DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goyal et al. (US 2022/0167301 A1)(hereinafter “Goyal”).
Regarding claim 1, Goyal discloses a terminal (Fig. 1B, [¶0043]: WTRU 102) comprising:
a transmitting section (Fig. 1B, [¶0043]: transceiver 120) that transmits a positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0134]: a WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG1 1114, which may be referred to herein as a positioning request, to the reference BS 1101. The positioning request 1114 may be conveyed (e.g., transmitted) using any of transmitting a positioning specific preamble and transmitting in a positioning specific resource.);
a receiving section (Fig. 1B, [¶0043]: transceiver 120) that receives information related to timing advance for uplink transmission with a base station determined based on the positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0135]: after sending a positioning request 1114 (e.g., any of a positioning preamble transmission and a transmission in a positioning resource), the WTRU 1110 may monitor for reception of a positioning MSG2 RAR 1116 (e.g., a PRAR), for example in a PRAR (e.g., time) window 1115. [¶0136]: a PRAR 1116 may include any of a timing advance (TA) value, a temporary WTRU identifier (e.g., temporary cell (T-CRNTI), a bandwidth part (BWP), a set of resources (e.g., time/frequency resources) to transmit the WTRU (e.g., unique) ID, the UL configuration (e.g., time/frequency resources) to transmit the uplink reference signals (e.g. any of the uplink positioning reference signals UL PRS, UL SRS, UL DM-RS).); and
a control section (Fig. 1B, [¶0043]: processor 118) that controls, based on the information, uplink transmission to the base station (Fig. 11, [¶0138]: if a WTRU 1110 receives a PRAR 1116 that may be intended for it (e.g., indicating a positioning preamble transmitted by the WTRU 1110 in the positioning request 1114), the WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG3 1118 including its (e.g., unique) WTRU ID and a repetition 1120 of UL PRS transmissions 1118 on the indicated resources. [¶0139]: the WTRU 1110 may apply the indicated TA to its transmission (e.g., in the UL).).
Regarding claim 3, Goyal discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Goyal also disclose wherein the transmitting section transmits the positioning preamble on the basis of a configuration different from a configuration of a normal random access preamble ([¶0133]: the positioning preambles may be different from other preambles assigned to (e.g., any other) RACH procedures.).
Regarding claim 4, Goyal discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Goyal also discloses wherein the transmitting section transmits, during a random access procedure related to the positioning preamble, a positioning signal different from the positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0138]: if a WTRU 1110 receives a PRAR 1116 that may be intended for it (e.g., indicating a positioning preamble transmitted by the WTRU 1110 in the positioning request 1114), the WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG3 1118 including its (e.g., unique) WTRU ID and a repetition 1120 of UL positioning reference signal (PRS) transmissions 1118 on the indicated resources.).
Regarding claim 5, Goyal discloses a radio communication method for a terminal (Fig. 1B, [¶0043]: WTRU 102), the radio communication method comprising:
transmitting a positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0134]: a WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG1 1114, which may be referred to herein as a positioning request, to the reference BS 1101. The positioning request 1114 may be conveyed (e.g., transmitted) using any of transmitting a positioning specific preamble and transmitting in a positioning specific resource.);
receiving information related to timing advance for uplink transmission with a base station determined based on the positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0135]: after sending a positioning request 1114 (e.g., any of a positioning preamble transmission and a transmission in a positioning resource), the WTRU 1110 may monitor for reception of a positioning MSG2 RAR 1116 (e.g., a PRAR), for example in a PRAR (e.g., time) window 1115. [¶0136]: a PRAR 1116 may include any of a timing advance (TA) value, a temporary WTRU identifier (e.g., temporary cell (T-CRNTI), a bandwidth part (BWP), a set of resources (e.g., time/frequency resources) to transmit the WTRU (e.g., unique) ID, the UL configuration (e.g., time/frequency resources) to transmit the uplink reference signals (e.g. any of the uplink positioning reference signals UL PRS, UL SRS, UL DM-RS).). [¶0140]: the reference BS 1101, after receiving a positioning preamble from a WTRU 1110, may send 1130 the assigned temporary identifier (e.g., T-CRNTI or TP-RNTI) and the UL configuration (related to WTRU ID and UL PRS) to the positioning server 1103, which, the positioning server 1103 may further send 1132 to the neighboring BSs 1102.); and
controlling, based on the information, uplink transmission to the base station (Fig. 11, [¶0138]: if a WTRU 1110 receives a PRAR 1116 that may be intended for it (e.g., indicating a positioning preamble transmitted by the WTRU 1110 in the positioning request 1114), the WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG3 1118 including its (e.g., unique) WTRU ID and a repetition 1120 of UL PRS transmissions 1118 on the indicated resources. [¶0139]: the WTRU 1110 may apply the indicated TA to its transmission (e.g., in the UL).).
Regarding claim 6, Goyal discloses a base station (Fig. 11, BS 1101) comprising:
a receiving section ([¶0190]: according to embodiments, an apparatus comprising circuitry, including any of a transmitter, receiver, processor and memory, may be configured to carry out a method according to any of FIG. 16, FIG. 17 and FIG. 18. In an embodiment, the apparatus may be any of a WTRU and a base station.) that receives a positioning preamble from a terminal (Fig. 11, [¶0134]: a WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG1 1114, which may be referred to herein as a positioning request, to the reference BS 1101. The positioning request 1114 may be conveyed (e.g., transmitted) using any of transmitting a positioning specific preamble and transmitting in a positioning specific resource.);
a control section ([¶0190]: according to embodiments, an apparatus comprising circuitry, including any of a transmitter, receiver, processor and memory, may be configured to carry out a method according to any of FIG. 16, FIG. 17 and FIG. 18. In an embodiment, the apparatus may be any of a WTRU and a base station.) that judges the base station is determined as a base station to perform communication with the terminal on the basis of the positioning preamble [¶0134]: the WTRU 1110 may transmit the selected positioning specific preamble to the reference BS 1101 using a (e.g., time/frequency) resource or may transmit a (e.g., any) preamble (e.g., assigned for idle/inactive mode positioning or for other purposes such as RACH procedure) in positioning specific resources (e.g., specially) reserved for positioning request transmission. Examiner notes that the reference BS determines that is the one involved in the positioning procedure. [¶0135]: after sending a positioning request 1114 (e.g., any of a positioning preamble transmission and a transmission in a positioning resource), the WTRU 1110 may monitor for reception of a positioning MSG2 RAR 1116 (e.g., a PRAR), for example in a PRAR (e.g., time) window 1115. [¶0136]: a PRAR 1116 may include any of a timing advance (TA) value, a temporary WTRU identifier (e.g., temporary cell (T-CRNTI), a bandwidth part (BWP), a set of resources (e.g., time/frequency resources) to transmit the WTRU (e.g., unique) ID, the UL configuration (e.g., time/frequency resources) to transmit the uplink reference signals (e.g. any of the uplink positioning reference signals UL PRS, UL SRS, UL DM-RS).); and
a transmitting section ([¶0190]: according to embodiments, an apparatus comprising circuitry, including any of a transmitter, receiver, processor and memory, may be configured to carry out a method according to any of FIG. 16, FIG. 17 and FIG. 18. In an embodiment, the apparatus may be any of a WTRU and a base station.) that transmits information related to timing advance for uplink transmission, wherein the receiving section receives uplink transmission controlled based on the information (Fig. 11, [¶0138]: if a WTRU 1110 receives a PRAR 1116 that may be intended for it (e.g., indicating a positioning preamble transmitted by the WTRU 1110 in the positioning request 1114), the WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG3 1118 including its (e.g., unique) WTRU ID and a repetition 1120 of UL PRS transmissions 1118 on the indicated resources. [¶0139]: the WTRU 1110 may apply the indicated TA to its transmission (e.g., in the UL).).
Regarding claim 9, Goyal discloses all features of claim 3 as outlined above.
Goyal also discloses wherein the transmitting section transmits, during a random access procedure related to the positioning preamble, a positioning signal different from the positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0138]: if a WTRU 1110 receives a PRAR 1116 that may be intended for it (e.g., indicating a positioning preamble transmitted by the WTRU 1110 in the positioning request 1114), the WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG3 1118 including its (e.g., unique) WTRU ID and a repetition 1120 of UL positioning reference signal (PRS) transmissions 1118 on the indicated resources.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal in view of Wong et al. (US 2019/0182794 A1)(hereinafter “Wong”)(submitted with IDS filed 07/01/2025).
Regarding claim 2, Goyal discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Goyal fails to disclose wherein the base station is determined from a plurality of base stations on the basis of a reception timing of the positioning preamble. However, Wong discloses wherein the base station is determined from a plurality of base stations on the basis of a reception timing of the positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0086]: moving to step 11d, the UE transmits the Positioning Preamble, which is received by both eNB1 and eNB2, and the times of reception noted. After this first preamble transmission, the network calculates a first estimate of the UE's location, using triangulation based on the reception times at the various eNBs and their positions (step 11e). In this example, the UE is estimated to be within eNB1's coverage area (cell). Accordingly, Wong discloses the UE determining a particular eNB from a plurality of eNBs (e.g., base stations) based on reception timing of the positioning preamble.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the procedure including transmitting of a positioning preamble, as taught by Goyal, to determine a base station from a plurality of base stations on the basis of reception timing of the positioning preamble, as taught by Wong. Doing so allows for more accurate estimation of the UEs position (See Wong [¶0086]).
Regarding claim 7, Goyal in view of Wong discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Goyal also discloses wherein the transmitting section transmits the positioning preamble on the basis of a configuration different from a configuration of a normal random access preamble ([¶0133]: the positioning preambles may be different from other preambles assigned to (e.g., any other) RACH procedures.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the procedure including transmitting of a positioning preamble wherein the transmitting section transmits the positioning preamble on the basis of a configuration different from a configuration of a normal random access preamble, as taught by Goyal, to determine a base station from a plurality of base stations on the basis of reception timing of the positioning preamble, as taught by Wong. Doing so allows for more accurate estimation of the UEs position (See Wong [¶0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Goyal in view of Wong discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Goyal also discloses wherein the transmitting section transmits, during a random access procedure related to the positioning preamble, a positioning signal different from the positioning preamble (Fig. 11, [¶0138]: if a WTRU 1110 receives a PRAR 1116 that may be intended for it (e.g., indicating a positioning preamble transmitted by the WTRU 1110 in the positioning request 1114), the WTRU 1110 may transmit a positioning MSG3 1118 including its (e.g., unique) WTRU ID and a repetition 1120 of UL positioning reference signal (PRS) transmissions 1118 on the indicated resources.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the procedure including transmitting of a positioning preamble wherein the transmitting section transmits the positioning preamble on the basis of a configuration different from a configuration of a normal random access preamble and wherein the transmitting section transmits, during a random access procedure related to the positioning preamble, a positioning signal different from the positioning preamble, as taught by Goyal, to determine a base station from a plurality of base stations on the basis of reception timing of the positioning preamble, as taught by Wong. Doing so allows for more accurate estimation of the UEs position (See Wong [¶0086]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiong et al. (US 2023/0262633 A1) – Method and Device For Determining Timing Information.
Lee et al. (US 2023/0127817 A1) – Method For Transmitting/Receiving Signal In Wireless Communication System and Apparatus Supporting Same.
Manolakos et al. (US 2022/0174656 A1) – Orthogonal Random Access Channel (RACH) Preamble Sequence For Positioning.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463