DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. has claims pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0121271 A1; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claims 19 and 32, Chen disclose a client device, comprising: at least one processor; at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the client device to at least perform: (See ¶ 0054, processor 380 and/or other processors and modules at the UE 120 may also perform or direct the execution of the functional blocks illustrated in use FIG. 7, and/or other processes for the techniques described herein. The memories 342 and 382 may store data and program codes for the base station 110 and the UE 120, respectively.) detecting a first physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, transmission and a parallel uplink, UL, transmission; (20130121271-See ¶0092, a UE simultaneously transmits signals such as ACK/NACK and periodic CSI using one or more uplink channels, such as a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), by increasing the resources used to transmit at least one of those signals; interpreted in order to increase the resources the UE has to detect it is transmitting simultaneously uplink signals) and in response to the detecting, (See ¶0092, The resources used to transmit the signal are modified, at 904; a UE simultaneously transmits signals such as ACK/NACK and periodic CSI using one or more uplink channels, such as a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), by increasing the resources used to transmit at least one of those signals; interpreted the resources are not enough to transmit the multiplex signal so the UE increases the number of resources in order to transmit it) adjusting at least one parameter of a PUCCH resource, the at least one parameter being related to at least one of time domain allocation or frequency domain allocation for the first PUCCH transmission. (See ¶0092, a UE simultaneously transmits signals such as ACK/NACK and periodic CSI using one or more uplink channels, such as a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), by increasing the resources used to transmit at least one of those signal; See ¶0042, modulation symbols are sent in the frequency domain with OFDM and in the time domain with SC-FDM)
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses the parallel UL transmission comprises one of a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, transmission, a second PUCCH transmission, a sounding reference signal, SRS, transmission, or a physical random access channel, PRACH, transmission. (See ¶0092, a UE simultaneously transmits signals such as ACK/NACK and periodic CSI using one or more uplink channels, such as a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), by increasing the resources used to transmit at least one of those signals.)
Claim(s) 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0046692 A1; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 33, Huang discloses a network node device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code;the at least one memory and the computer program code (See ¶0011, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication includes one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a base station) configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node device to at least perform: determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols for a client device to add when adjusting at least one parameter of a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource; (20220046692-See ¶0065, radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is needed if a base station needs to change a sub-slot configuration (e.g., by increasing or decreasing the number of symbols that make up a sub-slot due to a change in channel conditions)) and transmitting to the client device an indication of the number of the OFDM symbols to add via at least one of a radio resource control, RRC, parameter, a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, or downlink control information, DCI. (See ¶0065, radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is needed if a base station needs to change a sub-slot configuration (e.g., by increasing or decreasing the number of symbols that make up a sub-slot due to a change in channel conditions))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yin et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0167933 A1; hereinafter Yin).
Regarding claim 21, Chen fails to disclose the adjusting of the at least one parameter of the PUCCH resource comprises increasing a number of orthogonal frequency- division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols of the PUCCH resource.
Yin disclose the adjusting of the at least one parameter of the PUCCH resource comprises increasing a number of orthogonal frequency- division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols of the PUCCH resource. (20180167933-See ¶0093, A long PUCCH format may span multiple symbols and slots; See ¶0057, The sub-slot may comprise one or more OFDM symbols. The maximum number of OFDM symbols that constitute the sub-slot may be N.sup.DL.sub.symb−1 (or N.sup.UL.sub.symb−1); See ¶0095, semi-static configuration and (at least for some types of UCI information) dynamic signaling is used to determine the PUCCH resource both for the long and short PUCCH formats.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify increase the number of symbols to include the number of symbols that are increased are OFDM symbols. The motivation to combine is power is limited, the UE is further configured to allocate the power to transmit the PUCCH, and after transmitting the PUCCH, allocate the remaining power to transmit the PUSCH with power scaling in symbols of the overlapping portion (See ¶0037).
Regarding claim 22, Chen fails to disclose the increasing of the number of OFDM symbols of the PUCCH resource comprises adding a number of OFDM symbols, and the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the client device to perform receiving an indication of the number of the OFDM symbols to add via at least one of a radio resource control, RRC, parameter, a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, or downlink control information, DCI.
Yin disclose the increasing of the number of OFDM symbols of the PUCCH resource comprises adding a number of OFDM symbols, and the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the client device to perform receiving an indication of the number of the OFDM symbols to add via at least one of a radio resource control, RRC, parameter, a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, or downlink control information, DCI. (See ¶0063, The higher layer processor 1123a may send/acquire higher layer messages such as an RRC message and MAC message to/from a UE's higher layer; See ¶0095, PUCCH format configuration, a combination of semi-static configuration and (at least for some types of UCI information) dynamic signaling is used to determine the PUCCH resource both for the long and short PUCCH formats.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify increase the number of symbols to include the number of symbols that are increased are OFDM symbols. The motivation to combine is power is limited, the UE is further configured to allocate the power to transmit the PUCCH, and after transmitting the PUCCH, allocate the remaining power to transmit the PUSCH with power scaling in symbols of the overlapping portion (See ¶0037).
Regarding claim 23, Chen fails to disclose the DCI comprises a DCI scheduling the parallel UL transmission.
the DCI comprises a DCI scheduling the parallel UL transmission. (See ¶0057, the sub-slot length may be indicated by a physical layer control channel (e.g., by DCI format); See ¶0110, simultaneous transmission of a short PUCCH format and a long PUCCH format can be very different. A short PUCCH only occupies 1 or 2 symbols, while a long PUCCH format may span over multiple slots)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify increase the number of symbols to include the number of symbols that are increased are OFDM symbols. The motivation to combine is power is limited, the UE is further configured to allocate the power to transmit the PUCCH, and after transmitting the PUCCH, allocate the remaining power to transmit the PUSCH with power scaling in symbols of the overlapping portion (See ¶0037).
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cheng et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0205150 A1; hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 31, Chen fails to disclose the parallel UL transmission comprises at least one of: a UL transmission in a same serving cell or same bandwidth part as the first PUCCH transmission, a UL transmission at least partially overlapping in time with the first PUCCH transmission, or a UL transmission from a different transmit antenna panel than the first PUCCH transmission.
Cheng disclose the parallel UL transmission comprises at least one of: a UL transmission in a same serving cell or same bandwidth part as the first PUCCH transmission, a UL transmission at least partially overlapping in time with the first PUCCH transmission, or a UL transmission from a different transmit antenna panel than the first PUCCH transmission. (20200205150 -See ¶0101, e UE may transmit more than one physical channel on the overlapped resource with different spatial domain filters/UE antenna panels, and the configuration may be per PUCCH resource, for all of the PUCCH resources configured in a PUCCH configuration (e.g., in the variable PUCCH-config))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transmitting simultaneously uplink signals to include using different antenna panels to transmit overlapping signals. The motivation to combine is separating antenna panels at a proper distance may result in high multiplexing gain with the reduction of correlations between antennas (See ¶0078).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dinan (Pub. No. US 2017/0222856 a1)-See ¶0135, hen PUCCH CGs are configured, PUCCH may be configured on PCell, and one or more SCells for transmission of control information to a given eNB. This may increase the possibility of overlapping PUCCH and SRS transmission that may result in increased SRS dropping. When a number of uplink channels are configured, and when uplink traffic is high, the possibility of overlapping transmission of SRS and PUSCH transport blocks may increase. This may result in increased SRS dropping.
Seo et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0043458 A1)-See ¶0104, simultaneous transmission of ACK/NACK and CQI in the same subframe may be enabled or disabled. The ACK/NACK in this case is ACK/NACK for a single cell. In a case where simultaneous transmission of the ACK/NACK and the CQI is disabled, a UE may need to transmit the ACK/NACK on a PUCCH of a subframe in which CQI feedback is configured. In this case, the CQI is dropped, and only the ACK/NACK is transmitted using the PUCCH format 1a/1b.
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472