DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “clamping unit”, in claims 1, 10-12, 22-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "apparatus" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 6, 8-9 are rejected for depending on rejected claim 1, inheriting the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
CN110063792A to Guangjun et al. (hereinafter “Guangjun”) in view of US Pat Pub No. 20120126079 to Russell.
Regarding claims 1 and 10. (original) Guangjun discloses apparatus (fig. 1) for linking a surgical instrument to a rigid frame (Description, machine translated “surgical robot 8”, fig. 13), the apparatus comprising: a. a clamping unit (1, fig. 2) comprising (i) a clamp-actuator (14) and (ii) to clamp the clamping unit to the rigid frame (para 0045, operating table); b. a mediating member (“formed by rods 41, 42, fig. 7) for mediating between the surgical instrument and the clamping unit, proximally engaged with the clamping unit (via element 2, fig. 1); c. respective force-transfer mechanisms for vertically displacing (“vertical adjustment mechanism 21, fig. 3) the mediating member relative to the clamping unit and for pivoting (via mounting base 3, fig. 7) the mediating member in intrinsic rotation in a pitch axis (via mounting base 3, fig. 7); and
d. a plurality of mechanical actuators placed to actuate the force- transmission mechanisms (fig 3, 7).
Guangjun fails to disclose two opposing clamps attached bilaterally to the clamping unit, each one of the two opposing clamps being individually effective, when actuated by a clamp-actuator.
Russell, from a similar field of endeavor teaches that it is known to provide a clamping unit (bedrail clamp assembly 700, fig 7, para 0050) comprising two opposing clamps (702 and 704, on opposite sides of block 706) and wherein each of the clamps being individually effective, when acutated by a clamp actuator (knob 82, fig 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify the disclosure of Guangjun with the teachings of Russell to provide the predictable result of providing additional functions of a second clamping device.
It is further noted that duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 4. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1,wherein the instrument-docking assembly includes a docking interface adapted for securing the surgical instrument thereto (Guangjun, “surgical robot 8”, fig 13).
Regarding claim 6. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell renders obvious the apparatus of claim_1 wherein the two clamps are jointly actuatable by a single clamp-actuator (understood to be a design choice, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) – “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice”).
Regarding claim 8. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell renders obvious the apparatus of claim_1 wherein the rigid frame comprises a rail of a patient bed (Guangjun “a guide rail 222”).
Regarding claim 9. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell renders obvious the apparatus of claims 2
Regarding claim 11. (original) Guangjun as modified by Russell renders obvious the method of claim 10, additionally comprising, before the attaching: selecting a vertical orientation of the clamping unit from (i) a first vertical orientation in which the clamp-actuator is disposed above the two opposing clamps and (ii) a second vertical orientation in which the clamp- actuator is disposed below the two opposing clamps, wherein the attaching is performed in accordance with the selected vertical orientation (Guangjun, fig 1-3, “horizontal adjustment assembly 22 “ – The claim does not provide any details regarding the exact orientation or degrees, thus under its broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the claimed details fall within the normal activity of the PHOSITA. Also see MPEP 2143 – KSR factors: “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success ).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guangjun in view of Russell as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Pat Pub No. 20190365491 to Yu.
Regarding claim 2. (original) Guangjun as modified by Russell renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mediating member is distally engaged with an instrument-docking assembly (Guangjun, formed elements 5, 6, and 7) but fails to explicitly disclose arranged to rotate intrinsically in a yaw axis about the mediating member.
Yu from a similar field of endeavor teaches a similar device to provide vertical and pivotal adjusting (fig. 2, para 0016, 0019-0021). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify the disclosure of Guangjun in view of Russell with the teachings of Yu to provide the predictable result of providing vertical and pivotal adjusting.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 12 recites “first and second gear-actuators in communication with the clamping unit to define, together with the clamp-actuator, a triangular portion of the clamping unit; [] d. a first gearing arrangement disposed at the first vertex and actuatable by the first gear-actuator to vertically displace the mediating member relative to the first vertex; and e. a second gearing arrangement disposed at a second vertex of the triangular portion and actuatable by the second gear-actuator to pivot the mediating member in intrinsic rotation in a pitch axis about the first vertex. “ which when taken in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim are not disclosed, taught or rendered obvious by the references discovered. Claim 12 includes allowable subject matter which dependent claims 13-14, 16, 18-20, 22-23, 25-27 inherit.
Conclusion
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796