DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Picha et al US Patent Pub. 2021/0128308A1.
Picha et al discloses an implant imaging system (100) comprising:
a. one or more metal plates (124) including at least one bone contacting surface 'B' (120 & 140), the metal plates (124) are disposed on a joint implant; and
b. one or more coatings of osteoconductive material (see paragraph 134) being applied on the bone contacting surface 'B' (120 & 140) of the metal plates (124) to increase the rate of osteointegration. Wherein the joint implant is made of polymeric material (See paragraph 86 (PEEK)).
Regarding claim 2, see paragraph 69 disclosing that the pillars can be made of titanium.
Regarding claim 3, paragraph 9 discloses that the pillars can have a height between 100-450 microns, therefore the plate fall within the 1mm to 3mm.
Regarding claim 4, the implant is a knee implant.
Regarding claim 5, see figure 4 showing elements 140 over an inner surface of the femoral component.
Regarding claim 11, see paragraph 134 disclosing a osteoconductive material, wherein hydroxyapatite is an inherent material.
Regarding claim 12, the hydroxyapatite coating inherently can have a thickness ranging from 110 microns to 190 microns, since the pillars can have the claimed height.
Regarding claim 13, see para graph 151 disclosing PEEK.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picha et al US Patent Pub. 2021/0128308A1 in view of Nguyen et al US Patent Pub. 2019/0343639A1.
Picha et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Picha et al is silent regarding having a plurality of slots in the inner portion of the femoral component.
Nguyen et al discloses a femoral component (110) having inner slots (see walls 340 and 322, etc) capable of holding the metal plates (300, 306, 310, etc…) for the purpose of being flushed with the interior border (320) of the femoral component.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to have inner slots capable of holding a being flushed to the interior border of the femoral component.
Regarding claim 9, Picha et al does not disclose radiopaque markers in the knee implant. At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Picha et al reference by adding radiopaque markers because Applicant has not disclosed that by having radiopaque markers provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well without the radiopaque markers because it would perform equally as well.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Picha et al reference to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picha et al US Patent Pub. 2021/0128308A1 in view of Yao et al US Patent Pub. 2023/0225870A1.
Picha et al discloses an implant having a porous layer used in a knee prosthesis. However, Picha et al is silent regarding the use of the porous layer in a top surface of an acetabular component.
Yao et al teaches a porous layer used in different prosthetic devices. For example, discloses an acetabular cup, a femoral spherical head, and a knee prosthesis. See Figs. 11 and 11-12.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the knee prosthesis of the Picha et al reference with the acetabular cup pf the Yao et al reference in order to have the same bone growth characteristics of the Picha et al reference in the acetabular cup pf the Yao et al.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 7/23/26