DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the non-final Office Action dated November 20, 2025 was submitted on May 20, 2026. Claims 1, 6 and 12-17 were amended. Claims 18 and 21 were canceled. Claims 7 and 22 were previously canceled. Claims 23 and 24 were added. Claims 1-6, 8-17, 19, 20, 23 and 24 are currently pending.
The amendments to claims 1 and 6 have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of claims 1-6, 8-12, 17, 19 and 20 (¶¶ 4-7 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1-6, 8-12, 17, 19 and 20 (¶¶ 12-34 of the Office Action) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and these rejections have been maintained as detailed below. New claims 23 and 24 have also been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joenssen et al. (International Patent Publication No. WO 01/14441 A1, cited in IDS submitted February 21, 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Joenssen discloses a moisture curable adhesive composition for bonding a first substrate and a second substrate (Abstract of Joenssen, moisture curing polyurethane adhesive; 19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond substrates together), the adhesive composition comprising: a polyurethane adhesive composition comprising an isocyanate terminated urethane prepolymer (24:24-27 of Joenssen, isocyanate terminated polyurethane prepolymers produced), which is a reaction product of at least one isocyanate containing compound (11:2-5 of Joenssen, polyisocyanates reacted to form prepolymer) and at least one polyether polyol triblock copolymer (11:2-5 of Joenssen, polyisocyanates reacted with polyols to form prepolymer; 7:26-8:3 of Joenssen, poly(oxyethylene-oxypropylene) diols and triols obtained by sequential addition of ethylene and propylene oxide to di or trifunctional initiators), wherein the first substrate is a lignocellulosic substrate and the second substrate comprises a lignocellulosic substrate or a non-lignocellulosic substrate (19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond substrates together).
Joenssen does not specifically disclose the polyol having a weight average molecular weight of below 4,000 Dalton. Joenssen, however, discloses that the polyol has a number average molecular weight of 500 to 10,000 (6:27-7:5 of Joenssen). Although MW is typically slightly greater than MN, the range of average molecular weight disclosed in Joenssen would nevertheless overlap that recited in claim 1 which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Joenssen does not specifically disclose that the urethane prepolymer has an isocyanate containing compound in an amount of from 10 wt.% to 30 wt.%, based on the total weight of the pre-polymer. Joenssen, however, discloses that that the polyurethane prepolymer has an NCO content of 1 to 20 wt.% (17:17-20 of Joenssen). Joenssen therefore clearly teaches an NCO content range (i.e., 1 to 20 wt.%) that overlaps with that recited in claim 1 (i.e., 10 - 30 wt.%) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 2, Joenssen does not specifically disclose that the lignocellulosic substrate comprises a wood particle board, wood chipboard, wood-oriented strand board, waferboard, wood fiberboard, parallel strand lumber, laminated strand lumber, plywood, laminated veneer lumber, straw particle board or straw fiberboard. The claims are directed to an adhesive composition and not to a method of bonding. Accordingly, the type substrates being bonded is an intended use limitation which further limits the substrates recited in the claim preamble. As set forth in the MPEP, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim (MPEP 2111.02 II). Joenssen discloses that one of the bonded substrates can be wood (19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond wood substrates). Accordingly, the adhesive of Joenssen would be capable of bonding any wood substrates, including those of the recited type.
Regarding claim 3, Joenssen discloses that the non-lignocellulosic substrate is selected from the group consisting of foams, plastics, composites, metals, bovine and equine hoof (19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond plastic and metal; claim only requires one of the recited substrate types).
Regarding claim 4, Joenssen discloses that the triblock copolymer is poly(ethylene oxide)-poly (propylene oxide)-poly(ethylene oxide) block polymer (PEO-PPO-PEO) or poly(propylene oxide)-poly(ethylene oxide)-poly(propylene oxide) (PPO-PEO-PPO) block copolymer (7:26-8:3 of Joenssen, polyols include poly(oxyethylene-oxypropylene) diols and triols obtained by sequential addition of ethylene and propylene oxide to di or trifunctional initiators).
Regarding claim 5, Joenssen does not specifically disclose that the weight average molecular weight of the triblock copolymer ranges from 100 Daltons to 2000 Daltons or from 2000 Daltons to 4000 Daltons. Joenssen, however, discloses that the polyol has a number average molecular weight of 500 to 10,000 (6:27-7:5 of Joenssen). Although MW is typically slightly greater than MN, the range of average molecular weight disclosed in Joenssen would nevertheless overlap the ranges recited in claim 5 which would render the claimed ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 6, Joenssen discloses that the ethylene oxide (EO) and propylene oxide (PO) repeating units are present in a weight ratio of from 1:10 to 10:1 (7:26-8:3 of Joenssen, polyols include poly(oxyethylene-oxypropylene) diols and triols obtained by sequential addition of ethylene and propylene oxide to di or trifunctional initiators; sequential addition of EO and PO would result in molar ratios of approximately 1:1 which correspond to weight ratios in the claimed range).
Regarding claim 8, Joenssen discloses that the molar ratio of isocyanate containing compound (NCO) to polyether polyol (OH) is in the range of from >1:1 (11:17-20 of Joenssen, prepolymer obtained with molar excess of NCO relative to OH groups).
Regarding claim 9, Joenssen discloses that the isocyanate containing compound is selected from the group consisting of diphenyl methane-2,4′-diisocyanate or diphenyl methane-4,4′-diisocyanate, polymeric diphenylmethane diisocyanates or mixtures thereof (10:1-19 of Joenssen, polyisocyanate can be diphenyl methane diisocyanate including 4,4’ or 2,4’ MDI).
Regarding claim 10, Joenssen discloses that the polyurethane adhesive composition is a one component composition (Abstract of Joenssen, adhesive is moisture-curing and is therefore one component).
Regarding claim 11, Joenssen discloses that the adhesive composition further optionally comprises at least one polyol selected from the group consisting of polypropylene glycol, phosphate polyols, and aromatic polyols (additional polyol is optional and therefore not required). It is noted that Joenssen discloses mixtures of polyols including polypropylene glycol can be used as the polyol (32:9-15 of Joenssen).
Regarding claim 17, Joenssen discloses a method of bonding a first substrate and a second substrate, comprising (i) providing a first substrate having at least one surface and a second substrate having at least one surface (Abstract of Joenssen, moisture curing polyurethane adhesive; 19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond substrates together), wherein the first substrate is a lignocellulosic substrate and the second substrate comprises a lignocellulosic substrate or a non-lignocellulosic substrate (19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond plastic wood and metal substrates; claim only requires one of the recited substrate types) (ii) applying the adhesive composition of claim 1 or the adhesive system of claim 13 (see analysis of claim 1 above, claim only requires one of the recited adhesives) to the first substrate or to the second substrates or to the both first and second substrates (39:4-8 of Joenssen, adhesive placed on at least one of a first or second substrate), (iii) contacting the adhesive composition or the adhesive system bearing first substrate, second substrate or both the first substrate and the second substrates for bonding (39:9-10 of Joenssen, first and second substrates placed into contact); and (vi) curing the adhesive composition or the adhesive system (39:11-12 of Joenssen, moisture-curing adhesive reacted with water).
Regarding claim 19, Joenssen discloses a composite article obtained by the method of claim 17 (19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond different types of substrates together; bonded substrates would be composite materials).
Regarding claim 20, Joenssen does not specifically disclose the composite article of selected from the group consisting of panels, pipes, decking materials, boards, housings, sheets, poles, straps, fencing, members, doors, shutters, awnings, shades, signs, frames, window casings, backboards, wallboards, flooring, tiles, railroad ties, forms, trays, tool handles, stalls, bedding, dispensers, staves, films, wraps, totes, barrels, boxes, packing materials, baskets, straps, slips, racks, casings, binders, dividers, walls, indoor and outdoor carpets, rugs, wovens, and mats, frames, bookcases, sculptures, chairs, tables, desks, art, toys, games, wharves, piers, boats, masts, pollution control products, septic tanks, automotive panels, substrates, computer housings, above- and below-ground electrical casings, furniture, picnic tables, tents, playgrounds, benches, shelters, sporting goods, beds, bedpans, thread, filament, cloth, plaques, trays, hangers, servers, pools, insulation, caskets, bookcovers, clothes, canes, crutches, and other construction, agricultural, material handling, transportation, automotive, industrial, environmental, naval, electrical, electronic, recreational, medical, textile, and consumer products. Joenssen, however, discloses using the adhesive to bond wood together (19:5-12 of Joenssen). Amen-Chen discloses preparing boards by bonding lignocellulosic materials together using a one-component polyurethane adhesive ([0041], [0132]-0133] of Amen-Chen). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form boards using the modified method since Amen-Chen establishes that it was known to form boards from one-component polyurethane adhesives. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I A). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art also would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joenssen in view of Nakata et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,459,185, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 12, Joenssen does not specifically disclose the adhesive composition further comprising (i) from 2.0 wt. % to 10 wt. % of a filler based on the total weight of the adhesive composition; (ii) from 0.01 wt. % to 5.0 wt. % of at least one additive and assistance based on the total weight of the adhesive composition; and (iii) from 0 wt. % to 1 wt. % of an activator based on the total weight of the adhesive composition. Moreover, Joenssen discloses that the adhesive composition can contain fillers and various other additives including catalysts (18:15-22 of Joenssen), but does not disclose the amounts of these additives in the composition. Nakata, however, discloses a moisture-curing urethane adhesive (Abstract of Nakata) which contains up to 30% by weight filler and up to 10% by weight other additives such as a curing catalyst (4:51-58 of Nakata). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the adhesive composition of Joenssen with up to 30% by weight filler and up to 10% by weight other additives such as a curing catalyst since Nakata establishes that it was known to formulate moisture curing polyurethane adhesives with such additives (4:51-58 of Nakata). Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I A). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art also would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Nakata clearly teaches filler and other additive ranges that overlap with those recited in claim 12 which would render the claimed ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joenssen in view of Wellisz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0238758 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Joenssen does not specifically disclose that the ethylene oxide (EO) and propylene oxide (PO) repeating units are present in a weight ratio of from 5:1 to 1:5. Wellisz, however, discloses aadhesives comprising ethylene oxide propylene oxide triblock copolymers comprising 10 to 80% by weight of the hydrophilic EO blocks (i.e., EO:PO of 4:1 to 1:10) (Abstract, [0048]-[0049] of Wellisz). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ethylene oxide propylene oxide triblock copolymers comprising 10 to 80% by weight of the hydrophilic EO blocks in the adhesive composition of Joenssen since Wellisz establishes that it was known to use such triblock copolymers in adhesives. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I A). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art also would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Wellisz therefore clearly teaches a EO:PO weight ratio range (i.e., 4:1 to 1:10) that overlaps with that recited in claim 23 (i.e., 5:1 to 1:5) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 and 24 are allowed.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art is to Joenssen. Joenssen discloses a moisture curable adhesive composition for bonding a first substrate and a second substrate (Abstract of Joenssen, moisture curing polyurethane adhesive; 19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond substrates together), the adhesive composition comprising: a polyurethane adhesive composition comprising an isocyanate terminated urethane prepolymer (24:24-27 of Joenssen, isocyanate terminated polyurethane prepolymers produced), which is a reaction product of at least one isocyanate containing compound (11:2-5 of Joenssen, polyisocyanates reacted to form prepolymer) and at least one polyether polyol triblock copolymer (11:2-5 of Joenssen, polyisocyanates reacted with polyols to form prepolymer; 7:26-8:3 of Joenssen, poly(oxyethylene-oxypropylene) diols and triols obtained by sequential addition of ethylene and propylene oxide to di or trifunctional initiators), wherein the first substrate is a lignocellulosic substrate and the second substrate comprises a lignocellulosic substrate or a non-lignocellulosic substrate (19:5-12 of Joenssen, adhesive used to bond substrates together). Neither Joenssen, however, nor any of the other prior art references of record teach or reasonably suggest a moisture curable adhesive composition as set forth in claim 13 comprising (ii) an aqueous primer composition which comprises (i) from 1 wt.% to 30 wt.% of water; (ii) from 20 wt.% to 50 wt.% of alkyl sulfosuccinate; (iii) from 20 wt.% to 50 wt.% of alkoxylated phenol; and (iv) from 0.1 wt.% to 3 wt.% of a flame retardant.
The prior art as a whole therefore fails to teach or reasonably suggest the totality of the invention as defined by claim 13. In the absence of further prior art guidance, it would not have been obvious to arrive at the invention of claim 13 without impermissible hindsight. For the foregoing reasons, the invention of claim 13 is deemed non-obvious. Claims 14-16 and 24 depend from or otherwise include all limitations of claim 13 and are therefore also deemed non-obvious for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that there is no express disclosure of a polyether polyol triblock in Joenssen (¶ spanning pp. 9-10 of the amendment). Joenssen, however, discloses poly(oxyethylene-oxypropylene) diols obtained by sequential addition of ethylene and propylene oxides to a di functional initiator (7:26-8:3 of Joenssen). As evidenced by Alexandridis et al. (“Poly(ethylene oxide)-poly(propylene oxide )-poly (ethylene oxide) block copolymer surfactants in aqueous solutions and at interfaces: thermodynamics, structure, dynamics, and modeling”, Colloids and Surfaces Am 96, pp. 1-46, 1995), the sequential addition of ethylene and propylene oxides to a di functional initiator bresults in triblock copolymers (pg. 2, ¶ spanning columns of Alexandridis).
The applicant also asserts that there is evidence of nonobviousness in the specification that distinguishes the claimed invention from Joenssen (¶ spanning pp. 10-11 of the amendment). In particular, the applicant points to data in the specification purporting to show unexpected results for the claimed compositions. As set forth in the MPEP, however, the objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support (i.e., the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range) [MPEP 716.02(d)]. The claims encompass polyurethane adhesives comprising an isocyanate terminated urethane prepolymer, which is a reaction product of at least one isocyanate containing compound and at least one polyether polyol triblock copolymer having a weight average molecular weight of below 4,000 Dalton, wherein the urethane prepolymer has free isocyanate groups in an amount of from 10 wt.% to 30 wt.%, based on the total weight of the pre- polymer. Claim 1 therefore encompasses the reaction products of any isocyanate containing compound and any polyether polyol triblock copolymer having any weight average molecular weight of below 4,000 Dalton and free isocyanate groups in any amount between 10 wt.% to 30 wt.%. The showing provided, however, includes compounds having a narrow range of free isocyanate groups in an amount of between 16 wt.% to 20 wt.% which is not commensurate in scope with the claimed range. In addition, all of the prepolymers are made from MDI whereas the claim recites any isocyanate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746