DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see Remarks and Claims, filed04/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the following:
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
CN110063792A to Guangjun et al. (previously presented) in view of US Pat Pub No. 20120126079 to Russell (previously presented) and US Pat Pub No. 20160000512 to Gombert et al.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guangjun in view of Russell and Gombert as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Pat Pub No. 20190365491 to Yu.
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see Remarks and Claims, filed04/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
CN110063792A to Guangjun et al. (hereinafter “Guangjun”) in view of US Pat Pub No. 20120126079 to Russell and US Pat Pub No. 20160000512 to Gombert et al. (hereinafter “Gombert”).
Regarding claims 1 and 10. (original) Guangjun discloses apparatus (fig. 1) for linking a surgical instrument to a rigid frame (Description, machine translated “surgical robot 8”, fig. 13), the apparatus comprising: a. a clamping unit (1, fig. 2) comprising (i) a clamp-actuator (14) and (ii) to clamp the clamping unit to the rigid frame (para 0045, operating table); b. a mediating member (“formed by rods 41, 42, fig. 7) for mediating between the surgical instrument and the clamping unit, proximally engaged with the clamping unit (via element 2, fig. 1); c. respective force-transfer mechanisms for vertically displacing (“vertical adjustment mechanism 21, fig. 3) the mediating member relative to the clamping unit and for pivoting (via mounting base 3, fig. 7) the mediating member in intrinsic rotation in a pitch axis (via mounting base 3, fig. 7); and
d. a plurality of mechanical actuators placed to actuate the force- transmission mechanisms (fig 3, 7).
Guangjun fails to disclose two opposing clamps attached bilaterally to the clamping unit, each one of the two opposing clamps being individually effective, when actuated by a clamp-actuator.
Russell, from a similar field of endeavor teaches that it is known to provide a clamping unit (bedrail clamp assembly 700, fig 7, para 0050) comprising two opposing clamps (702 and 704, on opposite sides of block 706) and wherein each of the clamps being individually effective, when actuated by a clamp actuator (knob 82, fig 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify the disclosure of Guangjun with the teachings of Russell to provide the predictable result of providing additional functions of a second clamping device.
It is further noted that duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Guangjun as modified by Russel renders obvious the limitations above but fails to disclose the bilateral attachment being such that the two opposing clamps are oriented in opposing respective directions.
Gombert from a similar field of endeavor teaches the clamping jaws are opposing facing (para 0018). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify the disclosure of Guangjun as modified by Russell with the known teachings of Gombert to provide the predictable result of clamping surgical instruments.
Regarding claim 4. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell and Gombert renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1,wherein the instrument-docking assembly includes a docking interface adapted for securing the surgical instrument thereto (Guangjun, “surgical robot 8”, fig 13).
Regarding claim 6. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell and Gombert renders obvious the apparatus of claim_1 wherein the two clamps are jointly actuatable by a single clamp-actuator (understood to be a design choice, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) – “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice”).
Regarding claim 8. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell and Gombert renders obvious the apparatus of claim_1 wherein the rigid frame comprises a rail of a patient bed (Guangjun “a guide rail 222”).
Regarding claim 9. (currently amended) Guangjun as modified by Russell and Gombert renders obvious the apparatus of claims 2
Regarding claim 11. (original) Guangjun as modified by Russell and Gombert renders obvious the method of claim 10, additionally comprising, before the attaching: selecting a vertical orientation of the clamping unit from (i) a first vertical orientation in which the clamp-actuator is disposed above the two opposing clamps and (ii) a second vertical orientation in which the clamp- actuator is disposed below the two opposing clamps, wherein the attaching is performed in accordance with the selected vertical orientation (Guangjun, fig 1-3, “horizontal adjustment assembly 22 “ – The claim does not provide any details regarding the exact orientation or degrees, thus under its broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the claimed details fall within the normal activity of the PHOSITA. Also see MPEP 2143 – KSR factors: “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success ).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guangjun in view of Russell and Gombert as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Pat Pub No. 20190365491 to Yu.
Regarding claim 2. (original) Guangjun as modified by Russell renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mediating member is distally engaged with an instrument-docking assembly (Guangjun, formed elements 5, 6, and 7) but fails to explicitly disclose arranged to rotate intrinsically in a yaw axis about the mediating member.
Yu from a similar field of endeavor teaches a similar device to provide vertical and pivotal adjusting (fig. 2, para 0016, 0019-0021). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify the disclosure of Guangjun in view of Russell and Gombert with the teachings of Yu to provide the predictable result of providing vertical and pivotal adjusting.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796