DETAILED ACTION
______________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 05/09/2024 have been considered by the examiner to the extent permitted by 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
______________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 112
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant, regards as the invention.
______________________________
Claim 9
Analysis
Claim 9 depends from claim 8. Claim 8 depends from claim 1 and recites that the first traction cable is rectilinear along the second segment of the first circulation path. Claim 9 then recites "the second traction cable" and "the second circulation path." However, neither claim 8 nor claim 1 introduces a second traction cable or a second circulation path. The scope of claim 9 is therefore unclear because it is not apparent whether claim 9 is intended to depend from a claim that introduces the second traction cable and second circulation path.
Suggested Correction
Applicant may amend claim 9 to depend from claim 7, or from another claim that introduces the second traction cable and second circulation path, if that is the intended dependency.
______________________________
Claim 20
Analysis
Claim 20 recites "Transport facility claim 19" rather than clearly reciting a transport facility according to claim 19. Because the dependency phrase omits the relationship between the transport facility and claim 19, the claim should be clarified to identify the intended preceding claim and the limitations incorporated into claim 20.
Suggested Correction
Applicant may amend the dependency to recite "The transport facility according to claim 19," if that is the intended dependency.
______________________________
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1 - JP H11-171008 A to Kyoei KK, published June 29, 1999. Reference 1 is used as the primary reference.
Reference 2 - Cathiard, US 5,172,640 A, Overhead Cable Transport Installation Having Two Successive Sections, issued December 22, 1992.
Reference 3 - Richard, US 2018/0194371 A1, Device for Coupling a Vehicle to a Traction Cable, Vehicle Provided with Such a Device, and Transport Installation by Traction Cable Including Such a Vehicle, published July 12, 2018.
______________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 102
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
______________________________
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 1
1. Transport facility, having at least a first traction cable which describes a first closed loop and is configured to be driven by at least one first drive means at a nominal linear speed, and having at least one vehicle having a coupling device which is configured to couple the vehicle to the first traction cable, the transport facility comprising at least a first circulation path having at least a first segment comprising at least one travel path extending along the first traction cable, the travel path having at least one curvature, the vehicle having a set of carrying and guiding wheels which are configured to travel on the travel path at the nominal linear speed, the first circulation path comprising at least a second segment, the transport facility being configured such that the vehicle is coupled to the first traction cable and pulled by the first traction cable at the nominal linear speed in order to travel over the first segment and the second segment, the transport facility configured so that the first traction cable fully carries the vehicle and drives it at the nominal linear speed along the second segment.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches an automatic circulating cableway transport facility in which rope 1 is the traction cable and carrier 2 is the vehicle. Rope 1 forms a closed circulating path between drive station building 4 and terminal station building 5, with main drive 6, reduction gear 8, and tensioning device 9 driving and tensioning rope 1. The rope therefore corresponds to the claimed first traction cable describing a first closed loop and being driven by first drive means at nominal linear speed.
Reference 1 teaches that carrier 2 is coupled to rope 1 by gripping/coupling device 10. Grip/release lever 10A operates the gripping device, and carrier 2 travels with rope 1 during ordinary automatic circulating cableway travel. Reference 1 therefore teaches the claimed vehicle having a coupling device configured to couple the vehicle to the first traction cable and being pulled at the nominal linear speed.
Reference 1 teaches a first circulation path having a first segment in which carrier 2 is supported and guided by single rail/monorail rail 3. The rail path includes curved portions of the installation, and carrier 2 has suspension traveling wheels 12 that run on rail 3. The rail 3 and wheels 12 therefore correspond to the travel path having curvature and the set of carrying and guiding wheels configured to travel on the travel path.
Reference 1 also teaches a second segment in which carrier 2 runs as an ordinary automatic circulating cableway vehicle. In that segment, rope 1 is gripped by gripping device 10, the carrier travels at the same speed as rope 1, and rope 1 performs the carrying and driving function for the carrier. Thus, Reference 1 teaches the transport facility configured so that the first traction cable fully carries carrier 2 and drives it at the nominal linear speed along the second segment.
______________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 8
8. Transport facility according to claim 1, wherein the first traction cable is rectilinear along the second segment of the first circulation path.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches the transport facility of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. Reference 1 further teaches ordinary automatic circulating cableway travel along route portions between the drive station building 4 and terminal station building 5. Along those ordinary cableway portions, rope 1 extends in a straight/rectilinear run and carrier 2 is carried and driven by rope 1 through gripping device 10. Therefore, Reference 1 teaches the first traction cable being rectilinear along the second segment of the first circulation path.
______________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 10
10. Transport facility according to claim 1, further comprising guiding means which are configured to guide the first traction cable along the travel path of the first segment of the first circulation path.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches the transport facility of claim 1. Reference 1 further teaches rope sheave 13, guide rope/sheave 17, and pressing/hold-down rope/sheave 18. These structures guide rope 1 along the region in which carrier 2 transitions between the rail-guided portion and the ordinary cableway portion, including the travel path associated with rail 3 and suspension traveling wheels 12. The rope sheaves therefore correspond to guiding means configured to guide the first traction cable along the travel path of the first segment.
______________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 11
11. Transport facility according to claim 10, wherein the guiding means comprise vertical guiding means and horizontal guiding means.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches the guiding means of claim 10. Reference 1 further teaches guide rope/sheave 17 and pressing/hold-down rope/sheave 18 arranged to control the position of rope 1 as carrier 2 moves through the rail-guided region. Guide rope/sheave 17 constrains the lateral course of rope 1, while pressing/hold-down rope/sheave 18 constrains the vertical position of rope 1. Together with rope sheave 13, these structures teach guiding means having vertical guiding means and horizontal guiding means for rope 1.
______________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 13
13. Transport facility according to claim 1, wherein the first traction cable is the only cable of the vehicle along the first circulation path.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches the transport facility of claim 1. Reference 1 further teaches an automatic circulating cableway using rope 1 as the cable gripped by gripping/coupling device 10 to carry and drive carrier 2. In the ordinary cableway portions of the first circulation path, carrier 2 is carried and driven by rope 1 without a separate second driving cable. Rope 1 is therefore the only cable of the vehicle along the first circulation path.
______________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 15
15. Transport facility according to claim 1, wherein a first segment(s) and a second segment(s) of the first circulation path are placed in series.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches the transport facility of claim 1. Reference 1 teaches that carrier 2 travels successively through rail-guided portions associated with rail 3 and ordinary automatic circulating cableway portions associated with rope 1. The first segment and second segment are therefore arranged in series along the first circulation path so that the carrier passes from one segment to the next during normal circulation.
______________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 16
16. Method for using a transport facility according to claim 1, comprising: a first step of circulating the vehicle along the first segment during which the set of carrying wheels for guiding the vehicle travels on the travel path, the vehicle being driven by the traction cable at the nominal linear speed; and a second step of circulating the vehicle along the second segment during which the first traction cable fully carries the vehicle and drives it at the nominal linear speed along the second segment.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches using the transport facility of claim 1. In a first operating step, carrier 2 circulates along the rail-guided first segment, and suspension traveling wheels 12 travel on rail 3 while carrier 2 is driven by rope 1 at the rope speed. In a second operating step, carrier 2 circulates along the ordinary cableway second segment, in which rope 1 is gripped by gripping/coupling device 10 and fully carries and drives carrier 2 at nominal linear speed. Reference 1 therefore teaches the claimed method steps.
______________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 103
______________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 2
2. Transport facility according to claim 1, comprising at least a second traction cable which describes a second closed loop and is configured to be driven by at least one second drive means at the nominal linear speed, the transport facility comprising at least a second circulation path and being configured so that the vehicles pass from the first circulation path to the second circulation path at least one transition region, and is configured such that the vehicle is coupled to the second traction cable and pulled by the second traction cable at the nominal linear speed in order to travel over at least part of the second circulation path.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches the transport facility of claim 1 as discussed above. Reference 2 teaches an overhead cable transport installation having two successive sections. Reference 2 teaches first endless cable loop 18 and second endless cable loop 19. Reference 2 also teaches technical relay 20 between the two loops, bull wheels 21 and 22, transfer rails 23 and 24, transmission shaft 27, friction sheaves/pneumatic wheels 28, grip 33, motor 47, and tensioning device 48.
Reference 2 teaches that cabins 17 transfer between first cable loop 18 and second cable loop 19 through technical relay 20. Reference 2 further teaches same-speed transfer through the relay so that a cabin is not materially braked or accelerated when passing from one loop to the other. Applying Reference 2's two-loop relay arrangement to Reference 1's cableway transport facility yields a second traction cable describing a second closed loop, second drive means, a second circulation path, a transition region, and a vehicle coupled to and pulled by the second traction cable at nominal linear speed.
Motivation for Claim 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the two-loop successive-section arrangement of Reference 2 with the automatic circulating cableway of Reference 1 in order to extend the transport route beyond a single rope loop while preserving same-speed vehicle transfer through a technical relay. The combination makes sense because both references address cableway transport of carriers/vehicles, and Reference 2's relay 20, loops 18 and 19, and transfer rails 23 and 24 provide a predictable way to move the same vehicle between successive traction-cable loops without stopping the transport operation.
______________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 3
3. Transport facility according to claim 2, wherein the second circulation path has at least a first segment comprising at least one travel path extending along the second traction cable, the travel path of the first segment having at least one curvature, the carrying and guiding wheels of the vehicle being configured to travel on the travel path at the nominal linear speed.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches a rail-guided first segment having rail 3 with curvature and suspension traveling wheels 12 on carrier 2. Reference 2 teaches a second cable loop 19 and a second successive section reached through technical relay 20. Applying the curved rail-guided segment arrangement of Reference 1 to the second circulation path of Reference 2 provides vehicle guidance on second loop 19 in the same manner as the vehicle guidance on the first loop. The combined system therefore teaches the second circulation path having a first segment with a travel path extending along the second traction cable, the travel path having curvature, and carrying/guiding wheels traveling on that path at nominal linear speed.
Motivation for Claim 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the second circulation path with the same type of curved wheel-guided segment taught by Reference 1 because Reference 2 transfers the vehicle to a second loop and the vehicle still must be supported and guided through curved or station/relay path portions after transfer. Reusing the same rail 3 and wheel 12 guidance concept on the second loop would provide predictable vehicle stability and route flexibility in the second section.
______________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 4
4. Transport facility according to claim 2, wherein the transition region comprises a continuous portion of a preferably rectilinear transition travel path extending from a travel path portion of the first segment of the first circulation path to a travel path portion of the first segment of the second circulation path.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches a first circulation path having a rail-guided first segment and an ordinary cableway second segment. Reference 2 teaches technical relay 20, transfer rails 23 and 24, and same-speed transfer between first cable loop 18 and second cable loop 19. Transfer rails 23 and 24 define a guided transition path through technical relay 20. The rails extend between the path associated with the first cable loop and the path associated with the second cable loop so that the vehicle can move continuously from one successive section to the next. Therefore, the combined teachings provide a continuous transition travel path extending from a travel path portion of the first circulation path to a travel path portion of the second circulation path.
Motivation for Claim 4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the transition region as a continuous, preferably rectilinear travel path using the transfer-rail concept of Reference 2 because the purpose of technical relay 20 is to move the vehicle smoothly between cable loops 18 and 19. A continuous guided path reduces alignment problems, avoids abrupt vehicle motion, and cooperates with Reference 1's rail-guided vehicle structure.
______________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 5
5. Transport facility according to claims 2 to 4, wherein the coupling device of the vehicle comprises disengaging means for releasing the vehicle from the traction cable to which it is coupled to the first traction cable and then to couple the vehicle to the second traction cable.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches gripping/coupling device 10 and grip/release lever 10A for coupling carrier 2 to rope 1 and releasing carrier 2 from rope 1. Reference 2 teaches grip 33 used with cabins 17 in an installation having first cable loop 18, second cable loop 19, and technical relay 20. In Reference 2, the vehicle must transition between loops through relay 20. The combined system therefore includes disengaging means for releasing the vehicle from the first traction cable and then coupling the vehicle to the second traction cable.
Motivation for Claim 5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the release and coupling operation of Reference 1's gripping device 10 with Reference 2's two-loop relay system because a vehicle cannot pass from first cable loop 18 to second cable loop 19 unless it is released from one cable and coupled to the next. The combination makes practical sense because both references rely on detachable cableway vehicles, and the release/recoupling function is the ordinary mechanical interface needed for same-speed transfer.
______________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 6
6. Transport facility according to claim 5, further comprising at least one embarking and/or disembarking station, the disengaging means being in a disengaged position when the vehicle is in an embarking and/or disembarking position in the embarking and/or disembarking station.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches boarding place 23 and station buildings 4 and 5 in the cableway installation. Reference 1 also teaches grip/release lever 10A for release of gripping/coupling device 10. Reference 2 teaches embarking/disembarking areas 45 and a cableway installation in which cabins 17 pass through station/relay regions while controlled by rails, grips, and transfer mechanisms. A person of ordinary skill would have understood the vehicle to be disengaged from the moving cable in the station or loading/unloading position when station handling is needed. The combined system therefore teaches an embarking/disembarking station and a disengaged position of the coupling/disengaging means when the vehicle is in the embarking/disembarking position.
Motivation for Claim 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to place the disengaging means in a disengaged position at an embarking or disembarking station because passenger loading and unloading in cableway stations is commonly performed while the carrier is controlled by station/rail mechanisms rather than pulled directly by the moving line cable. The arrangement works naturally with Reference 1's boarding place 23 and grip/release lever 10A and with Reference 2's station/relay handling of cabins 17.
______________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 7
7. Transport facility according to claim 2, wherein the second circulation path comprises at least a second segment, the transport facility being configured such that the vehicle is coupled to the second traction cable and pulled by the second traction cable at the nominal linear speed in order to travel over the first segment and the second segment, the transport facility being configured such that the second traction cable fully carries the vehicle and drives it at the nominal linear speed along the second segment.
Analysis
Reference 2 teaches second cable loop 19 and the second successive transport section. Reference 1 teaches that rope 1 fully carries and drives carrier 2 in the ordinary automatic circulating cableway segment. Applying Reference 1's rope-carried ordinary cableway segment to Reference 2's second cable loop 19 yields a second circulation path having a first guided segment and a second cable-carried segment. In that combined second section, the vehicle is coupled to second cable loop 19, pulled at nominal linear speed, and fully carried and driven by the second traction cable along the second segment.
Motivation for Claim 7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the second loop of Reference 2 with the same cable-carried second segment taught by Reference 1 because Reference 2's second cable loop 19 is a successive transport section for the same type of cableway vehicle. Using the same cable-carrying and cable-driving principle on both loops would simplify vehicle support, maintain consistent operating speed, and provide predictable operation after transfer through technical relay 20.
______________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 9
9. Transport facility according to claim 8, wherein the second traction cable is rectilinear along the second segment of the second circulation path.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches claim 8's rectilinear first traction cable along the second segment of the first circulation path. Reference 2 teaches second cable loop 19 in a second successive section. Reference 2 also teaches transfer through technical relay 20 and route portions in which cabins 17 are carried by the second loop after transfer. Applying Reference 1's rectilinear ordinary cableway segment to Reference 2's second loop yields a second traction cable that is rectilinear along the second segment of the second circulation path.
Motivation for Claim 9
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide a rectilinear second segment on the second traction cable of Reference 2 because straight cable runs simplify cable support, reduce guide complexity, and provide stable vehicle travel after the vehicle exits the transition/relay region. The reason for the combination is the same practical cableway routing reason that supports Reference 1's straight ordinary cableway portions.
______________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3.
Claim 12
12. Transport facility according to claim 1, wherein the travel path comprises two rails spaced apart in a regular manner.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches the transport facility of claim 1 and a rail-guided travel path for carrier 2. Reference 3 teaches a traction-cable transport installation having support rails 6 and 7 on which vehicles 3-5 are placed. Support rails 6 and 7 are two rails spaced apart in a regular manner for supporting and guiding the vehicles. Incorporating the two-rail support arrangement of Reference 3 into the rail-guided segment of Reference 1 yields the claimed travel path comprising two rails spaced apart in a regular manner.
Motivation for Claim 12
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the two support rails 6 and 7 of Reference 3 in the rail-guided path of Reference 1 because both references concern traction-cable transport vehicles that need stable wheel-supported guidance along selected route portions. A regularly spaced two-rail path predictably improves lateral stability and load distribution compared with relying on a single rail arrangement, while preserving Reference 1's cableway vehicle and cable-carrying operation.
______________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 14
14. Transport facility according to claim 2, wherein the second traction cable is the only cable of the vehicle along the second circulation path.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches rope 1 as the only cable carrying and driving carrier 2 along the ordinary cableway portion of the first circulation path. Reference 2 teaches second cable loop 19 and the second circulation path of a two-loop transport installation. Applying Reference 1's single-cable carrying/traction arrangement to Reference 2's second loop yields a second traction cable that is the only cable of the vehicle along the second circulation path.
Motivation for Claim 14
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to make the second traction cable of Reference 2 the only cable of the vehicle along the second circulation path because Reference 1 teaches that a single rope can provide both carrying and driving functions for the vehicle. Using that same single-cable approach on the second loop would reduce the number of cables, simplify the installation, and maintain consistent vehicle operation across both cable loops.
______________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 17
17. Transport facility according to claim 3, wherein the transition region comprises a continuous portion of a preferably rectilinear transition travel path extending from a travel path portion of the first segment of the first circulation path to a travel path portion of the first segment of the second circulation path.
Analysis
Claim 17 depends from claim 3 and therefore includes the second circulation path and curved first segment addressed above. Reference 2 teaches technical relay 20 and transfer rails 23 and 24 between first cable loop 18 and second cable loop 19. Those transfer rails define a continuous guided transition path from the first successive section to the second successive section. In the combined system, the transfer rails connect the first guided segment of the first circulation path to the first guided segment of the second circulation path.
Motivation for Claim 17
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2's continuous transfer rails 23 and 24 as the transition travel path between the first and second guided segments because technical relay 20 is specifically provided to transfer the vehicle between successive cable loops. A continuous preferably rectilinear path would maintain alignment, reduce shock, and allow the vehicle wheels/guides of Reference 1 to move predictably through the transition.
______________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 18
18. Transport facility according to claim 17, wherein the coupling device of the vehicle comprises disengaging means for releasing the vehicle from the traction cable to which it is coupled to the first traction cable and then to couple the vehicle to the second traction cable.
Analysis
Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and therefore inherits the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 3 and 17. Reference 1 teaches gripping/coupling device 10 and grip/release lever 10A for releasing and gripping rope 1. Reference 2 teaches first cable loop 18, second cable loop 19, technical relay 20, and grip 33. In order for cabins 17 to transfer between cable loops at technical relay 20, the vehicle must be released from one cable loop and coupled to the next. The combined system therefore teaches the claimed disengaging means.
Motivation for Claim 18
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the coupling device with disengaging means in the combined Reference 1 and Reference 2 system because transfer from cable loop 18 to cable loop 19 requires the vehicle to be mechanically released from the first moving cable and mechanically coupled to the second moving cable. This is a direct mechanical consequence of combining Reference 1's releasable grip 10/10A with Reference 2's two-loop relay 20.
______________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 19
19. Transport facility according to claim 18, wherein the second circulation path comprises at least a second segment, the transport facility being configured such that the vehicle is coupled to the second traction cable and pulled by the second traction cable at the nominal linear speed in order to travel over the first segment and the second segment, the transport facility being configured such that the second traction cable fully carries the vehicle and drives it at the nominal linear speed along the second segment.
Analysis
Claim 19 depends from claim 18 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 3, 17, and 18. Reference 2 teaches second cable loop 19 and a second successive transport section. Reference 1 teaches that rope 1 fully carries and drives carrier 2 in the ordinary automatic circulating cableway segment. Applying Reference 1's cable-carried segment to Reference 2's second loop provides a second circulation path having a second segment in which the vehicle is coupled to the second traction cable, pulled at nominal linear speed, and fully carried and driven by the second traction cable.
Motivation for Claim 19
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure Reference 2's second cable loop 19 with the same full carrying-and-driving function taught by Reference 1 because the second loop is another cableway section for the same vehicle after relay transfer. The combination provides a consistent operating mode on both sides of technical relay 20 and avoids the need for a separate carrying cable in the second section.
______________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 20
20. Transport facility claim 19, wherein the first traction cable is rectilinear along the second segment of the first circulation path.
Analysis
Claim 20 depends from claim 19 and therefore inherits the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 17-19. Reference 1 teaches ordinary automatic circulating cableway portions in which rope 1 extends in a straight/rectilinear run and fully carries and drives carrier 2 through gripping/coupling device 10. For the same reasons discussed for claim 8, Reference 1 teaches the first traction cable being rectilinear along the second segment of the first circulation path, while Reference 2 remains part of the inherited combination for the second traction cable, second circulation path, transition region, and second-loop limitations.
Motivation for Claim 20
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use a rectilinear second segment for the first traction cable in the combined system because a straight ordinary cableway run provides stable cable support and predictable vehicle travel before or after the vehicle passes through a rail-guided or relay/transition region. The combination maintains Reference 1's straightforward cable routing while adding Reference 2's second-loop relay transfer.
______________________________
Claim Disposition
Rejected claims
Under 35 U.S.C. 112: Claims 9 and 20.
Under 35 U.S.C. 102: Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, and 16.
Under 35 U.S.C. 103: Claims 2-7, 9, 12, 14, and 17-20.
Objected-to claims
None.
Allowed claims
None.
______________________________
Conclusion
JP H09-240466 A, FR 3052131 A1, and JP 3233959 B2 were reviewed from the information disclosure statement and international search materials, but were not used because the references relied upon above provide a more direct and compact mapping of the rejected claims.
US 2021/0245788 A1, US 11,370,461 B2, US 8,408,141 B2, and US 2002/0134276 A1 were also reviewed during searching. These references were not relied upon because Reference 1 supplies the closest primary teaching, Reference 2 supplies the successive-loop and transition-region teachings, and Reference 3 is used only for the limited two-rail feature of claim 12. CN 118076526 A was not relied upon because it appears to be applicant-family art.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615