Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 13, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phuyal US 20200245334.
Regarding claims 1, 22, Phuyal teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user
equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive an indication to transmit a packet based at least in part on receiving a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) status report during an active state of a timer, or based at least in part on an expiration of the timer (the acknowledgment
manager 1635 may retransmit the first uplink data transmission
responsive to the retransmission timer expiring prior to
receiving the acknowledgment from the base station, the
acknowledgment from the base station is a layer one HARQ acknowledgment, a layer two acknowledgment, or layer three acknowledgment from the base station provided via one or more of a MAC-CE, a RLC status report, a PDCP status report, [0186]); and
transmit the packet during the active state of the timer, if the PDCP status report is received during the active state of the timer, or transmitting the packet based at least in
part on the expiration of the timer, if the PDCP status report is not received during the active state of the timer based at least in part on the indication (the acknowledgment
manager 1635 may retransmit the first uplink data transmission
responsive to the retransmission timer expiring prior to
receiving the acknowledgment from the base station, the
acknowledgment from the base station is a layer one HARQ acknowledgment, a layer two acknowledgment, or layer three acknowledgment from the base station provided via one or more of a MAC-CE, a RLC status report, a PDCP status report, [0186]).
Regarding claim 7, the one or more processors are
further configured to stop the timer based at least in part on receiving the PDCP status report (the acknowledgment manager 1635 may receive the acknowledgment from the base station and may discontinue the retransmission timer, [0186]).
Regarding claim 13, the indication to transmit the packet
is an indication to retransmit the packet, and wherein transmitting the packet comprises retransmitting the packet (retransmit, [0186]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phuyal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilhelmsson US 20100202416.
Phuyal is silent on determine that the indication includes one or more errors; and
transmit the packet based at least in part on receiving a lower layer acknowledgement message / NACK indicating that the packet was not received from a prior transmission of the packet.
Wilhelmsson teaches the limitation determine that the indication includes one or more errors; and
transmit the packet based at least in part on receiving a lower layer acknowledgement message indicating that the packet was not received from a prior transmission of the packet given Wilhelmsson teaches (status report, In case a NACK is received (possibly implicit), the already-transmitted packet is retransmitted since the timer has not expired, [0063]). Note, Kadiri US 20200029260 teaches errors detection using a NACK, [0053]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Phuyal by determine that the indication includes one or more errors; and transmit the packet based at least in part on receiving a lower layer acknowledgement message indicating that the packet was not received from a prior transmission of the packet given Wilhelmsson teaches, as suggested by Wilhelmsson. This modification would benefit the system by retransmitting packets that were received in error.
Regarding claim 10, 25, wherein the PDCP status report indicates one or more packets, of a plurality of packets, that have been received, by a base station, from a prior transmission of the plurality of packets (Wilhelmsson: status report, In case a NACK is received (possibly implicit), the already-transmitted packet is retransmitted since the timer has not expired, [0063]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Phuyal and Wilhelmsson as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Sambhwani US 20090201871.
The combination is silent on the one or more processors are
configured to transmit a remainder of the plurality of packets.
Sambhwani teaches one or more processors are configured to
transmit a remainder of the plurality of packets ( Upon receiving the RLC ACKs, STATUS PDUs, or CQI/ACK information, the wireless network access point 402 can send the remaining traffic data packets efficiently based on the feedback provided by the AT 404, [0077]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by one or more processors are configured to transmit a remainder of the plurality of packets, as shown by Sambhwani. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for transmitting packets.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination Phuyal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu US 20090316664.
Although Phuyal teaches an indication to transmit the packet / PDCP status report, the reference is silent on the indication is received via a RRC message.
Wu teaches transmitting a PDCP status report via RRC message (PDCP entity 320 transmits a PDCP status report
configured by RRC, [0032]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Phuyal by an indication to transmit the packet / PDCP status report, the reference is silent on the indication is received via a RRC message, as shown by Wu. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for transmitting the PDCP status report.
Claim(s) 5, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phuyal as applied to claims 1, 22 above, and further in view of KANAMARLAPUDI US 20150304838.
Phuyal is silent on initiating the timer based at least in part on receiving the indication.
KANAMARLAPUDI teaches initiating a timer based at least in part on receiving the indication / ACK (the network configured
timer 62 may be initiated in response to receiving the last ACK, [0049]). Note, the PDCP status report can be seen as an ACK.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Phuyal by initiating the timer based at least in part on receiving the indication, as suggested by KANAMARLAPUDI. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring a confirmation message is received before the timer expires (KANAMARLAPUDI: [0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4,6,8,24 and 32-34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476