DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuse (JPH02176270 A) in view of Yoshiyanagi (JP H0540662 U)
Regarding claim 1, Fuse teach Stationary slide ring of a mechanical seal assembly, comprising:
a main body (4 ) having a slide surface (41) and a wear-measuring device arranged on the main body to detect wear of the slide surface (41) of the stationary slide ring on the basis of a change in an electrical variable, (The sensor may be a wear sensor that detects the wear state based on a change in resistance value due to wear of the resistor.)[par. 0001]
wherein the wear-measuring device (7) includes an electrical voltage source,
a measuring region (surface of 74, Fig. 2) on the slide surface, an electrical feed line (75), which electrically connects the voltage source to the measuring region, and an electrical return line,(75) which electrically connects the measuring region to the voltage source, and
wherein the measuring region is arranged in a recess in the slide surface. (Note the surface of 74, Fig. 2 is within recessed (embedded) in the body of 41 of Fig. 3)
Fuse does not explicitly teach the wear measuring device includes an electrical voltage source.
Yoshiyanagi teaches the wear measuring device includes an electrical voltage source (Note V Fig. 4, par. 0010).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fuse to include the teaching of the wear measuring device includes an electrical voltage source to supply to provide a source of energy for the device to function.
Regarding claim 2, Fuse teach wherein the recess is completely filled with an electrically conductive material. (Note resistance 7, leads 77 temperature compensating resistance)
Regarding claim 5, Fuse does not teach wherein the electrical feed line is guided through a first hole in the main body and/or wherein the electrical return line is guided through a second hole in the main body.
Yoshiyanagi teach wherein the electrical feed line (9) is guided through a first hole in the main body (4) and/or wherein the electrical return line is guided through a second hole in the main body.(Fig. 2A)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fuse to include the teaching of wherein the electrical feed line is guided through a first hole in the main body and/or wherein the electrical return line is guided through a second hole in the main body to serve as a guide to the electronic device in the body .
Regarding claim 11, Fuse does not teach a mechanical seal including a rotating slide ring (5) and a stationary slide ring (4) according to claim 1, wherein a sealing gap is defined between a slide surface of the rotating slide ring (5) and a slide surface (surface of 74, Fig. 2) of the stationary slide ring (4), and comprising an automated measuring unit,( The sensor may be a wear sensor that detects the wear state based on a change in resistance value due to wear of the resistor.)[par. 0001] which is configured to determine wear of the slide surface of the stationary slide ring on the basis of a change in electrical variables, in particular an electrical resistance, in a measuring region of a wear-measuring device on the slide surface of the stationary slide ring. ( The sensor may be a wear sensor that detects the wear state based on a change in resistance value due to wear of the resistor.)[par. 0001]
Regarding claim 12, Fuse teach wherein the automated measuring unit is configured to carry out the wear determination continuously or in predetermined intervals. (Note moreover, the wear state can be continuously monitored.)[Note par. 0001]
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuse (JPH02176270 A) in view of Yoshiyanagi (JP H0540662) further in view of Reece (US 4047063)
Fuse teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Fuse does not teach wherein the recess is a curved groove.
Reece teach wherein the recess is a curved groove. (Note column 3, lines 10-11)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fuse to include the teaching of wherein the recess is a curved groove to meet the design specifications for the object to be received in the groove.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Fuse (JPH02176270 A) in view of Yoshiyanagi (JP H0540662) further in view of Hozapfel et al. (US 20170214202).
Fuse teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 3, Fuse does not teach wherein a depth of the recess is selected such that, when the bottom of the recess is reached, the maximum permissible wear of the slide surface of the stationary slide ring has been reached.
Hozapfel et al. teach wherein a depth of the recess (sliding track 11, Fig. 1, par. 0033) is selected such that, when the bottom of the recess is reached, the maximum permissible wear of the slide surface of the stationary slide ring has been reached. Examiner’s position it that the sliding brush 21 is in the recess (track) and that when the brush is completely worn exposing the bottom of the track, the maximum permissible wear has been reached.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fuse to include the teaching of wherein a depth of the recess is selected such that, when the bottom of the recess is reached, the maximum permissible wear of the slide surface of the stationary slide ring has been reached to possibly indicate when a replacement of the element is needed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6,7,8,9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first hole and the second hole are arranged on the slide surface on the same radius.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the electrical feed line is provided in the region of the first hole by a first electrically conductive filler material, wherein the first filler material completely fills the hole, and/or wherein the electrical return line is provided in the region of the second hole by a second electrically conductive filler material, wherein the second filler material completely fills the second hole.
Regarding claim 8, wherein a width of the recess is greater than or equal to a diameter of the first and second hole.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the recess lies on a circumferential portion of the slide surface that is in the center in the radial direction of the stationary slide ring.
Regarding claim 10, a first wear-measuring device and a second wear-measuring device, which is opposite the first wear-measuring device at 180°.
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858