DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on 01/20/2026. Claims 21-40 were previously pending, of which claims 21, 24, 29, 32, 37 - 39 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no new claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 21 - 40 are currently pending and are being examined below.
Response to Arguments
3. With respect to the Applicant’s remarks, see pages 8 - 13, filed on 01/20/2026; Applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
4. With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art of record does not appear to disclose the limitation “spatial partitioning of the vehicle data into data subsets,…” as stated in claim 1. However, new application of prior art will have to be applied and Stephan will be withdrawn. Therefore, this is a 2nd non-final and thus requires new analysis and new application of prior art and further search found that Balu did disclose this limitation as mapped in the non-final office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 24 - 25, 27, 29 – 37, & 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20200019585A1 (hereinafter, “Balu”).
7. Regarding claim 21, 34 - 35, Balu discloses a method for dynamic spatial anonymization of vehicle data in a cloud environment, the method comprising [0043], [0180]: Balu teaches an anonymity controller (121) that modifies a set of trajectory data to provide anonymization to vehicles (124) [0043]. Cloud computing is done which implies that a cloud environment is utilized [0180].
collecting vehicle data [0043]; Data from the vehicle is received.
spatial partitioning of the vehicle data into data subsets, dynamically associated with different geographical areas of various sizes and comprising a maximal amount of records within each data subset, using an iterative splitting of incoming sets of records into geographical areas having different resolution levels ([0056], [0058], [0061] – [0062], [0079] – [0081], [0086] – [0087], [0096] Fig. 5); Balu teaches using spatial partitioning on vehicle data related to model trajectory data by creating partitions of a trajectory path into a sequence of points. This data is then grouped into segments based on the neighborhood statistics which is considered data being grouped into subsets [0058]. Figure 5 shows the geographic spacing for a clustering technique that is partition based for trajectory data. Each sparing of the geographic areas is different therefore meaning these graphical areas are of various sizes [0061]. Clusters with a counter greater than a threshold are retained. Geographic areas with less clusters than a count threshold are removed [0086] – [0087]. This constitutes as having a maximal amount of records within each data subset, each data subset being regions with clusters in geographic areas. Balu teaches performing spatial partitioning of records containing coordinates [0062] by assigning the records to geographic areas associated with a particular resolution level. This begins by processing clusters at an initial geographic resolution and determines whether a geographic area contains more than a threshold number of clusters. When a geographic area contains more than the permitted number of clusters, Balu teaches splitting that geographic area into smaller geographic areas corresponding to a higher resolution level and reassigning the clusters to the resulting geographic areas [0079] – [0081]. Balu further teaches that this process is repeatedly iteratively [0056], [0096]. This increases the resolution and subdividing geographic areas until each resulting geographic area contains no more than the permitted number of clusters or until a maximum threshold (resolution) level is reached.
spatial aggregation of the vehicle data within the data subsets, providing two level aggregation:
aggregation of vehicle data, coming from a single vehicle, to a corresponding data point; and ([0061] – [0063] Fig. 5) Balu teaches aggregating vehicle data from a single vehicle into a corresponding sampled point (51) (data point). A vehicle collects multiple sensor measurements and location data over a short time interval while the vehicle is moving along its path. Instead of keeping every measurement. The system will combine these multiple measurements from the same vehicle into one representative sampled point (51) that summarizes the vehicle’s data for that time period.
aggregation of data points, coming from a group of vehicles comprising a particular number of vehicles, to a spatial aggregated data set ([0061] – [0063] Fig. 5). Balu also teaches aggregation of vehicle data coming from multiple vehicles into a spatial aggregated dataset. After vehicle data from individual vehicles is first aggregated into corresponding sampled points (51), these sampled points (51) are then grouped based on geographic proximity of the vehicles. The grouped vehicle sampled points (51) from multiple vehicles are subsequently aggregated together to form a spatial aggregated dataset called partition-based clustering or K-means clustering. This further indicates that these spatial aggregated datasets represent combined information from a plurality of vehicles within the same area.
8. Regarding claims 24, Balu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the vehicle data will be collected periodically with a time interval,
wherein the time interval is chosen depending on vehicle service, sensor type, signal source and/or data type, and/or
wherein spatial partitioning is used for reducing the amount of records intended to be anonymized in one execution, and/or
wherein the spatial aggregation is used for anonymization of the vehicle data within a corresponding data subset and/or within an associated geographical area ([0039], [0059] Fig. 6). As mentioned above in claim 21, Balu teaches that spatial aggregation is used for anonymization of vehicle data within a corresponding data subset or associated geographical area [0059]. Balu describes spatially partitioning collected vehicle data into sampled points (51) associated with different geographical areas as shown in figure 5. Spatial aggregation such as partition-based clustering or K-means clustering is then performed on the vehicle data within those sampled points (51). Balu further explains that the spatial aggregation combines vehicle data from multiple vehicles within the same geographic area to produce spatial aggregated data subsets called centroids (Fig. 6). All this is done to prevent identification of vehicle trajectories [0039]. Thus, Balu teaches using spatial aggregation within geographic areas to anonymize vehicle data.
9. Regarding claims 25 & 40, Balu teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the spatial aggregation is provided using the k-anonymity methodology, and/or ([0039], [0061] – [0063] Fig. 5) Balu teaches aggregating vehicle data from a single vehicle into a corresponding sampled point (51) (data point). A vehicle collects multiple sensor measurements and location data over a short time interval while the vehicle is moving along its path. Instead of keeping every measurement. The system will combine these multiple measurements from the same vehicle into one representative sampled point (51) that summarizes the vehicle’s data for that time period [0061] – [0063]. Once these sampled points (51) are within a geographic area, a clustering technique such as K-means clustering is used so that each aggregated region contains at least K contributing vehicles. The aggregation ensures that any individual vehicle’s data cannot be distinguished from at least K-1 other vehicles within the same group [0039]. Therefore, Balu satisfies the K-anonymity requirement.
10. Regarding claim 27, Balu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the vehicle data comprise sensor data and spatial data, and/or
wherein sensor data comprise one or more of environmental data, temperature values, humidity values, rain intensity, and slipping coefficient, wherein a data point coming from a single vehicle comprises aggregated sensor data and aggregated spatial data for the single vehicle, and/or
wherein a spatial aggregated data set coming from a group of vehicles comprises aggregated sensor data and aggregated spatial data for the group of vehicles ([0061] – [0063] Fig. 5). Balu also teaches aggregation of vehicle data coming from multiple vehicles into a spatial aggregated dataset. After vehicle data from individual vehicles is first aggregated into corresponding sampled points (51), these sampled points (51) are then grouped based on geographic proximity of the vehicles. The grouped vehicle sampled points (51) from multiple vehicles are subsequently aggregated together to form a spatial aggregated dataset called partition-based clustering or K-means clustering. This further indicates that these spatial aggregated datasets represent combined information from a plurality of vehicles within the same area.
11. Regarding claim 29, Balu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein vehicle data within a data point will be highlighted in order to detect environmental effects in restricted areas within a particular geographical area [0044] – [0045], [0140]. Balu specifically teaches receiving sensor data from vehicles, where the sensor data includes environmental condition information surrounding the vehicle in which the vehicle could be in a particular geographic location. The system will process the collected sensor data and determine environmental conditions at corresponding locations based on the vehicle sensor readings from the probe on the vehicle [0044] – [0045]. Due to each sensor reading being associated with a location and time, the system is able to evaluate environmental conditions within a particular geographic region using the collected vehicle data.
12. Regarding claim 30, Balu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the spatial aggregation is performed using different aggregation methodologies for different vehicle services, sensor types, signal sources and/or data types, and/or [0040] The group size of the vehicles is considered a data type. When it is a single vehicle, they are considered a sample point (51) which requires a different methodology of aggregation. When all these sample points (51) are bundled together, Balu performs a methodology called partition-based clustering or K-means clustering. Therefore, Balu teaches performing different aggregation methodologies for single vehicles and a group of vehicles.
wherein a particular aggregation methodology is chosen depending on vehicle service, sensor type, signal source and/or data type.
13. Regarding claim 31, Balu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the spatial partitioning is provided using a method of geospatial indexing [0039] – [0040]. Balu doesn’t explicitly recite “geospatial indexing”, but it does disclose dividing a map into regions/tiles by incorporating boundaries (52). This is technically a geospatial indexing style of spatial partitioning [18/697,690 defines Geospatial Indexing as “Geospatial indexing is the process of partitioning areas of the earth into identifiable grid cells.].
14. Regarding claim 32, Balu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the spatial partitioning is provided using an iterative splitting of incoming sets of records into geographical areas having different resolution levels, and/or [0062], [0079] – [0081]. Balu doesn’t explicitly recite “geospatial indexing”, but it does disclose dividing a map into regions/tiles by incorporating boundaries (52). This is technically a geospatial indexing style of spatial partitioning. Functionally, this style of dividing a map into regions/tiles is considered iterative splitting of incoming data sets of records into geographical areas. Balu teaches performing spatial partitioning of records containing coordinates [0062] by assigning the records to geographic areas associated with a particular resolution level. This begins by processing clusters at an initial geographic resolution and determines whether a geographic area contains more than a threshold number of clusters. When a geographic area contains more than the permitted number of clusters, Balu teaches splitting that geographic area into smaller geographic areas corresponding to a higher resolution level and reassigning the clusters to the resulting geographic areas [0079] – [0081]. Therefore, each geographic area has a different resolution level.
wherein the spatial partitioning is provided until a data subset comprise an amount of records lower than the maximal amount of records.
15. Regarding claim 33, Balu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the maximal amount of records will be chosen according to computational capacity of a performing device [0055] – [0056], [0068]. Balu teaches spatially partitioning collected vehicle data into sampled points (51) associated with geographic areas while limiting each subset to a threshold [0068] (maximal amount of records). Balu further explains that the spatial partitioning may continue until each subset difference is greater than a threshold to address computational constraints of the performing device [0055] – [0056].
16. Regarding claim 34 specifically, Balu discloses a non-transitory storage medium comprising instructions which, when the instructions are executed by a computer, cause the computer to conduct [0044], [0143], [0147] – [0148]: Balu teaches multiple different types of processors that help the system process different types of information and provide instructions to the components within the system.
17. Regarding claim 35 specifically, Balu discloses a device, comprising:
memory in which program code is stored, and
a processor configured to execute the program code, wherein executing the program code causes the processor to conduct [0048], [0057], [0088]: Balu teaches multiple different types of memories that help the system process and keep data stored. Therefore, memories that comprise of instructions are present in Balu.
18. Regarding claim 36, Balu discloses the device claim 35, wherein the memory comprises a database for spatial aggregated data sets [0043], [0061]. A geographic database (123) is present which contains the trajectory data from vehicles that is spatially aggregated.
19. Regarding claim 37, Balu discloses the device claim 35, wherein the processor is configured to provide vehicle services, comprising navigation services [0041], map services and/or forecast services etc., to participating vehicles using the aggregated data sets, and/or [0041], [0092] - [0093] Data from the vehicle sensors can be used in applications such as navigational services or mapping services. Balu teaches that after collecting, spatially partitioning, and spatially aggregating vehicle data into anonymized aggregated data sets, the computing device may be configured to provide vehicle services such as navigation services and map services [0092] - [0093].
wherein the processor is configured to provide different vehicle services depending on service type, signal source and/or data type.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 – 23, 38 - 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200019585A1 (hereinafter, “Balu”), and further in view of NPL - Anonymous Usage of Location-Based Services Through Spatial and Temporal Cloaking (hereinafter, “Gruteser”).
22. Regarding claim 22, Balu does not explicitly teach the method of claim 21, wherein the method additionally comprises modifying the spatial aggregated data sets in order to reduce overlapping of the spatial aggregated data sets.
However, Gruteser in the same field of endeavor, teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the method additionally comprises modifying the spatial aggregated data sets in order to reduce overlapping of the spatial aggregated data sets (8.3 Para. 6). Gruteser uses a cloaking algorithm in order to prevent overlapping requests from happening. The tuples mentioned could be the spatial aggregated data sets because these tuples are data sets related to location of the vehicles which is in line with what spatial information is. The BRI of reduce or reduction also entails prevention. Preventing is a much more narrower implementation due to the prevention of overlapping requests being a more extreme reduction.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application with a reasonable expectation of success, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Balu with the teachings of Gruteser, to reduce overlapping of spatial data in order to further prevent inaccurate calculations.
23. Regarding claim 23, Balu discloses the method of claim 22, wherein modification of the spatial aggregated data sets will be performed randomly, and/or
wherein modification of the spatial aggregated data sets will be performed through changing the size [0063], the shape and/or the location of the corresponding groups of vehicles. Balu teaches that the clustering technique may also include modifications. These modifications may be spatial properties or other considerations. The modification of the spatial properties implies changing the size, shape, or location of the groups of the K members in that cluster in order to improve anonymization.
24. Regarding claim 38, Balu discloses wherein the vehicle data will be collected periodically with a time interval,
wherein the time interval is chosen depending on vehicle service, sensor type, signal source and/or data type, and/or
wherein spatial partitioning is used for reducing the amount of records intended to be anonymized in one execution, and/or
wherein the spatial aggregation is used for anonymization of the vehicle data within a corresponding data subset and/or within an associated geographical area ([0039], [0059] Fig. 6). As mentioned above in claim 21, Balu teaches that spatial aggregation is used for anonymization of vehicle data within a corresponding data subset or associated geographical area [0059]. Balu describes spatially partitioning collected vehicle data into sampled points (51) associated with different geographical areas as shown in figure 5. Spatial aggregation such as partition-based clustering or K-means clustering is then performed on the vehicle data within those sampled points (51). Balu further explains that the spatial aggregation combines vehicle data from multiple vehicles within the same geographic area to produce spatial aggregated data subsets called centroids (Fig. 6). All this is done to prevent identification of vehicle trajectories [0039]. Thus, Balu teaches using spatial aggregation within geographic areas to anonymize vehicle data.
25. Regarding claim 39, Balu discloses wherein the vehicle data will be collected periodically with a time interval,
wherein the time interval is chosen depending on vehicle service, sensor type, signal source and/or data type, and/or
wherein spatial partitioning is used for reducing the amount of records intended to be anonymized in one execution, and/or
wherein the spatial aggregation is used for anonymization of the vehicle data within a corresponding data subset and/or within an associated geographical area ([0039], [0059] Fig. 6). As mentioned above in claim 21, Balu teaches that spatial aggregation is used for anonymization of vehicle data within a corresponding data subset or associated geographical area [0059]. Balu describes spatially partitioning collected vehicle data into sampled points (51) associated with different geographical areas as shown in figure 5. Spatial aggregation such as partition-based clustering or K-means clustering is then performed on the vehicle data within those sampled points (51). Balu further explains that the spatial aggregation combines vehicle data from multiple vehicles within the same geographic area to produce spatial aggregated data subsets called centroids (Fig. 6). All this is done to prevent identification of vehicle trajectories [0039]. Thus, Balu teaches using spatial aggregation within geographic areas to anonymize vehicle data.
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200019585A1 (hereinafter, “Balu”), and further in view of US20190325350A1 (hereinafter, “Achilles”).
27. Regarding claim 26, Balu teaches the method of claim 21, wherein a spatial aggregated data set multiply aggregates data points coming from different vehicles,… ([0061] – [0063] Fig. 5). Balu also teaches aggregation of vehicle data coming from multiple vehicles into a spatial aggregated dataset. After vehicle data from individual vehicles is first aggregated into corresponding sampled points (51), these sampled points (51) are then grouped based on geographic proximity of the vehicles. The grouped vehicle sampled points (51) from multiple vehicles are subsequently aggregated together to form a spatial aggregated dataset called partition-based clustering or K-means clustering. This further indicates that these spatial aggregated datasets represent combined information from a plurality of vehicles within the same area.
Balu does not explicitly teach …wherein some vehicles will be arranged to more than one group.
However, Achilles teaches …wherein some vehicles will be arranged to more than one group [0043]. Achilles teaches on aggregated data known as clusters which is vehicle related data. Nodes get formed into clusters and some nodes may belong to more than one cluster. Some vehicles, may be a node, may get arranged to more than one group.
Balu and Achilles are analogous art because Balu teaches on having spatial aggregated data that can come from different vehicles while Achilles teaches on having nodes that are vehicle related nodes of information. These nodes get arranged into clusters and some nodes may get arranged into more than one cluster.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Balu and Achilles, to modify the teachings of the combination of Balu to include the teachings of Achilles because this will create more accurate data instead of limiting information to only one group.
Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200019585A1 (hereinafter, “Balu”), and further in view of US20180165586A1 (hereinafter, “Saxena”).
29. Regarding claim 28, Balu does not explicitly teach the method of claim 21, wherein vehicle data within a data point will be filtered in order to exclude unusual measurements.
However, Saxena in the same field of endeavor, teaches the method of claim 21, wherein vehicle data within a data point will be filtered in order to exclude unusual measurements [0039], [0044]. Unusual measurements can be interpreted broadly. The filtering of data that isn’t within the norm can be considered unusual. Saxena implements a collaborative filtering (206) filter. This filter can be used to filter large types of data sets, can also be known as a data point, which can include data that is unusual. That unusual data will be excluded by the filter once this collaborative filtering (206) is configured to do so.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application with a reasonable expectation of success, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Balu with the teachings of Saxena, to have more accurate data and exclude data that isn’t pertinent to the anonymization.
Conclusion
/DAVID MESQUITI OVALLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669