DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is in response to the amendment file February 10, 2026 in which claim13 was amended.
The rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in view of the cancellation of claims 2, 8 and 14 and the amendment to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-13,15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2,261,441 in view of Dubeck (US 3,849,083) with Hashimoto (US 5,298,038) as an evidentiary reference.
GB teaches a fuel composition comprising gasoline, a polyoxyalkylene compound and a nitrogen-containing detergent (see abstract). The nitrogen-containing detergent/dispersant is many of the common detergent/dispersants used in fuel compositions (see page 4-page 7). The polyoxyalkylene compound has the formula R1-(R2-O)n-R3 where R1 is H, OH, alkyl (C1- 200 C atoms), aryl (up to 200 C atoms), R2 is alkylene having 2-10 carbon atoms, R3 is H, OH, alkyl(1-200 C atoms), aryl (up to 200 C atoms) and n is from 1-500 (see page 7, line 27 through page 8, lines 1-6).
The composition may contain an antioxidant such as 2-tert-butylphenol (see page 10, lines 3-8). The additives may be prepared as a concentrate (see page 12, lines 9-20). GB teaches that the additive composition may be employed in gasoline or diesel fuels (see page 12, lines 21-24). Example 1 is a concentrate that contains the components. GB teaches that the additives are present in the fuel in an amount of less than 3000 ppm (see page 13, lines 1-8). GB meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
GB fails to teach the amine-based detergent of the formula R4-O (CH2)y NHR5. However, Dubeck meets this limitation.
Dubeck teaches a gasoline containing ether amines of the formula R-O-L-NH2 wherein R is C8-C30 alkyl and L is (CH2)3. The ether amines reduce or remove undesirable deposits in the engine (see col. 1, lines 5-13). The ether amines are used in amounts from 5-4000 ppm (see col. 7, lines 25-28). Hashimoto teaches that the ether amines of Dubeck, which are used as a cleaning agent for the carburetor, also provide some cleaning action on engine intake systems (see col. 1, lines 46-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the ether amines in fuel compositions such as GB because GB is concerned with controlling engine deposits and Dubeck teaches that ether amines reduce or remove undesirable deposits in engines.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2,261,441 in view of WO 9010051.
GB teaches a fuel composition comprising gasoline, a polyoxyalkylene compound and a nitrogen-containing detergent (see abstract). The nitrogen-containing detergent/dispersant is many of the common detergent/dispersants used in fuel compositions (see page 4-page 7). The polyoxyalkylene compound has the formula R1-(R2-O)n-R3 where R1 is H, OH, alkyl (C1- 200 C atoms), aryl (up to 200 C atoms), R2 is alkylene having 2-10 carbon atoms, R3 is H, OH, alkyl(1-200 C atoms), aryl (up to 200 C atoms) and n is from 1-500 (see page 7, line 27 through page 8, lines 1-6).
The composition may contain an antioxidant such as 2-tert-butylphenol (see page 10, lines 3-8). The additives may be prepared as a concentrate (see page 12, lines 9-20). GB teaches that the additive composition may be employed in gasoline or diesel fuels (see page 12, lines 21-24). Example 1 is a concentrate that contains the components. GB teaches that the additives are present in the fuel in an amount of less than 3000 ppm (see page 13, lines 1-8). GB meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
GB fails to teach the amine-based detergent of the formula R4-O (CH2)y NHR5. However, WO meets this limitation.
WO teaches a motor fuel composition comprising (1) a gasoline suitable for combustion in a spark-ignited internal combustion automotive engine, and (2) an intake valve deposit controlling amount of an additive comprising one or more C6+ aliphatic primary amines, one or more gasoline dispersants selected from the group consisting of polyalkylamines and Mannich bases, and a nonvolatile fluidizer oil (see abstract). WO teaches that in addition to the alkyl amines that ether amines of the form R-O-R’-NH2 are also suitable for use as the detergent constituent of its invention. R and R’ are hydrocarbyl of 2 to about 20 carbon atoms (see page 6, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the ether amines in fuel compositions such as GB because GB is concerned with controlling engine deposits and WO teaches that ether amines reduce or remove undesirable deposits in engines.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that it is not obvious to combine GB (Malfer) and Dubeck because deposit control in different aspects of the engine (i.e., injector, carburettor, intake valves, combustion chamber, etc.) can require different technical solutions.
The prior art is directed to fuel compositions comprising detergent additives. GB teaches that its invention reduces deposits in engines. Dubeck teaches reducing deposits in carburetors and Hashimoto teaches that the ether amines of Dubeck also function as detergents on other parts of the engine besides the carburetor. Therefore, the examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine GB and Dubeck to obtain a fuel composition that would reduce deposits in an internal combustion engine, absent evidence to the contrary.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18697891/20260407a