Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20210227602) in view of Wu (US 20230362896), and further in view of Zhang (US 20210258764).
•With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/14/15, Li teaches A method for performing, by a first device, wireless communication ([0321], “when a first device (is triggered or requested to) performs sidelink resource (re-)selection procedure for a sidelink transmission to a second device.”), the method comprising:
obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to a second device ([0321], “the first device could select a first sidelink resource based on (sidelink) DRX operation of the second device.” And Fig.14, step 1405.);
obtaining ... an active time of the SL DRX configuration ([0321], “wherein the set of candidate slots are determined or derived based on (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device.”);
determining at least one candidate resource ([0321], “the first device could select the first sidelink resource from or within a set of candidate slots.”) ...
selecting at least one resource for transmitting ...to the second device, based on the at least one candidate resource ([0321], “the first device could select the first sidelink resource from or within a set of candidate slots.”);
...
transmitting ([0476 and Fig.14], “the first device performs the sidelink transmission on the first sidelink resource to the second device.”), to the second device, the MAC PDU through the PSSCH ([0466], “The sidelink transmission may be PSSCH and/or PSCCH.”), based on the at least one resource ([0321], “the first device could select the first sidelink resource from or within a set of candidate slots.”).
However, Li does not specifically disclose a first minimum number of slots.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses a first minimum number of slots ([0041], “UE 110 awakens in period 410a during SL-DRX Active Time 435a and monitors the Physical SL Control Channel (PSCCH) of a configured minimum number of slots (e.g., slots 810) to be sensed (e.g., greater than SL-DRX ON Duration 430a.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Li to specify minimum number of slots as taught by Wu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to have sufficient history of sensed results.
However, the combination of Li Wu does not specifically disclose selecting at least one resource for transmitting a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) to the second device; and transmitting, to the second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), based on the at least one resource.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches selecting at least one resource for transmitting a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) to the second device ([0048], “UE 102 (or UE 104), during a subframe, wirelessly transmits a data message (e.g., a MAC PDU) on the PSSCH.”); and
transmitting, to the second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), based on the at least one resource ([0068], “transmitting SCI over the PSCCH, wherein the SCI comprises scheduling information for enabling the second UE to receive the PSSCH comprising the MAC PDU.”).
transmitting, to the second device, the MAC PDU through the PSSCH, based on the at least one resource ([0068], “transmitting the MAC PDU over the PSSCH.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Li to specify transmitting SCI as taught by Zhang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to schedule PSSCH.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu and Zhang, and further in view of Tetzlaff (US 20160020894).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Wu teaches first minimum number ([0041], “UE 110 awakens in period 410a during SL-DRX Active Time 435a and monitors the Physical SL Control Channel (PSCCH) of a configured minimum number of slots (e.g., slots 810) to be sensed (e.g., greater than SL-DRX ON Duration 430a.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Li to specify minimum number of slots as taught by Wu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to have sufficient history of sensed results.
However, the combination of Li, Wu and Zhang does not teach delivered to a physical (PHY) layer of the first device from a MAC layer of the first device.
In an analogous art, Tetzlaff teaches delivered to a physical (PHY) layer of the first device from a MAC layer of the first device ([0046], “The MAC layer module 4030 may then send the full duplex communication parameters to the controlled wireless device through the PHY layer module 4040.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Li to specify transmit data from MAC layer to PHY layer as taught by Tetzlaff. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to send out the parameter to an another device.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu and Zhang, and further in view of Dortmund (US 20160094605).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Dortmund teaches wherein a PHY layer of the first device obtains information for a current active time ([0035], “Following the On Duration is a period of possible inactivity during which the new data may be transmitted.”) from a MAC layer of the first device ([0035], “Upon reception of the new audio data, the MAC layer circuitry sends an indication to the PHY layer to transmit the SR to schedule the audio data frame for transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Dortmund to specify transmit data from MAC layer to PHY layer as taught by Tetzlaff. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to send out the parameter to an another device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu and Zhang, and further in view of Xue (US 20220070936).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Wu teaches the first minimum number ([0041], “UE 110 awakens in period 410a during SL-DRX Active Time 435a and monitors the Physical SL Control Channel (PSCCH) of a configured minimum number of slots (e.g., slots 810) to be sensed (e.g., greater than SL-DRX ON Duration 430a.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Li to specify minimum number of slots as taught by Wu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to have sufficient history of sensed results.
However, the combination of Li, Wu and Zhang does not teach rest of the claim limitations.
In an analogous art, Xue teaches wherein selecting the at least one resource includes: a MAC layer of the first device obtaining, from a PHY layer of the first device, the at least one candidate resource ([0080], “The PHY layer may indicate the candidate resources to the MAC layer.”) ...
the MAC layer selecting the at least one resource based on the at least one candidate resource ([0080], “The MAC layer may select transmit resources from among the candidate resources for transmitting transport blocks.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Li to specify indicating candidate resource as taught by Xue. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmit transport blocks.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu and Zhang, and further in view of Luo (US 20230171843).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Luo teaches transmitting, to the second device, the SL DRX configuration ([0056], “the first UE 601 sends SL DRX configuration to the second UE 602.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Li to specify transmitting SL DRX configuration as taught by Luo. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmit SL configuration response.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-8 and 10-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411