DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Regarding objections to the objection:
Claim 13 was objected to due to an informality. The Applicant amended the claim to correct the informality, therefore the objection was withdrawn.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §§102 and 103:
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10, and 14 were rejected as being obvious over Weber in view of Tremelling. Claim 7 was rejected as being obvious over Weber in view of Tremelling and Koshino. Claims 11, 13, and 15-16 were rejected as being anticipated by Weber. Claims 17-20 were rejected as being obvious over Weber in view of Komlossy. The Applicant amended claims 1, 11, 15, and 17 and canceled claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amended independent claims 1, 11, and 17 to include the claim limitations of “wherein individual stator bars of the plurality of stator bars are press fit into individual slots of the plurality of slots…wherein the walls of the overmolded inner layer position and separate the plurality of stator bars within the interior channel, and wherein the plurality of flow channels are configured to convey the cooling fluid in contact with respective surfaces of individual stator bars.” The Applicant argued that Weber and the combinations of Weber and Tremelling and Weber and Komlossy fail to collectively teach the amended language recited in the claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Weber teaches individual stator bars (FIG. 1, 17) of the plurality of stator bars being press fit (Paragraph [0039]) into individual slots (FIG. 1, 16) of the plurality of slots…wherein the walls of the overmolded inner layer position and separate the plurality of stator bars within the interior channel (Paragraph [0033]-[0034]), and wherein the plurality of flow channels (FIG. 1, 18) are configured to convey the cooling fluid in contact with respective surfaces of individual stator bars (Paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the claims remain rejected over the prior art of record.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the claim limitation of “the series of slots” in line 1 which should instead be “the plurality of slots” to match the wording used in claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the claim limitation of “the series of slots” in line 1 which should instead be “the plurality of slots” to match the wording used in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites the claim limitation of “wherein the series of slots are configured to hold the plurality of stator bars via a press fit interface.” Claim 1 on which claim 3 depends recites the claim limitation of “wherein individual stator bars of the plurality of stator bars are press fit into individual slots of the plurality of slots.” Claim 3 repeats the claim limitation of claim 1 without further limiting the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0149023 to Weber (cited by Applicant on 4/2/2024).
Regarding claim 11, Weber teaches a sealed stator fluid jacket (Paragraph [0001]) for an electric motor (FIG. 1, 10), the sealed stator fluid jacket comprising:
a plurality of stator bars (FIG. 1, 17); and
a body comprising a plurality of channels (FIG. 1, 13), wherein the plurality of channels comprise an over molded layer (FIG. 1, 14); and
wherein the over molded layer forms an interior channel (FIG. 1, 12) having a plurality of slots (FIG. 1, 16), wherein individual stator bars of the plurality of stator bars are press fit into individual slots of the plurality of slots (Paragraph [0039]), wherein a plurality of flow channels (FIG. 1, 18) are defined by gaps between the stator bars and walls of the over molded layer,
wherein the walls of the over molded layer position and separate the plurality of stator bars within the interior channel (Paragraph [0033]-[0034]), and
wherein the plurality of flow channels are configured to convey a cooling fluid in contact with respective surfaces of individual stator bars (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Weber teaches the sealed stator fluid jacket of claim 11, wherein an individual stator bar of the plurality of stator bars comprises a first stator bar side (FIG. 1, above a middle stator bar 17) and a second stator bar side (FIG. 1, below a middle stator bar 17); wherein the plurality of flow channels are located on the first stator bar side and the second stator bar side (FIG. 1, 18; above and below a middle stator bar 17).
Regarding claim 15, Weber teaches the sealed stator fluid jacket of claim 11, wherein the stator bars are grooved to create additional contact area within an individual flow channel of the plurality of flow channels (Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Weber teaches the sealed stator fluid jacket of claim 11, wherein the over molded layer holds the plurality of stator bars within the sealed stator fluid jacket (Paragraph [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0149023 to Weber in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0063200 to Tremelling et al. (hereinafter Tremelling; cited by Applicant on 4/2/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Weber teaches a cooling system (Paragraph [0015]) for an electric vehicle (Paragraph [0024]), the cooling system comprising:
a sealed stator fluid jacket (Paragraph [0001]) comprising:
a plurality of stator bars (FIG. 1, 17); and
a plurality of channels (FIG. 1, 12);
wherein the plurality of channels comprise an outer layer (FGI. 1, 11) and an over molded inner layer (FIG. 1, 14);
wherein the over molded inner layer defines an interior channel (FIG. 1, 12) having a plurality of slots (FIG. 1, 16), wherein individual stator bars of the plurality of stator bars are press fit into individual slots of the plurality of slots (Paragraph [0039]), wherein a plurality of flow channels are defined by gaps between the stator bars and walls of the over molded inner layer (FIG. 1, 18);
wherein the walls of the over molded inner layer position and separate the plurality of stator bars within the interior channel (Paragraph [0033]-[0034]), and wherein the plurality of flow channels are configured to convey the cooling fluid in contact with respective surfaces of individual stator bars (Paragraph [0034]);
wherein the plurality of flow channels of the sealed stator jacket is configured to remove heat (Paragraph [0034]).
Weber does not teach a reservoir configured to hold a cooling fluid;
a pump configured to pump the cooling fluid;
a heat exchanger configured to interact with the cooling fluid; and
wherein the heat exchanger is configured to remove heat from the cooling fluid received from cooling fluid received from the plurality of flow channels of the sealed stator fluid jacket.
However, Tremelling teaches a cooling system with a reservoir (FIG. 1, 114) configured to hold a cooling fluid (Paragraph [0026]);
a pump (FIG. 1, 108) configured to pump the cooling fluid (Paragraph [0025]);
a heat exchanger (FIG. 1, 112) configured to interact with the cooling fluid (Paragraph [0025]);
wherein the heat exchanger is configured to remove heat from the cooling fluid received (Paragraph [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Weber with the cooling system of Tremelling to increase the cooling capacity of the cooling system.
Regarding claim 3, Weber in view of Tremelling teaches the cooling system of claim 1, wherein Weber further teaches the series of slots being configured to hold the plurality of stator bars via a press fit interface (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Weber in view of Tremelling teaches the cooling system of claim 1, wherein Weber further teaches the series of slots are formed via a broaching process (FIG. 1, 14; this claim is treated as a product-by-process claim which is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps).
Regarding claim 6, Weber in view of Tremelling teaches the cooling system of claim 1, wherein Tremelling further teaches the sealed stator fluid jacket further comprising a stator end component (FIG. 12, 118) configured to receive an end portion of the stator bars (FIG. 12, 168a; Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Weber in view of Tremelling teaches the cooling system of claim 1, wherein Weber further teaches the outer layer of the channel comprising a body of the sealed stator fluid jacket (FIG. 1, 11).
Regarding claim 9, Weber in view of Tremelling teaches the cooling system of claim 1, wherein Weber further teaches the over molded inner layer comprising a plastic (Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Weber in view of Tremelling teaches the cooling system of claim 1, wherein Weber further teaches the stator bars being grooved to create additional contact area with the fluid within the flow channel (Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Weber teaches the sealed stator fluid jacket of claim 11.
Weber does not teach a stator end component configured to receive an end portion of the stator bars.
However, Tremelling teaches a cooling system with a stator end component (FIG. 12, 118) configured to receive an end portion of the stator bars (FIG. 12, 168a; Paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealed stator fluid jacket of Weber with the stator end component of Tremelling to further provide additional surface area for cooling of the end portions of the stator bars.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber in view of Tremelling and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0262068 to Koshino (cited by Applicant on 4/2/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Weber in view of Tremelling teaches the cooling system of claim 1.
Weber in view of Tremelling does not teach the plurality of stator bars being bent in a hairpin formation.
However, Koshino teaches a stator having stator bars in a hairpin formation (FIG. 2, 31b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Weber in view of Tremelling with the hairpin formation of Koshino to provide a simpler stator end portion formation when inserted into the stator.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber in view of German Patent No. 10 2013 105 553 to Komlossy et al. (hereinafter Komlossy).
Regarding claim 17, Weber teaches a method of forming a sealed stator fluid jacket (Paragraph [0001]), the method comprising: forming a plurality of cavities in a body of the sealed stator fluid jacket (FIG. 1, 12; Paragraph [0033]);
over-molding the plurality of cavities with a medium to form an overmolded inner layer (Paragraph [0033]), wherein a thickness of the medium is greater than that of a final channel that will be formed (FIG. 1; 14, 18); and
inserting a plurality of stator bars (FIG. 1, 17; Paragraph [0035]) within a series of slots (FIG. 1, 16), wherein inserting the plurality of stator bars comprises press fitting individual stator bars of the plurality of stator bars into individual slots of the series of slots (Paragraph [0039]), wherein a plurality of flow channels (FIG. 1, 18) are defined by gaps between the stator bars and walls of the over molded inner layer,
wherein the walls of the over molded inner layer position and separate the plurality of stator bars (Paragraph [0033]-[0034]), and wherein the plurality of flow channels are configured to convey a cooling fluid in contact with respective surfaces of individual stator bars (Paragraph [0034]).
Weber does not teach broaching a series of slots within the medium to produce the final channel.
However, Komlossy teaches broaching a series of slots in a stator (FIG. 4, 36) to form fluid channels (Paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Weber with the broaching of Komlossy as this method could be more useful in applying a retrofit to an existing stator as it does not require a specialized mold for forming the slots.
Regarding claim 19, Weber in view of Komlossy teaches the method of claim 17, wherein Komlossy further teaches forming the plurality of cavities in the sealed stator fluid jacket comprising stamping the plurality of cavities in the sealed stator fluid jacket (Paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Weber in view of Komlossy teaches the method of claim 17, wherein Weber further teaches the final channel comprising the series of slots configured to hold the plurality of stator bars (FIG. 1, 17).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834