with other examples, the skipping may also be achieved by configuring an empty search space group, SSG, and signaling the UE, for example, by means of the skipping indication 200, to switch to the empty SSG. An empty SSG does not contain any search space, so the UE does not monitor any PDCCH when an empty SSG is active.
Goktepe does not teach performing a PDCCH monitoring on one or more second cells during a retransmission period, regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain, Wherein the one or more secondary cell comprises the SCell.
Bhattad teaches performing a PDCCH monitoring on one or more second cells during a retransmission period, regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain.
Bhattad, Fig. 4 [0156]; As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 404, the UE may determine a duration of a HARQ feedback window for receiving, from the BS, HARQ feedback associated with the uplink communication. In some aspects, the duration of the HARQ feedback window, the starting symbol of the HARQ feedback window, and/or the like may be determined such that the BS is given an opportunity to provide the HARQ feedback in a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the UE.
Bhattad [0162]; In some aspects, the UE may monitor for the HARQ feedback during the duration of the HARQ feedback window in a same cell of the BS in which the uplink communication was transmitted, in a difference cell of the BS and/or another BS (one or more second cells) than the cell in which the uplink communication was transmitted.
Bhattad [0159]; In some aspects, the indication of the HARQ feedback window may include an indication of a duration of a DRX retransmission timer of the UE. For example, the duration of the HARQ feedback window corresponds to a duration of a DRX retransmission timer associated with a reference uplink transmission of the uplink burst in which the uplink communication was transmitted. (regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain)
Wherein the one or more secondary cell comprises the SCell.
Bhattad [0162]; In some aspects, the UE may monitor for the HARQ feedback during the duration of the HARQ feedback window in a same cell of the BS in which the uplink communication was transmitted, in a difference cell of the BS and/or another BS (one or more second cells) than the cell in which the uplink communication was transmitted.
In view of Bhattad, Goktepe is modified such that performing a PDCCH monitoring on one or more second cells during a retransmission period, regardless of whether the retransmission period overlaps the particular time period in time domain.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner to monitor the PDCCH on one or more second cell to determine that the duration of the HARQ feedback window is based at least in part on a PUSCH processing time and a PDCCH monitoring occasion configuration (Bhattad [0031]).
Goktepe does not teach receive from a Secondary Cel (SCell) Downlink Control information (DCI), wherein the one or more second cells comprise a Special Cell.
Gao teaches receiving from a Secondary Cel (SCell) Downlink Control information (DCI), wherein the one or more second cells comprise a Special Cell.
Gao [0051]; By default, SCell is inactive. When there is a service requirement, the base station can activate one or more of the SCells. After the configured SCell is activated, the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) sent by a specific cell (Special Cell, SpCell) to determine the SCell in the activated SCell that needs to monitor the PDCCH.
In view of Gao, Goktepe is modified such that the UE is receiving from a Secondary Cel (SCell) Downlink Control information (DCI), wherein the one or more second cells comprise a Special Cell.
Goktepe and and Gao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Goktepe in a manner described above to include the second cell with the special cell
that transmits the DCI to the user by to monitor the PDCCH to determine the channel quality
measurement for monitoring the PDCCH (Gao [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, The UE of claim 11, wherein performing the PDCCH monitoring the PDCCH monitoring adaptation.
Goktepe [0029]; The UE uses the empty search space group, for example, for a certain number of frames or time slots which may be indicated in the signaling 200 and then switches back to the default search space group (PDCCH monitoring adaptation). In accordance with other examples, responsive to the signaling 200 a timer may be started so that the UE switches back to the default search space group once the timer has lapsed. For example, an inactivity timer, similar to the one used when operating in a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode may be employed.
Claims 3-6, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goktepe in view of Bhattad in further view of Gao, in further view of Li et al. (US 2022/0312389 A1)( hereafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the retransmission period comprises a time period during which a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) retransmission timer is running.
Li [0130]; When a DRX cycle (time period) is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: [0131] drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or [0132] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group;
In view of Li, Goktepe is modified such that the retransmission period is a time period in which a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) retransmission timer is running.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the processing time in downlink transmission ( Bhattad [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 3, wherein the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerDL.
Li [0132] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group;
In view of Li, Goktepe is modified such that the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerDL.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the processing time in downlink transmission ( Bhattad [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 3, wherein the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerUL.
Li [0132] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group;
In view of Li, Goktepe is modified such that the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerUL.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the processing time in downlink transmission ( Bhattad [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, The UE of claim 11, wherein the retransmission period comprises a time period during which a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) retransmission timer is running.
Li [0130]; When a DRX cycle (time period) is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: [0131] drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or [0132] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group;
In view of Li, Goktepe is modified such that the retransmission period is a time period in which a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) retransmission timer is running.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the processing time in downlink transmission ( Bhattad [0010]).
Regarding claim 14, The UE of claim 13, wherein the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerDL.
Li [0132] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group;
In view of Li, Goktepe is modified such that the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerDL.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the processing time in downlink transmission ( Bhattad [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, The UE of claim 13, wherein the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerUL.
Li [0132] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group;
In view of Li, Goktepe is modified such that the DRX retransmission timer is determined by a parameter denoted by drx-RetransmissionTimerUL.
Goktepe and Bhattad are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, monitoring PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the processing time in downlink transmission ( Bhattad [0010]).
Claim 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goktepe in view of Bhattad in further view Gao, in further view of Kuang et al. (US 2020/0187293 A1)(hereafter “Kuang”).
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein the retransmission period overlaps at least a part of the particular time period in the time domain.
Kuang Fig. 1d, [0071]; Due to these (extended) downlink data transmissions from the gNodeB to the UE in DRX cycle # N, the INACTIVE duration after the (initial) downlink data transmissions (at least a part of the particular time) coincides with a RETRANSMISSION duration separately configured for each (initial) downlink data transmission, e.g., per hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process. In this example, only a single RETRANSMISSION duration is shown, namely the one for the (initial) transmission in slot #1.
Kuang Fig. 3d [0111] Yet, it shall be emphasized that irrespective of whether the individual communication periods of the DRX cycle are separate from each other in time (as in FIG. 3b), are overlapping each other in time (as in FIG. 3c), or coincide with each other in time (as in FIG. 3d), the definition of the bandwidth part usage combinations always allows an unique identification of which specific one of the first or second bandwidth parts BP1 and BP2 are to be activated, namely during the TRANSMISSION, INACTIVE and RETRANSMISSION duration of the DRX cycle. ( Fig. 3d shows the retransmission duration overlap with transmission duration in a t (time domain).
In view of Kuang, Goktepe is modified such the retransmission period overlaps at least a part of the particular time period in the time domain.
Kuang and Goktepe are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission of HARQ in DRX cycle.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the overlapping between the retransmission and one other period to prioritize the retransmission to provide reliable retransmission ( Kuang [0139]).
Regarding claim 16, The UE of claim 11, wherein the retransmission period overlaps at least a part of the particular time period in the time domain.
Kuang Fig. 1d, [0071]; Due to these (extended) downlink data transmissions from the gNodeB to the UE in DRX cycle # N, the INACTIVE duration after the (initial) downlink data transmissions (at least a part of the particular time) coincides with a RETRANSMISSION duration separately configured for each (initial) downlink data transmission, e.g., per hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process. In this example, only a single RETRANSMISSION duration is shown, namely the one for the (initial) transmission in slot #1.
Kuang Fig. 3d [0111] Yet, it shall be emphasized that irrespective of whether the individual communication periods of the DRX cycle are separate from each other in time (as in FIG. 3b), are overlapping each other in time (as in FIG. 3c), or coincide with each other in time (as in FIG. 3d), the definition of the bandwidth part usage combinations always allows an unique identification of which specific one of the first or second bandwidth parts BP1 and BP2 are to be activated, namely during the TRANSMISSION, INACTIVE and RETRANSMISSION duration of the DRX cycle. ( Fig. 3d shows the retransmission duration overlap with transmission duration in a t (time domain).
In view of Kuang, Goktepe is modified such the retransmission period overlaps at least a part of the particular time period in the time domain.
Kuang and Goktepe are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission of HARQ in DRX cycle.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to determine the overlapping between the retransmission and one other period to prioritize the retransmission to provide reliable retransmission ( Kuang [0139]).
Claim 8-10, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goktepe in view of Bhattad in further view Gao, in further view of Zhou et al. (US 20240267931 A1) (“Zhou”).
Regarding claim 8, The method of claim 1, wherein the DCI indicates the one or more first cells.
Zhou [0347]; Based on example embodiments of FIG. 32 and/or FIG. 33, the wireless device may determine whether to skip PDCCH monitoring for self-scheduling or skip PDCCH monitoring for cross-carrier scheduling based on whether the CIF, of a DCI, indicates the first cell itself or the second cell when the DCI indicates a PDCCH monitoring adaptation.
In view of Zhou, Goktepe is modified such that DCI indicates the one or more first cells.
Goktepe and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, skipping the monitoring of PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to implement DCI indicating one or more first cell to the UE to skip the monitoring of PDCCH.
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more second cells
Bhattad [0162]; In some aspects, the UE may monitor for the HARQ feedback during the duration of the HARQ feedback window in a same cell of the BS in which the uplink communication was transmitted, in a difference cell of the BS and/or another BS (one or more second cells) than the cell in which the uplink communication was transmitted.
Bhattad does not teach at least one of the one or more first cells indicated by the DCI.
Zhou teaches at least one of the one or more first cells indicated by the DCI.
Zhou [0347] Based on example embodiments of FIG. 32 and/or FIG. 33, the wireless device may determine whether to skip PDCCH monitoring for self-scheduling or skip PDCCH monitoring for cross-carrier scheduling based on whether the CIF, of a DCI, indicates the first cell itself or the second cell when the DCI indicates a PDCCH monitoring adaptation.
In view of Zhou, Goktepe is modified such that DCI indicates the one or more first cells.
Goktepe and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, skipping the monitoring of PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to implement DCI indicating one or more first cell to the UE to monitor or to skip the monitoring of PDCCH to improve the power consumption (Zhou [0347]).
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more second cells
Bhattad [0162]; In some aspects, the UE may monitor for the HARQ feedback during the duration of the HARQ feedback window in a same cell of the BS in which the uplink communication was transmitted, in a difference cell of the BS and/or another BS (one or more second cells) than the cell in which the uplink communication was transmitted.
Bhattad does not teach a cell hrough which the UE receives the DCI.
Zhou teaches a cell hrough which the UE receives the DCI.
Zhou [0332] In existing technologies, a wireless device may receive a DCI, via a first cell, cross-carrier scheduling a second cell. To receive self-scheduling information and cross-carrier scheduling information, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH, on the first cell, via first PDCCH candidates for self-scheduling and via second PDCCH candidates for cross-carrier scheduling.
In view of Zhou, Goktepe is modified such that DCI indicates the one or more first cells.
Goktepe and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, skipping the monitoring of PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to implement DCI indicating one or more first cell to the UE to monitor or to skip the monitoring of PDCCH to improve the power consumption (Zhou [0347]).
Regarding claim 18, The UE of claim 11, wherein the DCI indicates the one or more first cells.
Zhou [0347]; Based on example embodiments of FIG. 32 and/or FIG. 33, the wireless device may determine whether to skip PDCCH monitoring for self-scheduling or skip PDCCH monitoring for cross-carrier scheduling based on whether the CIF, of a DCI, indicates the first cell itself or the second cell when the DCI indicates a PDCCH monitoring adaptation.
In view of Zhou, Goktepe is modified such that DCI indicates the one or more first cells.
Goktepe and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, skipping the monitoring of PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to implement DCI indicating one or more first cell to the UE to skip the monitoring of PDCCH.
Regarding claim 19, The UE of claim 18, wherein the one or more second cells
Bhattad [0162]; In some aspects, the UE may monitor for the HARQ feedback during the duration of the HARQ feedback window in a same cell of the BS in which the uplink communication was transmitted, in a difference cell of the BS and/or another BS (one or more second cells) than the cell in which the uplink communication was transmitted.
Bhattad does not teach at least one of the one or more first cells indicated by the DCI.
Zhou teaches at least one of the one or more first cells indicated by the DCI.
Zhou [0347] Based on example embodiments of FIG. 32 and/or FIG. 33, the wireless device may determine whether to skip PDCCH monitoring for self-scheduling or skip PDCCH monitoring for cross-carrier scheduling based on whether the CIF, of a DCI, indicates the first cell itself or the second cell when the DCI indicates a PDCCH monitoring adaptation.
In view of Zhou, Goktepe is modified such that DCI indicates the one or more first cells.
Goktepe and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, skipping the monitoring of PDCCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Goktepe in the manner described above to implement DCI indicating one or more first cell to the UE to monitor or to skip the monitoring of PDCCH to improve the power consumption (Zhou [0347]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478