DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/31/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or are moot.
Applicant argues on pages 5-6 that the previously cited art does not disclose the newly amended limitations to the independent claim narrowing the scope from adjusting parameters for the at least one anatomical structure or areas of dropout of the anatomical structure to only the areas of dropout of the anatomical structure. However, newly cited sections of Patil necessitated by amendment disclose these limitations. Specifically, Patil discloses adjusting parameters to adjust imaging parameters to improve the signal at an artifact or at an obstructed area.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that Stergiopoulos teaches away from using model based segmentation. However, the Examiner notes that Stergiopoulos is not being modified, Patil is so the question is not whether Stergiopoulos teaches away from MBS, but instead whether Patil teaches away from using MBS, which the Applicant has not provided any arguments for. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that Patil does not disclose MBS. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145. Here, the Examiner relies on Stergiopoulos to disclose these limitations in the claims. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that Stergiopoulos does not disclose MBS. The Applicant does not indicate how the citation provided by the Examiner fails to meet the limitations in the claims and instead attempts to argue that Stergiopoulos teaches away from using MBS. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that Stergiopoulos improves upon existing MBS by additionally performing transformations before using shaped based segmentation among other steps, but still discloses using an improved version of MBS. Accordingly, Stergiopoulos still reads on the claims as previously cited. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant repeats their arguments on pages 8-10. These arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons outlined above. Accordingly, these arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US20210128114, hereafter Patil) and Stergiopoulos et al. (US20210251610, hereafter Stergiopoulos).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Patil discloses a method and system of imaging (Patil, Para 1; “More specifically, certain embodiments relate to a method and system for automatically adjusting beamformer parameters based on ultrasound image analysis to enhance ultrasound image acquisition.”) a heart (Patil, Para 19; “he ultrasound probe 104 may be operable to acquire ultrasound image data covering at least a substantial portion of an anatomy, such as the heart, a blood vessel, or any suitable anatomical structure.”), comprising:
controlling an ultrasound probe to receive first reflected ultrasound echo signals from the heart, wherein the first reflected ultrasound echo signals were transmitted using first transmit parameters (Patil, Para 20; “The transmit beamformer 110 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to control the transmitter 102 which, through a transmit sub-aperture beamformer 114, drives the group of transmit transducer elements 106 to emit ultrasonic transmit signals into a region of interest (e.g., human, animal, underground cavity, physical structure and the like). The transmitted ultrasonic signals may be back-scattered from structures in the object of interest, like blood cells or tissue, to produce echoes. The echoes are received by the receive transducer elements 108.”);
creating an ultrasound image of the heart from the first reflected ultrasound echo signals using first echo signal processing parameters (Patil, Para. 19; Para 26; “The signal processor 132 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to process ultrasound scan data (i.e., summed IQ signal) for generating ultrasound images for presentation on a display system 134.”);
performing model-based segmentation of the ultrasound image to identify anatomical structures of the heart (Patil, Para 29; “The signal processor 132 may include an image segmentation processor 140 that comprises suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to analyze acquired ultrasound images to identify and segment anatomical structures”) (Patil, Para 30; “The image segmentation processor 140 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to analyze acquired ultrasound images to identify and segment anatomical structures and image artifacts. […] As an example, if performing an ultrasound procedure of the heart, the output layer may include neurons for a mitral valve, aortic valve, ventricle chambers, atria chambers, septum, papillary muscle, inferior wall, rib shadow artifacts, and the like.”);
for at least one anatomical structure which has areas of dropout, using the segmentation to extrapolate from the identified anatomical structures to identify a location within the image of the areas of dropout (Patil, Para 29; “The signal processor 132 may include an image segmentation processor 140 that comprises suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to analyze acquired ultrasound images to identify and segment […] image artifacts, such as […] or any suitable anatomical structures or image artifact.”) (Patil, Para 30; “Other ultrasound procedures may utilize output layers that include […] shadow artifacts, dark region artifacts, or any suitable anatomical structure and/or image artifact. […] The processing performed by the image segmentation processor 140 deep neural network (e.g., convolutional neural network) may identify anatomical structures and image artifacts in ultrasound image data with a high degree of probability.”) (Patil, Para 33; “Referring again to FIG. 1, the signal processor 132 may include an enhancement detection processor 150 that comprises suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to determine whether and where to perform image enhancement based on the anatomical structures and image artifacts identified by the image segmentation processor 140 […] As another example, the enhancement detection processor 150 may determine to perform image enhancement and identify locations in the ultrasound image for enhancement based on the locations of image artifacts identified by the image segmentation processor 140 and locations of obstructing anatomical structures identified by the image segmentation processor 140 that may be associated with the image artifacts.”); and
obtaining a next ultrasound image of the areas of dropout for the at least one anatomical structure using second, different, echo signal processing parameters and/or second, different, transmit parameters specifically for the at least one anatomical structure, thereby to improve the signal to noise ratio at least for the areas of dropout (Patil, Para 35; “Referring again to FIG. 1, the signal processor 132 may include a parameter adjustment processor 160 that comprises suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to adjust beamformer parameters in response to the locations of anatomical structures, obstacles, and/or image artifacts provided by the enhancement detection processor 150 to acquire enhanced ultrasound images having improved insonation of a particular region or regions. […] the parameter adjustment processor 160 may deactivate transducer elements adjacent ribs to avoid rib shadows and/or may adjust beamforming weights and/or beam angles to capture image data below the ribs, a gall bladder, or other acoustically hard anatomy as detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. In certain embodiments, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust the beamformer parameters to improve image contrast and/or sharpness of an anatomy of interest detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. In an exemplary embodiment, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust beamformer parameters to avoid image artifacts detected by the enhancement detection processor 150, such as haze or a twinkling effect of the gall bladder, among other things. For example, in a gall bladder stone ultrasound procedure, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may reduce a pulse repetition frequency and change a focal zone to just below a calcification in a gall bladder if the calcification-like mass includes twinkling artifacts as detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. As another example, in a kidney cyst ultrasound examination, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may turn on harmonics to improve insonation of a posterior of a cyst if the posterior region of the cyst includes a dark region image artifact detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. The ultrasound system 100 may be operable to acquire a next ultrasound image based on the beamformer parameters adjusted by the parameter adjustment processor 160 to present the enhanced ultrasound image at the display system 134.”) (Patil, Para 33; “The enhancement detection processor 150 may detect the location of the shadows and the location of the obstructing anatomical structure to provide to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image. As another example, the enhancement detection processor 150 may detect a location of an anatomy of interest as defined by a protocol or user input to provide to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image. Additionally, the enhancement detection processor 150 may detect the location of an anatomical structure having a known or detected imaging deficiency, such as a twinkling effect that may appear when imaging a gall bladder, and may provide the location of the anatomical structure having the known or detected imaging deficiency to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image.”).
Patil does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the model-based segmentation comprises a probabilistic model that characterizes a shape of a model heart and the model heart's variations.
In an analogous ultrasound image modeling field of endeavor Stergiopoulos discloses wherein a model-based segmentation comprises a probabilistic model that characterizes a shape of a model organ and the model organ's variations (Stergiopoulos, Para 164; "Referring to FIG. 15, a probabilistic shape model is generated to cover morphological variability of the organ's shape of interest. Such a shape model represents probability of each voxel being a member of a given organ of interest. Training volumes are used to estimate a probabilistic shape model. The global deformations from the reference volume are first removed from the training volumes. [...] Afterwards at 1528, the region-specific and resolution-specific filters are applied to extract features from {Vr tr i }, and after vectorization and concatenation, the feature matrix is formed at 1529. At 1531 the trained classifiers are applied to estimate labels, {{tilde over (L)}r,j i}, and then, at 1532 estimated labels are reshaped into three-dimensional space, {{tilde over (C)}r,j i}.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil wherein the model-based segmentation comprises a probabilistic model that characterizes a shape of a model heart and the model heart's variations in order to improve discriminability as taught by Stergiopoulos (Stergiopoulos, Para 156).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos above discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as discussed above.
Patil further discloses wherein obtaining the next ultrasound image of the heart comprises controlling the ultrasound probe to receive second reflected ultrasound echo signals, wherein the second reflected ultrasound echo signals were transmitted using the second transmit parameters and, optionally, applying the second, different, echo signal processing parameters to the second reflected ultrasound echo signals dropout (Patil, Para 35; “Referring again to FIG. 1, the signal processor 132 may include a parameter adjustment processor 160 that comprises suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to adjust beamformer parameters in response to the locations of anatomical structures, obstacles, and/or image artifacts provided by the enhancement detection processor 150 to acquire enhanced ultrasound images having improved insonation of a particular region or regions. Beamformer parameters, as referred to herein, include both transmit and receive beamforming parameters, such as a number and position of activated and deactivated transducer elements, transducer element weights, delays, beam angles, and the like. In various embodiments, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust the beamformer parameters to go around or otherwise avoid acoustically hard anatomies detected by the enhancement detection processor 150 to enhance regions below the acoustically hard anatomies by eliminating shadows and dark regions. For example, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may deactivate transducer elements adjacent ribs to avoid rib shadows and/or may adjust beamforming weights and/or beam angles to capture image data below the ribs, a gall bladder, or other acoustically hard anatomy as detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. In certain embodiments, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust the beamformer parameters to improve image contrast and/or sharpness of an anatomy of interest detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. In an exemplary embodiment, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust beamformer parameters to avoid image artifacts detected by the enhancement detection processor 150, such as haze or a twinkling effect of the gall bladder, among other things. For example, in a gall bladder stone ultrasound procedure, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may reduce a pulse repetition frequency and change a focal zone to just below a calcification in a gall bladder if the calcification-like mass includes twinkling artifacts as detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. As another example, in a kidney cyst ultrasound examination, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may turn on harmonics to improve insonation of a posterior of a cyst if the posterior region of the cyst includes a dark region image artifact detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. The ultrasound system 100 may be operable to acquire a next ultrasound image based on the beamformer parameters adjusted by the parameter adjustment processor 160 to present the enhanced ultrasound image at the display system 134.”) (Patil, Para 33; “The enhancement detection processor 150 may detect the location of the shadows and the location of the obstructing anatomical structure to provide to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image. As another example, the enhancement detection processor 150 may detect a location of an anatomy of interest as defined by a protocol or user input to provide to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image. Additionally, the enhancement detection processor 150 may detect the location of an anatomical structure having a known or detected imaging deficiency, such as a twinkling effect that may appear when imaging a gall bladder, and may provide the location of the anatomical structure having the known or detected imaging deficiency to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image.”).
Regarding claims 3, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Patil further discloses wherein the second, different, transmit parameters comprise different beamforming parameters compared to the first transmit parameters, wherein the second transmit parameters include, relative to the first transmit parameters, one or more of: an increased number of transmit pulses per scanline; an increased transmit aperture; an increased scanline density; a different pulse frequency; and a different pulse waveform (Patil, Para 35; “Referring again to FIG. 1, the signal processor 132 may include a parameter adjustment processor 160 that comprises suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to adjust beamformer parameters in response to the locations of anatomical structures, obstacles, and/or image artifacts provided by the enhancement detection processor 150 to acquire enhanced ultrasound images having improved insonation of a particular region or regions. Beamformer parameters, as referred to herein, include both transmit and receive beamforming parameters, such as a number and position of activated and deactivated transducer elements, transducer element weights, delays, beam angles, and the like. In various embodiments, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust the beamformer parameters to go around or otherwise avoid acoustically hard anatomies detected by the enhancement detection processor 150 to enhance regions below the acoustically hard anatomies by eliminating shadows and dark regions. For example, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may deactivate transducer elements adjacent ribs to avoid rib shadows and/or may adjust beamforming weights and/or beam angles to capture image data below the ribs, a gall bladder, or other acoustically hard anatomy as detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. In certain embodiments, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust the beamformer parameters to improve image contrast and/or sharpness of an anatomy of interest detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. In an exemplary embodiment, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may be operable to adjust beamformer parameters to avoid image artifacts detected by the enhancement detection processor 150, such as haze or a twinkling effect of the gall bladder, among other things. For example, in a gall bladder stone ultrasound procedure, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may reduce a pulse repetition frequency and change a focal zone to just below a calcification in a gall bladder if the calcification-like mass includes twinkling artifacts as detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. As another example, in a kidney cyst ultrasound examination, the parameter adjustment processor 160 may turn on harmonics to improve insonation of a posterior of a cyst if the posterior region of the cyst includes a dark region image artifact detected by the enhancement detection processor 150. The ultrasound system 100 may be operable to acquire a next ultrasound image based on the beamformer parameters adjusted by the parameter adjustment processor 160 to present the enhanced ultrasound image at the display system 134.”) (Patil, Para 33; “The enhancement detection processor 150 may detect the location of the shadows and the location of the obstructing anatomical structure to provide to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image. As another example, the enhancement detection processor 150 may detect a location of an anatomy of interest as defined by a protocol or user input to provide to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image. Additionally, the enhancement detection processor 150 may detect the location of an anatomical structure having a known or detected imaging deficiency, such as a twinkling effect that may appear when imaging a gall bladder, and may provide the location of the anatomical structure having the known or detected imaging deficiency to the parameter adjustment processor 160 to enhance the ultrasound image.”).
Regarding claims 10, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Patil further discloses wherein the at least one anatomical structure comprises the lateral heart wall (Patil, Para 30; “As an example, if performing an ultrasound procedure of the heart, the output layer may include neurons for a mitral valve, aortic valve, ventricle chambers,”).
Regarding claims 11, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Patil further discloses a computer program comprising computer program code means embodied in a non-transitory computer readable memory, which is adapted, when said program is run on a computer, to implement the method of claim 1 (Patil, Para 51; “Certain embodiments provide a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon, a computer program having at least one code section. The at least one code section is executable by a machine for causing the machine to perform steps 300. The steps 300 may comprise receiving 302 an ultrasound image 202. The steps 300 may comprise segmenting 304 the ultrasound image 202 to identify at least one anatomical structure 210-240 and/or at least one image artifact 250, 260 in the ultrasound image 202. The steps 300 may comprise detecting 308 a location of each of the identified at least one anatomical structure 210-240 and/or the at least one image artifact 250, 260. The steps 300 may comprise automatically adjusting 310 at least one beamformer parameter based on the detected location of one or more of the identified at least one anatomical structure 210-240 and/or the at least one image artifact 250, 260. The steps 300 may comprise receiving 302 an enhanced ultrasound image acquired 312 based on the automatically adjusted at least one beamformer parameter. The steps 300 may comprise presenting 302 the enhanced ultrasound image at a display system 134.”).
Claims 4-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil and Stergiopoulos as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and in further view of Cooley et al. (US20090069692).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos above discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as discussed above.
Patil does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein obtaining a next ultrasound image of the heart comprises applying the second, different, echo signal processing parameters to the first reflected ultrasound echo signals.
In an analogous diagnostic ultrasound artifact reduction system field of endeavor Cooley discloses applying second different echo signal processing parameters to reduce motion artifacts (Cooley, Para 37; “The adjustments made in this example are in control of the transmit beamformer to transmit a larger F number beam which laterally encompasses fewer multilines when motion is present so that the multilines which are combined span a shorter period of transmit times. […] An exemplary adjustment range is to use 16× multiline (receiving sixteen multilines in response to a transmit beam and combining multilines from sixteen transmit beams) when the image field is stationary, and decreasing the multiline order to 8×, 4×, 2× and 1× (single line transmit and receive) as the amount of motion increases.”) (Cooley, Para 30; “The refocusing adjusts for the phase differences resulting from the use of different transmit beam locations for each multiline, preventing undesired phase cancellation in the combined signals. The weights 114 weight the contributions of the multilines in relation to the proximity of the transmit beam to the multiline location, giving higher weight to receive beams with higher signal-to-noise ratios. This results in an extended depth of field along each receive line and an enhanced penetration (improved signal-to-noise ratio) due to the combination of multiple samplings in each receive line direction.”) (Cooley, Para 38; “This is also a way to reduce motion artifacts. Receiving multilines at more widely spaced line intervals with a fewer number of transmit beams is another way to address the problem of motion. This approach can be augmented with interpolated lines as mentioned above to increase the number of lines which are combined.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil wherein obtaining a next ultrasound image of the heart comprises applying the second, different, echo signal processing parameters to the first reflected ultrasound echo signals in order to improve imaging by suppressing or removing motion artifacts in the ultrasound image as taught by Cooley (Cooley, Para 38).
Regarding claim 5, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos and Cooley above discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Patil does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the first and second echo signal processing parameters comprise the parameters for retrospective dynamic transmit focusing including, for example, the number of transmit beams which are combined per scanline.
Cooley further discloses adjusting parameters for retrospective dynamic transmit focusing to reduce motion artifacts (Cooley, Para 30; “The refocusing adjusts for the phase differences resulting from the use of different transmit beam locations for each multiline, preventing undesired phase cancellation in the combined signals. The weights 114 weight the contributions of the multilines in relation to the proximity of the transmit beam to the multiline location, giving higher weight to receive beams with higher signal-to-noise ratios. This results in an extended depth of field along each receive line and an enhanced penetration (improved signal-to-noise ratio) due to the combination of multiple samplings in each receive line direction.”) (Cooley, Para 38; “This is also a way to reduce motion artifacts. Receiving multilines at more widely spaced line intervals with a fewer number of transmit beams is another way to address the problem of motion. This approach can be augmented with interpolated lines as mentioned above to increase the number of lines which are combined.”) (Cooley, Para 37; “The adjustments made in this example are in control of the transmit beamformer to transmit a larger F number beam which laterally encompasses fewer multilines when motion is present so that the multilines which are combined span a shorter period of transmit times. […] An exemplary adjustment range is to use 16× multiline (receiving sixteen multilines in response to a transmit beam and combining multilines from sixteen transmit beams) when the image field is stationary, and decreasing the multiline order to 8×, 4×, 2× and 1× (single line transmit and receive) as the amount of motion increases.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil wherein the first and second echo signal processing parameters comprise the parameters for retrospective dynamic transmit focusing including, for example, the number of transmit beams which are combined per scanline in order to improve imaging by suppressing or removing motion artifacts in the ultrasound image as taught by Cooley (Cooley, Para 38).
Regarding claim 6, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos and Cooley above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Patil does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the parameters for retrospective dynamic transmit focusing include the number of multi-lines in per transmit beam.
Cooley further adjusting the number of multi-lines in per transmit beam (Cooley, Para 37; “The adjustments made in this example are in control of the transmit beamformer to transmit a larger F number beam which laterally encompasses fewer multilines when motion is present so that the multilines which are combined span a shorter period of transmit times. […] An exemplary adjustment range is to use 16× multiline (receiving sixteen multilines in response to a transmit beam and combining multilines from sixteen transmit beams) when the image field is stationary, and decreasing the multiline order to 8×, 4×, 2× and 1× (single line transmit and receive) as the amount of motion increases.”) (Cooley, Para 30; “The refocusing adjusts for the phase differences resulting from the use of different transmit beam locations for each multiline, preventing undesired phase cancellation in the combined signals. The weights 114 weight the contributions of the multilines in relation to the proximity of the transmit beam to the multiline location, giving higher weight to receive beams with higher signal-to-noise ratios. This results in an extended depth of field along each receive line and an enhanced penetration (improved signal-to-noise ratio) due to the combination of multiple samplings in each receive line direction.”) (Cooley, Para 38; “This is also a way to reduce motion artifacts. Receiving multilines at more widely spaced line intervals with a fewer number of transmit beams is another way to address the problem of motion. This approach can be augmented with interpolated lines as mentioned above to increase the number of lines which are combined.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil wherein the parameters for retrospective dynamic transmit focusing include the number of multi-lines in per transmit beam in order to improve imaging by suppressing or removing motion artifacts in the ultrasound image as taught by Cooley (Cooley, Para 38).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil, Stergiopoulos, and Cooley as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Perperidis et al. (Perperidis A, McDicken N, MacGillivray T, Anderson T. Elevational spatial compounding for enhancing image quality in echocardiography. Ultrasound. 2016 May;24(2):74-85. doi: 10.1177/1742271X16632283. Epub 2016 Mar 1. PMID: 27274757; PMCID: PMC4874059., hereafter Perperidis).
Regarding claim 7, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos and Cooley above discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Patil does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the first and second echo signal processing parameters comprise the parameters for elevational spatial compounding including, for example, the number of elevation planes.
In an analogous diagnostic ultrasound field of endeavor Perperidis discloses using elevational spatial compounding to reduce noise (Perperidis, Abstract; “Elevational spatial compounding can produce substantial noise and speckle suppression as well as visual enhancement of tissue structures”) (Perperidis, Pg 75; “Elevational spatial compounding (ESC)25 provides an early attempt to compound 3D ultrasound data acquired by steering the imaging plane using small inclinations along the elevation plane to generate an enhanced 2D dataset.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil wherein the first and second echo signal processing parameters comprise the parameters for elevational spatial compounding including, for example, the number of elevation planes in order to improve visualization of tissue as taught by Perperidis (Perperidis, Abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil, Stergiopoulos, and Cooley as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (US20110184292, hereafter Yoo).
Regarding claim 8, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos and Cooley above discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Patil does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the first and second echo signal processing parameters comprise frequency compounding parameters and/or spatial compounding parameters, wherein the frequency compounding parameters and/or spatial compounding parameters for the second echo signal processing parameters are chosen such that they improve the contrast to noise ratio of the areas of dropout.
In an analogous diagnostic ultrasound artifact reduction system field of endeavor Yoo discloses performing spatial compounding to reduce areas of dropout (Yoo, Para 5; “Embodiments for spatially compounding ultrasound images for removing seam artifact in an ultrasound system are disclosed herein.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil wherein the first and second echo signal processing parameters comprise frequency compounding parameters and/or spatial compounding parameters, wherein the frequency compounding parameters and/or spatial compounding parameters for the second echo signal processing parameters are chosen such that they improve the contrast to noise ratio of the areas of dropout in order to improve imaging by removing artifacts in the ultrasound image as taught by Yoo (Yoo, Para 5 and abstract).
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil and Stergiopoulos as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and in further view of Masui et al. (US 20120224759, hereafter Masui).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Patil as modified by Stergiopoulos above discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as discussed above.
Patil does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein identifying the location within the image of the areas of dropout comprises using a confidence measure generated by the model-based segmentation.
In an analogous diagnostic ultrasound artifact reduction system field of endeavor Cooley discloses wherein identifying areas of dropout comprises using a confidence measure (Masui, Para 60; “With the characteristics as described above, by comparing the SAD minimum value in the histogram of the SAD distribution in the search area 32, with the SAD values with high frequency, it is possible to discriminate confidence of the ROI 31 signal (noise level low) associated with the search area 32, and confidence of the motion vectors determined in the search area 32. Consequently, an area with low confidence may be discriminated as a low SNR area, and further the confidence of associated motion vectors may be determined.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil wherein identifying the location within the image of the areas of dropout comprises using a confidence measure generated by the model-based segmentation in order to improve imaging by identifying areas of noise as taught by Masui (Masui, Para 6-8).
Conclusion
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798