DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
- The amendment filed on June 11, 2026 has been entered.
- Claims 1-30 are pending.
- Claims 1, 16, 24 and 28 have been amended.
- Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-12, 15-19, 21-22, 24-25 and 28-30 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 11-12, 15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0329301 A1; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claims 1 and 24, Shin first embodiment discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, (See 0030, computer program instructions may be stored in a computer usable or computer readable memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing equipment in order to implement a function in a particular manner, the instructions stored in the computer usable or computer readable memory) configured to: receive, from a cloud-based platform, a configuration for Mode 2 sidelink measurement reporting, (20220329301-See ¶0096, In the mode 2, a base station 503 may provide a sidelink transmission and reception resource pool for V2X as system information, and a transmitting UE 501 may select a transmission resource according to a predetermined rule.) wherein the configuration is associated with a plurality of UEs in a particular geographic area, (See ¶0117, the SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting method proposed in the disclosure may be applied to a case of operating in unicast between UEs in a group; Fig.2 shows the groups in the a geographical area) and wherein the UE is included among the plurality of UEs; (See ¶0117, the SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting method proposed in the disclosure may be applied to a case of operating in unicast between UEs in a group.)
and transmit, to the cloud-based platform, a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report based at least in part on the configuration. (See ¶0044, In the case of a Uu interface between a base station and a UE, when the UE reports SL CSI information to the base station)
However, Shin first embodiment fails to disclose the configuration indicates one or more of a timing, a periodicity, or content of a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report to the cloud-based platform,
Shin Second embodiment discloses wherein the configuration indicates one or more of a timing, a periodicity, or content of a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report to the cloud-based platform, (See 0123, he base station may configure at least one report setting 740, 745, and 750 to the UE. In this case, in each report setting, enabling/disabling configuration information for SL CSI reporting, enabling/disabling configuration information for CBR report, a type of a channel in which the report is transmitted (e.g., PSSCH or physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH), time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting, frequency granularity for SL CSI reporting, configuration information on measurement restriction, valid SL CSI window configuration information, and reportQuantity, which is information included in SL CSI, and the like may be included in parameter information of SL-CSI-ReportConfig. Specifically, the time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting may be information on whether SL CSI reporting is periodic or non-periodic; See 0044, In the case of a Uu interface between a base station and a UE, when the UE reports SL CSI information to the base station; See 0038, cloud radio access network (cloud RAN); Its interpreted that the base station is the RAN domain and sets the configuration of the UE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify configuration of resources to the UE from the base station to include the configuration includes the frequency of transmitting the report back to the base station. The motivation to combine is to increase transmission efficiency of a sidelink by periodically receiving measurement reports (See ¶0011).
Regarding claim 2, Shin discloses the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report indicates at least one of:results of one or more measurements, (See ¶0137, hen an SL CSI-RS is configured to be used for sidelink radio link monitoring (SL RLM) or sidelink reference signal received power (SL RSRP) measurement and reporting)or one or more parameters associated with the UE, wherein the one or more measurements include at least one of: a sidelink transmit power measurement, or a sidelink receive power measurement; (See ¶0137, hen an SL CSI-RS is configured to be used for sidelink radio link monitoring (SL RLM) or sidelink reference signal received power (SL RSRP) measurement and reporting) and wherein the one or more parameters associated with the UE include at least one of: a quantity of packets transmitted by the UE in a particular time duration, or a quantity of packets decoded by the UE in a particular time duration.
Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report includes explicit values for at least one of the results of the one or more measurements or the one or more parameters associated with the UE. (See ¶0044, In the case of a Uu interface between a base station and a UE, when the UE reports SL CSI information to the base station; See ¶0137, hen an SL CSI-RS is configured to be used for sidelink radio link monitoring (SL RLM) or sidelink reference signal received power (SL RSRP) measurement and reporting)
Regarding claim 9, Shin discloses receiving, from the cloud-based platform, an indication of one or more Mode 2 sidelink parameters that are based at least in part on at least one of:the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report, , (20220329301-See ¶0096, In the mode 2, a base station 503 may provide a sidelink transmission and reception resource pool for V2X as system information, and a transmitting UE 501 may select a transmission resource according to a predetermined rule.)
or other Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports associated with one or more other UEs of the plurality of UEs; and communicating on a sidelink based at least in part on the one or more Mode 2 sidelink parameters. (See ¶0095, UE directly allocates transmission resources of the sidelink through sensing in the sidelink will be referred to as a mode 2. The mode 2 may be referred to as UE autonomous resource selection; See ¶0096, UE 501 autonomously selects resources and transmits data based on a resource pool)
Regarding claim 11, Shin discloses transmitting the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report comprises:transmitting the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communication that is configured for transmitting sidelink data, (See ¶0164, the receiving UE reports SL CSI to the transmitting UE through the PSSCH; See ¶0100, he transmitting UE 510 may broadcast data to the receiving UE 502 through a PSSCH) wherein the PSSCH communication indicates that the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report is directed to the cloud-based platform. (See ¶0166, hen the receiving UE determines whether to use the method 1 or the method 2 as one method, and reports SL CSI to the transmitting UE, the receiving UE may indicate whether to use the method 1 or the method 2. As a method of indicating the method 1 or the method 2, an explicit signaling method and an implicit indication method may be considered while the receiving UE transmits SCI to the transmitting UE through the PSCCH.)
Regarding claim 12, Shin discloses the configuration indicates whether to transmit the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report in a dedicated physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communication or in a PSSCH communication that is configured for transmitting sidelink data. (See ¶0133, When data is transmitted only in the case where SL CSI reporting is enabled and SL CSI reporting is triggered/activated, an SL CSI-RS is transmitted along with data through a PSSCH.)
Regarding claim 15, Shin discloses the UE comprises a roadside unit (RSU), or wherein the UE is associated with a vehicle. (See ¶0060, the UE may include a vehicle supporting vehicular-to-vehicular (V2V), a vehicle supporting vehicular-to-pedestrian (V2P) or a pedestrian's handset (e.g., smart phone), a vehicle supporting vehicular-to-network (V2N), or a vehicle supporting vehicular-to-infrastructure (V2I).)
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0217743 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shin fails to disclose receiving, from the cloud-based platform, a request for another Mode 2 sidelink measurement report; and transmitting, to the cloud-based platform, the other Mode 2 sidelink measurement report based at least in part on receiving the request.
Zhou discloses receiving, from the cloud-based platform, a request for another Mode 2 sidelink measurement report; and transmitting, to the cloud-based platform, the other Mode 2 sidelink measurement report based at least in part on receiving the request. (20220217743-See ¶0349, a first wireless device may receive from a base station, configuration parameters of a scheduling request for a sidelink CSI report MAC CE. The first wireless device may trigger the scheduling request for the sidelink CSI report MAC CE.; See ¶0275, autonomous mode, the wireless device may select SL resources based on measurements within one or more resource pools (for example, pre-configure or network-assigned resource pools; See ¶0064, instantiated on a platform (e.g., a cloud-based platform).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting the SL CSI to the base station. The motivation to combine is may reduce downlink signaling overhead and transmission latency for SL CSI report MAC CE (See ¶0311).
Regarding claim 7, Shin fails to disclose transmitting, to the cloud-based platform, additional Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports at a particular periodicity based at least in part on an indication of the particular periodicity in the configuration.
Zhou discloses transmitting, to the cloud-based platform, additional Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports at a particular periodicity based at least in part on an indication of the particular periodicity in the configuration. (20220217743-See ¶0158, The base station may configure the UE to report CSI measurements. The base station may configure the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting the SL CSI to the base station. The motivation to combine is may reduce downlink signaling overhead and transmission latency for SL CSI report MAC CE (See ¶0311).
Regarding claim 8, Shin fails to disclose determining a time duration for transmitting a subsequent Mode 2 sidelink measurement report; and transmitting, to the cloud-based platform, the subsequent Mode 2 sidelink measurement report based at least in part on the time duration.
Zhou discloses determining a time duration for transmitting a subsequent Mode 2 sidelink measurement report; (See ¶0158, The base station may configure the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently. For periodic CSI reporting, the UE may be configured with a timing and/or periodicity of a plurality of CSI reports) and transmitting, to the cloud-based platform, the subsequent Mode 2 sidelink measurement report based at least in part on the time duration. (See ¶0158, The base station may configure the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently. For periodic CSI reporting, the UE may be configured with a timing and/or periodicity of a plurality of CSI reports)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting the SL CSI to the base station. The motivation to combine is may reduce downlink signaling overhead and transmission latency for SL CSI report MAC CE (See ¶0311).
Claim(s) 16-17, 19, 21-22, 25 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazushi et al. (WO 2017/187713 A1; hereinafter Kazushi) in view of Shin et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0329301 A1; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claims 16 and 28, Kazushi discloses a cloud-based platform for wireless communication, comprising:a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: transmit a configuration for Mode 2 sidelink measurement reporting to a plurality of user equipments (UEs) (WO 2017187713 A1-Page 3, n the other hand, in autonomous resource selection of ProSe direct communication, the UE autonomously selects a resource for side link control (PSCCH) and data (PSSCH) from the resource pool set by the eNB. The eNB may assign a resource pool to be used for autonomous resource selection in the System Information Block (SIB) 18 to the UE; Page 9 each UE 1 is configured to perform reception power measurement (RF measurement) in each of a plurality of radio resources used for D2D transmission or uplink transmission by one or more other UEs) in a particular geographic area; (Page 25, identifying one or more neighboring D2D communication pairs from a plurality of D2D communication pairs existing in the coverage area of the base station) and receive, from at least a subset of the plurality of UEs, Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports based at least in part on the configuration (Page 10, the eNB 3 may select a subset of multiple UEs 1 (or multiple UE groups) located within the cell 31 and request RF measurements and measurement reports from the selected subset. The subset may be a transmission UE or a reception UE involved in D2D transmission (side link transmission) among a plurality of UEs 1 (or a plurality of UE groups) located in the cell 31. Thereby, eNB3 can use a measurement report effectively for scheduling of D2D radio | wireless resource.)
However, Kazushi fails to disclose the configuration indicates one or more of a timing, a periodicity, or content of a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report to the cloud-based platform,
Shin Second embodiment disclose wherein the configuration indicates one or more of a timing, a periodicity, or content of a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report to the cloud-based platform, (See 0123, he base station may configure at least one report setting 740, 745, and 750 to the UE. In this case, in each report setting, enabling/disabling configuration information for SL CSI reporting, enabling/disabling configuration information for CBR report, a type of a channel in which the report is transmitted (e.g., PSSCH or physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH), time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting, frequency granularity for SL CSI reporting, configuration information on measurement restriction, valid SL CSI window configuration information, and reportQuantity, which is information included in SL CSI, and the like may be included in parameter information of SL-CSI-ReportConfig. Specifically, the time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting may be information on whether SL CSI reporting is periodic or non-periodic; See 0044, In the case of a Uu interface between a base station and a UE, when the UE reports SL CSI information to the base station; See 0038, cloud radio access network (cloud RAN); Its interpreted that the base station is the RAN domain and sets the configuration of the UE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify configuration of resources to the UE from the base station to include the configuration includes the frequency of transmitting the report back to the base station. The motivation to combine is to increase transmission efficiency of a sidelink by periodically receiving measurement reports (See ¶0011).
Regarding claim 19, Kazushi discloses transmitting, to the plurality of UEs, an indication of one or more Mode 2 sidelink parameters that are based at least in part on at least a subset of the Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports. (Page 9, each UE 1 is configured to perform reception power measurement (RF measurement) in each of a plurality of radio resources used for D2D transmission or uplink transmission by one or more other UEs)
Regarding claims 17 and 29, Kazushi discloses the one or more processors are further configured to:transmit, to a UE of the plurality of UEs, a request for another Mode 2 sidelink measurement report; and receive, from the UE, the other Mode 2 sidelink measurement report. (Page 10, the eNB 3 may select a subset of multiple UEs 1 (or multiple UE groups) located within the cell 31 and request RF measurements and measurement reports from the selected subset. The subset may be a transmission UE or a reception UE involved in D2D transmission (side link transmission) among a plurality of UEs 1 (or a plurality of UE groups) located in the cell 31. Thereby, eNB3 can use a measurement report effectively for scheduling of D2D radio | wireless resource.)
Regarding claim 21, Kazushi fails to disclose receiving the Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports comprises:receiving, from a UE of the plurality of UEs, a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report of the Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communication that is configured for transmitting sidelink data, wherein the PSSCH communication indicates that the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report is directed to the cloud-based platform.
Shin discloses receiving, from a UE of the plurality of UEs, a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report of the Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communication that is configured for transmitting sidelink data (See ¶0164, the receiving UE reports SL CSI to the transmitting UE through the PSSCH; See ¶0100, he transmitting UE 510 may broadcast data to the receiving UE 502 through a PSSCH) wherein the PSSCH communication indicates that the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report is directed to the cloud-based platform. (See ¶0166, hen the receiving UE determines whether to use the method 1 or the method 2 as one method, and reports SL CSI to the transmitting UE, the receiving UE may indicate whether to use the method 1 or the method 2. As a method of indicating the method 1 or the method 2, an explicit signaling method and an implicit indication method may be considered while the receiving UE transmits SCI to the transmitting UE through the PSCCH.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Kazushi to include using the PSSCH to transmit the data and for measurement. The motivation to combine is services requiring more improved transmission efficiency, a function in which the receiving UE reports a channel state to the transmitting UE is required (See ¶0042).
Regarding claim 22, Kazushi fails to disclose the configuration indicates whether to transmit the Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports in dedicated physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communications or in PSSCH communications that are configured for transmitting sidelink data.
Shin discloses the configuration indicates whether to transmit the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report in a dedicated physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communication or in a PSSCH communication that is configured for transmitting sidelink data. (See ¶0169, UE requests SL CSI reporting by SCI through the PSCCH, whether the receiving UE may explicitly or implicitly indicate through SCI; See ¶0100, he transmitting UE 510 may broadcast data to the receiving UE 502 through a PSSCH)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Kazushi to include using the PSSCH to transmit the data and for measurement. The motivation to combine is services requiring more improved transmission efficiency, a function in which the receiving UE reports a channel state to the transmitting UE is required (See ¶0042).
Regarding claim 25, Kazushi fails to disclose the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report indicates at least one of:results of one or more measurements, or one or more parameters associated with the UE, wherein the one or more measurements include at least one of:a sidelink transmit power measurement, or a sidelink receive power measurement; and wherein the one or more parameters associated with the UE include at least one of:a quantity of packets transmitted by the UE in a particular time duration, or a quantity of packets decoded by the UE in a particular time duration.
Shin discloses the Mode 2 sidelink measurement report indicates at least one of:results of one or more measurements, (See ¶0137, hen an SL CSI-RS is configured to be used for sidelink radio link monitoring (SL RLM) or sidelink reference signal received power (SL RSRP) measurement and reporting)or one or more parameters associated with the UE, wherein the one or more measurements include at least one of: a sidelink transmit power measurement, or a sidelink receive power measurement; (See ¶0137, hen an SL CSI-RS is configured to be used for sidelink radio link monitoring (SL RLM) or sidelink reference signal received power (SL RSRP) measurement and reporting) and wherein the one or more parameters associated with the UE include at least one of: a quantity of packets transmitted by the UE in a particular time duration, or a quantity of packets decoded by the UE in a particular time duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Kazushi to include using the PSSCH to transmit the data and for measurement. The motivation to combine is services requiring more improved transmission efficiency, a function in which the receiving UE reports a channel state to the transmitting UE is required (See ¶0042).
Claim(s) 18 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazushi in view Shin and further in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0217743 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 30, Kazushi in view of Shin fails to disclose receiving, from a UE of the plurality of UEs, additional Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports at a particular periodicity based at least in part on an indication of the particular periodicity in the configuration.
Zhou discloses receiving, from a UE of the plurality of UEs, additional Mode 2 sidelink measurement reports at a particular periodicity based at least in part on an indication of the particular periodicity in the configuration. (20220217743-See ¶0158, The base station may configure the UE to report CSI measurements. The base station may configure the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting of the SL CSI to the base station. The motivation to combine may reduce downlink signaling overhead and transmission latency for SL CSI report MAC CE (See ¶0311).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 10, 13-14, 20, 23 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed toward claims 1 and 24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues shin fails to disclose “the configuration indicates one or more of a timing, a periodicity, or content of a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report to the cloud-based platform.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. Shin discloses the report is transmitted periodically to the base station. Further, shin discloses using a Cloud RAN. It interpreted that the base station is part of RAN the reports are going to the cloud RAN. (See 0123, he base station may configure at least one report setting 740, 745, and 750 to the UE. In this case, in each report setting, enabling/disabling configuration information for SL CSI reporting, enabling/disabling configuration information for CBR report, a type of a channel in which the report is transmitted (e.g., PSSCH or physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH), time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting, frequency granularity for SL CSI reporting, configuration information on measurement restriction, valid SL CSI window configuration information, and reportQuantity, which is information included in SL CSI, and the like may be included in parameter information of SL-CSI-ReportConfig. Specifically, the time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting may be information on whether SL CSI reporting is periodic or non-periodic; See 0044, In the case of a Uu interface between a base station and a UE, when the UE reports SL CSI information to the base station; See 0038, cloud radio access network (cloud RAN))
Further, applicants argue that shin fails to disclose a configuration for Mode 2 sidelink measurement reporting. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. Shin discloses providing feedback based on mode 2 sensing, resource selection and configuration information transmitted from the base station. (-See ¶0096, In the mode 2, a base station 503 may provide a sidelink transmission and reception resource pool for V2X as system information, and a transmitting UE 501 may select a transmission resource according to a predetermined rule; See 0123, he base station may configure at least one report setting 740, 745, and 750 to the UE. In this case, in each report setting, enabling/disabling configuration information for SL CSI reporting, enabling/disabling configuration information for CBR report, a type of a channel in which the report is transmitted (e.g., PSSCH or physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH), time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting, frequency granularity for SL CSI reporting, configuration information on measurement restriction, valid SL CSI window configuration information, and reportQuantity, which is information included in SL CSI, and the like may be included in parameter information of SL-CSI-ReportConfig. Specifically, the time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting may be information on whether SL CSI reporting is periodic or non-periodic)
Applicant’s arguments with respect toward claim(s) 16 and 28 for the limitation “configuration for Mode 2 sidelink measurement reporting, wherein the configuration indicates one or more of a timing, a periodicity, or content of a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report to the cloud-based platform and also fails to disclose receiving a Mode 2 sidelink measurement report based at least in part on the configuration” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0280842 A1)-See 0138, he RAN nodes 511 may be implemented as one or more of a dedicated physical device such as a macrocell base station, and/or a low power (LP) base station for providing femtocells, picocells or other like cells having smaller coverage areas, smaller user capacity, or higher bandwidth compared to macrocells. In other embodiments, the RAN nodes 511 may be implemented as one or more software entities running on server computers as part of a virtual network, which may be referred to as a cloud radio access network (CRAN).
Salahuddeen et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0329390 A1)-See 0075, The base station 100 may be a cloud radio access network (C-RAN) 100A, a small cell 100B, or a macro base station 100C. If the base station is a C-RAN 100A, the transceiver 118 may be in an RP 106.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Tejis Daya/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472