DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KWAK et al. (US 2023/0216565).
Regarding claim 15, KWAK teaches an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: a processing system (i.e., A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may include a processor. The processor may be configured to receive configuration information associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state group and a second TCI state group [0003]) configured to: a processing system configured to determine an identifier (ID) associated with limiting transmission output power of a transmission to be communicated with a user equipment (UE) via at least one of an antenna panel or a beam that corresponds to the ID (i.e., the first values may include first respective measured downlink received power values and first respective determined power reduction values. Each of the first respective measured downlink received power values and each of the first respective determined power reduction values may be associated with a respective downlink reference signal that is associated with a respective TCI state of the first TCI states (TCI states serve as identifiers for beams/panels) [0004]-[0005], [0084]-0085], [0097], associated uplink resources per panel or panel IDs (e.g., if the WTRU reports the information in its capabilities) [0114], [0133], [0181], [0189]-[0190], [claim 16]); and a first interface configured to output information indicating the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam for transmission to the UE (i.e., Each respective TCI state of the first TCI states and the second TCI states may be associated with a respective downlink reference signal… the first values may include first respective measured downlink received power values and first respective determined power reduction values. Each of the first respective measured downlink received power values and each of the first respective determined power reduction values may be associated with a respective downlink reference signal that is associated with a respective TCI state of the first TCI state… The processor may be configured to determine a first TCI state from the first TCI state group based on downlink received power information and power reduction information (corresponding to network node receives on downlink power information and power reduction information) [0003]-[0005], [0089]-[0090], An association between TCI states, CORESETs and TCI state groups may be based on one or more of the following: ..a configuration of a panel ID (e.g., TCI states and TCI state group configured with (e.g., via configuration information) an identical panel ID (or no panel ID) may be associated) [0114]).
Regarding claim 16, Kwak further teaches the information indicating the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam is output for transmission to the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling based on a capability of the UE ([0075], [0084], [0101], [[0133]-[0134], [0209], [0213], [0238]).
Regarding claim 17, Kwak further teaches a second interface configured to obtain, from the UE, a report indicating at least one of an output power threshold upon which the limiting of the transmission power is based or a power reduction value upon which the output power threshold is based, wherein the processing system is further configured to schedule another transmission by the UE based on the at least one of the output power threshold or the power reduction value ([0165]-]0166], [0222]-[0227]).
Regarding claim 18, Kwak further teaches the report comprises a power headroom report (PHR) associated with the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam (i.e., A TCI state group metric may include a measurement (e.g., L3, CSI, transmission (Tx) power, power headroom report (PHR) ([0075]-[0077]). P-MPR may be part of a power headroom report (PHR). P-MPR may be guessed (e.g., estimated) by a base station (e.g., a gNB), for example, based on RF properties specific to FR1 technology [0090]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 19, Kwak further teaches the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam corresponds to at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource indicator (RI) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) RI (i.e., TCI states/state groups may be one or more of following: a CSI-RS resource; a CSI-RS resource set; an SSB; an SRS resource ([0114], [0197]), The WTRU may receive one or more RS transmissions from a base station (e.g., a gNB). The RS may be one or more of SSB, CSI-RS [0245]).
Regarding claim 20, Kwak further teaches: a transmitter configured to transmit the information indicating the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam to the UE, wherein the apparatus is configured as a network node ([0074], [0080], [0232]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWAK et al. (US 2023/0216565) in view of JP 2023518807A.
Regarding claim 1, KWAK teaches an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: a processing system (i.e., A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may include a processor. The processor may be configured to receive configuration information associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state group and a second TCI state group [0003]) configured to: determine a power reduction value associated with an identifier (ID) of at least one of an antenna panel or a beam (i.e., The processor may be configured to report first values. For example, the first values may include first respective measured downlink received power values and first respective determined power reduction values. Each of the first respective measured downlink received power values and each of the first respective determined power reduction values may be associated with a respective downlink reference signal that is associated with a respective TCI state of the first TCI states [0004]-[0005], [0084]-0085], [0097], associated uplink resources per panel or panel IDs (e.g., if the WTRU reports the information in its capabilities) [0133], [0181]); and a first interface configured to output data for transmission to a network node, the transmission being based on the output power threshold (i.e., A WTRU may report power management—maximum power reduction (P-MPR), for example, on a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [0084], The WTRU may report WTRU measurement result(s) (e.g., a RSRP value and/or a P-MPR value) associated with the RSs… The WTRU may transmit a PUCCH transmission, for example, based on the determined TCI state [0087]-[0088]).
KWAK does not specifically teach calculate an output power threshold associated with the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam based on the power reduction value.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. JP 2023518807 A teaches The wireless device calculates the P-MPR determined for the most recent (or current) uplink transmission in the cell's panel and the P-MPR determined for the previous uplink transmission prior to the most recent uplink transmission in the cell's panel. Changes in the P-MPR of a panel of cells can be determined based on the comparison to the MPR. The wireless device may determine based on the change in the first P-MPR being greater than a threshold and/or the change in the second P-MPR being less than a threshold (eg, after such or In response to such), uplink coverage loss may be detected (or predicted). The threshold may consist of a power reduction value determined by the wireless device's capabilities ..The wireless device determines that the change in the first power backoff for the first panel in the cell is greater than a threshold and/or the change in the second power backoff for the second panel in the cell is greater than the threshold … A wireless device may determine or calculate a cell-specific PHR for an uplink transmission on which panel the uplink transmission occurs ([0240]-[0250]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of JP 2023518807 within the system of KWAK in order to send/transmit one or more wireless device capability messages (eg, UECapabilityInformation IEs, RRC messages, etc.) with thresholds (eg, associated with MPE instances) to the base station.
Regarding claim 2, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. JP 2023518807 teaches the output power threshold comprises a maximum output power threshold that is not exceeded by a transmission power of the transmission, and the power reduction value comprises a Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR) value that is associated with reduction of the maximum output power threshold ([0090], [0123], [0173], [0174], [0174], [0186]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 3, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. JP 2023518807 teaches generate a report indicating at least one of the output power threshold or the power reduction value, and wherein the first interface is further configured to output the report for transmission to the network node (i.e., the wireless device generates a preamble (e.g., MPE report associated with a particular antenna panel). RACH resources), scheduling requests (e.g., via PUCCH resources associated with MPE reports for a particular antenna panel), sounding reference signals (e.g., via dedicated SRSs associated with MPE reports for a particular panel). ), and/or any other message (eg, over PUCCH) in transmissions (eg, MPE reports) can be sent/transmitted to the base station [130]-[141]).
Regarding claim 4, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. JP 2023518807 teaches configured to select the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam having the ID (i.e., A wireless device (e.g., when configured with multiple panels) uses one of the multiple panels to receive downlink signals/channels transmitted/transmitted from one of the multiple TRPs of the base station. may be determined to activate (or select) at least one of the . Activation/selection of at least one of the plurality of panels can be based on receipt of downlink signaling indicating the activation/selection [130]-[141]).
Regarding claim 5, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches the report indicating at least one of the output power threshold or the power reduction value includes a power headroom report (PHR) associated with the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam ([0090]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 6, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches wherein each of the power reduction value and the output power threshold is specific to the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam (i.e., a WTRU may report one or more beam measurements and/or P-MPR, which may be related to an MPE/SAR triggered situation (e.g., an MPE/SAR triggered situation related to a panel or group of WTRU antenna panel(s)) [0114], [0133]-[0134]).
Regarding claim 7, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. JP 2023518807 teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: detect a human body in proximity to the apparatus, wherein the power reduction value is determined after the detection and based on an electromagnetic power density exposure standard (i.e., Wireless device 3515 may trigger uplink ray reporting (eg, including proximity detection) based on the first P-MPR of the first panel and the second P-MPR of the second panel ( For example, 3502A). Wireless device 3515 may ensure compliance with applicable electromagnetic power density exposure requirements and/or transmit simultaneously on multiple RATs (e.g., whether or not within 3GPP RAN or other specifications). [150]-[200]).
Regarding claim 8, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches wherein each of the power reduction value and the output power threshold is further associated with a carrier and a serving cell ([0090], [173]-[0174], [0186]).
Regarding claim 9, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches determine a plurality of carrier aggregation (CA) power reduction values that are respectively associated with a plurality of carriers and a plurality of serving cells, wherein the power reduction value is determined based on the plurality of CA power reduction values ([0080], [0246], [0249]).
Regarding claim 10, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches a second interface configured to obtain, from the network node, information indicating the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam (i.e., a WTRU may report one or more beam measurements and/or P-MPR, which may be related to an MPE/SAR triggered situation (e.g., an MPE/SAR triggered situation related to a panel or group of WTRU antenna panel(s)) [0114], [0133]-[0134]).
Regarding claim 11, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches the information indicating the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam is obtained based on a user equipment (UE) capability associated with the apparatus ([0134], [0181]-[0182]).
Regarding claim 12, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches the information indicating the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam is obtained via radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0181]-[0182]).
Regarding claim 13, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. KWAK teaches the ID of the at least one of the antenna panel or the beam corresponds to at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource indicator (RI) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) RI.
Regarding claim 14, KWAK in view of JP 2023518807 teaches all the limitations above. JP 2023518807 teaches a transmitter configured to transmit the data to the network node based on the output power threshold, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE) (i.e., A wireless device may automatically reduce the maximum output power for transmitting/transmitting a signal or channel to a base station by complying with RF exposure requirements based on proximity detection. The maximum output power reduction due to complying with RF exposure requirements may be referred to as the maximum transmission power reduction (P-MPR) [140]-[150]).
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643