DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 20 recite the term “Embo-type adhesive layer ” in line 2. It is unclear what the term “Embo-type adhesive” means. It is unclear as to if the adhesive is an “Embo” adhesive or if it is an adhesive similar to an “Embo” adhesive. The claim is being treated as if the adhesive is an Embo adhesive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN 113528043, see machine translated version) in view of Ying et al. (CN 108878682, see machine translated version).
Regarding claim 1, Guo et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0004], [0013]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0014]), a metal layer (paragraph [0015]) and a first adhesive layer (paragraph [0013]), the first adhesive layer being disposed between the foam layer and the metal layer and configured to bond the foam layer to the metal layer (paragraphs [0013]-[0015]).
Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the composite foam structure further comprises a fiber structure, wherein the fiber structure is disposed in at least one of the foam layer or the first adhesive layer and configured to increase a tensile strength of at least one of the foam layer or the first adhesive layer. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0045], [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein each of the carbon fibers has a diameter ranging from greater than or equal to 5 µm to less than or equal to 7 µm. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
Ying et al. do not disclose wherein each of the carbon fibers has a diameter ranging from greater than or equal to 5 µm to less than or equal to 7 µm. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in diameter involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the diameter of the carbon fibers of Ying et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the designated plane is parallel to at least one of a plane in which the foam layer is located or a plane in which the first adhesive layer is located. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]), wherein the designated plane is parallel to at least one of a plane in which the foam layer (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein an angle between two intersectant carbon fibers is great than or equal to 30° and less than or equal to 90°. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
Ying et al. do not disclose wherein an angle between two intersectant carbon fibers is great than or equal to 30° and less than or equal to 90°. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in angle involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the angle between two intersectant carbon fibers in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Guo et al. teach wherein the structure further comprises a second adhesive layer and a substrate layer (paragraphs [0004], [0011]), wherein the second adhesive layer is disposed between the metal layer and the substrate layer (paragraphs [0004], [0011], [0014], [0015]), wherein the substrate layer is configured to protect the second adhesive layer (paragraphs [0004], [0011]).
Regarding claim 13, Guo et al. teach a display module comprising a display panel and a backpane (paragraphs [0016], [0017]) and a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0004], [0013], [0016], [0017]), wherein the composite foam structure (paragraphs [0004], [0013]) comprises a foam layer (paragraph [0014]), a metal layer (paragraph [0015]) and a first adhesive layer (paragraph [0013]), the first adhesive layer being disposed between the foam layer and the metal layer and configured to bond the foam layer to the metal layer (paragraphs [0013]-[0015]).
Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the composite foam structure further comprises a fiber structure, wherein the fiber structure is disposed in at least one of the foam layer or the first adhesive layer and configured to increase a tensile strength of at least one of the foam layer or the first adhesive layer. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0045], [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claim 14, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein each of the carbon fibers has a diameter ranging from greater than or equal to 5 µm to less than or equal to 7 µm. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
Ying et al. do not disclose wherein each of the carbon fibers has a diameter ranging from greater than or equal to 5 µm to less than or equal to 7 µm. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in diameter involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the diameter of the carbon fibers of Ying et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claim 16, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the designated plane is parallel to at least one of a plane in which the foam layer is located or a plane in which the first adhesive layer is located. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]), wherein the designated plane is parallel to at least one of a plane in which the foam layer (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein an angle between two intersectant carbon fibers is great than or equal to 30° and less than or equal to 90°. However, Ying et al. teach a composite foam structure (paragraphs [0008], [0009]) comprising a foam layer (paragraph [0009]), wherein the composite foam structure further comprising a fiber structure (paragraphs [0010], [0044]), wherein the fiber structure is disposed in the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044]) and configured to increase a tensile strength of the foam layer (paragraphs [0010], [0044], [0051]), wherein the fiber structure comprises at least one layer of a carbon fiber network formed by a plurality of carbon fibers staggered in a designated plane (paragraphs [0044]-[0046]).
Ying et al. do not disclose wherein an angle between two intersectant carbon fibers is great than or equal to 30° and less than or equal to 90°. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in angle involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the angle between two intersectant carbon fibers in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fiber structure of Ying et al. in the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to improve the heat dissipation capacity and impact resistance of the structure (Ying et al., paragraphs [0017], [0045]).
Claims 7, 8, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN 113528043, see machine translated version) in view of Ying et al. (CN 108878682, see machine translated version), in further view of Xie et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0368657).
Guo et al. and Ying et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the structure further comprises a light shielding tape layer, wherein the light shielding tape layer is disposed on a side, distal from the metal layer of the foam layer. However, Xie et al. teach a composite foam structure (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 3, paragraph [0046]) comprising a foam layer (page 3, paragraph [0046]) and a light shielding tape layer (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0012]), wherein the light shielding tape layer comprises an EMBO adhesive layer (page 3, paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the light shielding tape layer of Xie et al. on a side distal from the metal layer of the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to provide a good light shielding effect (Xie et al., page 3, paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein the composite foam structure further comprises a light shielding tape layer, wherein the light shielding tape layer is disposed on a side, distal from the metal layer of the foam layer. However, Xie et al. teach a composite foam structure (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 3, paragraph [0046]) comprising a foam layer (page 3, paragraph [0046]) and a light shielding tape layer (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0012]), wherein the light shielding tape layer comprises an EMBO adhesive layer (page 3, paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the light shielding tape layer of Xie et al. on a side distal from the metal layer of the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to provide a good light shielding effect (Xie et al., page 3, paragraph [0042]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN 113528043, see machine translated version) in view of Ying et al. (CN 108878682, see machine translated version), in further view of Li et al. (US Patent Application No. 2012/0050114).
Guo et al. and Ying et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 10, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein a material of the second adhesive layer comprises an ultraviolet curing adhesive. However, Li et al. teach a composite foam structure comprising a foam layer (page 1, paragraph [0009]) and ultraviolet curing adhesive layer (page 5, paragraph [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ultraviolet curing adhesive of Li et al. as the second adhesive layer of Guo et al. in order to mount surfaces of structures (Li et al., page 5, paragraph [0066]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN 113528043, see machine translated version) in view of Ying et al. (CN 108878682, see machine translated version), in further view of Myeong et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0109566).
Guo et al. and Ying et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 11, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein a material of the first adhesive layer comprises a pressure sensitive adhesive. However, Myeong et al. teach a composite foam structure comprising a foam layer (page 5, paragraph [0072]) and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (page 4, paragraph [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure sensitive adhesive of Myeong et al. as the first adhesive layer of Guo et al. in order to adequately adhere the layers together (Myeong et al., page 4, paragraph [0064]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN 113528043, see machine translated version) in view of Ying et al. (CN 108878682, see machine translated version), in further view of Rao (US Patent Application No. 2022/0011820).
Guo et al. and Ying et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 12, Guo et al. fail to teach wherein a material of the foam layer comprises a super clean foam. However, Rao teaches a composite foam structure comprising a foam layer (page 4, paragraph [0051]) and an adhesive layer (page 4, paragraph [0052]), wherein the foam layer comprises a super clean foam (page 4, paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use super clean foam of Rao as the foam layer of Guo et al. in order to achieve buffering, shading and heat dissipation (Rao, page 4, paragraph [0051]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 3/6/2026