DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/697,747 filed on 2 April 2024. The response filed 13 July 2026 amends claims 1, 8, 11, 21, 23, and 24, cancels claims 13-20, and presents arguments is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-12 and 21-28 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Independent Claims 1, 11, and 21-24
On pages 1-4 of the response filed 13 July 2026, Applicant addresses the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection made on the 28 April 2026 Non-Final Rejection. Applicant’s arguments, regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered.
On pages 1-4, Applicant argues that the Seok/Kim system fails to teach or suggest “wherein the first radio frame comprises a Multi-Link Probe Request (ML Probe Request).” Applicant argues that Seok discloses that “the Probe Request frame is used to request the updated BSS parameter information, rather than to carry the updated BSS parameter information.” Further, Applicant argues that Kim discloses that “the probe request frame is used to identify the AP, rather than to carry the BSS change indication information.” Examiner respectfully disagrees and finds this argument unpersuasive. Seok, in paragraph 0053, discusses multi-link communications and queueing a Probe Request frame. Kim, in paragraph 0186 states “ML Probe Request.” One having ordinary skill in the art discloses probes in multi-link communications. Therefore, Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Dependent Claims 2-10, 12, and 25-28
On pages 1-4 of the response filed 13 July 2026, Applicant addresses the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection made on the 28 April 2026 Non-Final Rejection. Applicant submits that these claims are allowable at least as depending from an allowable independent claim, and further in view of the amendments to the independent claims, and the comments provided above. As per the comments above, Examiner found the arguments unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2021/0250848 A1 to Seok et al and in view of US PGPUB 2023/0262488 A1 to Kim et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Seok discloses a communication method, applied to a multi-link-supporting station device (0059 provides for the non-AP MLD), and comprising: sending a first radio frame (0059 provides for the non-AP MLD transmits a probe request frame). Seok doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein Basic Service Set (BSS) change indication information is carried in the first radio frame, the BSS change indication information comprises a BSS change parameter with an access point device, and the BSS change parameter comprises at least one of a Change Sequence element or a Change Count, wherein the first radio frame comprises a Multi-Link Probe Request (ML Probe Request). Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses wherein Basic Service Set (BSS) change indication information is carried in a first radio frame (0261 provides for a change sequence number of a basic service set (BSS) parameter), the BSS change indication information comprises a BSS change parameter with an access point device (FIG. 2 and 0071 provides for the BSSs of an AP 225 and a STA 200-1), and the BSS change parameter comprises at least one of a Change Sequence element (0261 provides for a change sequence number) or a Change Count, wherein the first radio frame comprises a Multi-Link Probe Request (ML Probe Request) (0185-0186 provides for ML Probe Request in multi-link communications). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed data of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for a change sequence within a Basic Service Set parameter. The change sequence of Kim, when implemented with the multi-link updating of the Seok system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to communicate changes in order to successfully synchronize within a region. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the change sequence of Kim with the multi-link updating of the Seok system for the desirable purpose of communicating between devices in a Basic Multi-Link element.
Regarding Claim 2, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the BSS change indication information further comprises link identity information of a target communication link corresponding to each BSS change parameter (Kim, 0178 provides for Link ID). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 2, wherein before the sending the first radio frame, the communication method further comprises: receiving a second radio frame (Kim, 0226 provides for currently received information); and obtaining the link identity information in a first Multi-Link (ML) element in the second radio frame (Kim, 0226 provides for the Link ID). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the BSS change indication information further comprises BSS Parameter Change Count Present, and the BSS Parameter Change Count Present is configured to indicate whether the BSS change indication information is comprised (Kim, Claim 2 provides for the Change Count present subfield is set to 0 does not include the subfield). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the BSS change indication information further comprises a Multi-Link Device Identity (MLD ID); and wherein the MLD ID comprises a Media Access Control (MAC) address of the multi-link-supporting station device (Kim, 0174 provides for the MLD MAC Address subfield).
Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the sending the first radio frame comprises: sending the first radio frame in one communication link (Kim, FIG. 2 provides for the communication link between AP 225 and STA 200-1). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the sending the first radio frame comprises: sending the first radio frame when the multi-link-supporting station device is in an energy saving state (Kim, 0061 provides for power saving operation applied for the STA).
Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the BSS change indication information is carried in a ML information element of the ML Probe Request, and a type of the ML information element is Probe Request (Seok, 0053 provides for change sequence field with an established multi-link communication).
Regarding Claim 9, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 8, wherein the BSS change indication information is carried in a per-STA profile sub-element of the ML information element (Kim, 0176 provides for a Per-STA Profile subfield). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the BSS change indication information comprises a BSS change parameter for one communication link or at least two communication links with the access point device (Kim, FIG. 2 provides for the communication link between AP 225 and STA 200-1). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Seok discloses a communication method, applied to a multi-link-supporting access point device (0059 provides for the AP MLD soliciting), and comprising: receiving a first radio frame (0059 provides for the AP MLD receives a probe request frame transmitted from the non-AP MLD). Seok doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein Basic Service Set (BSS) change indication information is carried in the first radio frame, the BSS change indication information comprises a BSS change parameter with a station device, and the BSS change parameter comprises at least one of a Change Sequence element or a Change Count, wherein the first radio frame comprises a Multi-Link Probe Request (ML Probe Request). Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses wherein Basic Service Set (BSS) change indication information is carried in the first radio frame (0261 provides for a change sequence number of a basic service set (BSS) parameter), the BSS change indication information comprises a BSS change parameter with a station device (FIG. 2 and 0071 provides for the BSSs of an AP 225 and a STA 200-1), and the BSS change parameter comprises at least one of a Change Sequence element (0261 provides for a change sequence number) or a Change Count, wherein the first radio frame comprises a Multi-Link Probe Request (ML Probe Request) (0185-0186 provides for ML Probe Request in multi-link communications). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the Seok/Kim system discloses the communication method according to claim 11, wherein before the receiving the first radio frame, the communication method further comprises: sending a second radio frame (Kim, 0226 provides for currently received information), wherein link identity information is carried in a first Multi-Link (ML) element in the second radio frame (Kim, 0226 provides for the Link ID). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 21, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 1 teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
Regarding Claim 22, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 1 teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22.
Regarding Claim 23, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 12 teaches the electronic device of claim 23.
Regarding Claim 24, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 12 teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 24.
Regarding Claim 25, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 2 teaches the electronic device of claim 25.
Regarding Claim 26, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 3 teaches the electronic device of claim 26.
Regarding Claim 27, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 4 teaches the electronic device of claim 27.
Regarding Claim 28, similar rejection where the communication method of claim 5 teaches the electronic device of claim 28.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2023/0189195 A1 to Guo et al discloses receiving a multi-link probe request.
US Patent 11,445,431 B2 to Patil et al discloses multi-link communications.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459