DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species G, Figure 7, in the reply filed on August 18, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of additional claims does not add significant search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because although examiner may need to look in similar subclasses for each species, there exists an *examination* burden when looking for mutually exclusive structures in the same subclass. Additionally, Examiner is interpreting the species not to be obvious variants. If Applicant believes them obvious variants, a supplemental response should be submitted in order to clarify this.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 3-4, 9-12 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-2, 5-8 remain under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bottlang et al. (US 2012/0310289), hereinafter “Bottlang”.
Regarding claim 1, Bottlang discloses a plate implant (601, FIGS. 6-8) for bridging a fracture gap, having: a longitudinal axis (604) in the direction of a largest extent of the plate implant; a plurality of bores (605) which are arranged spaced apart from each other in the direction of the longitudinal axis; and an elastic longitudinal expansion device (606/608) which is provided at least between two of said plurality of bores; wherein the longitudinal expansion device is configured such that the plate implant has increased expansibility (FIG. 7) in the direction of the longitudinal axis but at the same time has high bending stiffness and torsion stiffness (¶125).
Regarding claim 2, Bottlang discloses the plate implant for bridging a fracture gap as claimed in claim 1, wherein the longitudinal expansion device has an elastic element (608) which is incorporated into the plate implant.
Regarding claim 5, Bottlang discloses the plate implant for bridging a fracture gap as claimed in claim 1, wherein the longitudinal expansion device comprises at least one leaf spring (608) which is formed by one or more notches in the plate implant.
Regarding claim 6, Bottlang discloses the plate implant for bridging a fracture gap as claimed in claim 5, wherein the at least one leaf spring is formed by u-shaped notches in the plate implant which surround a respective one of said plurality of bores (¶104).
Regarding claim 7, Bottlang discloses the plate implant for bridging a fracture gap as claimed in claim 6, wherein a first plurality of said u-shaped notches is configured such that the u-shape is open towards a left edge of the plate implant, and a second plurality of said u-shaped notches is configured such that the u-shape is open towards an opposite right edge of the plate implant (FIGS. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Bottlang discloses the plate implant for bridging a fracture gap as claimed in claim 6, wherein the notches overlap laterally (FIGS. 6).
Conclusion
/OLIVIA C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775