DETAILED ACTIONStatus of Application
Claims 2-4, 6-17, 19-21, 24-27, 31-36, 39-43, 45, 47-49, 51, 55-58, 60-62, 64-66, and 68-80 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 5, 18, 22, 23, 28-30, 37, 38, 44, 46, 50, 52-54, 59, 63, 67, and 81 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8, recites “betain” which should read as “betaine”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 54, 59, 63, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 54, 59, 63, and 67 are indefinite for reciting the phrase “nano-in-microparticles” which is unclear because examiner is unable to determine if the formulation is a mixture of different sized nanoparticles, or if the formulation comprises nanoparticles within microparticles, or if the formulation is a mixture of nanoparticles and microparticles. Instant specification [0075]: “the nano-in-microparticles are reconstituted having a mixture of small nanoparticles and large nanoparticles, wherein the small nanoparticles are from about 10 nm to about 100 nm or from about 28 nm to about 44 nm and the large nanoparticles are from about 200 nm to about 600 nm from about 300 nm to about 330 nm”. The instant specification does not objectively provide clarity or guidance for this phrase.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1, 5, 18, 22, 23, 28-30, 37, 38, 44, 46, 50, 52-54, 59, 63, 67, and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Putnam et al. (WO 2014078470 A1) hereinafter Putnam in view of Uchegbu et al. (US2016279189A1) hereinafter Uchegbu.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 18, 22, 23, 28-30, 37, 38, 44, 46, 50, 52-54, 59, 63, 67, and 81, Putnam is drawn to a composition wherein the drug-loaded carrier comprises a biocompatible framework carrying at least one drug, as well as methods for using these compositions for targeted delivery of a drug to cells expressing higher levels of P-glycoprotein compared to other cells in a mammal, for the treatment of various diseases or conditions, such as neurological conditions (abstract).
Putnam discloses the biocompatible framework may also be or include a polysaccharide. The polysaccharide may be based on, for example, a chitosan (glycol chitosan, N-trimethyl chitosan, N-triethyl chitosan). Such polymers and their use in drug delivery are well known in the art, as evidenced by, for example, Z. Liu, et al., "Polysaccharides-based nanoparticles as drug delivery systems", Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, vol. 60, no. 15, 2008, pp. 1650-1662; and Saravanakumar G. et al., "Polysaccharide-based nanoparticles: a versatile platform for drug delivery and biomedical imaging", Curr. Med. Chem., 19(19), 2012, pp. 3212-3229, all of which are herein incorporated by reference in their entirety [0039].
Putnam discloses the biocompatible framework is in the form of a nanoparticle or microparticle, which may be hollow. As used herein, the term "nanoparticle" generally refers to a particle having a size of at least 1 nm and less than 1 micron, e.g., a particle having a size of precisely, about, at least, greater than, up to, or less than, for example, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, 200, 250, 300, 350, 400 nm [0056].
Putnam discloses the neuroactive drug can be any drug that treats, prevents, or diagnoses a neurological disease or condition. The neuroactive drug may be, for example, a drug to treat a neurological condition, such as Parkinson's disease [0074].
Putnam discloses the pharmaceutical composition may be administered in a number of ways. Administration may be intranasal [0101].
Putnam does not explicitly disclose wherein the glycol chitosan carbohydrate polymer is Quaternary ammonium palmitoyl glycol chitosan (GCPQ).
However, Uchegbu is drawn to a composition comprising a hydrophilic drug and an amphiphilic carbohydrate compound for use in therapy wherein the composition is intranasally administered to the human body. The composition can be used to treat a variety of neurodegenerative conditions (abstract).
Uchegbu discloses although chitosan and its derivatives are well documented for the delivery of drugs via the nasal route, nasal delivery with self-assembling amphiphilic carbohydrates such as GCPQ has not been reported. Unlike chitosan, which is soluble at acidic pH, GCPQ is capable of self-assembly at neutral pH, and this confers an advantage over its parent compound for nasal delivery. We believe that the addition of the palmitoyl chain to chitosan enables this chitosan derivative to self-assemble and confers greater association with drug compounds and therefore enhanced delivery [0014]. Uchegbu discloses the amphiphilic carbohydrate compound forms nanoparticles which can be loaded with hydrophilic drug [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Putnam, wherein the glycol chitosan is GCPQ, as previously disclosed by Uchegbu, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Putnam and Uchegbu disclose chitosan for drug delivery and Uchegbu discloses although chitosan and its derivatives are well documented for the delivery of drugs via the nasal route, nasal delivery with self-assembling amphiphilic carbohydrates such as GCPQ has not been reported. Unlike chitosan, which is soluble at acidic pH, GCPQ is capable of self-assembly at neutral pH, and this confers an advantage over its parent compound for nasal delivery. We believe that the addition of the palmitoyl chain to chitosan enables this chitosan derivative to self-assemble and confers greater association with drug compounds and therefore enhanced delivery [0014]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615