DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses a phrase which can be implied. For instance, line 1 recites “Disclosed herein are systems and methods …”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Salehin et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2021/0185470 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 10, Salehin discloses a method comprising: detecting, with a microphone of a first wearable head device (i.e., wearable device 400B), a sound of an environment (See [0057] and [0085]); determining a digital audio signal based on the detected sound, the digital audio signal associated with a sphere having a position in the environment (See [0039] – [0040]); concurrently with detecting the sound, detecting, via a sensor of the first wearable head device, a microphone movement with respect to the environment (See [0075] and [0135]); adjusting the digital audio signal, wherein the adjusting comprises adjusting the position of the sphere based on based on the detected microphone movement (See [0122] – [0123]); and presenting the adjusted digital audio signal to a user of a second wearable head device (i.e., smart glasses) via one or more speakers of the second wearable head device (See [0128]).
In regards to claim 2, Salehin discloses the method, further comprising: detecting, with a microphone of a third wearable head device, a second sound of the environment; determining a second digital audio signal based on the second sound, the second digital audio signal associated with a second sphere having a second position in the environment; concurrently with detecting the second sound, detecting, via a sensor of the third wearable head device, a second microphone movement with respect to the environment; adjusting the second digital audio signal, wherein the adjusting comprises adjusting the second position of the second sphere based on based on the second detected microphone movement; combining the adjusted digital audio signal and the second adjusted digital audio signal; and presenting the combined first adjusted digital audio signal and second adjusted digital audio signal to the user of the second wearable head device via the one or more speakers of the second wearable head device (See [0128] and [0130]).
In regards to claim 3, Salehin discloses the method, wherein the first adjusted digital audio signal and the second adjusted digital audio signal are combined at a server (See [0048]).
In regards to claim 4, Salehin discloses the method, wherein the digital audio signal comprises an Ambisonic file (See [0040]).
In regards to claim 5, Salehin discloses the method, wherein the detecting the microphone movement with respect to the environment comprises performing one or more of simultaneous localization and mapping and visual inertial odometry (See [0075] and [0135]).
In regards to claim 6, Salehin discloses the method, wherein the sensor comprises one or more of an inertial measurement unit, a camera, a second microphone, a gyroscope, and a LiDAR sensor (See [0064] – [0066]).
In regards to claim 7, Salehin discloses the method, wherein the adjusting the digital audio signal comprises applying a compensation function to the digital audio signal (See [0116] – [0117]).
In regards to claim 8, Salehin discloses the method, wherein the applying the compensation function comprises applying the compensation function based on an inverse of the microphone movement (See [0121]).
In regards to claim 9, Salehin discloses the method, further comprising, concurrently with presenting the adjusted digital audio signal, displaying, on a display of the second wearable head device, content associated with the sound of the environment (See [0128] and [0130]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Najaf-Zadeh et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2018/0288557 A1) teach use of earcons for ROI identification in 360-degree video. Han et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2019/0373391 A1) teach a method of audio-assisted field of view prediction for spherical video streaming.
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693