DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 57-67, 74-76 and election of species blank: paper and hydrophobic material: oxidized polyethylene wax and styrene-acrylate mixture in the reply filed on 2/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 57-60, 65-67, 74 and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al. (JP2005-162213, see machine translated version) in view of Dragner et al. (US Patent No. 5,795,932).
Regarding claims 57, 59, 60, 65 and 67, Miyake et al. teach a paper (non-metalized blank) (paragraphs [0001], [0007]) having a number of folds (at least one mechanically induced folding pattern) (paragraphs [0010], [0017]), the paper (blank) comprising a combination of wax and styrene-acrylate (a hydrophobic material) (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0025]) and having a moisture permeability of 40 g/m2 24 hours which reads on Applicant’s claimed water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) that is between 1 and 20 gr/m2·day, when measured at 38°C and 90% relative humidity, at any point along the blank surface, including at the folding pattern (paragraph [0037]), wherein the hydrophobic material is a mixture of wax and styrene-acrylate (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0025]).
Miyake et al. fail to teach wherein the wax is oxidized polyethylene wax. However, Dragner et al. teach paperboard (non-metalized blank) (col. 1, lines 9-12, 55-65), the paperboard (non-metalized blank) comprising a hydrophobic material comprising styrene-acrylic (col. 2, lines 55-65) and oxidized polyethylene wax (col. 2, lines 5-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the oxidized polyethylene wax of Dragner et al. with the styrene-acrylate of Miyake et al. in order to improve water resistance (Dragner et al., col. 2, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 58, Miyake et al. teach a paper (non-metalized blank) (paragraphs [0001], [0007]) having a number of folds (at least one mechanically induced folding pattern) (paragraphs [0010], [0017]) and comprising a combination of wax and styrene-acrylate (a hydrophobic material) (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0025]), the hydrophobic material endowing said paper with a moisture permeability of 40 g/m2 24 hours which reads on Applicant’s claimed water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) between 1 and 20 gr/m2·day, when measured at 38°C and 90% relative humidity, wherein the WVTR is substantially the same throughout the blank surface, including at the folding pattern (paragraph [0037]).
Miyake et al. fail to teach wherein the wax is oxidized polyethylene wax. However, Dragner et al. teach paperboard (non-metalized blank) (col. 1, lines 9-12, 55-65), the paperboard (non-metalized blank) comprising a hydrophobic material comprising styrene-acrylic (col. 2, lines 55-65) and oxidized polyethylene wax (col. 2, lines 5-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the oxidized polyethylene wax of Dragner et al. with the styrene-acrylate of Miyake et al. in order to improve water resistance (Dragner et al., col. 2, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 66, Miyake et al. teach wherein the paper (blank) being in the form of a multilayered structure (paragraph [0017]), wherein the layer of wax and styrene acrylate forms a layer of the multilayered structure (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0017], [0025]).
Miyake et al. fail to teach wherein the wax is oxidized polyethylene wax. However, Dragner et al. teach paperboard (non-metalized blank) (col. 1, lines 9-12, 55-65), the paperboard (non-metalized blank) comprising a hydrophobic material comprising styrene-acrylic (col. 2, lines 55-65) and oxidized polyethylene wax (col. 2, lines 5-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the oxidized polyethylene wax of Dragner et al. with the styrene-acrylate of Miyake et al. in order to improve water resistance (Dragner et al., col. 2, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 74, Miyake et al. teach a packaging material formed of paper (non-metalized packaging material formed of a non-metalized blank) (paragraphs [0001], [0007]), the packaging material having a number of folds (one or more panels or faces foldable along at least one mechanically induced folding pattern) (paragraphs [0010], [0017]), the packaging material having a moisture permeability of 40 g/m2 24 hours which reads on Applicant’s claimed water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) that is substantially constant throughout the material surface including the folding pattern (paragraph [0037]), wherein the paper (blank) comprises a combination of wax and styrene-acrylate (a hydrophobic material) (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0025]).
Miyake et al. fail to teach wherein the wax is oxidized polyethylene wax. However, Dragner et al. teach paperboard (non-metalized blank) (col. 1, lines 9-12, 55-65), the paperboard (non-metalized blank) comprising a hydrophobic material comprising styrene-acrylic (col. 2, lines 55-65) and oxidized polyethylene wax (col. 2, lines 5-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the oxidized polyethylene wax of Dragner et al. with the styrene-acrylate of Miyake et al. in order to improve water resistance (Dragner et al., col. 2, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 75, Miyake et al. teach wherein the paper (paper-based blank) comprises a sheet of a dry pulp composition (paragraph [0027]) and a layer of a combination of wax and styrene-acrylate (a hydrophobic material) (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0025]).
Miyake et al. fail to teach wherein the wax is oxidized polyethylene wax. However, Dragner et al. teach paperboard (non-metalized blank) (col. 1, lines 9-12, 55-65), the paperboard (non-metalized blank) comprising a hydrophobic material comprising styrene-acrylic (col. 2, lines 55-65) and oxidized polyethylene wax (col. 2, lines 5-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the oxidized polyethylene wax of Dragner et al. with the styrene-acrylate of Miyake et al. in order to improve water resistance (Dragner et al., col. 2, lines 5-10).
Claim 76 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al. (JP2005-162213, see machine translated version) in view of Dragner et al. (US Patent No. 5,795,932), in further view of Fike et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0065235).
Miyake et al. and Dragner et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 76, Miyake et al. teach a paper (paper based blank) comprising a layer of a combination of wax and styrene-acrylate (a hydrophobic material) (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0025]).
Miyake et al. fail to teach wherein paper based blank comprises a sheet of a dry pulp composition and the at least one hydrophobic material, wherein the at least one hydrophobic material present in the pulp composition. However, Fike et al. teach a paper (paper based blank) (page 1, paragraph [0007]) comprising a dry pulp composition (page 1, paragraph [0007]) and one or more polymers and waxes (a hydrophobic material) (page 10, paragraph [0091], page 11, paragraph [0092]), wherein the hydrophobic material present in the pulp composition and the at least one hydrophobic material in the layer are different (Miyake et al., paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0025]; Fike et al., page 11, paragraphs [0091], [0092]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use composition of Fike et al. in the paper of Miyake et al. in order to reduce the required amount of additives while maintaining desired physical properties (Fike et al., page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 3/20/2026