Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2021/0068123).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a beam determination method (fig. 33), comprising: receiving a beam configuration parameter (step 3302; para. 205; para. 178; note: TCI for beam determination); and determining a first type of beam according to the beam configuration parameter (steps 3308-3320; paras. 218-223; para. 179; note: determining a candidate beam type based on the TCI; figs. 31-32; paras. 214-215).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the beam configuration parameter comprises at least one of:
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first type of beam comprises at least one of: a wide beam (fig. 32, Types III and IV; para. 215; note: beamwidth),
Regarding claim 11, these limitations are rejected on the same ground claim 1 from the perspective of a base station transmitting the beam configuration parameter. In addition, the base station determines the beam configuration parameter (para. 111).
Regarding claim 13, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 3-4.
Regarding claims 21-22, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 1. In addition, Zhu discloses a communication node (fig. 3; paras. 101-102), comprising a processor, wherein the processor, when executing a computer program, implements the method of claim 1, and a non-transitory readable and writeable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the beam determination method according to claim 1.
Claims 1, 9, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2016/0066279).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a beam determination method (fig. 9), comprising: receiving a beam configuration parameter (step 901; note: battery threshold for using a wire or narrow beam); and determining a first type of beam according to the beam configuration parameter (step 923; para. 77).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a gain difference between the first type of beam and a second type of beam (step 905; note: gain of a wide beam versus a narrow beam; para. 77); wherein the gain difference is used for determining transmit power of the second type of beam (paras. 79-80).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1 and 9, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Awoniyi-Oteri et al. (US 2023/0052328).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu fails to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the beam configuration parameter is determined through a first artificial intelligence network. However, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses this feature (figs. 3 and 5; paras. 70, 73, 78 (especially the second sentence) and para. 83; note: AI determination of TCI states for beams). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the beam configuration parameter determined through a first artificial intelligence network in the invention of Zhu. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, provide a model relating beans and operational characterizes as is known in the art (para. 72, especially the last sentence; paras. 70, 73, 78 and 83; figs. 3 and 5; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 12, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 2.
Claims 5-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2022/0369141). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses determining a beam from a candidate beam type (fig. 33, step 3310, 3314, 3318 or 3320; para. 219-220 and 222) but fails to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first type of beam is used for acquiring a value of a parameter of a second artificial intelligence network. However, Pezeshki discloses using AI to select a beam from candidate beams (para. 67, last two sentences; para. 79; note: candidate beams as an input parameter to an AI beam selector). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first type of beam used for acquiring a value of a parameter of a second artificial intelligence network in the invention of Zhu. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, using AI to perform a network determination as is known in the art (Pezeshki, paras. 67 and 73; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu in view of Pezeshki teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 5, further comprising: determining a second type of beam according to the first type of beam and the parameter of the second artificial intelligence network; wherein the second type of beam is used for transmitting signaling or data (Zhu, paras. 219-220 and 222; note: a selected receive beam has the same beam type as the first beam type, i.e., a same beam width; para. 107, last sentence; para. 77, last sentence; note: a UE also forming uplink transmit beams).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu in view of Pezeshki teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 6, wherein a mapping relationship exists between the first type of beam and the second type of beam (Zhu, paras. 219-220 and 222; note: a beam in the candidate beam set has the same beam type (width)).
Regarding claims 15-16, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 5-6, respectively.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Pezeshki as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2024/0306137).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu in view of Pezeshki teaches and makes obvious using a candidate beam set where each beam in the set has a second beam type (width) of the beam set type (figs. 31-32; paras. 219-220 and 222) but fails to teach and make obvious the method according to claim 7, further comprising at least one of:
Regarding claim 17, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 7-8.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kato et al. (US 2018/0115385).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, the method further comprises: storing a terminal beam capability (para. 94); wherein the terminal beam capability comprises at least one of: a capability of supporting the first type of beam, a capability of supporting a beam type of the first type of beam, or a capability of processing the first type of beam (fig. 9 and paras. 48 and 77). However, Lee fails to disclose wherein before receiving the beam configuration parameter, the method further comprises: sending a terminal beam capability. Kato discloses sending capability before a configuration (para. 79). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein before receiving the beam configuration parameter, the method further comprises: sending a terminal beam capability in the invention of Lee. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, performing configurations based on predetermined capability as is known in the art (Kato, para. 79; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 20, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 10.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462