DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prunbauer (US 6,758,074).
Regarding claim 1, Prunbauer discloses a locking device, comprising:
a cylinder lock including an outer cylinder (12) and an inner cylinder (13) that rotatably engages with the outer cylinder; and
an unlocking key (3) corresponding to a keyhole (within 13, Fig.8) at positions symmetrical to each other about a rotational axis of the inner cylinder (27 projections Fig.9) formed in the inner cylinder,
the protrusions protrude toward the center of the keyhole (Fig.9)
a pair of protrusions (27, Fig.9) is formed at an end of the keyhole, and
a pair of positioning indentation (7 two instances) engageable with the protrusion is formed at a tip of the unlocking key (Fig.2)
while the unlocking key is inserted into the keyhole with the indentations positioned to contact the protrusions, the inner cylinder is rotable together with the unlocking key(c.2l.33-36).
Regarding claim 2, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 1, wherein the indentation (7) is formed in plural, on an outer periphery of the tip of the unlocking key (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 1,wherein the unlocking key includes an insertion part (3) insertable into the keyhole, the insertion part having a columnar shape (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 1, wherein a contact part that forms an area of contact between the protrusion and the indentation has an arc shape (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim1, wherein
a projection geometry of the unlocking key in a direction of insertion into the keyhole is circular (Fig.2).
6. (canceled)
7. (canceled)
Regarding claim 8, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim1, wherein
an axial length of the insertion part of the unlocking key (tip to base of 2) is longer than an axial length of the keyhole.
Regarding claim 9, Prunbauer discloses the unlocking key (1) used for the locking device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Prunbauer the locking device of claim 2, wherein the indentation formed in plural comprises a plurality of sets of the indentations (4,5,6) arranged on the unlocking key at positions symmetrical about the rotational axis.
Regarding claim 12, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of The locking device of wherein the unlocking key includes an insertion part (3) insertable into the keyhole, the insertion part having a circular columnar shape (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 13, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 11, wherein a contact part that forms an area of contact between the protrusion and the indentation has an arc shape (Fig.1 and 2).
Regarding claim 14, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 11, wherein
a projection geometry of the unlocking key in a direction of insertion into the keyhole is circular (Fig.2).
15. (canceled)
Regarding claim 16, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 11, wherein an axial length of the insertion part (Tip to base of 2 Fig. 2) of the unlocking key is longer than an axial length of the keyhole.
Regarding claim 17, Prunbauer discloses the unlocking key (1) used for the locking device of claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 1, wherein the pair of indentations (7) are formed at positions having plane symmetry with each other in a predetermined plane including a rotation axis of the unlocking key Fig.2).
Regarding claim 20, Prunbauer discloses the locking device of claim 1 or 2, wherein the pair of indentations (7) are formed at positions having 180° rotational symmetry with each other with respect to a rotational axis of the unlocking key, and the pair of indentations being formed in plural (Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Prunbauer (US 6,758,074) in view of Uljens (US 20140373581).
Regarding claim 10 and 18, Prunbauer discloses the device comprising the cylinder lock of the locking device of claim 1.
Note: A door appears to be an intended use of the locking device rather than an element of the locking device.
Prunbauer does not disclose: used for a door.
Uljens teaches the intended use of a device on a door for the purpose of providing an object to secure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prunbauer with used for a door as taught by Uljens for the expected benefit of security of an accessible object.
Response to Arguments
Page 8 applicant correctly points out the pair of symmetrical protrusions (27) correspond to the channels (7) of the key. As such the mapping of known elemental features have been adjusted in the Final Rejection. There appears to be no distinction of the instant application over the prior art of record.
The applicant fails to provide positive recitation which would preclude the references of record from disclosing the invention as currently claimed. The argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675