DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, filed on 11/24/2025 with respect to claims 1 and 3-15 in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because it recite “…computer program comprising computer executable program code …”
The Examiner recommends an amendment to the claim/specification to recite, “…a non-transitory computer program…” Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. Appropriate corrections/rewording are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Foti et al., (US 5,970,404), (hereinafter, Foti) in view of Houde et al., (US 5,978,678), (hereinafter, Houde) and further in view of Filart (US 2020/0053568), (hereinafter, Filart)
Regarding claims 1 and 14-15, Foti discloses a computer-implemented method/apparatus/program for automatically detecting a fraudulent call request
(= method of detecting and preventing fraudulent telephone call, see [abstract]) the method consisting of comprising:
receiving a call request from a caller device to initiate a voice call with a called device at a local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (= each of the mobile stations 11a and 11b is capable of initiating or receiving a telephone call through one or more of the base stations B1-B10 and the serving MSC 12 or MSC-L, see col. 4, lines 27-31; when a long distance phone call 16 is originated utilizing mobile station 11a, the MSC which handles that call sends reporting message 17 to the subscriber’s home HLR 14 and includes the called telephone number, see col. 5, lines 18-22; whereby the HLR is being associated with the “local PLMN” );
identifying the call request originating from a foreign country Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) based on the call request received from a roaming platform (= each of the mobile stations 11a and 11b is capable of initiating or receiving a telephone call through one or more of the base stations B1-B10 and the serving MSC 12 or MSC-L, see col. 4, lines 27-31; when a long distance phone call 16 is originated utilizing mobile station 11a, the MSC which handles that call sends reporting message 17 to the subscriber’s home HLR 14 and includes the called telephone number, see col. 5, lines 18-22; whereby the MSC is being associated with the “foreign PLMN”; and subscribers may roam from one location in the cell to another, see col. 4, lines 19-26);
in response to detecting that a caller ID of the caller device is associated to a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), requesting current location information from a database of the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (= information exchanged between base stations and mobile stations via messages may include calling party numbers, see col. 4, lines 48-56; and address of the reporting message 17 indicates the mobile station’s location, see col. 5, lines 23-24),
wherein if the location information indicates the caller device is attached to the foreign Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (= home HLR compares the location information from the reporting message 17 with information stored in the home HLR 14 regarding the location and status of the mobile station 11a; and location of mobile device 11b, see col. 5, lines 24-61).
Foti explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations:
“wherein the roaming platform is a network entity distinct from and arranged between the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and the foreign country Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) for handling international roaming signaling and routing” and
“wherein if the location information indicates the caller device is attached to the foreign Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), determining the call request as authentic; and if the location information indicates the caller device is attached to the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), determining the call request as fraud”.
However, Houde, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the roaming platform is a network entity distinct from and arranged between the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and the foreign country Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) for handling international roaming signaling and routing” (= an international gateway (IGW) 50 is used to connect at least one of the switching node 14 of the first country cellular network 12 with at least one of the switching nodes 34 of the second country cellular network 32, see col. 4, lines 3-6, col. 4, lines 43-52 and col. 5, lines 29-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Houde with Foti for the benefit of achieving a routing system that enables subscribers to engage international roaming.
The combination of Foti and Houde explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“wherein if the location information indicates the caller device is attached to the foreign Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), determining the call request as authentic; and
if the location information indicates the caller device is attached to the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), determining the call request as fraud”.
However, Filart, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“wherein if the location information indicates the caller device is attached to the foreign Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (= a SIP server of an HPLMN may receive SIP INVITE message from an originating device to initiate a VOIP communication session with a recipient device, see [0047]), determining the call request as authentic (= identity verification component 214 may be configured to verify an identity of an origin network from which an originating device sent a call request/SIP INVITE, see [0032 and 0034]; a match would indicate that the originating device is located within the same PLMN (i.e. HPLMN or VPLMN) from which the SIP INVITE message was sent, thus indicating that the identity of the originating device is likely reliable, see [0036]); and
if the location information indicates the caller device is attached to the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), determining the call request as fraud”(= in contrast, if the most recent instance of registration data indicates that the originating device is within a first PLMN (i.e. HPLMN or VPLMN), and the origin network identified within the SIP INVITE message indicates that the originating device is within a second PLMN that is different from the first PLMN (i.e. HPLMN or VPLMN), the mismatch may indicate that the identity of the originating device may be spoofed, and is likely unreliable, see [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Filart with Foti and Houde for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes spoofing mitigation module.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Foti further discloses the method, , wherein the database of the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) comprises a Home Location Register (HLR) (see, col. 2, lines 17-24).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 1, Foti further discloses the method, wherein the current location information is requested from a Home Location Register (HLR) of the caller device and the current location information comprises a Visitor Location Register (VLR) of the caller device (see, col. 5, lines 11-17 and col. 5, lines 55-61).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 8, the combination of Foti and Houde explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein if the Visitor Location Register (VLR) is located in foreign country in view of the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) , the call request is determined to be authentic; and if the Visitor Location Register (VLR) is located in same country in view of the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), the call request is determined to be fraud.
However, Filart, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method, wherein if the Visitor Location Register (VLR) is located in foreign country in view of the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) , the call request is determined to be authentic; and if the Visitor Location Register (VLR) is located in same country in view of the local Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), the call request is determined to be fraud (see, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Filart with Foti and Houde for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes spoofing mitigation module.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 1, Foti further discloses that the method, further comprising in response to determining the call request as authentic, connecting the voice call further to the called device (see, col. 9, lines 29-33).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 1, Foti further discloses that the method, further comprising in response to determining the call request as fraud, preventing the voice call to the called device or connecting the voice call further to the called device with calling number presentation restriction on (see col. 7, lines 26-33 and col. 8, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 1, Foti further discloses that the method, further comprising in response to determining the call request as fraud, selecting at least one of the following: releasing the voice call with various release causes leading to different tones and/or announcements played to the calling device; connecting the voice call to automatic announcements played to the calling device; and connecting the voice call to with and endless ringing tone (see col. 7, lines 26-33 and col. 8, lines 39-44).
5. Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Foti, Houder and Filart in view of Maanoja (US 2005/0070296), (hereinafter, Maaoja).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 3, the combination of Foti, Houde and Filart explicitly fail to disclose the method, wherein the requesting current location comprises: triggering a CAMEL protocol AnyTimeInterrogation (ATI) query to the Home Location Register (HLR)
However, Maanoja, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method, wherein the requesting current location comprises: triggering a CAMEL protocol AnyTimeInterrogation (ATI) query to the Home Location Register (HLR)(see, [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Maanoja with Foti, Houde and Filart for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides the positions of fixed and wireless terminal.
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 4, the combination of Foti, Houde and Filart explicitly fail to disclose that the method, further comprising: triggering the ATI query to other operator's HLRs, wherein the operator applies a proxy service via which the ATI query is routed, and the proxy service is configured to limit items allowed to be queried and results allowed to be returned.
However, Maanoja, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method, further comprising: triggering the ATI query to other operator's HLRs, wherein the operator applies a proxy service via which the ATI query is routed, and the proxy service is configured to limit items allowed to be queried and results allowed to be returned (see, [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Maanoja with Foti, Houde and Filart for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides the positions of fixed and wireless terminal.
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 4, the combination of Foti, Houde and Filart explicitly fail to disclose that the method, further comprising: receiving, in response to the triggered query, an AnyTimeInterrogation (ATI) result configured to indicate a Visitor Location Register (VLR) of the caller device.
However, Maanoja, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method, further comprising: receiving, in response to the triggered query, an AnyTimeInterrogation (ATI) result configured to indicate a Visitor Location Register (VLR) of the caller device (see, [0016 and 0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Maanoja with Foti, Houde and Filart for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides the positions of fixed and wireless terminal.
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 4, the combination of Foti, Houde and Maanoja explicitly fail to disclose that the method, further comprising: receiving, in response to the triggered query, a failure code; and determining the call request to be authentic or fraud based on the failure code.
However, Filart, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method, further comprising: receiving, in response to the triggered query, a failure code; and determining the call request to be authentic or fraud based on the failure code
(= spoof-likelihood score, see [0039-40]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Filart with Foti, Houde and Maanoja for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes spoofing mitigation module.
6. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Foti, Houde and Filart in view of Cohen et al., (US 2017/0013122), (hereinafter, Cohen).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 1, the combination of Foti, Houde and Filart explicitly fail to disclose that the method, further comprising maintaining a list of individual numbers or number ranges indicating caller IDs from which calls requests are always allowed.
However, Cohen, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method, further comprising maintaining a list of individual numbers or number ranges indicating caller IDs from which calls requests are always allowed (see, [0020-21]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Cohen with Foti, Houde and Filart for the benefit of achieving a communication system that could filter wanted and unwanted calls.
CONCLUSION
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Youngs et al., Pinder (US 8,774,379) teaches incoming spoof call detection.
b. Koster (US 10,554,821) teaches identifying and processing neighbor spoofed telephone calls in a VOIP -based telecommunications network.
c. Reed et al., Pinder (US 5,566,234) teaches method for controlling fraudulent telephone calls.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.