Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in each of lines 10, 13, 16, it is suggested to delete the three instances of the phrase “a step of” to improve clarity.
Claims 2-18 are also objected to due to dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the sensor” in line 4. For examination purposes, it is assumed that the sensor refers to the LIDAR device. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the sensor” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 10, and 14 of copending Application No. 17925718 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application ‘759 and the copending application ‘718 are directed to a method for using a lidar device in a vehicle, emitting light rays, receiving reflected light rays, associating a value relating to the reflecting light ray, determining a first descriptor corresponding to a first sequence, determining a second descriptor corresponding to a second sequence, identifying environment signatures associated with a distance (distance away, stand-off distance) that are substantially equal/identical, the selection of cells that relate only to cells associated with a distance away (distance away, stand-off distance), adding the environment signature, a predetermined pattern of environment cells, a set of binary numbers/digits, the signatures of environments are each arranged as a word made up of binary numbers/digits, and defining the distance between the cell and the object. It is noted that the copending application ‘718 is narrower in scope in comparison to the instant application ‘759 because ‘718 identifies an identical signature whereas the ‘759 identifies a substantially equal signature.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan US20190206063 in view of Dussan US20170242109 and Yuasa US20230053841.
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhan discloses, in Figures 1-12,
A method (Zhan; Fig. 1-12) for using a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device in a motor vehicle (Zhan; Fig. 1; [0003] acquisition vehicle with laser scanner; acquisition device 110; acquisition entity 112 on road 130; [0027] laser beam for 3D point cloud data of objects), the method comprising:
emitting incident light rays from the motor vehicle toward its external environment (Zhan; Fig. 1; [0003] acquisition vehicle with laser scanner; acquisition device 110; acquisition entity 112 on road 130; [0027] laser beam for 3D point cloud data of objects);
receiving in return reflected light rays on a photodetector of the motor vehicle (Zhan; Fig. 1; [0003] acquisition vehicle with laser scanner; acquisition device 110; acquisition entity 112 on road 130; [0027] laser beam for 3D point cloud data of objects);
associating a value representing a quantity relating to the reflected light ray with each cell of the photodetector that receives a reflected light ray (Zhan; Fig. 1; [0027] laser beam for 3D point cloud data of objects).
a step of determining a first descriptor comprising a first set of environment signatures for the photodetector, with this first descriptor corresponding to a first sequence for receiving reflected light rays (Zhan; Fig. 1; [0027] plurality of frames including a first frame/sequence with corresponding point cloud distance descriptor data; [0036] first frame);
a step of determining a second descriptor comprising a second set of environment signatures for the photodetector, with this second descriptor corresponding to a second sequence for receiving reflected light rays (Zhan; Fig. 1; [0027] plurality of frames including a second frame/sequence with corresponding point cloud distance descriptor data; [0036] second frame);
a step of identifying the environment signatures that are in the first descriptor and the second descriptor (Zhan; [0034] identify candidate object 322 as the same moving object between frames);
an environment signature of a particular cell of the photodetector being defined as a set of distance indicators, each associated with one cell of environment cells of said particular cell (Zhan; [0027, 0034, 0036-0037]; [0037] “clustering the locations of the points in the frames”).
Zhan is silent regarding
a step of determining a first descriptor comprising a first set of environment signatures for a selection of cells of the photodetector, with this first descriptor corresponding to a first sequence for receiving reflected light rays;
a step of determining a second descriptor comprising a second set of environment signatures for a selection of cells of the photodetector, with this second descriptor corresponding to a second sequence for receiving reflected light rays;
a step of identifying the environment signatures that are matching in the first descriptor and the second descriptor;
an environment signature of a particular cell of the photodetector being defined as a set of distance indicators, each associated with one cell of a predetermined pattern of environment cells of said particular cell, each of said distance indicators being adapted to take a value representative of one of the following four states:
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is outside a first predetermined range of distances relative to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is located in a lower segment of said first predetermined range of distances;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is located in an upper segment of said first predetermined range of distances;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is substantially equal to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell, to within a predetermined factor.
Dussan teaches a selection of cells of the photodetector (Dussan; [0077, 0079, 0086] generating a predetermined selection list of eligible pixels for the purpose of excluding ineligible pixels such as oversaturated pixels, overly noisy pixels, dead pixels, dark pixels, stuck pixels, and/or white pixels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as taught by Zhan to include a predetermined cell selection as taught by Dussan for the purpose of excluding ineligible pixels such as oversaturated pixels, overly noisy pixels, dead pixels, dark pixels, stuck pixels, and/or white pixels (Dussan; [0077, 0079, 0086] generating a predetermined selection list of eligible pixels for the purpose of excluding ineligible pixels such as oversaturated pixels, overly noisy pixels, dead pixels, dark pixels, stuck pixels, and/or white pixels).
Modified Zhan is silent regarding
each of said distance indicators being adapted to take a value representative of one of the following four states:
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is outside a first predetermined range of distances relative to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is located in a lower segment of said first predetermined range of distances;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is located in an upper segment of said first predetermined range of distances;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is substantially equal to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell, to within a predetermined factor.
Yuasa teaches:
each of said distance indicators being adapted to take a value representative of one of the following four states (examiner note: only one of the four states listed below is required to satisfy/meet the claim limitation; emphasis-added):
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is outside a first predetermined range of distances relative to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is located in a lower segment of said first predetermined range of distances;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is located in an upper segment of said first predetermined range of distances;
the cell concerned is associated with a distance away which is substantially equal to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell, to within a predetermined factor (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distance indicator value as taught by Modified Zhan to comprise a substantially equal distance matching between cells/pixels as taught by Yuasa for the purpose of providing target object linking based on similarity (Yuasa; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein, during the step of determining the first descriptor, the selection of cells comprises only cells that are associated with a distance away; and, during the step of determining the second descriptor, the selection of cells comprises only cells that are associated with a distance away (Dussan; [0077, 0079, 0086] generating a predetermined selection list of eligible pixels for the purpose of excluding ineligible pixels such as oversaturated pixels, overly noisy pixels, dead pixels, dark pixels, stuck pixels, and/or white pixels).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first descriptor and the second descriptor are each determined by the following operations, executed sequentially for each particular cell of the selection of cells: a first operation of determining the environment signature of the particular cell; an operation of adding this environment signature of the particular cell to the set of environment signatures, if the set of environment signatures does not comprise any environment signature identical to this environment signature of the particular cell; an operation of adding this environment signature of the particular cell to the set of environment signatures, this environment signature being associated with a distinctive element, if the set of environment signatures already comprises an environment signature identical to this environment signature of the particular cell (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein said distinctive element is a value of luminous intensity (Zhan; [0044] “reflection intensity”) relative to the particular cell (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the predetermined pattern of environment cells, used to determine the environment signature of a particular cell, is made up of a predetermined number of cells framing this particular cell according to a predetermined pattern of a relative arrangement of the environment cells relative to the particular cell (Dussan; [0077, 0079, 0086] generating a predetermined selection list of eligible pixels for the purpose of excluding ineligible pixels such as oversaturated pixels, overly noisy pixels, dead pixels, dark pixels, stuck pixels, and/or white pixels).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein, during the step of associating a value representing a quantity relating to the reflected light ray with each cell of the photodetector that receives a reflected light ray, the representative value is a distance away, with the distance away being defined as a value representing the distance between the cell and an object returning said reflected light ray (Zhan; [0027] laser beam for 3D point cloud data of objects).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a step of matching, in which each environment signature of the first descriptor is compared with each environment signature of the second descriptor (Yuasa; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 13, wherein, in the matching step, a dissimilarity value is determined for each pair of environment signatures, the pairs of environment signatures considered to be matching being those whose dissimilarity value is lowest (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first descriptor and the second descriptor are each determined by the following operations, executed sequentially for each particular cell of the selection of cells: a first operation of determining the environment signature of the particular cell; an operation of adding this environment signature of the particular cell to the set of environment signatures, if the set of environment signatures does not comprise any environment signature identical to this environment signature of the particular cell; an operation of adding this environment signature of the particular cell to the set of environment signatures, this environment signature being associated with a distinctive element, if the set of environment signatures already comprises an environment signature identical to this environment signature of the particular cell (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
Claim(s) 6-11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan US20190206063 in view of Dussan US20170242109 and Yuasa US20230053841 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abbiss US5313263.
Regarding claims 6-8, 11, and 17, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and
6. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the set of indicators, used to determine the environment signature of a particular cell, is formed by, each assigned to a cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells (Dussan; [0077, 0079, 0086] generating a predetermined selection list of eligible pixels for the purpose of excluding ineligible pixels such as oversaturated pixels, overly noisy pixels, dead pixels, dark pixels, stuck pixels, and/or white pixels);
7. The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein each of the four values representing said indicators (examiner note: only one of the four states listed below is required to satisfy/meet the claim limitation; emphasis-added) (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”);
8. The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein assigned to each cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells of the particular cell, as follows: assigning a with the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is outside said first predetermined range, assigning a to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the lower segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the upper segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is substantially equal, to within the predetermined factor, to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell (examiner note: only one of the four states listed below is required to satisfy/meet the claim limitation; emphasis-added) (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”);
11. The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the signatures of environments, each associated with a cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells, are each arranged as a word made up of the arranged in a predetermined order relative to the predetermined pattern of environment cells (Dussan; [0077, 0079, 0086] generating a predetermined selection list of eligible pixels for the purpose of excluding ineligible pixels such as oversaturated pixels, overly noisy pixels, dead pixels, dark pixels, stuck pixels, and/or white pixels);
17. The method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the are assigned to each cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells of the particular cell, as follows: assigning a with the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is outside said first predetermined range; assigning a to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the lower segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the upper segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is substantially equal, to within the predetermined factor, to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell (examiner note: only one of the four states listed below is required to satisfy/meet the claim limitation; emphasis-added) (Yuasa; [0033] target object information generator 102 generates target object information by comparing past target object information with the current target object information; [0076] “object linking” and “One of the past target objects that has the highest similarity ratio is determined to be the same target object as the current target object, and these target objects are linked with each other. In so doing, the label of such past target object to be linked is added to the features of the current target object as a linker that enables a later search for the past target object.”).
Modified Zhan is silent regarding
6. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the set of indicators, used to determine the environment signature of a particular cell, is formed by a set of binary numbers, each assigned to a cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells;
7. The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein each of said binary numbers comprises two bits encoding the four values representing said indicators;
8. The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the binary numbers are assigned to each cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells of the particular cell, as follows: assigning a first binary number with the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is outside said first predetermined range, assigning a second binary number to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the lower segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a third binary number to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the upper segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a fourth binary number to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is substantially equal, to within the predetermined factor, to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell;
11. The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the signatures of environments, each associated with a cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells, are each arranged as a word made up of the binary numbers arranged in a predetermined order relative to the predetermined pattern of environment cells;
17. The method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the binary numbers are assigned to each cell of the predetermined pattern of environment cells of the particular cell, as follows: assigning a first binary number with the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is outside said first predetermined range; assigning a second binary number to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the lower segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a third binary number to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is located in the upper segment of said first predetermined range; assigning a fourth binary number to the environment cell if the latter is associated with a distance away that is substantially equal, to within the predetermined factor, to the distance away that is associated with said particular cell.
Abbiss teaches 8-bits binary code for the purpose of providing sufficient digital accuracy for data conversion (Abbiss; col. 6:63-68 to col. 7:1 “Each conversion may be represented by a plurality of bits in a binary code depending upon the accuracy desired for the conversion. For example, each analog signal may be converted to binary signals of eight (8) bits or sixteen (16) bits.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data as taught by Modified Zhan to comprise 2-bit binary encoding as taught by Abbiss for the purpose of providing sufficient digital accuracy for data conversion (Abbiss; col. 6:63-68 to col. 7:1 “Each conversion may be represented by a plurality of bits in a binary code depending upon the accuracy desired for the conversion. For example, each analog signal may be converted to binary signals of eight (8) bits or sixteen (16) bits.”).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 8, wherein said predetermined value is weighted, for each environment cell, by the distance separating this environment cell from the particular cell (Zhan; [0054] “corresponding weighting coefficients” based on location).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 8, wherein said predetermined range of distances and the predetermined factor have values, for each environment cell, that depend on the location of the particular cell on the sensor (Zhan; [0080] “clustering module is configured to cluster points in the first frame and the second frame to form a first set of candidate objects”).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Zhan teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein said predetermined range of distances and the predetermined factor have values, for each environment cell, that depend on the location of the particular cell on the sensor (Zhan; [0080] “clustering module is configured to cluster points in the first frame and the second frame to form a first set of candidate objects”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tehrani Niknejad US20160252617 teaches, in Figures 7-8 and 12, neighbor range point.
Meneyrol US20230350069 teaches descriptors.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 7/13/26