DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment filed, 09/17/2026, wherein the Amendment amended claims 4, 6-7, 10, 12, 17, added claims 22-24.
Claims 2, 4-15, 17, 20 and 22-24 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, and entecavir monomaleate monohydrate as the reverse transcriptase inhibitor, in the reply filed on 05/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-11, 17, and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
In the course of the search, the species of reverse transcriptase inhibitor was broadened to include entecavir monohydrate.
Claims 2, 4-7, 12-15, 20, and 22-23 are examined on the merits herein.
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to claims 6 and 12 are sufficient to overcome this objection.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s amendments to claims 4 and 7 are sufficient to overcome these rejections.
REJECTIONS-MAINTAINED, MODIFIED, and NEW
The addition of the new claims has resulted in new rejections.
The same prior art rejections continue to be applied.
Claim Objections
(New) Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, last line, the phrase “or from a range formed by any of the above ratios” should be deleted, since line 4 of the claim already recites a range from “1000:1 to 1:1000.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(New) Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 22 recites the limitation "the entecavir hydrate" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 2 does not recite “entecavir hydrate.”
-In claim 23, the phrase “or a range formed by any of the above values each time” in the last line, renders the claim indefinite. First, it is not clear what “each time” is referencing. It is not clear if there is referencing a single administration or if it is referencing a dosing regimen applied over a specific period of time.
Further claim 23 recites a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) and does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 23 recites the broad recitation “wherein entecavir. . .is administered at a dose of. . .a range formed by any of the above values,” and the claim also recites “wherein entecavir. . .is administered at a dose of 0.001 mg, 0.05 mg. . .5.0 mg” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Slightly modified) Claims 2, 4, 13-15, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0282604 to Cuconati (published 2019, PTO-892 of 06/17/2026) in view of WO 2019/185016 to Zhang (published 2019, IDS of 11/24/2024; US 2021/0017154 (IDS of 11/22/2024) relied upon as an English language translation of WO 2019/185016).
Cuconati teaches a composition comprising a capsid inhibitor and a reverse transcriptase inhibitor (pg. 85, claim 1).
Cuconati teaches entecavir and tenofovir as reverse transcriptase inhibitors (pg. 85, claims 36-37).
Cuconati exemplifies a combination of compound 3 and entecavir ([0357]), wherein compound 3 is a capsid inhibitor ([0057]-[0058]).
Cuconati teaches its compositions for the treatment of Hepatitis B (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, while Cuconati exemplifies a composition comprising a capsid inhibitor and entecavir, it differs from that of instant claim 2 in that it does not teach instant formula I as the capsid inhibitor.
Zhang specifically teaches capsid protein assembly inhibitors for the treatment of hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection (abstract; Original).
Zhang teaches the compound of instant formula I (pgs. 13, 20, 28; pg. 72, claim 19, Original; [0166]-[0169], Examples 11 & 12, Translation), wherein Examples 11 and 12 of Zhang are taught as having “A” anti-HBV activity, which correlates to an EC50 of less than or equal to 10nM, ([0350]).
Zhang exemplifies a method of treating HBV by administering compounds of instant Formula I, i.e., Examples 11 &12 of Zhang ([0361]-[0379], Translation)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select instant formula I of Zhang, as the capsid inhibitor in the composition of Cuconati, to arrive at instant claim 2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Cuconati teaches its capsid inhibitors as those that are capable of inhibiting the expression and/or function of a capsid protein either directly or indirectly,
-Zhang teaches compounds of instant formula I as inhibiting capsid protein assembly for the treatment of hepatitis B ([0069], [0071]-[0082]),
-both Cuconati and Zhang teach capsid inhibitors for the treatment of hepatitis B virus, and
-substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious, see MPEP 2144.06.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at a therapeutically effective method of treating hepatitis B.
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Cuconati teaches entecavir hydrate as a form of entecavir for use in its compositions ([0380]). Cuconati exemplifies the entecavir as entecavir monohydrate ([0381]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches a typical therapeutic dose of its compounds as about 1µg/kg to about 1g/kg, and preferably 0.01-100mg/kg per day, and exemplifies dosage amounts of 5, 20, and 30mg/kg ([0134], [0366], [0371], [0374], Translation); in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, MPEP 2144.05.
The optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 14, Cuconati teaches administration of its compositions in the forms of tablets, capsules, pills, and more solid formulations, which are fixed combinations. Cuconati specifically teaches tablets or capsules in unit dosage form kits ([0251], [0253], [0268], [0274]).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Cuconati teaches kits comprising a first container with one agent contained therein and a second container with a second agent contained therein to administer different dosage forms at different dosage intervals, which is a non-fixed combination ([0274]-[0277]).
Further regarding claim 20, Cuconati teaches its kits as further comprising a package insert ([0273]), instant part “(c);” where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art, MPEP 2112.01.
(Slightly Modified) Claims 5-7, 12, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0282604 to Cuconati (published 2019, PTO-892 of 06/17/2026) in view of WO 2019/185016 to Zhang (published 2019, IDS of 11/24/2024; US 2021/0017154 (IDS of 11/22/2024) relied upon as an English language translation of WO 2019/185016), as applied to claims 2, 4, 13-15, 20, and 22 above, and further in view of FDA Prescribing Information for Baraclude (published 2010, PTO-892 of 06/17/2026).
Cuconati and Zhang are applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 5, while the combination of Cuconati and Zhang teaches a composition comprising a compound of instant formula I and entecavir, it differs from that of instant claim 5 in that it does not teach a dosage ratio of formula I to entecavir.
Cuconati further specifically teaches administering 50 or 100mg/kg to compound 3, a capsid inhibitor ([0331], [0336]).
FDA teaches administering 0.5-1mg of entecavir as tablets and 0.05mg/mL entecavir as an oral solution for the treatment of hepatitis B (pg. 1).
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the dosage and hence the ratio of the dosage amount of the compound of formula I to the dosage amount of entecavir, to arrive at instant claim 5. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Zhang teaches administration of 1µg/kg-1g/kg of its compounds, and exemplifies administering dosage amounts of 5, 20 and 30mg/kg of compounds of formula I for the treatment of hepatitis B,
-FDA teaches administering 0.5-1mg of entecavir as tablets and 0.05mg/mL entecavir for the treatment of hepatitis B, and
-"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification, to predictably arrive at a pharmaceutical composition that is optimized to treat hepatitis B and minimize adverse side effects.
The optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Cuconati exemplifies administration of its composition once or twice a day ([0331], [0336], [0361], [0392]); FDA teaches daily administration (pg. 1); and Zhang teaches daily administration ([0362], [0364]).
Regarding claims 7 and 23, FDA teaches administering 0.5-1mg of entecavir as tablets and 0.05mg/mL entecavir as an oral solution for the treatment of hepatitis B (pg. 1); in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Response to 132 Declaration and Arguments
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 09/17/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 2, 4, 13-15 and 20 based upon the 35 USC 103 as set forth in the last Office action.
The instant declaration provides experimental data for hepatitis B surface antigen when a) 50 mg or 200mg placebo + tenofovir alafenamide fumarate or b) 50 mg or 200 mg Compound 1 + tenofovir and salts thereof, are administered.
On pg. 3 declaration, Declarant states “Compared with administration of the prodrug of tenofovir alone, the combined use of compound of formula I and the prodrug of tenofovir for treating hepatitis B patients. . .has an unexpectedly superior therapeutic effect against hepatitis B virus compared with monotherapies.”
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. The data provided in the Declaration is not sufficient to demonstrate unexpected results. It is respectfully pointed out that Table A provides no data on the “Analysis value,” “Baseline value,” or “Changes” for Compound I. As such, it is not clear if the combination of the tenofovir salt and Compound I produces a synergist effect or an additive effect. Additionally, the data is not commensurate in scope with the instantly claimed invention. Independent claim 2 is directed toward any amount of a compound of formula I or salt or solvate thereof, and any amount of entecavir or a salt or solvate thereof, or any amount of tenofovir or a prodrug or salt thereof. The data in table A a) is silent regarding tenofovir, b) does not recite the amount of tenofovir administered, c) is limited to 50mg or 200mg amounts of a Compound of formula I; and d) is limited to two salt forms of tenofovir, i.e., tenofovir alafenamide fumarate and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate. Lastly, the declaration, provides no comparative data with the closest prior art, US2019/0282604 which exemplifies a combination of entecavir and a structurally similar capsid inhibitor compound to that of instant formula I, for the treatment of hepatitis B.
Applicant is reminded that unexpected results a) are greater than expected results, b) show superiority of a property shared with the prior art, c) exhibit the presence of an unexpected property, and/or d) exhibit the absence of an expected property. MPEP 716.02 additionally states that unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention and provide a comparison with the closest prior art.
Response to Arguments
On pg. 10, Remarks, Applicant argues that Cuconati discloses potentially limitless combinations of classes of compounds to combine and gives no guidance regarding which two classes may be combined, and Applicant specifically argues that “there is no articulated rationale to select class a) and claim c) agents of Cuconati.”
These arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive. As discussed in the above rejection, Cuconati specifically exemplifies a combination of compound 3 and entecavir ([0357]) for the treatment of Hepatitis B, wherein compound 3 is a capsid inhibitor and wherein the compound of instant Formula I is a capsid inhibitor. Thus, the argument is not clear to the examiner since Cuconati exemplifies such a combination for the same instantly claimed use.
On pgs. 10-11, Remarks, Applicant argues that Zhang only teaches a compound of generic Formula I and further argues that Zhang discloses 60 specific compounds, wherein not every one of these compounds was demonstrated to be active in terms of HBV DNA inhibitor activity.
These arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive. As discussed in the above rejection, Zhang specifically exemplifies the compound of instant Formula I as having “A” anti-HBV activity, correlating to an EC50 of less than or equal to 10nM. Thus, Zhang clearly teaches the compound of instant Formula I as active against HBV, i.e., hepatitis B.
On pgs. 11, Remarks, Applicant points to Example 1 and Tables 4-1 and 4-2 of the instant Specification to demonstrate synergistic results.
This data has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. Example 1exemplifies a combination of a compound of formula I and entecavir at different nM concentrations and provides “CI indices for combination therapy” for a molar ratio of a compound of formula I:entecavir of 8 at 50%, 75%, 90% and 95% inhibition rates.
Tables 4-1 and 4-2 exemplify “Detection results of HBV DNA in mouse serum” at specific times after administration for 0.001mg/kg entecavir alone, 1mg/kg or 10mg/kg of a compound of formula I alone, and combinations thereof. However, the data provided in Tables 4-1 and 4-2 demonstrate an additive effect and not a synergistic effect.
Further regarding Example 1 and Tables 4-1 and 4-2, the data provided is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims, even when combined with the data provided in the 132 Declaration. Moreover, the data provides no comparison with the closest prior art, i.e., US2019/0282604 to Cuconati.
It is noted that pgs. 12-14, Remarks, reiterate the information provided by the 132 Declaration, which is fully addressed above.
As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive to overcome the instant rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622