DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but some of them are not persuasive.
Specifically, on page 12, Applicant argues that,
“…
… However, even assuming for sake of argument that Bian records different audio channels for different display areas, Bian does not describe copying first audio to obtain N same paths of second audio data, let alone do so based on a stream configuration quantity. […]”
(original emphases)
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that, at least in paragraphs [0168]-[0174], [0191], [0228], and Fig. 7, Bian clearly discloses the initial audio data captured as first audio is copied into two same paths: first path comprising steps 703-705 and second path from steps 706-708 when the user selects a stream configuration quantity of two as shown in Fig. 5(c).
The Office Action is now relied upon Bradlow et al. (US 2016/0332747 A1 – hereinafter Bradlow) to teach encoding audio into encoded audio and mixing audio and video data based on matching timestamps into each of the paths taught by Bian as described above.
On pages 14-15, Applicant argues that,
“Toma essentially explains that video and audio may be multiplexed by the MP4 so that the PTS of a video leading picture and audio leading frame are matched with each other. Toma does not at all describe generating original video as the first video when a timestamp included in the first target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the first image, and generating a main- character video as the second video when a timestamp included in the second target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the second image. In other words, Toma fails to disclose or suggest that "in association with determining that a timestamp included in the first target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the first image, stream mixing is performed based on the first target audio data and the first image to generate original video as the first video, and in association with determining that a timestamp included in the second target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the second image, stream mixing is performed based on the second target audio data and the second image to generate a main-character video as the second video," as claimed.”
(original emphases)
In response, Examiner respectfully submits that Bian already teaches stream mixing is performed based on first target audio data (the audio data at step 705 for example shown in Fig. 7) and first image (Fig. 5(a) – first image in preview window 501) to generate original video as first video (see at least file 1205 of Fig. 12(c) as further described in at least [0252] – this file clearly is the original video captured in the first preview window 501 as shown in Fig. 5(a)), and stream mixing is performed based on second target audio data (the audio data at step 708 shown in Fig. 7) and second image (Fig. 5(a) – second image in preview window 502) to generate a main-character video as the second video (see at least file 1206 of Fig. 12(c) as further described in at least [0252] – this file clearly is the main-character video, i.e. video of a girl character, captured in the second preview window 502 as shown in Fig. 5(a)).
The teachings of Bradlow would have been incorporated into each of these channels to derive at the claimed invention as described in details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 14-15, 18, 20, and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian et al. (US 2023/0115929 A1 – hereinafter Bian), Koti et al. (US 2015/0350554 A1 – hereinafter Koti), and Bradlow et al. (US 2016/0332747 A1 – hereinafter Bradlow).
Regarding claim 1, Bian discloses a video processing method applied to a terminal ([0140]-[0141]; Fig. 4(a) – a video recording method applied to a terminal, which is a mobile phone as shown in Fig. 4(a)) having a camera ([0141] – comprising at least a camera), the method comprising: displaying a recording interface having a first control, a first preview window, and a second preview window, and wherein the first preview window is used to display an image captured by the camera (Fig. 5(a) – displaying a recording interface comprising a first preview window to display a first video channel captured by the camera, i.e. preview window 501 and a second preview window to display a second video channel, i.e. preview window 502 ); displaying a first image in the first preview window at a first moment, wherein the first image is captured by the camera at the first moment (Fig. 5(a) – displaying a first image in preview window 501 captured by the camera at a first time, e.g. at time 00:02 as shown in Fig. 11A-3); in association with a first object being in a first position of the first image, displaying, by the terminal, a second image in the second preview window, wherein the second image comprises the first object (Fig. 5(a) – displaying a second image in the preview window 502, the second image comprises the girl, which is the first object at the first time, e.g. at time 00:02 as shown in Fig. 11A-3); displaying a third image in the first preview window at a second moment, wherein the third image is captured by the camera at the second moment (Fig. 5(a) – displaying a third image in preview window 501 captured by the camera at a second time, e.g. at time 00:03 as shown in Fig. 11B-1); in association with the first object being in a second position of the third image, displaying, by the terminal, a fourth image in the second preview window, wherein the fourth image comprises the first object (Fig. 5(a) – displaying a fourth image in the preview window 502, the fourth image comprises the girl, which is the first object at the second time, e.g. at time 00:03 as shown in Fig. 11B-1); obtaining first audio data, wherein the first audio data comprises a first audio signal and information about the first audio signal, and the first audio signal is an audio signal generated based on an audio signal collected at the first moment ([0231] – obtaining panoramic audio data); determining a stream configuration quantity N (Fig. 5(a), 5(b) – obtaining a stream configuration quantity N via user selection of number of channels); copying the first audio data to obtain N same paths of second audio data based on the stream configuration quantity N (Fig. 7; [0168]-[0174]; [0231] – copying panoramic audio data for each video channel); and obtaining the first target audio data and the second target audio data from a first path of the second audio data and a second path of the second audio data to obtain two paths of audio data, wherein one path of the audio data is used as the first target audio data, and the other path of the audio data is used as the second target audio data (Fig. 7; [0168]-[0174]; [0191]; [0228]; [0231]; [0239]; [0245] – the first video comprises the first image and first target audio data, which corresponds to panoramic audio and at least one channel of audio corresponding to the first display area encoded , the second video comprises the second image and second target audio data, which includes the panoramic audio and at least one channel of audio corresponding to the second display area); and detecting a first operation for the first control, stopping video recording in response to the first operation ([0248]-[0250] – receiving an operation performed by the user to stop recording, the mobile phone stops recording and generates the multi-channel recorded video), and saving a first video recorded based on an image displayed in the first preview window and a second video recorded based on an image displayed in the second preview window ([0004]; [0164] – saving the first video and the second video into separate video files), wherein the first video comprises the first image and first target audio data, the second video comprises the second image and second target audio data, and both the first target audio data and the second target audio data are obtained based on the first audio data ([0231]; [0239]; [0245] – the first video comprises the first image and first target audio data, which corresponds to panoramic audio and at least one channel of audio corresponding to the first preview window, the second video comprises the second image and second target audio data, which includes the panoramic audio and at least one channel of audio corresponding to the second preview window); stream mixing is performed based on the first target audio data and the first image to generate original video as the first video, and stream mixing is performed based on the second target audio data and the second image to generate a main-character video as the second video (Fig. 12(c); [0252] – mixing the first image and first target audio data, which corresponds to panoramic audio and at least one channel of audio corresponding to the first preview window, into a first video file 1205; and mixing the second image and second target audio data, which includes the panoramic audio and at least one channel of audio corresponding to the second preview window, into a second video file 1206, which is a main-character video, i.e. the girl as the main character in the video).
However, Bian does not disclose in association with detecting that the first object is in the first position of the first image, displaying, by the terminal, the second image in the second preview window, wherein the second image is generated based on the first image; in association with detecting that the first object is in the second position of the third image, displaying, by the terminal, the fourth image in the second preview window, wherein the fourth image is generated based on the third image; encoding each path to obtain corresponding of encoded audio data for each target audio data; in association with determining that a timestamp included in the first target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the first image, stream mixing is performed based on the first target audio data and the first image to generate original video as the first video, and in association with determining that a timestamp included in the second target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the second image, stream mixing is performed based on the second target audio data and the second image to generate a main-character video as the second video.
Koti discloses when it is detected that a first object is in a first position of a first image ([0040] – when it is detected that an object is in a position selected by a user to indicate a ROI of a main image), displaying, by a terminal, a second image in a second preview window (Figs. 2, 6-7 – displaying the second image in window 122 or window 124), wherein the second image is generated based on the first image ([0037]; Figs. 2, 6-7 – the second image is generated by based on the indicated ROI of the first image), and the second image comprises the first object (Figs. 2, 6-7 – the second image comprises the object selected by the user as a ROI); when it is detected that the first object is in a second position of a third image, displaying, by the terminal, a fourth image in the second preview window, wherein the fourth image is generated based on the third image, and the fourth image comprises the first object ([0035] – the first object is tracked as it moves, thus when it is detected that the first object is in a second position due to its movement, the PIP window displays the fourth image accordingly).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Koti into the method taught by Bian to allow the user control selection of the object to be captured in the second preview window and track the object accordingly, thus enhancing the recording interface of the method.
Bian and Koti do not disclose encoding each path to obtain corresponding of encoded audio data for each target audio data; in association with determining that a timestamp included in the first target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the first image, stream mixing is performed based on the first target audio data and the first image to generate original video as the first video, and in association with determining that a timestamp included in the second target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the second image, stream mixing is performed based on the second target audio data and the second image to generate a main-character video as the second video.
Bradlow discloses target audio data is obtained by encoding a path of audio data to obtain corresponding of encoded audio data, wherein the path of encoded audio data is used as the target audio data ([0006] – a path of audio data is encoded into a format and later synchronized with video); in association with determining that a timestamp included in the target audio data is the same as a timestamp of the image, stream mixing is performed based on the target audio data and the image to generate a corresponding video ([0046] – stream stitching is performed based on the target audio data, i.e. the encoded audio data as described in at least [0006], with video data to generate a video).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Bradlow into each of the audio path and each of the mixing in the method taught by Bian and Koti to (1) encode the audio data into a format appropriate for processing, and (2) synchronize the audio and video data in each channel.
Regarding claim 2, Bian in view of Koti and Bradlow also discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein before the displaying a recording interface, the method further comprises: displaying the preview interface, wherein the preview interface comprises a second control (Figs. 4(b), 4(c) – before displaying a recording interface as shown in Fig. 4(c), displaying a preview interface as shown in Fig. 4(a), wherein the preview interface comprises a second control, e.g. any control 402 as further described in at least [0144]); detecting a second operation for the second control, so that a camera application enters a first mode in response to the second operation ([0144] – detecting a second operation, e.g. selecting a multi-channel video recording mode, the camera application enters a multi-channel video recording mode). Koti also discloses in association with the first image being displayed in the first preview window, detecting a third operation for the first object ([0040]; Figs. 2, 6-7 – when the first image is displayed, the user selects a ROI by touching, the operation is detected and the first object is selected as a ROI); and displaying a second preview window in response to the third operation ([0040]; Figs. 2, 6-7 – displaying the ROI in the second preview window in response to the selection of ROI).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Koti into the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Bian in view of Koti and Bradlow also discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein any path of the second audio data comprises the first audio signal and partial information of the first audio signal ([0231] – copying panoramic audio data plus at least one channel of audio, which is partial information of the first audio signal, for each video channel ).
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Bian, Koti, and Bradlow as discussed in claim 3 above. Koti also discloses the determining, by the terminal, a stream configuration quantity N comprises: detecting, by the terminal, the second operation for the second control, and determining, by the terminal, the stream configuration quantity N in response to the operation; after the recording interface is displayed, detecting an operation for the first object ([0040]-[0041] – selecting an object as a ROI); and updating, by the terminal, the stream configuration quantity N in response to the operation for the first object ([0040]-[0041] – determining a stream configuration quantity N via selecting a ROI, specifically in response to an operation of selecting a first ROI, determining a stream configuration quantity of 2, and in response to an operation of selecting a second ROI, the stream configuration quantity N is updated to 3).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Koti into the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Bian in view of Koti and Bradlow also discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the terminal, a stream configuration quantity N comprises: detecting, by the terminal, the second operation for the second control, and determining, by the terminal, the stream configuration quantity N in response to the operation (Fig. 5(a), 5(b) – obtaining a stream configuration quantity N via user selection of number of channels); after the recording interface is displayed, detecting an operation for stopping recording the second video; and updating, by the terminal, the stream configuration quantity N in response to the operation for stopping recording the second video ([0248]-[0250] – in response to a recording stop command, returning to the video recording preview interface or the shooting preview interface, i.e. updating the stream configuration quantity N to zero).
Regarding claim 7, Bian in view of Koti and Bradlow also discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein recording the path of second audio data, and recording, by the second audio encoding module, the another path of second audio data ([0231]; [0239]; [0245] – recording each path comprises recording panoramic audio and at least one corresponding channel of audio for each path).
Bradlow discloses a terminal comprises an audio encoding module encoding a path of audio data comprises: encoding the path of the audio data ([0006] – an audio encoding module of a terminal encodes a path of audio data into a format and later synchronized with video).
The reason for incorporating the teachings of Bradlow in each of the audio paths of the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, see the teachings of Bian and Koti and Bradlow as discussed in claim 1 above, in which Bradlow in view of Bian also discloses the first audio data comprises the first audio signal and a timestamp, a data length, a sampling rate, and a data format of the first audio signal ([0006]; [0032]; [0046]; [0053] – the first audio data comprises the first audio data, a timestamp to be matched with that of a video segment, a data length, which is the length of the audio segment, a sampling rate to provide audio samples, each of which is associated with temporal metadata given by a digital clock, and an audio format, i.e. MP3).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Bradlow into the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, see the teachings of Bian and Koti and Bradlow as discussed in claim 1 above, in which Bradlow in view of Bian also discloses the second audio data comprises the first audio signal and a timestamp and a data length of the first audio signal ([0006]; [0032]; [0046]; [0053] – the second audio data comprises the first audio data, i.e. in view of Bian disclosing copying the initial audio data into each audio channel, a timestamp to be matched with that of a video segment, a data length, which is the length of the audio segment).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Bradlow into the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 (claim 1 accommodates the scope of claim 14) above in view of Bian also disclosing an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1 – processor 110); one or more memories (Fig. 1 – internal memory 121) configured to store computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to perform the recited steps (Fig. 4(a) – a module at which a plurality of applications are installed as shown in Fig. 4(a), wherein the memory stores one or more programs for the camera application that, when executed by the processor, the device is enabled to perform the recited steps as discussed in claim 1 above).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 (claim 1 accommodates the scope of claim 14) above in view of Bian also disclosing a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having a computer program, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the recited operations (Fig. 4(a) – internal memory stores one or more programs for the camera application that, when executed by the processor, the device is enabled to perform the recited steps as discussed in claim 1 above).
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Bian also disclosing an electronic device comprising one or more processors and one or more memories configured to store computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to perform the recited steps as discussed in claim 14 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Bian also disclosing a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having a computer program, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the recited operations as discussed in claim 15 above.
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 24 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 25 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 7 above.
Claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 7 above.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484