DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 6, 8, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Range within range rejections:
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “between 20-80kDa”, and the claim also recites “more preferably 40-60 kDa” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 5 recites “and one compound selected form the group consisting of doxorubicin (DOX), ketoprofen (KETO0 and 4-hydroxybenzayl alcohol (HBA)”, but also recites the narrower “more preferably DOX”.
Claim 8 recites the size of the nanoparticles “is at most 260nm”, then recites the narrower “preferably 50 nm to 260 nm”.
Claim 13 recites “one compound selected from the group consisting of DOX, KETO and HBA”, but also recites the narrower “more preferably DOX.”
Claim 15 recites in step i, “1 to 60 molar%”, but also recites the narrower “preferably 3 to 55 molar%, in particular e.g. 3.4 to 53.8 molar%”.
Claim 16 recites coupling reaction agents, but also recites the narrower “more preferably EDC” and also recites catalysts, but also recites the narrower “more preferably without catalyst in case of EDC”.
Indefinite terms rejections:
Claim 6 and 14 recite “when the carboxylic content is approx. 9% by weight.” It is unclear if this is a required limitation (i.e. the formulation has to have a carboxylic content of approximately 9% by weight) or a conditional limitation which may define the rest of the claim only when the carboxylic content is at the defined amount.
Claim 15, step vi, recites “preferably in approx. 50 mol% excess”. Given the modifier “preferably”, it is unclear if this is a required element or just an optional element. Applicants use the term optionally throughout the process claim, so it is unclear how preferably and optionally differ.
Lack of antecedent basis rejections:
Claim 6 and 14 recite “3.3% and 6.2% by weight of the formulation, respectively”, lacks antecedent basis where the claims are directed to a mucoadhesive polymeric prodrug, not a “formulation”. This is further confused by the limitations following which discusses the total amount of the polymeric prodrug.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipniece et al (Journal of Crystal Growth, 444 (2016) 14-20) in view of Qavamnia et al (Incorporation of Hydroxyapatite/Doxorubicin into the Chitosan/Polyvinyl Alcohol/Polyurethane Nanofibers for Controlled Release of Doxurubicin and Its Anticancer Property. Fibers Polym 21, 1634–1642 (2020)).
Stipniece et al teaches functionalization of poly(vinyl alcohol) by modifying it with succinic anhydride in DMF to introduce carboxyl groups for the attachment of drug molecules (abstract and pg 16: 2 Materials and methods). The PVA used had a molecular weight of about 25k Daltons (pg 16, sec 2.1, 2nd ¶). The resulting nanosized needles are expected to be dispersed in materials of 2-10 micrometers (pg 19, conclusion).
Stipniece et al does not teach the inclusion of two or more biological actives with one being an aminothiol.
Qavamnia et al teaches it was known to incorporate doxorubicin-hydroxyapatite (an aminothiol active and a second active) into nano sized particles comprising PVA for treatment of cancers, such as bone cancer (abstract). Doxorubicin is taught as an alternative anticancer drug for various cancers, including breast (pg 1634, right column, about lines 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the delivery system of Stipniece et al by attaching a drug molecule as suggested via the carboxyl group, such as DOX as taught by the secondary reference as a known active for mucoadhesive delivery. When the active bonds, given the same active instantly claimed is disclosed in the prior art, and the PVA is modified with succinic acid as instantly claimed in the prior art, the bonding linkages would be expected to be the same as instantly claimed.
While the prior art does not appear to disclose the specific succinated amount, it would have been obvious to vary the amount based on the loading of the PVA, given the carboxyl groups provide the attachment site for the drug molecules.
Finally, while the prior art does not teach the crosslinking ester groups between the carboxyl and hydroxyl groups of the partially succinated polyvinyl alcohol, where the polymer prodrug produced has the same components instantly claimed and has the same reactive groups, it is reasonably expected that cross linking will inherently occur as part of the reaction process, given the same reactive groups are present in both the prior art and instant process. As such, the process would vary based on drug loading and particle size, thus varying the cross-linking amount and making instant claim 12 obvoius.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner notes the prior art does not disclose the coupling agents and catalysts specifically claimed as part of the process.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612