DETAILED ACTIONStatus of Application
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 13-18, the claimed pharmaceutical formulation is drawn to product claims and therefore the intended use of the formulation, “which is reconstituted with a diluent before intramuscular or subcutaneous administration” does not carry patentable weight over the teachings of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is indefinite for reciting “wherein the diluent comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of carboxymethylcellulose sodium, mannitol, sodium chloride, sodium hydroxide, polysorbate, acetic acid, sodium dihydrogen phosphate monohydrate, and disodium phosphate heptahydrate”, and claim 14 depends from claim 13 which recites the pharmaceutical formulation is reconstituted with a diluent before intramuscular or subcutaneous injection, and this phrase in claim 14 is unclear because sodium chloride, sodium dihydrogen phosphate monohydrate, and disodium phosphate heptahydrate are solids and it is unclear if the diluents of claim 14 are supposed to be aqueous solutions comprising one of sodium chloride, sodium dihydrogen phosphate monohydrate, and disodium phosphate heptahydrate in order to be used as a reconstitution diluent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernstein et al. (US20050069591A1) hereinafter Bernstein.
Regarding claims 1-26, Bernstein is drawn to pharmaceutical formulations and methods are provided for the sustained delivery of a pharmaceutical agent to a patient by injection, by oral administration or by topical administration. The injectable formulation includes porous microparticles which comprise a pharmaceutical agent and a matrix material, wherein upon injection of the formulation a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of the pharmaceutical agent is released from the microparticles for at least 24 hours (abstract and claims 1-20). Berstein discloses the pharmaceutical agent is levothyroxine sodium [0083]. Berstein discloses the matrix material comprises a biocompatible synthetic polymer poly(lactide-co-glycolide) [0012].
Berstein discloses to deliver sustained release microparticulate pharmaceutical agents, compounds must be precisely formulated to ensure that they deliver the correct amount of pharmaceutical agent over the appropriate amount of time. This requires control of key factors such as geometric particle size and density and compatibility with select delivery devices and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers [0004].
Bernstein discloses a method is provided for delivering a pharmaceutical agent to a patient comprising administering to the patient by injection a sustained release pharmaceutical formulation which comprises porous microparticles which comprise a pharmaceutical agent and a matrix material, wherein upon injection of the formulation a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of the pharmaceutical agent is released from the microparticles into the patient for at least 24 hours. Exemplary routes/sites of injection include subcutaneous, intramuscular administration [0014].
Bernstein discloses methods are provided for making an injectable formulation for administration and sustained release of pharmaceutical agent. In a preferred embodiment, the method comprises the steps of: dissolving a matrix material in a volatile solvent to form a solution; adding a pharmaceutical agent to the solution to form an emulsion, suspension, or second solution; and removing the volatile solvent from the emulsion, suspension, or second solution to yield porous microparticles which comprise the pharmaceutical agent and the matrix material, wherein upon injection of the formulation a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of the pharmaceutical agent is released from the microparticles for at least 24 hours. In one embodiment, the method further comprises combining one or more surfactants with the solution. In one embodiment, the method further comprises combining the microparticles with a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle for injection [0016]. Bernstein discloses methanol [0156] and dichloromethane [0168].
Bernstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the formulation has a theoretical levothyroxine loading of at least 1.5% w/w.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bernstein, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Berstein discloses to deliver sustained release microparticulate pharmaceutical agents, compounds must be precisely formulated to ensure that they deliver the correct amount of pharmaceutical agent over the appropriate amount of time. This requires control of key factors such as geometric particle size and density and compatibility with select delivery devices and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers [0004], thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected success in arriving at a theoretical levothyroxine loading of at least 1.5% w/w. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615